If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Deadspin)   High school baseball trick play may or may not have been a balk, but it wasn't called. So enjoy the fun   (deadspin.com) divider line 4
    More: Spiffy, trick play  
•       •       •

2912 clicks; posted to Sports » on 12 Jun 2014 at 11:43 AM (7 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

2014-06-12 12:22:46 PM
2 votes:
Not a balk:
8.05
If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when --
(a) The pitcher, while touching his plate, makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch and fails to make such delivery;
Rule 8.05(a) Comment: If a lefthanded or righthanded pitcher swings his free foot past the back edge of the pitcher's rubber, he is required to pitch to the batter except to throw to second base on a pick-off-play. (b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first base and fails to complete the throw;
(c) The pitcher, while touching his plate, fails to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base;
Rule 8.05(c) Comment: Requires the pitcher, while touching his plate, to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base. If a pitcher turns or spins off of his free foot without actually stepping or if he turns his body and throws before stepping, it is a balk.
A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps. It is possible, with runners on first and third, for the pitcher to step toward third and not throw, merely to bluff the runner back to third; then seeing the runner on first start for second, turn and step toward and throw to first base. This is legal. However, if, with runners on first and third, the pitcher, while in contact with the rubber, steps toward third and then immediately and in practically the same motion "wheels" and throws to first base, it is obviously an attempt to deceive the runner at first base, and in such a move it is practically impossible to step directly toward first base before the throw to first base, and such a move shall be called a balk. Of course, if the pitcher steps off the rubber and then makes such a move, it is not a balk.
2014-06-12 12:59:04 PM
1 votes:

IAmRight: This is the baseball equivalent of a flop. Of course, in baseball, people pretend it's a great play.


The baseball equivalent of a flop is pretending to be hit by a pitch or a fielder acting like he caught a ball he trapped.
2014-06-12 12:39:18 PM
1 votes:
Does 8.05j not apply?

(j) The pitcher, after coming to a legal pitching position, removes one hand from the ball other than in an actual pitch, or in throwing to a base;

As far as I can see that is the only possible way it was a balk.
2014-06-12 12:13:41 PM
1 votes:
I don't know if it is a balk, but it is a violation of the rules. You are not allowed to deceive the base runners. So unless he made a move towards home before his spin which would have been a balk, which you really can't tell from the video, this would be more like the hidden ball trick and the runner should have been awarded third.
 
Displayed 4 of 4 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report