If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The New York Observer)   Rex Reed's spoiler-filled review of The Amazing Spider-Man 2, a film that is a "retread of tired material in a franchise more than ready for the big comic book bonfire; there is nothing amazing about it"   (observer.com) divider line 129
    More: Hero, The Amazing Spider-Man, media franchise, comic book bonfire, comic books, recaps, spiders, broadway revival, Dane DeHaan  
•       •       •

2352 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 02 May 2014 at 8:43 AM (13 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



129 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-05-02 10:21:47 AM

ManateeGag: KipKips:
//I miss "The Spectacular Spiderman"

But we have Ultimate Spider-Man, which isn't really about Spider-Man much and makes the Family Guy cut away scenes look like farking Shakespeare.


My kids love that show.  I'm not completely opposed to it, because while the cutaways are annoying they got Spidey's "make fun of the bad guys" thing down pat.

My wife watched it with the kids, and said it reminded her of "Saved by the Bell" when Zack would "time out" the world.  She didn't say this was a good thing.
 
2014-05-02 10:24:05 AM

bungle_jr: whosits_112: bungle_jr: i have heard from a co-worker who went to see it last night that this movie was not good...incohesive, trite, teen-romancy, etc.

i won't be seeing it, and i didn't see the first amazing spiderman...simply because for me it's too soon...tobey is still spidey/peter parker to me, and kirsten, whether she was actually good in the role or not, is still the wet-shirt-in-the-rain, drooooool...er i mean maryjane to me.

Sadly, though, I predict this movie will make at least a bajillion dollars. I'm tempted to go to the theaters and see Captain America: The Winter Soldier again just so I can help keep that movie alive in theaters for as long as possible. Goddamn, now THAT is an awesome movie.

i've been so behind on movies...i haven't seen the FIRST captain america...have it dvr'd though, along with the FIRST hobbits movie. i haven't even seen the avengers...but i've finally seen all 3 iron man flicks


I'm a movie buff. Movies are my "thing". But this movie just makes my movie-boner go limp. However, the MCU movies have all been, at the VERY LEAST entertaining IMHO. Cap 2 was awesome, but there were some little things I missed, and I wouldn't mind plopping down another $7.50 to go see it and catch everything this time around.
 
2014-05-02 10:26:28 AM

Mulchpuppy: scarmig: Okay, biggest pet-peeve - I think the entire movie was sound-scored to dub-step.  !Dramatic Moment![BWAAAAAGH]  Waht?

I think that was just Electro's scenes.  Because electro is close to dubstep, right?  I think the worst bit was when Electro started playing "The Itsy Bitsy Spider" like a tesla coil.

Also, did you see it in 2D or 3D?  I thought the swinging around stuff looked awful in 2D, but I assumed it was because it was intended for 3D.  It felt like they were trying too hard to overcompensate for the f-stop or two you lose because of the 3D glasses.  Or maybe the costume was just too dang red.


I thought the Itsy Bitsy Spider was a good nod to the cheesy days of Spider-Man.   I like Gardfiled over Tobey as Spider-Man.  He gots Spidys wit down while Tobey had zero wit or sarcasm in the role. Over all the movie wasnt good.  Some of it made no sense.  Electro seemed like a demi god with his powers yet was easily beaten by spider-man.  Dude could freaking teleport anywhere he wanted.   The whole movie seemed like a long preview for the next movie they are going to make.   Hell it even ends on a cliff hanger.   I dont know why they didnt start the first movie this way and had this one the meat and potatoes of the new trilogy.  Then I remember people like money so they will milk this for everything they can till people hate it.
 
2014-05-02 10:32:03 AM

natural316: Message to all who will complain about the movie in this thread: you'll all see it, they'll get your money, that's all they care about

Proceed


The first one bored the crap out of me, so this one doesn't get any of my money.
 
2014-05-02 10:38:10 AM
This review was terrible.Any review which references the last trilogy as in any way relevant to these movies means I dismiss it straight out. The author seems to be too nostalgic over the old spidey movies to really let these stand on their own, as they should.I can understand why Sony decided to reboot after Toby 2 and 3 ruined their relatively strong opener. Amazing Spiderman actually tells the story from the comics that should have made it into the movies. I suspect that when they had started the first Toby movie they hadn't planned on doing any sequels, hence Mary-Jane and all the other dumb choices they made in the last series...Anyway, tldr; let go of your nostalgia and watch these movies for what they are.
 
2014-05-02 10:38:38 AM

strangeguitar: Rex Reed is still alive?


In-between smooching pickles down at the deli, he reviews movies.  So yeah.
 
2014-05-02 10:42:25 AM

lunging_man_ass: watch these movies for what they are


A big pile of stinking poop.

(so I've heard)
 
2014-05-02 10:44:20 AM
Catching it tomorrow in IMAX. Sorry, but I have to. Loved Spidey since I was a kid. I want it to be good so I can enjoy it, but I want it to be bad and tank so that it brings us one step closer to Disney buying the rights back.
 
2014-05-02 10:44:41 AM
scroufus:   Electro seemed like a demi god with his powers yet was easily beaten by spider-man.  Dude could freaking teleport anywhere he wanted.

I know this is going to sound like one of those nitpicky things, but I laughed my ass off when he showed up in that damn uniform.  Right down to the electric bolts on the arms.  I know I shouldn't expect subtlety from a movie with a Doctor Kafka in it, but that outfit (and its ability to dematerialize and rematerialize with Electro) was just too far over the top.

Also, I wonder if they realized how dumb that whole "Roosevelt" thing was when Sherlock covered similar territory earlier this year.
 
2014-05-02 10:44:43 AM
Saw it last night with Mrs. Toquinha. It was pretty mediocre overall. The shots of Spidey swinging through NYC were pretty awesome and the 3D actually helps it this time around. But maybe because I'm getting old and I saw it at 10:15 PM (plus commercials, trailers, etc.), I was struggling to stay awake during parts of it. I still prefer the first two films of the Raimi trilogy.
 
2014-05-02 10:46:32 AM

gunga galunga: markfara: I don't generally give much "film taste" credence to anyone whose major movie credit is "Myra Breckenridge". It's just a rule of mine.

His, and John Simon's, brand of cattiness was considered subversive back in the 70s.

Forty years later, he comes across as a rank amateur.


I'd forgotten all about John Simon. Wasn't he that conservative who used to review plays and films for the "National Review"? The one who found objectionable gay content in about everything out there?
 
2014-05-02 10:48:30 AM
I do think they could have left out green goblin. and the rhino may as well have not been in the movie at all

Jamie fox wasn't bad as Elecrtro, they should have focused on him more
 
2014-05-02 10:50:50 AM

Mulchpuppy: That review wasn't nearly as spoiler-iffic as it could have been.  But he was actually kind giving it two stars out of four.  It felt like the worst parts of Spider-man 3 combined with the worst parts of Batman and Robin.  Hell, for a while there Electro looked just like Schwarzenegger as Mr. Freeze.

It doesn't hold a candle to the worst film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

And don't concern yourself with the mid-credits stuff.  It's literally a badly edited commercial with a payoff shot you've already seen.


i was expecting a blue dong for a moment, electro resembled dr manhattan
 
2014-05-02 10:54:05 AM

markfara: That said, I'm far more revved about the fact that "Under the Skin" is opening in my local art theatre today. Artsy sci-fi with a naked Scarlett Johansson. Yee-ha!


Ooh, added to the list!
 
2014-05-02 10:54:34 AM

bungle_jr: i have heard from a co-worker who went to see it last night that this movie was not good...incohesive, trite, teen-romancy, etc.


So exactly like the first one? My god, the first one felt like a bad teeny-bopper chick flick at times.
 
2014-05-02 10:57:43 AM

ManateeGag: Peter used to be smart.

i45.tinypic.com

 
2014-05-02 10:58:42 AM

loonatic112358: i was expecting a blue dong for a moment, electro resembled dr manhattan


Christ, were you sitting near me?  We had the exact same moment.

(just as Electro is released from his Mr. Freeze-style bonds)

"Why is he wearing those biker short things?"
"Big blue dong, man."
 
2014-05-02 10:59:59 AM
Deadpool "Greeks are a superstitious and cowardly lot. Hmm  these streets are deader then Gwen Stacy... "
 
2014-05-02 11:02:35 AM
I'm going tonight with a group. I honestly would probably not be seeing it if it wasn't for the bf loving spider-man and it being a friend's birthday get together. I didn't much care for the last one, I haven't even watched it since we saw it in theaters two years ago when it came out. From what it sounds like it's not even mildly entertaining, so I'll probably be asleep 15 minutes in since we are going to a 1030 pm show. *sigh*
 
2014-05-02 11:05:14 AM

Gerald Tarrant: Deadpool "Greeks are a superstitious and cowardly lot. Hmm  these streets are deader then Gwen Stacy... "


LOL


Does Fox still own rights to Deadpool?

/csb Lego Marvel has Deadpool in it and he is freakin hilarious for a rating E game
 
2014-05-02 11:07:57 AM
Guys, Spiderman on his own isn't enough for a set of movies. Just get over it. One, maybe two films at most could work if done perfectly. Spiderman isn't interesting enough to carry a series of films. His rogues gallery is even less capable of carrying a film. Spiderman only works when he's interacting with other, more interesting superheroes.

So yeah, he'd be better off back in the MCU, but he'd have maybe as many movies as The Hulk, probably less. Sony is proving this more and more as they strain to keep the movies fresh and interesting.
 
2014-05-02 11:10:12 AM

thecpt: So the av club said it was refreshingly different from the original trilogy.

I've got a feeling people will try to find excuses to not like this movie.

That being said, it might still be a bad movie. I don't know yet


The AV Club said it was nice that the movie wasn't a retread of the prior Spiderman 2, but that maybe it should've since at least that one was a good movie.

Not sure if 'refreshingly different' is an honest assessment of their review.
 
2014-05-02 11:11:09 AM

Tyrone Slothrop: It broke Movie Bob.


That might have more impact if I had ever heard of Movie Bob before. But watching that, he's a decent critic. But he talks way too damn fast.
 
2014-05-02 11:13:00 AM
I did miss that they may have set us up with the Black Cat, I didn't catch that Harry's assistant was Felicia hardy
 
2014-05-02 11:18:07 AM
SPOILERS:

I heard a month ago that the post credits scene had a scene revealing Norman's head in a jar. My showing just had a sneak peak at the new X-Men movie. Anybody get something different? I read and saw that Shazam app easter egg during the credits, but that doesnt count IMO.
 
2014-05-02 11:22:14 AM

strangeguitar: Rex Reed is still alive?


This. I would have thought that even he would have choked on a bag of dicks sometime in the late '80s. What's his autobiography going to be called? "50 Years of Paying For It?"
 
2014-05-02 11:22:48 AM
Ours had a badly cut, "WTF" X-men commercial.  I genuinely though the project guy had just accidentally started a preview reel in the middle of the credits or something.  I don't get it, I thought they were separate properties movie-wise.
 
2014-05-02 11:22:52 AM
I can't image why anyone would give a shiat about this movie.

They just GOT DONE with a Spiderman trilogy. Jesus Christ already.
 
2014-05-02 11:23:12 AM

Mulchpuppy: Hell, I'm more interested in Marvel getting all their theme park rights back.


Would that mean they'd have to tear down all the Marvel stuff at Universal Studios?
 
2014-05-02 11:24:51 AM

Gigantos: SPOILERS:

I heard a month ago that the post credits scene had a scene revealing Norman's head in a jar. My showing just had a sneak peak at the new X-Men movie. Anybody get something different? I read and saw that Shazam app easter egg during the credits, but that doesnt count IMO.


I saw the X-Men teaser, though I didn't stay to the very end credits


Speaking of Norman I wonder if they decided to make him the Vulture instead of the Green Goblin, harry was the green goblin, so what would Norman wind up being?
 
2014-05-02 11:28:18 AM
Every time I see his name, I have to stop and think if he's still alive or not.....


www.chicagonow.com
 
2014-05-02 11:32:22 AM

markfara: gunga galunga: markfara: I don't generally give much "film taste" credence to anyone whose major movie credit is "Myra Breckenridge". It's just a rule of mine.

His, and John Simon's, brand of cattiness was considered subversive back in the 70s.

Forty years later, he comes across as a rank amateur.

I'd forgotten all about John Simon. Wasn't he that conservative who used to review plays and films for the "National Review"? The one who found objectionable gay content in about everything out there?


Yup. New York magazine eventually fired him because his reviews got so mean-spirited and ugly that readers were cancelling their subscriptions mainly because of him.
 
2014-05-02 11:33:47 AM

quiotu: Guys, Spiderman on his own isn't enough for a set of movies. Just get over it. One, maybe two films at most could work if done perfectly. Spiderman isn't interesting enough to carry a series of films. His rogues gallery is even less capable of carrying a film. Spiderman only works when he's interacting with other, more interesting superheroes.


Absolutely untrue. You could have easily said the same thing about Cap or Iron Man as characters. It's easy to disagree with that in retrospect, but before the movies for those characters came out it was seen as a risky proposition. Spidey is completely capable of carrying his own movie, but just hasn't had the same focus as the Marvel Studios films.
 
2014-05-02 11:36:22 AM

quiotu: Guys, Spiderman on his own isn't enough for a set of movies. Just get over it. One, maybe two films at most could work if done perfectly. Spiderman isn't interesting enough to carry a series of films. His rogues gallery is even less capable of carrying a film. Spiderman only works when he's interacting with other, more interesting superheroes.

So yeah, he'd be better off back in the MCU, but he'd have maybe as many movies as The Hulk, probably less. Sony is proving this more and more as they strain to keep the movies fresh and interesting.


If Sony execs would stop trying to shoehorn as many villians as possible into a movie it'd help


I'd have liked to have seen the Venom saga done properly instead of that rushed BS we saw in Spidey 3 the shiatty musical
 
2014-05-02 11:40:05 AM
Time for another reboot.
 
2014-05-02 11:40:47 AM

Mugato: Mulchpuppy: Hell, I'm more interested in Marvel getting all their theme park rights back.

Would that mean they'd have to tear down all the Marvel stuff at Universal Studios?


They'd have to retheme it, which wouldn't be that bad.  Hulk could probably use a bit of downtime anyway. But the thing of it is that they'd have to choose to do it.  The terms of that deal are better than what Sony and Fox has. Universal has those rights literally until they decide they don't want them anymore. IANAL, but my understanding is that they have the rights to the characters "east of the Mississippi" in perpetuity as long as they don't make any major alterations to what they currently have. And there's no reason to give them up without buckets and buckets of money.

It's just part of my dream fifth Florida park that's 1/3 Marvel, 1/3 Star Wars, and 1/3 Pixar.  Hell, if they hadn't just dropped a billion dollars fixing California Adventure, we could have had that in Anaheim.
 
2014-05-02 11:48:42 AM

loonatic112358: If Sony execs would stop trying to shoehorn as many villians as possible into a movie it'd help


You're absolutely right, and yet Drew Goddard doing the Sinister Six movie strikes me as interesting.
 
2014-05-02 11:55:13 AM

Mulchpuppy: loonatic112358: If Sony execs would stop trying to shoehorn as many villians as possible into a movie it'd help

You're absolutely right, and yet Drew Goddard doing the Sinister Six movie strikes me as interesting.


sinister six is a great idea, but sandman, hobgoblin and venom was a wtf


this one has great premise, but so far i'm not so sure
 
2014-05-02 11:55:15 AM
people.wku.edu
 
2014-05-02 11:57:14 AM
The problem seems simple to me, don't use Transformers-level writers if you're wanting Buffy-quality teen soap opera writing.

Its not that Sony is missing the desired mark, its that they're aiming and hitting a mark that the audience does not want to see.  Superhero comics have, surprisingly enough, grown up to the point folks want a little more than just explosions and CGI.
 
2014-05-02 12:17:04 PM
Spiderman used to be my favorite, but this whole Sony thing, and these reviews summing up the movie as "meh", is pissig me off.

I had to live through this shiat to get here, and all we get is "meh"?

24.media.tumblr.com
 
2014-05-02 12:25:31 PM
If you're a Spidey fan, it is still worth seeing.  Because they did get some stuff right, and some stuff is very cool to see realized on the big screen.  It just isn't the Spider-man movie it could have been.
 
2014-05-02 12:27:04 PM
I shall watch it exactly like I watched the first Amazing Spiderman: hooked up to a plasma machine with nowhere else to go.
 
2014-05-02 12:32:14 PM
I was thinking of going to see it just to kill time today, but it seems like i'd be better off just taking a nap.
 
2014-05-02 12:41:55 PM
probably time for another reboot.
 
2014-05-02 12:44:45 PM
I'll wait for it on Netflix.
 
2014-05-02 12:49:25 PM

natural316: Message to all who will complain about the movie in this thread: you'll all see it, they'll get your money, that's all they care about

Proceed


And you would be wrong. I'll not be seeing it, nor will they be seeing a dime of my money. Same as the last one.

I think I last watched Spiderman 2 in a theater. I love the character, but the movies so far haven't been doing him justice.
 
2014-05-02 12:51:53 PM
Rex Reed doesn't seem to realize that these movies are not meant to be consistent with Raimi's trilogy. I also thought he was dead.
 
2014-05-02 12:58:15 PM
Americans can't relate to this film's spiderman!  Bring on the 2014 version!

img.myconfinedspace.com
 
2014-05-02 01:00:49 PM

ThatBillmanGuy: Tyrone Slothrop: It broke Movie Bob.

That might have more impact if I had ever heard of Movie Bob before. But watching that, he's a decent critic. But he talks way too damn fast.


MovieBob's okay.  I like him all right.  But he has a massive Marvel jones, and a long-standing bitterness towards the Spider-Man reboot, and a spiteful dislike of everything DC since The Dark Knight Rises was in direct competition with The Avengers the summer both were released.

He's more than a little bit biased.  Not saying he's wrong (on any front, other than maybe overpraising everything Marvel from Phase One forward), but he tends towards the hyperbolic when it comes to comic book movies, Spider-Man especially.
 
Displayed 50 of 129 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report