Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(YouTube)   29 days until the World Cup and today's team preview is mighty England, a dynamic, young team destined for dismal failure   (youtube.com ) divider line
    More: Interesting, World Cup, English football, England, Men's major golf championships  
•       •       •

372 clicks; posted to Sports » on 13 May 2014 at 2:30 PM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



26 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-05-13 11:35:25 AM  
The animation of Roy Hodgson doffing his cap slayed me.
 
2014-05-13 12:10:20 PM  
england loves a good failure: shackleton... dunkirk...
 
2014-05-13 12:57:50 PM  
Hilarious.

"It tastes like a Smiths album".


England's fate will depend heavily on the form of Italy. If Italy show up as they did in 2010 and play utterly miserable football, England will have a far better chance.

If, however, the Euro 2012 Italy squad shows up, England's chances wilt like a wet salad in the sun.


One of the more intriguing backstories is in this group as Sturridge and Sterling find themselves opposite of their Merseyside teammate  Luis Suarez who is no small part of their great success this season.
 
2014-05-13 02:35:24 PM  
Are we going to get previews every single day before the 2014 World Grass Diving Championship?
 
2014-05-13 02:36:11 PM  

PowerSlacker: Are we going to get previews every single day before the 2014 World Grass Diving Championship?


I SURE HOPE SO!

See you tomorrow?
 
2014-05-13 02:40:28 PM  
theoriginalwinger.com

www2.pictures.zimbio.com

i1.ytimg.com
 
2014-05-13 02:49:04 PM  
www3.pictures.zimbio.com
 
2014-05-13 02:49:46 PM  
i.telegraph.co.uk
 
2014-05-13 02:50:42 PM  
I think that pretty much covers it
 
2014-05-13 03:07:35 PM  

HaywoodJablonski: I think that pretty much covers it


static.dnaindia.com
 
2014-05-13 03:36:46 PM  
i.ebayimg.com


This is going to be great.

skreened.com
 
2014-05-13 03:43:34 PM  

Rev.K: PowerSlacker: Are we going to get previews every single day before the 2014 World Grass Diving Championship?

I SURE HOPE SO!

See you tomorrow?


Maybe.

Still waiting for Koman to pop up in these threads.
 
2014-05-13 04:13:10 PM  
I'm looking forward to the Iran team preview. I guess you're saving that up for closer to the event, subby?
 
2014-05-13 04:29:43 PM  
ahhhh, Three Lions, the NY Knicks / Notre Dame football of the World Cup.  Beloved by many, adored by the media, irrelevant for years, and yet always a preseason/pre-event favorite, then fails spectacularly.
 
2014-05-13 04:37:22 PM  

Rev.K: Hilarious.

"It tastes like a Smiths album".


England's fate will depend heavily on the form of Italy. If Italy show up as they did in 2010 and play utterly miserable football, England will have a far better chance.

If, however, the Euro 2012 Italy squad shows up, England's chances wilt like a wet salad in the sun.


One of the more intriguing backstories is in this group as Sturridge and Sterling find themselves opposite of their Merseyside teammate  Luis Suarez who is no small part of their great success this season.


But he plays in goal at the WC, remember?

i.telegraph.co.uk
 
2014-05-13 04:43:25 PM  
I'm supposed to watch 6 minutes of that shiate? Fark that.
 
2014-05-13 04:45:22 PM  

iron de havilland: But he plays in goal at the WC, remember?



oh jesus cockfark.  i remember that.

didn't he not get booked for that?
 
2014-05-13 04:46:33 PM  
In other news, for the soccer thread regulars;  NIAC will be MIA for Brazil
 
2014-05-13 04:58:36 PM  

rickythepenguin: iron de havilland: But he plays in goal at the WC, remember?


oh jesus cockfark.  i remember that.

didn't he not get booked for that?


No, he got sent off and Ghana got a pen.

But they missed, and Suarez celebrated manically as he was walking down the tunnel.

/SIAC.
//Tried to find decent video of it, failed.
///Bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
 
2014-05-13 05:22:04 PM  

iron de havilland: No, he got sent off and Ghana got a pen.



huh, i didn't remember that part.

god i cannot farking wait for WC!  hoping we get some flavor of US v ITA, ITA v ENG, US v ENG, US v MEX (duhhh) as i have a good English friend, and one of my wife's frineds is a dual USA/ITA citizen, and another friend was born in Mexico but naturalized.

we're already talking mad ish.
 
2014-05-13 05:23:46 PM  

desertgeek: In other news, for the soccer thread regulars;  NIAC will be MIA for Brazil


Oh, that's beautiful.

Seeing that Schneiderlin got the nod for the blues, apparently everyone on Southampton is going to the WC.
 
2014-05-13 05:37:01 PM  

rickythepenguin: iron de havilland: No, he got sent off and Ghana got a pen.


huh, i didn't remember that part.


In honesty, I didn't either. I just remember Suarez being a dick and celebrating something in the tunnel after being sent off.

"Suarez cheat" was one of Google's autosuggestions; it resulted in that image and kind of rekindled my memory.

/Looking forward to insightful comments from Koman Coulibaly.
 
2014-05-13 05:57:31 PM  

Duane Dibbley: [i.ebayimg.com image 225x300]


This is going to be great.

[skreened.com image 174x200]


If only we could tap Scottish bitterness we could power Europe
 
2014-05-13 06:07:58 PM  

iron de havilland: rickythepenguin: iron de havilland: No, he got sent off and Ghana got a pen.


huh, i didn't remember that part.

In honesty, I didn't either. I just remember Suarez being a dick and celebrating something in the tunnel after being sent off.

"Suarez cheat" was one of Google's autosuggestions; it resulted in that image and kind of rekindled my memory.

/Looking forward to insightful comments from Koman Coulibaly.


I generally find Suarez as obnoxious as the next guy, but the outrage over the World Cup Quarterfinals still confuses me.

He commits the ultimate "professional foul"--literally the exact situation that coaches use for the past three decades, at least, as the only time you should handle the ball in the box. He doesn't pretend he's innocent or make a scene to the ref and accepts the red card. The fact that Ghana misses the PK had absolutely nothing to do with Suarez. The fact that the rules are what they are is also not Suarez's fault/responsibility.

In fact, the whole debacle only served to gloss over the fact that Ghana's goal scoring chance was set up by a pretty blatant dive (and I say that as someone cheering for Ghana that day).

Again, there's a pretty sizable list of reasons to hate Suarez (unless you're a Liverpool fan), but he did what every coach in the world tells you to do in that exact, incredibly improbable situation...

/Koman makes every thread better
 
2014-05-14 02:01:25 PM  

rickythepenguin: iron de havilland: No, he got sent off and Ghana got a pen.


huh, i didn't remember that part.

god i cannot farking wait for WC!  hoping we get some flavor of US v ITA, ITA v ENG, US v ENG, US v MEX (duhhh) as i have a good English friend, and one of my wife's frineds is a dual USA/ITA citizen, and another friend was born in Mexico but naturalized.

we're already talking mad ish.


The odds of 3 of the 4 match-ups you are looking forward to are very slim.
 
2014-05-14 04:00:16 PM  

TheMatchHare: I generally find Suarez as obnoxious as the next guy, but the outrage over the World Cup Quarterfinals still confuses me.

He commits the ultimate "professional foul"--literally the exact situation that coaches use for the past three decades, at least, as the only time you should handle the ball in the box. He doesn't pretend he's innocent or make a scene to the ref and accepts the red card. The fact that Ghana misses the PK had absolutely nothing to do with Suarez. The fact that the rules are what they are is also not Suarez's fault/responsibility.

In fact, the whole debacle only served to gloss over the fact that Ghana's goal scoring chance was set up by a pretty blatant dive (and I say that as someone cheering for Ghana that day).

Again, there's a pretty sizable list of reasons to hate Suarez (unless you're a Liverpool fan), but he did what every coach in the world tells you to do in that exact, incredibly improbable situation...


I hate this argument; it's like saying murder isn't a crime, but you will be tried and executed if you're caught doing it.
He cheated. That there are specific penalties for dealing with particular kinds of cheating doesn't make it fair or clean play.

Granted he didn't dissemble about it like Thierry Handry, but I hope he chokes death on the next guy he bites.
 
Displayed 26 of 26 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter








In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report