Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The New York Observer)   Rex Reed's spoiler-filled review of The Amazing Spider-Man 2, a film that is a "retread of tired material in a franchise more than ready for the big comic book bonfire; there is nothing amazing about it"   (observer.com ) divider line 129
    More: Hero, The Amazing Spider-Man, media franchise, comic book bonfire, comic books, recaps, spiders, broadway revival, Dane DeHaan  
•       •       •

2359 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 02 May 2014 at 8:43 AM (1 year ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



129 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-05-02 01:27:04 PM  
I AM going to read the thread, and I am sure someone has probably pointed this out, but just in case, I must mention  that Rex Reed is a pretentious idiot* who didn't like "Sid & Nancy" because it was about two things he hates, punk rock and drugs.

I remember years ago him picking the film for his 10 "Worst of the year" for that reason, as if good movies can only have fun and pleasant topics/themes. I wanted to punch him then and thinking about it now I still do.

That said, I'm fairly sure the new Spider-Man does suck pretty bad, and I have absolutely no plans to see it.

*He's also a fat slob, but that doesn't have much impact on how stupid his reviews are.
 
2014-05-02 01:31:44 PM  

soseussme: I AM going to read the thread, and I am sure someone has probably pointed this out, but just in case, I must mention  that Rex Reed is a pretentious idiot* who didn't like "Sid & Nancy" because it was about two things he hates, punk rock and drugs.

I remember years ago him picking the film for his 10 "Worst of the year" for that reason, as if good movies can only have fun and pleasant topics/themes. I wanted to punch him then and thinking about it now I still do.


I remember him giving thumbs down to Stand By Me because he didn't like the kids swearing.

Umm, that's how boys that age talk, Rex.
 
2014-05-02 01:33:21 PM  

soseussme: I AM going to read the thread, and I am sure someone has probably pointed this out, but just in case, I must mention  that Rex Reed is a pretentious idiot* who didn't like "Sid & Nancy" because it was about two things he hates, punk rock and drugs.


So, what do you think now that you've read the thread? Have you seen the video and know that he loves all things Spider-Man except for the last two film turds?
 
2014-05-02 01:35:11 PM  
I just asked my friend who has a spiderman tattoo if he liked it...he said its as good as Fantastic Four 1 or 2. I replied...that bad? He's also pissed about the actual end to the movie and post credits scenes. He basically said, you know, I get not wanting to copy Disney/Marvel but people FARKING EXPECT SOMETHING worth while after sitting through a 2+hr teen rom com
 
2014-05-02 01:50:15 PM  
Anyone else notice that Reed seems to think that these past two movies are connected to the original Maguire trilogy?

I mean, I agree that the reboot was rushed as hell, but for fark's sake, man: do your research.
 
2014-05-02 01:57:16 PM  

dj_spanmaster: soseussme: I AM going to read the thread, and I am sure someone has probably pointed this out, but just in case, I must mention  that Rex Reed is a pretentious idiot* who didn't like "Sid & Nancy" because it was about two things he hates, punk rock and drugs.

So, what do you think now that you've read the thread? Have you seen the video and know that he loves all things Spider-Man except for the last two film turds?


I haven't listened to his review and won';t bother because whatever he thinks, it's a stupid fat guy's thoughts. Sounds like he's right on this -- I have to agree that I saw no need for a reboot and have no interest just because I don't want a retelling of the origin, etc. yet. I would likely have continued seeing the SM movies if the series had continued with someone else besides Toby Maguire, but when they threw all that out 3-film storyline out, it made me feel like they were ripping me off somehow, like the time I'd invested in seeing the TM films had been wasted (even though I enjoyed those pretty well, even the 3rd one).

I still haven't seen the first of these, probably will sometime on TV though. And probably in a few years I'll see this one on TV too, but even if I were the type to download movies (and I'm not), I wouldn't bother seeing this one for "free" because a download would take more effort than I think it would be worth. The previews look terrible. The special effects didn't look very convincing, and none of the actors look like the characters to me. Fox is a decent actor but there's no way that's Electro. He looks as ridiculous as the previews they leaked for Quicksilver. for the new X-Men movie

Anyway, as a former long-term collector of almost anything Marvel, I have to say the plans for Venom and Sinister Six movies springing from this reboot also sound really unnecessary and bound to disappoint. I suppose there might be some way they could not suck, but I don't have much faith the studio will pull it off. Yes they will probably make money, esp. overseas, but they will be "Phantom Menace" stupid.

I am a bit more optimistic about "Days of Future Past" and may actually see it in a theater.
 
2014-05-02 02:23:03 PM  
First of all, I thought Rex Reed was dead.  Or would have if I thought about him.  Which I usually don't.

Second, I'm going to see Captain America, The Winter Soldier this weekend.

Last, the last Spiderman movie I saw in the theaters was Spiderman 3 and I'm still annoyed about this fact.  Spiderman movies are not going to get anymore of my money.
 
2014-05-02 02:31:00 PM  

the opposite of charity is justice: ManateeGag: Peter used to be smart.

[i45.tinypic.com image 850x1300]


Is that from a real comic book, or some crappy web/flash thing? Gawd it looks like shiat.
 
2014-05-02 02:35:03 PM  

Mulchpuppy: They'd have to retheme it, which wouldn't be that bad.


Well they'd have to tear down the Spider-Man ride. I guess they could re-tool The Hulk roller coaster and the Dr. Doom ride. But doesn't Disney have enough? They just got done re-tooling their Fantasy Land, they're building an Avatar Land and they have Star Wars, which could take up Tomorrow Land and part of EPCOT.

They can only build so much. I for one would rather see a Star Wars land first.
 
2014-05-02 02:55:08 PM  

Mugato: Mulchpuppy: They'd have to retheme it, which wouldn't be that bad.

Well they'd have to tear down the Spider-Man ride. I guess they could re-tool The Hulk roller coaster and the Dr. Doom ride. But doesn't Disney have enough? They just got done re-tooling their Fantasy Land, they're building an Avatar Land and they have Star Wars, which could take up Tomorrow Land and part of EPCOT.

They can only build so much. I for one would rather see a Star Wars land first.


Didn't I hear about Disney plans to build Marvel and Pixar areas of Hollywood Studios, thus making it simultaneously more interesting and more irritating?
 
2014-05-02 02:55:45 PM  
Kirsten Dunst > Emma Stone
 
2014-05-02 03:01:41 PM  

E_Henry_Thripshaws_Disease: Kirsten Dunst > Emma Stone


Sorry, no. You clearly forget all the KD ripping.
 
2014-05-02 03:08:01 PM  

Mugato: Mulchpuppy: They'd have to retheme it, which wouldn't be that bad.

Well they'd have to tear down the Spider-Man ride. I guess they could re-tool The Hulk roller coaster and the Dr. Doom ride. But doesn't Disney have enough? They just got done re-tooling their Fantasy Land, they're building an Avatar Land and they have Star Wars, which could take up Tomorrow Land and part of EPCOT.

They can only build so much. I for one would rather see a Star Wars land first.


There's a Transformers ride over at Universal Studios that's essentially the exact same thing.  All they'd have to do is sub out the film and un-Daily Bugle the place.  Hulk can practically be rethemed overnight, as can Doom's Fearfall and Storm Force Accelatron (though I wouldn't complain if they just tore that garbage out).

Also, Star Wars has no place in Tomorrowland or Epcot.  It should be in Hollywood Studios or in an entirely new concept park (I acknowledge that Star Tours is in DL's Tomorrowland, but it doesn't fit the area in the slightest.  They've always had problems nailing down there Tomorrowland concept, though.  Everything new keeps getting old again on them). They're going to need to go big soon, as Potter phase 2 is going to crush the underwhelming New Fantasyland - at least until someone hurries up and comes up with a Frozen dark ride (and no, dammit, you don't screw up Norway at Epcot for that.  Kids hate that park, and one attraction in World Showcase isn't going to correct that).

But honestly, I'm just talking out my ass.  Until the inevitable comic movie bust, Universal is perfectly happy sitting on those properties.  They'll throw the occasional new coat of paint on Marvel Superhero Island and let it sit there forever.  Potter has given them F-you money.

/unashamed of my park nerdness
 
2014-05-02 03:09:25 PM  

Tyrone Slothrop: And Johansson is nude in no uncertain terms.


As one could guess, screencaps can be found online.  At work right now, otherwise I'd link.

Don't get me wrong, you can see much worse naked, so not going to be super studman, but it was also a bit of a letdown.  A little saggy, a little untoned.  I know, I know, "That's a real woman with curves," but there's a fine line.

Reminded me a little of the first time we got to see Liv Tyler.  The sizzle seemed far better than the steak.
 
2014-05-02 03:13:34 PM  

dj_spanmaster: Didn't I hear about Disney plans to build Marvel and Pixar areas of Hollywood Studios, thus making it simultaneously more interesting and more irritating?


No Marvel in Florida until it's out of Universal has been all I've heard since the Marvel sale.  There was indeed talk for a while of expanding Pixar to include Cars' Land (but without the amazing Radiator Springs Racers ride, so what's the effing point?), but that talk seems to have died off lately.  Some folks say that the Magicpass program went insanely over budget and killed a lot of new development - I've heard it both ways.  But it does sound like that has been tabled for the time being.

Kind of a shame, as Hollywood Studios could really use some help.  It's a nice park, but so much that's there is just so terribly dated (The Great Movie Ride is just an embarrassment at this point.  No wonder they hid it behind a giant Sorcerer's Hat)
 
2014-05-02 03:19:10 PM  

fickenchucker: Spiderman used to be my favorite, but this whole Sony thing, and these reviews summing up the movie as "meh", is pissig me off.

I had to live through this shiat to get here, and all we get is "meh"?

[24.media.tumblr.com image 500x324]


I remember being excited about those movies as a kid...and before them, the Electric Company:

img.fark.net
 img.fark.net
img.fark.net
 
2014-05-02 03:24:35 PM  

dj_spanmaster: E_Henry_Thripshaws_Disease: Kirsten Dunst > Emma Stone

Sorry, no. You clearly forget all the KD ripping.


If you're going by her first Spider-Man movie, I would at least say they're on comparable ground.  But Dunst looked surprisingly awful in the third film.
 
2014-05-02 03:52:50 PM  

Mulchpuppy: dj_spanmaster: E_Henry_Thripshaws_Disease: Kirsten Dunst > Emma Stone

Sorry, no. You clearly forget all the KD ripping.

If you're going by her first Spider-Man movie, I would at least say they're on comparable ground.  But Dunst looked surprisingly awful in the third film.


She likes her drugs and booze
 
2014-05-02 04:15:09 PM  

scarmig: If you're a Spidey fan, it is still worth seeing.  Because they did get some stuff right, and some stuff is very cool to see realized on the big screen.  It just isn't the Spider-man movie it could have been.


If I may quote a line from another movie movie which proves mypoint:

"WROOOOONG!!!"

If you're a fan, don't give them money.  The movie rights to Spiderman exist in this purgatory because people keep buying tickets to this dreck which they put no effort into it.

This movie and the previous one are simple cash grabs financed by suits envious of Marvel Studios.  It doesn't appear like a single person involved in their production actually care about Spiderman at all.  At least Sam Raimi was excited to be directing the vanguard of comic book movies.

They're using you and other fans like you for a quick buck with no effort.  They know exactly the allure of a never before seen villain "realized on the big screen" is the only bargaining chip they have.  Which is why they keep shoving more and more villains into each movie.
 
2014-05-02 04:21:20 PM  
www.quickmeme.com
 
2014-05-02 05:06:53 PM  
This will be the first Spidey movie I don't see in the theater. The reviews just cement the negative impression I got from the trailers. The last one, while somewhat enjoyable and fresh, was a nightmare where pacing, editing, and plot is concerned--this'll just be worse with the overbloat of characters.

My kid's watching Spider-Man as I type this. Spidey just made a 'you're gay' joke to Macho Man Randy Savage with Bruce Campbell in the same scene. None of the Spidey sequels/reboots hold up to the first film. Ditto, Superman.
 
2014-05-02 05:35:48 PM  
This movie needs to fail so Marvel can buy the rights back. Ditto Fantastic Four. X-men always -- kinda -- had it's own self-contained villains and plots. But FF/Spider-man and the rest of the Marvel titles were pretty well integrated into each others stories and villains.

/I know, i know, many xmen/mutants were avengers members
//Where's my Squirrel-Girl movie?
 
2014-05-02 06:26:25 PM  

borg: I thought Rex Reed died years ago.


Date of Death was 1978.
 
2014-05-02 07:13:22 PM  
These comicbook superhero movies are getting more less and less believable, especially when they do and don't stick with the original stories and don't get the correct high paid well unknown actors and use too much of not enough CGI to win an Oscar...
 
2014-05-02 10:26:33 PM  
But first there's a total blackout and the only person who knows how to re-set the power grid is...Gwen?

...

Yeah, I'm out.  I hate that hackneyed shiat.
 
2014-05-02 11:36:41 PM  

protectyourlimbs: These comicbook superhero movies are getting more less and less believable, especially when they do and don't stick with the original stories and don't get the correct high paid well unknown actors and use too much of not enough CGI to win an Oscar...


Ynoes, I really don't not disagree in the worst way
 
2014-05-03 03:41:11 AM  
Well, time to reboot the franchise again, Sony.
 
2014-05-03 03:53:20 AM  
Everybody each separately doesn't not have their right to not care about other people's ideas based on how they don't not personally feel, or not....
 
2014-05-03 05:05:47 PM  
Update: Spiderman 2 was a fun movie, that is all.
 
Displayed 29 of 129 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report