If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Major League Baseball)   Thank goodness baseball now has instant replay. Calls that are blown on the field can be reviewed, confirmed as accurate, and then later declared blown again when the tapes are reviewed a second time   (mlb.mlb.com) divider line 27
    More: Asinine, Major League Baseball, Thank Goodness, Daniel Nava, second bases, Red Sox, right fielders  
•       •       •

1011 clicks; posted to Sports » on 13 Apr 2014 at 4:50 AM (14 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



27 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-04-13 03:18:56 AM
At least they're trying to get calls right. In the last two weeks I've seen a lot of close calls overturned, and I'm happy with the system so far, I think it's a work in progress, like anything else, it has some kinks that need to be ironed out. I think the thumbs up thumbs down from the dugout and replay review have both gotten faster since the first week. I'm a patient man, I'm a baseball fan. I'm giving it some time.

But still, if you want perfected officiating there's always that one sport league that doesn't exist.
 
2014-04-13 03:51:20 AM
A call involving the Yankees that was challenged ends up in their favor in spite of evidence it should've been overturned?  Yep, system's working fine!

/not a Yankees fan
 
2014-04-13 05:45:14 AM
And therefore, we should go back to the days where there was 1 ump on the field.

If the players were lucky.
 
2014-04-13 06:43:07 AM
Not that important, at least not this time. Lackey got destroyed, that was why the Red Sox lost the game. Farrell just trying to change the subject.
 
2014-04-13 08:03:57 AM
This reminds me of my son's opening day in his Pony League yesterday.  He went 3 for 3 with a two-run double and two three-run inside the park home runs for a total of 8 RBI on the day.  They won, 12 - 10.

Why am I telling you this?  I'm telling everyone!

:: watches the vid in TFA ::

Yeah, he was out.
 
2014-04-13 08:05:57 AM
It's amazing how incompetent baseball officiating is. At least in the NBA when they blow a call it's likely they're doing it on purpose.
 
2014-04-13 08:50:52 AM

lifeboat: This reminds me of my son's opening day in his Pony League yesterday.  He went 3 for 3 with a two-run double and two three-run inside the park home runs for a total of 8 RBI on the day.  They won, 12 - 10.

Why am I telling you this?  I'm telling everyone!

:: watches the vid in TFA ::

Yeah, he was out.


HGH
 
2014-04-13 09:02:20 AM

lifeboat: This reminds me of my son's opening day in his Pony League yesterday.  He went 3 for 3 with a two-run double and two three-run inside the park home runs for a total of 8 RBI on the day.  They won, 12 - 10.

Why am I telling you this?  I'm telling everyone!

:: watches the vid in TFA ::

Yeah, he was out.


The cream or the clear?
 
2014-04-13 09:06:38 AM

Lost Thought 00: HGH


Cheesehead_Dave: The cream or the clear?


Well that would explain why I have to buy him bigger shoes every six months.
 
2014-04-13 09:11:57 AM
Yeah he was clearly out. (It also didn't effect the outcome of the game)  When the call was upheld i was wondering if the officiating crew didn't want to open a can of worms.  Anna should have called time out.  Without that apparently the fielder can turn the act of standing into twister.
 
2014-04-13 09:24:49 AM
Well, just think of all the time replay will save....not having to listen for ten minutes while the manager behaves irrationally kicking dirt and cussing the umpires momma and then finally gets ejected only to throw helmets, bats and water coolers onto the field while he finally GTFO.

Replay couldn't possibly be worse than the old way.  If I want to watch little kids throw tantrums, I'll look out the window at my neighbors clown car of screaming kids.
 
2014-04-13 09:32:35 AM
As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.
 
2014-04-13 09:39:13 AM
It boggles the mind that they could work on setting up a replay system for months and not do something to ensure that they're receiving all of the video from the stadiums.  Luckily this was exposed now instead of on a play that made a difference in the outcome of a game.
 
2014-04-13 09:39:48 AM

oukewldave: As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.


Yes, it would be bs to call him out for being out.  WTF dude?
 
2014-04-13 09:43:17 AM
i detest the farking yankees (spit) almost as much as the dodgers (spit), and i could not possibly care about that call
 
2014-04-13 09:59:13 AM
The Red Sox should be more concerned with reviewing the acquisition of Burke Badenhop.
 
2014-04-13 10:20:29 AM
the 2nd baseman/ss almost never touch the bag on a double play anyway, so this evens things out
 
2014-04-13 11:00:55 AM

oukewldave: As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.


Hello there friend! You have appeared to spell Red Sox incorrectly.
 
2014-04-13 11:58:27 AM

oukewldave: As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.


Instant replay was put in place precisely for this kind of "technical BS".
 
2014-04-13 01:11:04 PM

qorkfiend: oukewldave: As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.

Instant replay was put in place precisely for this kind of "technical BS".


do you think every 6-4-3 dp should be reviewed to make sure the 2nd baseman's foot was on the bag
 
rka
2014-04-13 01:44:20 PM

Bonanza Jellybean: qorkfiend: oukewldave: As much as I hate the Yankees (even more than Red Sux), that would be a bs call to call him out for that.  Yes, he "technically" picked up his foot, but replay wasn't put in for that kind of bs.

Instant replay was put in place precisely for this kind of "technical BS".

do you think every 6-4-3 dp should be reviewed to make sure the 2nd baseman's foot was on the bag


Of course.

Perfection is the goal right? Can't have any missed calls whatsoever.
 
2014-04-13 02:26:03 PM

Lost Thought 00: HGH


Being that the person in question isn't yet an adult, you happen to be correct in this instance.
 
2014-04-13 10:09:45 PM
Rome wasn't built in a day.  Replay won't be perfect from day one.  A bad replay review went against the Yankees a few games ago, in a lot more outcome-affecting situation - it's not perfect.  They'll still make some mistakes but a lot of tough calls have been corrected, so I say so far pretty good.

I expect there will be tweaks to the rules made this offseason to account for some of replays failings.
 
2014-04-13 10:27:39 PM

bluorangefyre: A call involving the Yankees that was challenged ends up in their favor in spite of evidence it should've been overturned?  Yep, system's working fine!

/not a Yankees fan


And there was another one tonight (should have been upheld, but was overturned in the Yankees favor.)  This one might actually affect the outcome, though.
 
2014-04-14 02:49:49 AM

whooter: And there was another one tonight (should have been upheld, but was overturned in the Yankees favor.) This one might actually affect the outcome, though.


Even the anti-Yankee ESPN commentators believed the call should have been overturned - ball wasn't completely caught yet as stipulated by the rules.
 
2014-04-14 03:29:09 AM

idesofmarch: whooter: And there was another one tonight (should have been upheld, but was overturned in the Yankees favor.) This one might actually affect the outcome, though.

Even the anti-Yankee ESPN commentators believed the call should have been overturned - ball wasn't completely caught yet as stipulated by the rules.


I'll admit I haven't seen it, but the radio side of ESPN thought it was inconclusive, and therefore should be upheld.  I dunno.
 
2014-04-14 09:34:03 AM

idesofmarch: Even the anti-Yankee ESPN commentators believed the call should have been overturned - ball wasn't completely caught yet as stipulated by the rules.


Well, I will admit that I'm a biased BoxSox fan, but it looks pretty inconclusive to me, I don't think you could really tell when his foot hit the bag last night, and the call on the field should have stood.

But them the breaks. And last nights call wouldn't have been as bad if it wasn't SO epically blown Saturday.
 
Displayed 27 of 27 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report