If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Deadspin)   High school baseball trick play may or may not have been a balk, but it wasn't called. So enjoy the fun   (deadspin.com) divider line 65
    More: Spiffy, trick play  
•       •       •

2920 clicks; posted to Sports » on 12 Jun 2014 at 11:43 AM (14 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



65 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-06-12 02:19:25 PM
Don't know about the balk, but more importantly, because you are Baseball fans,
why do the mods keep putting Soccer in the Sports link and not Politics?

/ I keed
 
2014-06-12 02:27:00 PM

TonyDanza: usttsdw: I believe he has to come set 1st before he can throw to a base.

Only time it matters if you come set is when actually delivering a pitch while runners are on.  Throwing to bases have no such set position rule.


Right you are. Just looked it up.
 
2014-06-12 02:32:06 PM
I'd have called a balk because he broke the DBAS rule. Don't Be A Smartass.
 
2014-06-12 02:34:52 PM

usttsdw: Trainspotr: pute kisses like a man: Trainspotr: I vote balk. It's hard to tell which foot moved first, but assuming that he moved his back foot off the rubber first, he did not drop his hands to his sides after disengaging the rubber.

i say legal.  in my opinion, he removed his foot from the rubber before moving the other foot.  i don't know about that hands to the sides business.  how could you throw out the baserunner if your hands are at your sides?

/ been a long time since i played or paid attention to baseball.

On further review, it appears the hands to the sides only applies if the pitcher is in the windup position, not the set position:

Rule 8.01(a) Comment: In the Windup Position, a pitcher is permitted to have his "free" foot on the rubber, in front of the rubber, behind the rubber or off the side of the rubber.
From the Windup Position, the pitcher may:
(1) deliver the ball to the batter, or
(2) step and throw to a base in an attempt to pick-off a runner, or
(3) disengage the rubber (if he does he must drop his hand to his sides).
In disengaging the rubber the pitcher must step off with his pivot foot and not his free foot first.

However, in the real-time footage, which is partially obscured by the titles, it isn't obvious that the pitcher comes to a complete stop in the set position before stepping off. I don't know if the pitcher has to come to a complete stop before throwing to a base, though.

I believe he has to come set 1st before he can throw to a base.


No
 
2014-06-12 02:37:23 PM

jimpoz: Might need to see video of him pitching normally out of the stretch for comparison, but by flexing his back knee before he turned towards second, might that be faking or starting/stopping his delivery home?


You can start your delivery before throwing to a base.  You just can start stepping toward home plate before you throw to a base.  Watch a left handed pitcher in the set.  They will start their normal leg kick like they are going to pitch but never actually bring the leg toward the plate.
 
2014-06-12 02:37:59 PM

TonyDanza: DoBeDoBeDo: Which really limits it to just standing there in the set position. I mean I guess it covers scratching your ass, adjusting your nuts, etc. But really it means when you're in the set position you can't drop a hand off the ball.

While that is a perfectly reasonable interpretation of the intent of the rule, and probably what they were going for, that's not how it's written.  It gives 2 legal options to get the ball out of your hand (pitch, or throw to a base) which he did neither of.  But your interpretation is more than likely the one that is in practical use, even if it is not actually to the letter of the law.


You only have to throw to first or home.  You can feint a throw to second or third.
 
2014-06-12 02:40:26 PM

Pincy: You only have to throw to first or home. You can feint a throw to second or third.


Not the point we were discussing.  I probably should have quoted the entire post.
 
2014-06-12 03:01:31 PM

Pincy: jimpoz: Might need to see video of him pitching normally out of the stretch for comparison, but by flexing his back knee before he turned towards second, might that be faking or starting/stopping his delivery home?

You can start your delivery before throwing to a base.  You just can start stepping toward home plate before you throw to a base.  Watch a left handed pitcher in the set.  They will start their normal leg kick like they are going to pitch but never actually bring the leg toward the plate.


That's a little different. With lefties throwing to first they're supposed to step directly towards first but they give them 45°. Andy Pettitte used push that envelope all the time and never got called for a balk (whether he actually crossed that line or merely went right up to it depends to a large degree on whether you're a Yankee fan). Their leg kick is part of throwing to first, and they can take advantage of its resemblance to coming home. Also if a lefty crosses behind the rubber with his front foot before throwing to first, that's also a balk.

Every time I've seen a pitcher throw/fake to second, it's been in one smooth motion. Here it looked like he faked starting his delivery before turning to second. I've seen right-handed pitchers do that little hiccup before actually throwing to first and still get called for a balk.
 
2014-06-12 03:07:19 PM
He looks like a belly-itcher to me.
 
2014-06-12 03:37:39 PM
Slightly confused:
img2u.info
 
2014-06-12 04:31:30 PM

Pincy: jimpoz: Might need to see video of him pitching normally out of the stretch for comparison, but by flexing his back knee before he turned towards second, might that be faking or starting/stopping his delivery home?

You can start your delivery before throwing to a base.  You just can start stepping toward home plate before you throw to a base.  Watch a left handed pitcher in the set.  They will start their normal leg kick like they are going to pitch but never actually bring the leg toward the plate.


QTF.  From the stretch, you lift your leg up like normal, and instead of pushing off the rubber to deliver to the plate, you just step right toward first and throw.  Amazing how many runners won't wait that split second to see if the ball was going to the plate.  I loved that move.  I once intentionally walked a guy, because I knew I could pick him off.  Coach wasn't happy though.
 
2014-06-12 07:31:07 PM
I present, for your sporting amusement,

Dave Bresnahan's Potato

The greatest fake in the history of baseball.
 
2014-06-12 07:48:25 PM

phamwaa: I present, for your sporting amusement,

Dave Bresnahan's Potato

The greatest fake in the history of baseball.


From that link: "Before the game, Bresnahan peeled and sculpted a potato in the shape of a baseball. "

Now look at their photo...

www.baseballreliquary.org

Something's not quite adding up.

/makes "count to potato" reference
 
2014-06-13 12:05:41 AM

ongbok: I don't know if it is a balk, but it is a violation of the rules. You are not allowed to deceive the base runners. So unless he made a move towards home before his spin which would have been a balk, which you really can't tell from the video, this would be more like the hidden ball trick and the runner should have been awarded third.


You are wrong....
 
2014-06-13 12:07:32 AM

TonyDanza: DoBeDoBeDo: Which really limits it to just standing there in the set position. I mean I guess it covers scratching your ass, adjusting your nuts, etc. But really it means when you're in the set position you can't drop a hand off the ball.

While that is a perfectly reasonable interpretation of the intent of the rule, and probably what they were going for, that's not how it's written.  It gives 2 legal options to get the ball out of your hand (pitch, or throw to a base) which he did neither of.  But your interpretation is more than likely the one that is in practical use, even if it is not actually to the letter of the law.


So... by what you're saying is that anytime a pitcher steps off the rubber and doesn't throw to a base it is a balk... you can't be more wrong.
 
Displayed 15 of 65 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report