Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Spectator UK)   RIP, diversity of opinion (1770-2014)   (spectator.co.uk ) divider line
    More: Sad, free speeches, English Defence League, New York Times best-seller, New Statesman, Brandeis University, Ayaan Hirsi Ali, diversity, Leveson Inquiry  
•       •       •

6071 clicks; posted to Politics » on 17 Apr 2014 at 1:21 PM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



744 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-04-17 09:40:31 PM  

Gulper Eel: Crotchrocket Slim: Yes let's just ignore the massive amount of prejudice and bigotry Muslims face every day and the fact that much of this is at the hands of Christians, and that Christians still have a stranglehold over our culture. That's totes irrelevant.

And you're right in one regard: given that Universities are selective about the students they take in, the students do have a right to demand the University comport to their wishes somewhat. Higher ed exists in a far freer market than elementary schools.

The speaker the Muslims were whining about in this case is an atheist. Christianity has nothing to do with this case.

And the idea that Muslims are somehow unique in being on the receiving end of prejudice and bigotry is laughable, especially given what happens when the shoe's on the other foot - in the many nations where they are dominant they positively delight in dishing out the hate on a scale that would make Fred Phelps blush. But one atheist ex-Muslim shows up at the college they attend in Boston and all of a sudden the college must rescue them from...from what, exactly? Being called out? That's pathetic. Defend your faith if it's so damn wonderful. (No pressure-cooker bombs allowed.)


I think the problem is that she generalizes the entire Islamic faith and there are many modern moderate Muslims that are painted with that broad brush. The Brandise(sp) issue is nuanced imho. That said, I think Islam is taking the heat because dickish leaders use it as a motivating force for the masses to obtain their personal secular ambitions.

I don't think she should have been disinvited, but I'm not upset over it as I would be if she were more selective in her condemnations.
 
2014-04-17 09:43:21 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: Animatronik: Crotchrocket Slim: Gulper Eel: Crotchrocket Slim: Post made less dishonest

Don't be obtuse and don't try to change the subject. We already have a daily Michele-Bachmann-said-something-stupid thread for that subject.

The supposed key point of a university education is that you're going to a place where the rules for discourse are different than they are in the outside world. You're not supposed to go along to get along like you might on the outside just to keep the peace. At college you're not only supposed to tolerate dissenting opinions; you're supposed to welcome their existence and learn how to debate them heartily so as to perhaps learn something new in the process.

And if you're in a faith-based group at a college, you're in the place where you are sure as shiat not supposed to resort to whining when your belief system is challenged.

The argument about Christian foolishness you're trying to drag into this has to do with what they do in the world outside, but no matter how valid it is it has zero to do with the original point at hand

Yes let's just ignore the massive amount of prejudice and bigotry Muslims face every day and the fact that much of this is at the hands of Christians, and that Christians still have a stranglehold over our culture. That's totes irrelevant.

And you're right in one regard: given that Universities are selective about the students they take in, the students do have a right to demand the University comport to their wishes somewhat. Higher ed exists in a far freer market than elementary schools.

Students demanding that universities "comport to their ideas" is a really DUMB IDEA because most students are idiots who should be learning from their betters. If you want to protest a war, fine. If you want to protest a speaker for being a wizard of the KKK, fine. If you want to protest a speaker because, in addition to being a brilliant writer, they hold political opinions that a majority of students don't agree with, Fark you...

As Universities are obligated to accept anyone and everyone who applies, and students never look at the cultural values of an educational institution when applying.

Do you know how I know you've never gone to college of any kind? Except maybe loser community colleges?


I not only went to a university, I have a Ph.D. and taught students at universities, including doctoral candidates. Now I work in industry.
 
2014-04-17 09:46:04 PM  
I'm trying again to read the article and it just sounds like a lot of blubbering and whining.

The poor oppressed right, who has absolutely no media platform and no voice whatsoever anywhere on the planet, my gosh.

I mean, they're just getting shot and jailed just everywhere, and the Fox News building is now a smoking crater filled with iridescent pink unicorn sparkles and fluffy organic granola bunnies wearing pretty satin ribbon bows woven from carbon-neutrally-recycled Armani suits. Oh the oppression.
 
2014-04-17 09:46:41 PM  

Animatronik: Crotchrocket Slim: Animatronik: Crotchrocket Slim: Gulper Eel: Crotchrocket Slim: Post made less dishonest

Don't be obtuse and don't try to change the subject. We already have a daily Michele-Bachmann-said-something-stupid thread for that subject.

The supposed key point of a university education is that you're going to a place where the rules for discourse are different than they are in the outside world. You're not supposed to go along to get along like you might on the outside just to keep the peace. At college you're not only supposed to tolerate dissenting opinions; you're supposed to welcome their existence and learn how to debate them heartily so as to perhaps learn something new in the process.

And if you're in a faith-based group at a college, you're in the place where you are sure as shiat not supposed to resort to whining when your belief system is challenged.

The argument about Christian foolishness you're trying to drag into this has to do with what they do in the world outside, but no matter how valid it is it has zero to do with the original point at hand

Yes let's just ignore the massive amount of prejudice and bigotry Muslims face every day and the fact that much of this is at the hands of Christians, and that Christians still have a stranglehold over our culture. That's totes irrelevant.

And you're right in one regard: given that Universities are selective about the students they take in, the students do have a right to demand the University comport to their wishes somewhat. Higher ed exists in a far freer market than elementary schools.

Students demanding that universities "comport to their ideas" is a really DUMB IDEA because most students are idiots who should be learning from their betters. If you want to protest a war, fine. If you want to protest a speaker for being a wizard of the KKK, fine. If you want to protest a speaker because, in addition to being a brilliant writer, they hold political opinions that a majority of students don't ...


Sure you did, what with you displaying a complete lack of knowledge of the collegiate admissions process. I didn't know shiatty community colleges offered PhD programs.
 
2014-04-17 09:47:32 PM  

Bloody William: did I miss anything not buttfark crazy stupid?


there was a brief interlude of discussing music
 
2014-04-17 09:49:04 PM  

lantawa: Lionel Mandrake: So, still nothing...I'm shocked

More than what you've generated, so there's that. If you'd kept your discussion with me between us, then we could have a meaningful interaction. but you cant. As usual, you want to posture and huzzah and yip about your wonderful performance in this thread and other threads, along with your little weird weaselly buddies. So,as Borat would say, high five! Go find out about Middle Eastern politics yourself. If I feel generous, then I'll share what I find when I find more. Otherwise, I'll just monitor you. I can do that for weeks on end if I feel like it. Adjust your "farkie" notes accordingly.


I think you might be barking up the wrong tree. I don't think it's a middle eastern political tactic so much as those who grew up using forums such as this starting to enter the political arena and having developed bad habbits. Pure speculation, but seriously, you and I are tangitally arguing the same position, yet like Kittypie, I'm wondering what you're smoking.

/though unlike Kittypie I wouldn't mind tfying some because it appears to be some potent shait.
 
2014-04-17 09:51:17 PM  

lantawa: Made you, and anyone else in this thread, think about Baathists, didn't I?  That was my primary goal, and I achieved it in a superlative manner.  Now, a lot more very thoughtful people are aware of a type of political activism that I wanted them to be aware of.


In another region of the world. With no farking connection at all to American politics. After 500 posts, you've been unable to draw a line from point A to point C. There is no B. You even admitted there's no B. You posit hypothetical Bs, but can't actually find the damn thing.

I don't expect you to give me a point B right now, or to actually draw the connection. I would like you to understand why, without that connection,  your argument has no merit.

Saying you made everyone in this thread think about Baathists is about as valid as me saying I just made everyone in this thread think about bat'leths. Bam, lots of people are now thinking about Klingon swords. It has precisely fark-all to do with the argument and I can in no way draw a direct connection between them and American politics.
 
2014-04-17 09:52:47 PM  

Lionel Mandrake: lantawa: We'll be talking again in other threads, and that right soon.

Will you be bringing facts to that thread, or more unwarranted paranoid teabagger bullshiat?  Either way, I look forward to ii

lantawa: The suppression of diversity of opinion is a real thing. You gang-troll folk have taken a stance that opposes this truth. Middle Eastern political influence is, indeed, a part of this phenomenon. You are truly, and I say this unequivocally, stupid or actively encouraging this suppression if you are not recognizing this fact.

So, asking you to back up your claims is "suppression?"

lantawa: And I do not like "the hammer." So, in order to keep privileges, disengagement has to occur, because otherwise the escalation just continues until total overload.

I have no idea what you're talking about, but it seems to be some form of "WAAAAH!!  I'M A VICTIM!!1!"  Man up. dude.

lantawa: You've perfected the gang troll.

Gang troll = "these meanies won't stop asking me to back up my claims!  Why won't they just accept my outrageous claims?  Oh yeah, because they are SUPPRESSING me!!"


So, you're doubling down on the douchebaggery where you ascribe to being able to intricately dissect my every thought.  Okay. No problem.  I'm now attuned to your methods and your political leanings.  Carry on.....in time, you'll learn.  And, BTW, it's hard for me to believe that you don't know what "the hammer" is.  Get with your little weasel buddies, and use your secret decoder rings with each other, and then you can find out and be in the know. Cheesus, you doesn't know what the farkin' hammer is; you must've had a sheltered childhood.
 
2014-04-17 09:53:54 PM  

lantawa: Made you, and anyone else in this thread, think about Baathists, didn't I?  That was my primary goal, and I achieved it in a superlative manner.  Now, a lot more very thoughtful people are aware of a type of political activism that I wanted them to be aware of.  My work here is done.  Well, don't you have a date with a red dot somewhere?


what the f*ck

Did you really need to be such a whiny panicky hyperbolic whackaloon about it?

Are you even aware that you just insulted yourself?

We aren't going to listen to you, we're either slapping the sh*t out of ourselves for LISTENING to your drivel in the first place, mocking it, or laughing hysterically at you.

Yes, your "amazing" "wonderful" and "glorious" work here is DONE.
 
2014-04-17 09:55:30 PM  

gunga galunga: Steyn


You're funny.  Steyn is a reprehensible far right pissant.  Him and his buddy Ezra Levant are shiat-stains on humanity.
 
2014-04-17 09:55:38 PM  

CanisNoir: Pure speculation


AKA you have nothing but strawmen
 
2014-04-17 09:57:21 PM  
what the foaming mad chocolate unf*ck is lantawa talking about??

I can't even parse that last pile of word salad he puked up.
 
2014-04-17 09:57:33 PM  

Bloody William: lantawa: Made you, and anyone else in this thread, think about Baathists, didn't I?  That was my primary goal, and I achieved it in a superlative manner.  Now, a lot more very thoughtful people are aware of a type of political activism that I wanted them to be aware of.

In another region of the world. With no farking connection at all to American politics. After 500 posts, you've been unable to draw a line from point A to point C. There is no B. You even admitted there's no B. You posit hypothetical Bs, but can't actually find the damn thing.

I don't expect you to give me a point B right now, or to actually draw the connection. I would like you to understand why, without that connection,  your argument has no merit.

Saying you made everyone in this thread think about Baathists is about as valid as me saying I just made everyone in this thread think about bat'leths. Bam, lots of people are now thinking about Klingon swords. It has precisely fark-all to do with the argument and I can in no way draw a direct connection between them and American politics.


You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.
 
2014-04-17 09:59:49 PM  

CanisNoir: lantawa: Lionel Mandrake: So, still nothing...I'm shocked

More than what you've generated, so there's that. If you'd kept your discussion with me between us, then we could have a meaningful interaction. but you cant. As usual, you want to posture and huzzah and yip about your wonderful performance in this thread and other threads, along with your little weird weaselly buddies. So,as Borat would say, high five! Go find out about Middle Eastern politics yourself. If I feel generous, then I'll share what I find when I find more. Otherwise, I'll just monitor you. I can do that for weeks on end if I feel like it. Adjust your "farkie" notes accordingly.

I think you might be barking up the wrong tree. I don't think it's a middle eastern political tactic so much as those who grew up using forums such as this starting to enter the political arena and having developed bad habbits. Pure speculation, but seriously, you and I are tangitally arguing the same position, yet like Kittypie, I'm wondering what you're smoking.

/though unlike Kittypie I wouldn't mind tfying some because it appears to be some potent shait.


Wut?  A halfway friendly post? What powerful magic is this?  I like the bad "habbits" mispelling, BTW.  Little hobbits with bad habbits. Lots of that in Lower Farkistan.
 
2014-04-17 09:59:58 PM  

Kittypie070: what the foaming mad chocolate unf*ck is lantawa talking about??

I can't even parse that last pile of word salad he puked up.


I hate to say this, but it could genuinely be a form of schizophrenia. Delusions, paranoia... it's kind of unsettling. I feel a little bad about it. I'd like him to recognize that he's not making sense in any conventional way, is clearly paranoid, and could possibly benefit from some help.
 
2014-04-17 10:02:12 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.


That's because bat'leths are terrible, terrible swords. How can a "warrior race" come up with a weapon that's almost purely defensive and has no reach when held properly? When you need to completely change your grip on a weapon to swing at someone more than six inches away, that's a bad design.

Of course, Klingons are a shiat warrior race, too. Just a bunch of psycho cavemen bullies it's a miracle ever invented warp drive.

Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.
 
2014-04-17 10:02:49 PM  

encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com

LOOK EVERYONE MY UTTER TOSH IS SO VERY SUPERLATIVE

I MADE EVERYONE HERE THINK ABOUT KITTENS TAKING BATHS!!

SWEET GLORIOUS VICTORY IS MINE FOREVER!!


pppfffttthhththtbbbbt

 
2014-04-17 10:03:37 PM  

lantawa: Wut?  A halfway friendly post? What powerful magic is this?  I like the bad "habbits" mispelling, BTW.  Little hobbits with bad habbits. Lots of that in Lower Farkistan.


Seriously dude, you need to step back and take a breath. You are being genuinely paranoid and not entirely coherent.
 
2014-04-17 10:04:11 PM  

Kittypie070: what the foaming mad chocolate unf*ck is lantawa talking about??

I can't even parse that last pile of word salad he puked up.


The grammar in that statement was bad.  it should've read, "now, many more very thoughtful people are aware"  i.e., I'm complimenting the people in this thread as being "very thoughtful people."  Lord knows why.............
 
2014-04-17 10:06:03 PM  

Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.

That's because bat'leths are terrible, terrible swords. How can a "warrior race" come up with a weapon that's almost purely defensive and has no reach when held properly? When you need to completely change your grip on a weapon to swing at someone more than six inches away, that's a bad design.

Of course, Klingons are a shiat warrior race, too. Just a bunch of psycho cavemen bullies it's a miracle ever invented warp drive.

Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.


They also design ships so cool they make D-7s look like crappy Romulan Birds of Prey :D
 
2014-04-17 10:07:12 PM  

lantawa: So, you're doubling down on the douchebaggery


By "douchebaggery" I guess you mean asking for you to provide some sort of evidence to back up your claims.  ANY evidence.  SOMETHING!!

lantawa: you ascribe to being able to intricately dissect my every thought.


Quite the opposite - I CAN'T read your thoughts, that;s why I'm asking you to provide some evidence for the claims you make.

lantawa: Carry on.....in time, you'll learn.


That sounds like a challenge.  I accept.  Please bring proof or evidence or reasons or explanations next time we meet.  kthx  Bring SOMETHING more than a paranoid persecution complex.

lantawa: And, BTW, it's hard for me to believe that you don't know what "the hammer" is. Get with your little weasel buddies, and use your secret decoder rings with each other, and then you can find out and be in the know. Cheesus, you doesn't know what the farkin' hammer is; you must've had a sheltered childhood.


I was more curious as to why you were fearing the hammer.  Or perhaps you were just afraid that you would lose control and throw a tantrum.  If you can't trust yourself, just say so.  I'll be happy to call it a night so you can go whine with your teddy and complain about all those unfair liberals who have the unmitigated gall to actually ask you to back up your claims.

...which you STILL haven't done.  It's all I ask, man.  Given all the time we've been going at each other, I'd think you'd have had plenty of time to track down a few sites and provide some links.  Is that really too much to ask?
 
2014-04-17 10:07:52 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.

That's because bat'leths are terrible, terrible swords. How can a "warrior race" come up with a weapon that's almost purely defensive and has no reach when held properly? When you need to completely change your grip on a weapon to swing at someone more than six inches away, that's a bad design.

Of course, Klingons are a shiat warrior race, too. Just a bunch of psycho cavemen bullies it's a miracle ever invented warp drive.

Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.

They also design ships so cool they make D-7s look like crappy Romulan Birds of Prey :D


Eh, a White Star looks like a Centauri vibrator. Give me a good old-fashioned Starfury. farkers can do crazier maneuvers than a TIE Interceptor.
 
2014-04-17 10:08:19 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: CanisNoir: Pure speculation

AKA you have nothing but strawmen


So you agree with him? Or are you just ignorant?
 
2014-04-17 10:08:45 PM  

Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.

That's because bat'leths are terrible, terrible swords. How can a "warrior race" come up with a weapon that's almost purely defensive and has no reach when held properly? When you need to completely change your grip on a weapon to swing at someone more than six inches away, that's a bad design.

Of course, Klingons are a shiat warrior race, too. Just a bunch of psycho cavemen bullies it's a miracle ever invented warp drive.

Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.


I have to wonder if when Kahless forged the first one he just blocked against his foes until they got tired and then knocked them off their asses and finished them off. At least the Klingons do occasionally use less retarded long swords too.

Plus dk'tangs are sweet daggers.
 
2014-04-17 10:09:22 PM  

Lionel Mandrake: I was more curious as to why you were fearing the hammer.


37.media.tumblr.com

/Has no farking clue what "the Hammer" is. Tom Delay's nickname?
 
2014-04-17 10:09:34 PM  

Bloody William: Kittypie070: what the foaming mad chocolate unf*ck is lantawa talking about??

I can't even parse that last pile of word salad he puked up.


I hate to say this, but it could genuinely be a form of schizophrenia. Delusions, paranoia... it's kind of unsettling. I feel a little bad about it. I'd like him to recognize that he's not making sense in any conventional way, is clearly paranoid, and could possibly benefit from some help.


Recognition of his own problems in communication is vile submission to the collectivist Middle Eastern political influence of arugula-munching douchebag reptiloid MarxoBaathist hive mind imp-weasels.
 
2014-04-17 10:10:16 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: Animatronik: Crotchrocket Slim: Animatronik: Crotchrocket Slim: Gulper Eel: Crotchrocket Slim: Post made less dishonest

Don't be obtuse and don't try to change the subject. We already have a daily Michele-Bachmann-said-something-stupid thread for that subject.

The supposed key point of a university education is that you're going to a place where the rules for discourse are different than they are in the outside world. You're not supposed to go along to get along like you might on the outside just to keep the peace. At college you're not only supposed to tolerate dissenting opinions; you're supposed to welcome their existence and learn how to debate them heartily so as to perhaps learn something new in the process.

And if you're in a faith-based group at a college, you're in the place where you are sure as shiat not supposed to resort to whining when your belief system is challenged.

The argument about Christian foolishness you're trying to drag into this has to do with what they do in the world outside, but no matter how valid it is it has zero to do with the original point at hand

Yes let's just ignore the massive amount of prejudice and bigotry Muslims face every day and the fact that much of this is at the hands of Christians, and that Christians still have a stranglehold over our culture. That's totes irrelevant.

And you're right in one regard: given that Universities are selective about the students they take in, the students do have a right to demand the University comport to their wishes somewhat. Higher ed exists in a far freer market than elementary schools.

Students demanding that universities "comport to their ideas" is a really DUMB IDEA because most students are idiots who should be learning from their betters. If you want to protest a war, fine. If you want to protest a speaker for being a wizard of the KKK, fine. If you want to protest a speaker because, in addition to being a brilliant writer, they hold political opinions that a majority of students don't ...

Sure you did, what with you displaying a complete lack of knowledge of the collegiate admissions process. I didn't know shiatty community colleges offered PhD programs.


Throwing out whatever random insults that pop out of your rotten brain may prove you're smart enough to work in college admissions, but not that you actually have something to say that is worth reading.

In case you hadnt noticed, colleges DO discriminate in their admissions. They discriminate based on things like grades, among other things. This leads to an elitist culture at some top universities, and gullibility with respect to blithely accepting spoon fed doctrine from your professors. You may think you're a lot smarter than people you meet on places like FARK because you went to college or are in college. But the reality is, you really don't know much except what it took to get you there. You probably don't have much say worth hearing about much of anything in the world of politics. I sureas hell didn't at that point in my life.

But one difference back then was that liberals didn't display the base intolerance for different ideas as students, because they weren't thoroughly indoctrinated the way students are nowadays. If you want to be somebody that contributed a lot to society, keep an open mind.
 
2014-04-17 10:10:38 PM  

CanisNoir: Crotchrocket Slim: CanisNoir: Pure speculation

AKA you have nothing but strawmen

So you agree with him? Or are you just ignorant?


I honestly don't care to separate the few kernels of corn from the general feces you like to post anymore. Go away.
 
2014-04-17 10:12:50 PM  

Crotchrocket Slim: Plus dk'tangs are sweet daggers.


That's the most honorable way to spend a Friday night, man. Cruisin' around tryin' to pull down some sweet dk'tang.
 
2014-04-17 10:13:10 PM  

lantawa: CanisNoir: lantawa: Lionel Mandrake: So, still nothing...I'm shocked

More than what you've generated, so there's that. If you'd kept your discussion with me between us, then we could have a meaningful interaction. but you cant. As usual, you want to posture and huzzah and yip about your wonderful performance in this thread and other threads, along with your little weird weaselly buddies. So,as Borat would say, high five! Go find out about Middle Eastern politics yourself. If I feel generous, then I'll share what I find when I find more. Otherwise, I'll just monitor you. I can do that for weeks on end if I feel like it. Adjust your "farkie" notes accordingly.

I think you might be barking up the wrong tree. I don't think it's a middle eastern political tactic so much as those who grew up using forums such as this starting to enter the political arena and having developed bad habbits. Pure speculation, but seriously, you and I are tangitally arguing the same position, yet like Kittypie, I'm wondering what you're smoking.

/though unlike Kittypie I wouldn't mind tfying some because it appears to be some potent shait.

Wut?  A halfway friendly post? What powerful magic is this?  I like the bad "habbits" mispelling, BTW.  Little hobbits with bad habbits. Lots of that in Lower Farkistan.


Posting from phone and yes, lack of spell checker hurts during "recreational time". That said, if this were a true mideast movement, wouldn't it be most evident in the American mideast strongholds like Dearborn Michigan? It's not so I have strong doubts about your theory.

/ now, puff, puff, give muthafarker!
 
2014-04-17 10:13:25 PM  

Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: Plus dk'tangs are sweet daggers.

That's the most honorable way to spend a Friday night, man. Cruisin' around tryin' to pull down some sweet dk'tang.


i.imgur.com
 
2014-04-17 10:15:18 PM  

Kittypie070: what the foaming mad chocolate unf*ck is lantawa talking about??

I can't even parse that last pile of word salad he puked up.


Shhhh, I'm trying to get him to share!
 
2014-04-17 10:15:51 PM  

Bloody William: Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: Plus dk'tangs are sweet daggers.

That's the most honorable way to spend a Friday night, man. Cruisin' around tryin' to pull down some sweet dk'tang.

[i.imgur.com image 640x480]


i.imgur.com
yeah dude sorry but I couldn't resist
 
2014-04-17 10:17:45 PM  
These conservative retards want to debate established science and hard facts? What morons and fools.
 
2014-04-17 10:19:44 PM  
sleevage.com
 
2014-04-17 10:21:14 PM  

Bloody William: Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.


This is the kind of thread that can only end with a gunshot.
 
2014-04-17 10:21:40 PM  

Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: Bloody William: Crotchrocket Slim: You ever see Worf in DS9? Dual Mek'leths > Bat'leths every single time.

That's because bat'leths are terrible, terrible swords. How can a "warrior race" come up with a weapon that's almost purely defensive and has no reach when held properly? When you need to completely change your grip on a weapon to swing at someone more than six inches away, that's a bad design.

Of course, Klingons are a shiat warrior race, too. Just a bunch of psycho cavemen bullies it's a miracle ever invented warp drive.

Now, give me a Minbari fighting pike. Small, concealable, nearly indestructible, extends into a quarterstaff.

They also design ships so cool they make D-7s look like crappy Romulan Birds of Prey :D

Eh, a White Star looks like a Centauri vibrator. Give me a good old-fashioned Starfury. farkers can do crazier maneuvers than a TIE Interceptor.


And this is why despite almost always being on the other side of a debate from you, I appreciate your presence. Well not the only reason but B5 appreciation wins mucho points in my book.
 
2014-04-17 10:24:00 PM  

johnnyrocket: These conservative retards want to debate established science and hard facts? What morons and fools.


Mwelp it looks to me like lantanawowie is attempting to deny the very existence of right wing media, for one thing.

Maybe Oral Roberts College also doesn't exist and there are no evangelical organizations operating in the Air Force Academy either.
 
2014-04-17 10:24:07 PM  

Animatronik: Throwing out whatever random insults that pop out of your rotten brain may prove you're smart enough to work in college admissions, but not that you actually have something to say that is worth reading.

In case you hadnt noticed, colleges DO discriminate in their admissions. They discriminate based on things like grades, among other things. This leads to an elitist culture at some top universities, and gullibility with respect to blithely accepting spoon fed doctrine from your professors. You may think you're a lot smarter than people you meet on places like FARK because you went to college or are in college. But the reality is, you really don't know much except what it took to get you there. You probably don't have much say worth hearing about much of anything in the world of politics. I sureas hell didn't at that point in my life.

But one difference back then was that liberals didn't display the base intolerance for different ideas as students, because they weren't thoroughly indoctrinated the way students are nowadays. If you want to be somebody that contributed a lot to society, keep an open mind.


I never said I work in college admissions, just that you have no clue what the admissions process is like, especially with regard to why students pick what institutions they apply to. You ever notice in US News & World Reports there are summaries regarding student life, listing student clubs? And other collegiate rating services will often have a description of student life and the political atmosphere of the college or university? And that many students will often select a school due in large part because of this?

Everyone knows you need decent grades for a college to look at you, but why do they interview you many times or try to find out more about you as a human being while going through the admissions process if cultural compatibility is something schools aren't taking into consideration?

You also have no clue where I am in life or how old I am, and frankly you've said nothing rational to demonstrate that students aren't looking at the political philosophy of a college etc. when making the decision to apply... when many if not most do.

So since we're cool with making appeal to authority fallacies- which if you were ever a decent prof you'd know is pretty much the lowest, lamest debate tactic ever, I have a triple PhD in Interdimensional Engineering, Warp Field Propulsion, and Zero Point Energy Systems Engineering from the University of Gallifrey as well as holding several Masters degrees from the Daystrom Institute, and when I graduated undergrad from the Warrior Caste Academy on Minbar ISA President John Sheriden delivered the keynote address (obviously before he went off with the Old Ones). I notice you never listed what institutions you got your PhD in Phrenology or Alchemy etc. from.
 
2014-04-17 10:24:53 PM  

CanisNoir: And this is why despite almost always being on the other side of a debate from you, I appreciate your presence. Well not the only reason but B5 appreciation wins mucho points in my book.


People of all races, species, and political persuasions can appreciate the humor of Rebo and Zooty.
 
2014-04-17 10:26:46 PM  

strathcona: gunga galunga: Steyn

You're funny.  Steyn is a reprehensible far right pissant.  Him and his buddy Ezra Levant are shiat-stains on humanity.


How coexistant of you, and you a canadian of all people.
 
2014-04-17 10:29:44 PM  

Bloody William: lantawa: Wut?  A halfway friendly post? What powerful magic is this?  I like the bad "habbits" mispelling, BTW.  Little hobbits with bad habbits. Lots of that in Lower Farkistan.

Seriously dude, you need to step back and take a breath. You are being genuinely paranoid and not entirely coherent.


Actually, I'm sensing a sort of hysteria being generated from a number of you guys who've chosen to gang-troll me.  There're medications that you can take for hysterical conversion reactions.  You might want to look into that.

This last post that you just quoted, well, that's a take on Johnny Depp's Barnabas Collins in the movie Dark Shadows, combined with amusement at the habbits word.  Obviously a sign of deep paranoia and incoherence.  Try to keep up.  You idiots asked for this.

Again, the title of this thread is RIP, diversity of opinion.(1770-2014).

This thing, suppression of diverse opinions, exists.  I am displaying to a small group of weaselly misfits that vicious snark will not suppress diverse opinions.  Learn from it, each and every one of you who has taken dirty, cheap shots; cheap shots that you completely expected would silence me.  Now who is paranoid?  It's certainly not me. I still think that Baathist tactics are being used in the United States under a different name. I understand, perfectly, the viciousness of the far Left.  It is reaI, and it is hateful. I truly do not care if you disapprove of my stance or not.  I am sharing it with you, period.  Free speech, yaknow.......
 
2014-04-17 10:33:41 PM  

Kittypie070: johnnyrocket: These conservative retards want to debate established science and hard facts? What morons and fools.

Mwelp it looks to me like lantanawowie is attempting to deny the very existence of right wing media, for one thing.

Maybe Oral Roberts College also doesn't exist and there are no evangelical organizations operating in the Air Force Academy either.


I love how rightwingers forget they essentially have many of their own higher ed institutions where liberals are pretty damn unwelcome. Granted, aside from the technical and military ones they're all pretty low rated, but that's really their own fault.
 
2014-04-17 10:34:57 PM  

lantawa: This thing, suppression of diverse opinions, exists.  I am displaying to a small group of weaselly misfits that vicious snark will not suppress diverse opinions.  Learn from it, each and every one of you who has taken dirty, cheap shots; cheap shots that you completely expected would silence me.   Now who is paranoid?  It's certainly not me. I still think that Baathist tactics are being used in the United States under a different name. I understand, perfectly, the viciousness of the far Left.  It is reaI, and it is hateful.


The words surrounding those bold words seem to disprove your thesis.

You can think that "Baathist tactics are being used in the United States," but unless you can actually point to exactly how, who, and what that opinion has as much weight as "The Queen of England wants to control the White House." It is a paranoid statement. It is paranoid because you are assuming suppression, persecution, antagonism... without any evidence of it. You simply see it as there when no one else does.

I'm not trying to be a dick. I really think you should consider calming down, stepping back, and look at exactly why your whole Baathist statement isn't carrying any weight with anyone else in this thread. And if you genuinely think there's some driving Baathist force behind American politics you disagree with... you might want to consider talking to someone. Get some other opinions.
 
2014-04-17 10:35:44 PM  

Bloody William: Lionel Mandrake: I was more curious as to why you were fearing the hammer.

[37.media.tumblr.com image 500x276]

/Has no farking clue what "the Hammer" is. Tom Delay's nickname?


This is the hammer.  Damn, you guys are denser than a briar patch.

i466.photobucket.com

 
2014-04-17 10:36:58 PM  

lantawa: Bloody William: Lionel Mandrake: I was more curious as to why you were fearing the hammer.

[37.media.tumblr.com image 500x276]

/Has no farking clue what "the Hammer" is. Tom Delay's nickname?

This is the hammer.  Damn, you guys are denser than a briar patch.[i466.photobucket.com image 448x254]


Oh, the... ban hammer that's almost never used on Fark except when users report instances of explicit content or personal attacks? This isn't Reddit, dude.
 
2014-04-17 10:39:48 PM  

lantawa: I understand, perfectly, the viciousness of the far Left.


And you have taught me of the thin-skinned, paranoid stupidity of the right.

Fight on li'l freedomsoldier!
 
2014-04-17 10:40:57 PM  

Bloody William: lantawa: Bloody William: Lionel Mandrake: I was more curious as to why you were fearing the hammer.

[37.media.tumblr.com image 500x276]

/Has no farking clue what "the Hammer" is. Tom Delay's nickname?

This is the hammer.  Damn, you guys are denser than a briar patch.[i466.photobucket.com image 448x254]

Oh, the... ban hammer that's almost never used on Fark except when users report instances of explicit content or personal attacks? This isn't Reddit, dude.


Does the troll think tattling to the Mods for the sort of flame wars that serve as Fark's bread and butter is a scary thing to anyone? Don't post porn, don't mouth off to the mods and you're generally fine.
 
2014-04-17 10:43:34 PM  

Lionel Mandrake: lantawa: I understand, perfectly, the viciousness of the far Left.

And you have taught me of the thin-skinned, paranoid stupidity of the right.

Fight on li'l freedomsoldier!


Yeah it's like having held the rest of the nation down for decades might have unpleasant consequences for the Right or something.
 
2014-04-17 10:44:04 PM  

lantawa: There are some ignorant people who truly do not see the Baathist influence in the United States.


I looked up that exact phrase in Google.

There is no evidence whatsoever that this is happening. Every single headline of every single article I looked at, before I chose a link at random, showed NO EVIDENCE whatsoever that such a thing is happening.

I saw nothing whatsoever in the random example article I have provided a link below to, that even remotely infers in any way whatsoever that the US is being infiltrated by, very specifically and precisely, BAATHISTS. Baathism a solidly Middle Eastern problem.


http://www.newrepublic.com/article/world/magazine/107238/baathism-ob it uary


The cult of resistance leads to a culture of hysteria. Once you have spent 35 years or 50 years manning a machine gun and vowing resistance to the end, your ability to work up more thoughtful habits of mind is bound to become a little circumscribed.
 
Displayed 50 of 744 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report