Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Shadowlocked)   Hobbit review says "the Bilbo-Smaug meeting is one of the cinematic highlights of the decade." Subby suggests you check out a little BBC show called Sherlock, where Smaug teams up with Bilbo to fight crime   (shadowlocked.com) divider line 57
    More: Interesting, Bilbo, Smaug, hobbits, The Desolation of Smaug, Blu-ray, The Hobbit, fighting crime, Smaug meeting  
•       •       •

564 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 10 Apr 2014 at 7:20 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



57 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-04-10 12:30:21 AM  
lol
 
2014-04-10 07:09:52 AM  
I really love Sherlock.  I'm not surprised that more people don't watch it  - you have to pay close attention, you have to listen closely to really smart and fast dialogue, and you actually have to think on occasion.....

But the show is wonderfully done.  Great writing.  And the actors mesh well together.
 
2014-04-10 07:27:57 AM  
As a Hobbit fan, ever since the 1977 animated film, I though Bilbo spent too much time with the ring off.  Otherwise, very nice, if extended more than a bit.
 
2014-04-10 07:28:21 AM  
That 'moment' was the only good part of the movie...until they ruined it by a massive dragon chase for absolutely no reason at all.

I would gladly watch any episode of Sherlock over DoS any day.
 
2014-04-10 07:29:57 AM  

bborchar: That 'moment' was the only good part of the movie...until they ruined it by a massive dragon chase for absolutely no reason at all.

I would gladly watch any episode of Sherlock over DoS any day.


Padding the running time is too a reason!
 
2014-04-10 07:34:46 AM  
Well, I thought it was good that the dwarves attempted to fight the dragon.  The original story seemed a bit weak on how to get rid of the dragon.. 'If we can just get to the Lonely Mountain with a burglar, we'll win, somehow.'
 
2014-04-10 07:35:20 AM  

ThatGuyFromTheInternet: bborchar: That 'moment' was the only good part of the movie...until they ruined it by a massive dragon chase for absolutely no reason at all.

I would gladly watch any episode of Sherlock over DoS any day.

Padding the running time is too a reason!


I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.
 
2014-04-10 07:40:36 AM  

Krusty's Wench: I really love Sherlock.  I'm not surprised that more people don't watch it  - you have to pay close attention, you have to listen closely to really smart and fast dialogue, and you actually have to think on occasion.....


Plus it has a full hour and a half running time. I'm a big fan of the show as well but an hour and a half is a pretty sizable amount of time to block off for a single episode.
 
2014-04-10 07:59:13 AM  

Krusty's Wench: I really love Sherlock.  I'm not surprised that more people don't watch it  - you have to pay close attention, you have to listen closely to really smart and fast dialogue, and you actually have to think on occasion.....

But the show is wonderfully done.  Great writing.  And the actors mesh well together.


WTF are you talking about?  Considering that they make 3 episodes a year, and that if you put any effort into it at all you can see the episodes months before PBS broadcasts it, plus you can watch it online or on demand a day after it airs in the States, it does remarkably well.  8-10 million US viewers actually sit down to watch it when it airs.  Several million more watch it on their own time.  I realize that you're trying to make yourself feel smarter, but a lot of people watch that show.  It's OK though.  You can still feel smugly superior to all the "Murikans.  Just stick to bragging about your local microbrew, or that little indie band you listen to.
 
2014-04-10 08:12:59 AM  
Im shallow...I cant stand watching Cumberbatch...he doesnt look human. most brits try for a stiff upper lip, not a stiff upper face.


Jacksons films are the most expensive fan fiction ever made.  the LotR triolgy had a few retarded  moments of hyper unrealistic video game action... mostly involving Legolas. the Hobbit films...ALL THE ACTION IS HYPER REAL UNREALISTIC video game action bullshiat. its just awful
 
2014-04-10 08:16:37 AM  
I've been disapponted with the Hobbit movies so far. The meeting between Bilbo & Smaug on film didn't capture the moment in the book, IMO.
 
2014-04-10 08:20:08 AM  
wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net

There be Hobbitses in North Dakota
 
2014-04-10 08:22:58 AM  
I liked the Peter Jackson Middle Earth films, but I have to agree that they're fan-fiction rather than adaptations.
 
2014-04-10 08:26:29 AM  

bborchar: I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.


Yep, just like the ridiculous escape from goblin town in the first film.  I adore  The Hobbit, but both of those films made me stabby.  Still, after the abomination that was the first film it's only my fault for watching the second.
 
2014-04-10 08:44:41 AM  

rzrwiresunrise: I've been disapponted with the Hobbit movies so far. The meeting between Bilbo & Smaug on film didn't capture the moment in the book, IMO.


I'd be shocked if Peter Jackson even read the book.
 
2014-04-10 08:45:20 AM  
It just dawned on me that Bilbo and Dr. Watson are the same actor.

/Never saw the Hobbit
 
2014-04-10 08:46:51 AM  

ColSanders: bborchar: I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.

Yep, just like the ridiculous escape from goblin town in the first film.  I adore  The Hobbit, but both of those films made me stabby.  Still, after the abomination that was the first film it's only my fault for watching the second.


Don't forget that you're watching the story Bilbo is telling us. As the narrator, he chooses what to show/tell us. Perhaps the miraculous escapes etc are his embellishment.
 
2014-04-10 08:47:04 AM  

Krusty's Wench: I really love Sherlock.  I'm not surprised that more people don't watch it  - you have to pay close attention, you have to listen closely to really smart and fast dialogue, and you actually have to think on occasion.....

But the show is wonderfully done.  Great writing.  And the actors mesh well together.


And Benedict Cumberbatch!

Stratohead: Im shallow...I cant stand watching Cumberbatch...he doesnt look human. most brits try for a stiff upper lip, not a stiff upper face.


Shut your whore mouth!
 
2014-04-10 08:58:00 AM  
I actually just rented DoS the other day, the movie was ok. Smaug was awesome, didn't mind the dwarves trying to fight him, but the scenes with just Smaug and Bilbo were way more interesting and terrifying.

Regarding the "fan fiction" angle, Jackson manged to pull together enough funding and quality actors to give us six fine movies set in middle earth. I'm fine with him putting his own stamp on the story and expanding the world beyond the core books. If you don't like it I challenge you to do better.
 
2014-04-10 08:59:49 AM  

LL316: rzrwiresunrise: I've been disapponted with the Hobbit movies so far. The meeting between Bilbo & Smaug on film didn't capture the moment in the book, IMO.

I'd be shocked if Peter Jackson even read the book.


+10

Let me know if you decide to run for office, so I can vote for you 3 times.

/maybe 4
//still laughing
 
2014-04-10 09:11:52 AM  
I'm sorry but I'm done with hobbitses, I fell asleep during the last 1/2 hour of episode 2. I hope Smaug smoked every last one of those muthafarkers.
 
2014-04-10 09:13:44 AM  
I'd point out that the reviewer says "cinematic," and that Sherlock is a TV show. But really, Sherlock is more like than a TV show at this point... it's probably the most successful nine-films-and-counting movie franchise in history.


Hebalo: ColSanders: bborchar: I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.
Yep, just like the ridiculous escape from goblin town in the first film.  I adore  The Hobbit, but both of those films made me stabby.  Still, after the abomination that was the first film it's only my fault for watching the second.
Don't forget that you're watching the story Bilbo is telling us. As the narrator, he chooses what to show/tell us. Perhaps the miraculous escapes etc are his embellishment.


I assume all the differences between the Hobbit films and the first franchise are due to Bilbo's embellishment. For starters, Bilbo would have looked very basically the same in The Hobbit as he did at the start of Fellowship. It also explains the overstylization of the Goblins, changing the wargs from hyenas to wolves, turning trolls from fairly mindless beasts into a sentient race, the cartoonish nature of Radagast, both of the ridiculous video game escape scenes, etc.
 
2014-04-10 09:13:48 AM  
I'm always amused when people biatch about something being "fan-fiction" as if that were magically different from "adaptation" and somehow made it lesser than other works.  Fan-fiction has won Pulitzers, Tonys, Hugos, even a Nobel prize.  Just because people with sticks up their arses use the term "adaptation" for those works instead of "fanfic" doesn't change the nature of those works.  They're still fan-fiction, plain and simple.

Are there lots of shiatty fanfic writers out there?  Of course, but there's lots of shiatty writers of "original" works too.  The fact that someone is basing their work on the work of others doesn't somehow make it lesser.  Famous authors throughout history, and even well known modern writers and directors, have based at least some of their work on the works of others, but you don't hear people biatching about those.

"Dante's Inferno?  Psh, that's just self-insert biblical fanfic."
"All's Well That Ends Well is just Decameron fanfic.  Hell, most of Shakespeare's works are historical fanfic.  God, I wish he would have written something original."
"The Gospel According to Jesus Christ?  Who cares that it won a Nobel prize in literature, it's more biblical fanfic so it's crap."
"Milton's Paradise Lost is just more of that stupid biblical fanfic.  I swear, once a book gets popular, everyone starts writing fanfic from it."
"Jules Verne's An Antarctic Mystery is a sequel to Edgar Allen Poe's Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym?  Verne must be a crap writer then, because only crap writers write fanfic."
"The Departed was just a remixing of Internal Affairs and Internal Affairs 2?  God Scorsese is such a hack."

You folks need to get the fark over yourselves.  "Fan-fiction" is no less legitimate than any other form of writing and some of the most well known and beloved stories in Western culture are fanfic.
 
2014-04-10 09:19:27 AM  

StrikitRich: [wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net image 630x945]

There be Hobbitses in North Dakota


I can only imagine that that will turn out to be awesome.
 
2014-04-10 09:19:27 AM  

ColSanders: bborchar: I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.

Yep, just like the ridiculous escape from goblin town in the first film.  I adore  The Hobbit, but both of those films made me stabby.  Still, after the abomination that was the first film it's only my fault for watching the second.


Ugh, Goblin Town was a farking joke.

I'm not disappointed because the Hobbit flicks don't live up to the book or because I don't like the content they added; I'm disappointed because they aren't close to the standard that the same farking people set with the LOTR movies.

And the time wasting is just completely  obscene. Motherfarkers, I would have paid to see three movies just because you're greedy, you didn't have to pad them out like that.

/the second movie was better than the first, at least
 
2014-04-10 09:21:47 AM  

Flaumig: You folks need to get the fark over yourselves. "Fan-fiction" is no less legitimate than any other form of writing and some of the most well known and beloved stories in Western culture are fanfic.


If it is good it is an adaptation.

If it is shiat, it is fanfic.

Simple.
 
2014-04-10 09:21:56 AM  
I went to see DoS in 48fps 3D and it was an incredible movie going experience. I felt like I could stand up and start walking around inside the movie and grab Evangeline Lily's ass. The movie looked utterly amazing and it was a lot of fun. I can't wait for the final chapter.
 
2014-04-10 09:42:09 AM  

HMS_Blinkin: StrikitRich: [wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net image 630x945]

There be Hobbitses in North Dakota

I can only imagine that that will turn out to be awesome.


I'm expecting "Bates Motel with accents", not that that's a bad thing.

If Bates Motel and Fargo both run for a few years, I'm half-expecting someone to try remaking Twin Peaks at this rate.
 
2014-04-10 09:44:14 AM  
They could have simply done the spiders, skipped over the elves, and spent two hours of Smaug and Bilbo trading wits and I would have been fine.

Having seen it again, they did a great job on Smaug's menace and weaknesses showing through the writing, acting and animation.  I am *happy* they extended Smaug over two movies, instead of ending him in one.  He's better than I was hoping he would be.

I don't mind the dwarves, or the dwarven fighting antics.  But video-game elves have always bothered me, even back in LOTR.

Like LOTR, there is a lot of good stuff in here, with the occasional stinker of an idea you have to choke past, (Legolas going mano a mano with a huge orc, when he could have just popped his eyes out with an arrow, like he had been the whole time anyway).

Overall, I like have the full set of Tolkien in the same style and vision.
 
2014-04-10 09:48:03 AM  

scarmig: Legolas going mano a mano with a huge orc


+10 Internets for properly using the term "mana a mano".
 
2014-04-10 09:51:11 AM  
I was underwhelmed by Hobbit 1 and in no hurry to see 2, but if someone digitally replaced Sherlock and Watson with Smaug and Bilbo, keeping the dialog/soundtrack otherwise the same... I would watch the shiat out of that.
 
2014-04-10 10:07:39 AM  

Flaumig: I'm always amused when people biatch about something being "fan-fiction" as if that were magically different from "adaptation" and somehow made it lesser than other works.  Fan-fiction has won Pulitzers, Tonys, Hugos, even a Nobel prize.  Just because people with sticks up their arses use the term "adaptation" for those works instead of "fanfic" doesn't change the nature of those works.  They're still fan-fiction, plain and simple.

Are there lots of shiatty fanfic writers out there?  Of course, but there's lots of shiatty writers of "original" works too.  The fact that someone is basing their work on the work of others doesn't somehow make it lesser.  Famous authors throughout history, and even well known modern writers and directors, have based at least some of their work on the works of others, but you don't hear people biatching about those.

"Dante's Inferno?  Psh, that's just self-insert biblical fanfic."
"All's Well That Ends Well is just Decameron fanfic.  Hell, most of Shakespeare's works are historical fanfic.  God, I wish he would have written something original."
"The Gospel According to Jesus Christ?  Who cares that it won a Nobel prize in literature, it's more biblical fanfic so it's crap."
"Milton's Paradise Lost is just more of that stupid biblical fanfic.  I swear, once a book gets popular, everyone starts writing fanfic from it."
"Jules Verne's An Antarctic Mystery is a sequel to Edgar Allen Poe's Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym?  Verne must be a crap writer then, because only crap writers write fanfic."
"The Departed was just a remixing of Internal Affairs and Internal Affairs 2?  God Scorsese is such a hack."

You folks need to get the fark over yourselves.  "Fan-fiction" is no less legitimate than any other form of writing and some of the most well known and beloved stories in Western culture are fanfic.



You need to get a grip so you don't post a hyperdefensive rant because one person used the phrase "fan-fiction" in passing. Write as much fanfic as you want; no one really gives a shiat.
 
2014-04-10 10:20:48 AM  

Monkeyfark Ridiculous: You need to get a grip so you don't post a hyperdefensive rant because one person used the phrase "fan-fiction" in passing.


Two people referred to The Hobbit as Peter Jackson fanfic in the thread before I posted.  It also pops up in every thread about The Hobbit movies (admittedly not as often as "OMG THREE MOVIES = CASH GRAB"), so it's not like there's no precedent.  And it wasn't "hyperdefensive" at all.  As I stated, I am amused by the people who start with the "The Hobbit/LotR movies are just Peter Jackson fanfic because I didn't like <insert random aspect of the films here>" in every one of these threads.  I think it's funny that people use the term "fan-fiction" in such a derogatory manner when a huge portion of Western literature fits that description.  It would be like someone using the term "motion picture" as an insult, and using "film" to refer to what they consider to be good or valid works.  It's very silly.

"Hey, did you see The Avengers?"
"Yes.  What a prime example of a Joss Whedon motion picture.  I prefer to watch films; motion pictures are just crap."
 
2014-04-10 10:37:54 AM  

Flaumig: Monkeyfark Ridiculous: You need to get a grip so you don't post a hyperdefensive rant because one person used the phrase "fan-fiction" in passing.

Two people referred to The Hobbit as Peter Jackson fanfic in the thread before I posted.  It also pops up in every thread about The Hobbit movies (admittedly not as often as "OMG THREE MOVIES = CASH GRAB"), so it's not like there's no precedent.  And it wasn't "hyperdefensive" at all.  As I stated, I am amused by the people who start with the "The Hobbit/LotR movies are just Peter Jackson fanfic because I didn't like <insert random aspect of the films here>" in every one of these threads.  I think it's funny that people use the term "fan-fiction" in such a derogatory manner when a huge portion of Western literature fits that description.  It would be like someone using the term "motion picture" as an insult, and using "film" to refer to what they consider to be good or valid works.  It's very silly.

"Hey, did you see The Avengers?"
"Yes.  What a prime example of a Joss Whedon motion picture.  I prefer to watch films; motion pictures are just crap."


The elements Jackson inserts into his Middle Earth FAN FICTION aren't just little elemental tweaks to adapt to the big screen...such as combining characters, or removing Tom Bombadil for example...he completely invents elements that never existed for reasons that don't really make a lot of sense.  the entire love triangle between a made up Elf, and a Dwarf who got to talk for a few minutes, and Legolas who was no where near the Hobbit in the books...is only there to justify some additional ludicrous combat. pretty much All of the scenes with Rhadoghast the Brown...pure 110% WTF?
 stretching a short novel into 3 films to allow for invented elements and action sequences so moronic they make Merry Melodies look like a they are playing things straight (that shiat with the barrels was just...Jurassic Park 2 level dumb as fark).

No one is directly attacking ALL Fanfiction...or saying all FanFic is bad.

/yours is though. its just terrible.
//worst.slash.fiction.ever.
 
2014-04-10 10:39:01 AM  

Slowdog: I was underwhelmed by Hobbit 1 and in no hurry to see 2, but if someone digitally replaced Sherlock and Watson with Smaug and Bilbo, keeping the dialog/soundtrack otherwise the same... I would watch the shiat out of that.


I would love that!

I am a huge Sherlock Holmes fan. I enjoy just about every incarnation of his stories. That being said, The new BBC Sherlock is my favorite. Cumberbatch was born to play Sherlock, and he is incredibly fun to watch in that part. One of the main reasons that I prefer Sherlock over the other versions is the way they portray Watson and Lestrade. Watson is sharp as a tack, witty, and amazingly good in a fight, not the way they normally play him as being some amiable nincompoop who tags along with Holmes. Freeman is my favorite Watson of all time and I love the way he (mostly) keeps Sherlock in line and grounded as much as he ever could be. Rupert Graves is a great Lestrade, even though he is usually 2 or 3 steps behind the boys, he is a smart, ethical, loyal man, and not the knuckle dragging, interfering moron as he is usually portrayed. Great show.

I love all of the LOTR and Hobbit movies. A lot of us grew up loving these stories and all we ever had to watch was a half finished Bakshi cartoon and that idiotic Rankin Bass BS with Orson Bean as Bilbo FFS. Jackson's Middle earth is amazingly realized and I wish he could somehow make more movies about that world. I don't much mind that they've added in some more female interaction, the books are basically a sausage fest.
 
2014-04-10 10:44:55 AM  

Stratohead: Im shallow...I cant stand watching Cumberbatch...he doesnt look human. most brits try for a stiff upper lip, not a stiff upper face.


Feel free to post pics of you being mobbed by female fans.
 
2014-04-10 10:54:08 AM  
It seems like the people that don't like Cumberbatch always say disparaging things about his looks as the justification, which is ridiculous. Steve Buscemi is strange looking, too, and almost everyone on FARK adores him. I've yet to see anyone complain about Cumberbatch because he can't act.
 
2014-04-10 11:00:43 AM  

Stratohead: the entire love triangle between a made up Elf, and a Dwarf who got to talk for a few minutes, and Legolas who was no where near the Hobbit in the books


For what it's worth, the love triangle was added by a producer/co-writer, not Jackson.

"At that moment when [Boyens*] said there was a love story, I agreed to the job under one condition. One condition. And they agreed to the condition, and it was in place for two years. The condition was: I will not be involved in a love triangle. Because any of you who are fans ofLost - I had it up to here with love triangles.   And sure enough, I come back for reshoots in 2012 and they go, 'We've made a few adjustments to the love story.'" ~ Evangeline Lily

*Philippa Boyens, producer and co-writer.

As for adding her character to begin with, I don't really have any issues with that.  Tolkein's work is quite the sausage fest, and having more women who are more than just scenery is nice.  And Legolas?  He was added specifically to tie in with the LotR movies and to give his character a reason to hate dwarves in Fellowship of the Ring.

"It was interesting with Legolas because one of the things we were trying to do was...he hates dwarves in  The Fellowship of the Ring. This is animosity that had to have come from somewhere. What was it about? We wanted to make it a little more emotion than just, 'I don't like them.'" ~ Philippa Boyens

Honestly, if you're going to call The Hobbit movies fanfic, it looks like it's Boyens' fanfic, not Jackson's.
 
2014-04-10 11:07:04 AM  
As goofy as it was, the barrel-riding scene may have been my favorite part of any LOTR/Hobbit movies.
 
2014-04-10 11:09:52 AM  

Boudyro: I actually just rented DoS the other day, the movie was ok. Smaug was awesome, didn't mind the dwarves trying to fight him, but the scenes with just Smaug and Bilbo were way more interesting and terrifying.

Regarding the "fan fiction" angle, Jackson manged to pull together enough funding and quality actors to give us six fine movies set in middle earth. I'm fine with him putting his own stamp on the story and expanding the world beyond the core books. If you don't like it I challenge you to do better.


I can't get over the sweet sweet costuming, sets, and props.
 
2014-04-10 11:13:42 AM  

Alphax: Well, I thought it was good that the dwarves attempted to fight the dragon.  The original story seemed a bit weak on how to get rid of the dragon.. 'If we can just get to the Lonely Mountain with a burglar, we'll win, somehow.'


Because that's all they had.  Dragons are not to be trifled with, and Smaug was the most powerful dragon of the 3rd age.

In my opinion DoS was garbage.  Things were done to the story that were simply disrespectful.


/loves me some Sherlock though
 
2014-04-10 11:15:03 AM  

Teufelaffe: I will not be involved in a love triangle. Because any of you who are fans ofLost - I had it up to here with love triangles. And sure enough, I come back for reshoots in 2012 and they go, 'We've made a few adjustments to the love story.'" ~ Evangeline Lily


Dear Evangeline Lily: You should be super farking grateful that we let you work still. Love, Movies and TV
 
2014-04-10 11:15:08 AM  

Soulcatcher: I love all of the LOTR and Hobbit movies. A lot of us grew up loving these stories and all we ever had to watch was a half finished Bakshi cartoon and that idiotic Rankin Bass BS with Orson Bean as Bilbo FFS. Jackson's Middle earth is amazingly realized and I wish he could somehow make more movies about that world. I don't much mind that they've added in some more female interaction, the books are basically a sausage fest.


I've seen people defend the Rankin Bass and Bashki cartoons while attacking the Jackson films. Nostalgia can really, really fark with some people's perceptions of quality... adding a female elf to an all-male cast of characters is bad, but turning an ancient cave-dwelling Hobbit into an amphibian is perfectly acceptable.

The cartoons are awful. If you saw them as a child (especially before or shortly after your first time reading the books), you like them because you saw them as a child and because they were your first visual link to the universe. But they are awful.

Peter Jackson made some pretty good choices (adding Radagast, the Mouth of Sauron, taking away Shelob's power of speech), some debatable choices (using Radagast as comic relief, enhancing Arwen, adding Tauriel, adding elves at Helms Deep), and some terrible choices (turning Sauron into a Magic Lighthouse, altering the outcome of the Entmoot, then letting Treebeard override the decision followed by hundreds of Ents making a day-long journey in a matter of moments). But visually, Peter Jackson's films brought John Howe's artwork to life. That makes up for a lot of what I dislike about the finished product.

There are maybe a dozen or so people who could have written and directed better LOTR films than Jackson has done. But there are hundreds in the film industry who could have done so much worse. And nobody could have been a better producer of those films than Jackson.
 
2014-04-10 11:19:38 AM  

FunkOut: Boudyro: I actually just rented DoS the other day, the movie was ok. Smaug was awesome, didn't mind the dwarves trying to fight him, but the scenes with just Smaug and Bilbo were way more interesting and terrifying.

Regarding the "fan fiction" angle, Jackson manged to pull together enough funding and quality actors to give us six fine movies set in middle earth. I'm fine with him putting his own stamp on the story and expanding the world beyond the core books. If you don't like it I challenge you to do better.

I can't get over the sweet sweet costuming, sets, and props.


I can't stop watching these films. Not because they're amazing, or the best films out there (they're not), but because they're so damn beautiful to look at.
 
2014-04-10 11:20:03 AM  

Hebalo: Teufelaffe: I will not be involved in a love triangle. Because any of you who are fans ofLost - I had it up to here with love triangles. And sure enough, I come back for reshoots in 2012 and they go, 'We've made a few adjustments to the love story.'" ~ Evangeline Lily

Dear Evangeline Lily: You should be super farking grateful that we let you work still. Love, Movies and TV


Yeah, how dare she want to have some input and control over the result of her work.  What a biatch.
 
2014-04-10 11:23:52 AM  

Harbinger of the Doomed Rat: Hebalo: Teufelaffe: I will not be involved in a love triangle. Because any of you who are fans ofLost - I had it up to here with love triangles. And sure enough, I come back for reshoots in 2012 and they go, 'We've made a few adjustments to the love story.'" ~ Evangeline Lily

Dear Evangeline Lily: You should be super farking grateful that we let you work still. Love, Movies and TV

Yeah, how dare she want to have some input and control over the result of her work.  What a biatch.


She's an actress, and not that in demand. She doesn't really get a say. If it was in her contract, she might have a legitimate complaint. Otherwise, whatevs.
 
2014-04-10 11:33:31 AM  

chuggernaught: Alphax: Well, I thought it was good that the dwarves attempted to fight the dragon.  The original story seemed a bit weak on how to get rid of the dragon.. 'If we can just get to the Lonely Mountain with a burglar, we'll win, somehow.'

Because that's all they had.  Dragons are not to be trifled with, and Smaug was the most powerful dragon of the 3rd age.

In my opinion DoS was garbage.  Things were done to the story that were simply disrespectful.


/loves me some Sherlock though


I thought it odd that the dwarves in the book are nearly unarmed.
 
2014-04-10 11:57:50 AM  

bborchar: ThatGuyFromTheInternet: bborchar: That 'moment' was the only good part of the movie...until they ruined it by a massive dragon chase for absolutely no reason at all.

I would gladly watch any episode of Sherlock over DoS any day.

Padding the running time is too a reason!

I don't even mind that, as long as it's done well. I like the book, but even I thought it needed fleshing out. But that whole scene needed Yakity-sax in the background, it was so ridiculous and over-the-top. Way to make the dragon not scary anymore.


It's not that scene, but here's the chase scene with Radagast set to Yakety Sax.
 
2014-04-10 12:14:03 PM  

Alphax: chuggernaught: Alphax: Well, I thought it was good that the dwarves attempted to fight the dragon.  The original story seemed a bit weak on how to get rid of the dragon.. 'If we can just get to the Lonely Mountain with a burglar, we'll win, somehow.'

Because that's all they had.  Dragons are not to be trifled with, and Smaug was the most powerful dragon of the 3rd age.

In my opinion DoS was garbage.  Things were done to the story that were simply disrespectful.


/loves me some Sherlock though

I thought it odd that the dwarves in the book are nearly unarmed.


Have it re-read it recently, I was struck and just how inept the whole dwarven story is. The dwarves are clueless and bumbling and have neither supplies nor knowledge of their undertaking.  If you have a problem with them surviving in the movies on blind luck, you should hate the book, too.  Even Gandalf is a moron, who seems to not know exactly what he starts out claiming to know.  For all the faults, Jackson and team put some purpose behind some of the more senseless pieces of the book (such as undertaking the journey with no idea what do once they get to the Lonely Mountain.)  The shifted purpose of stealing the arkenstone from under the dragon's nose, so he can unite the dwarves and then go in and kill the dragon with an army of dwarves fixes some of those problems, and gives better understanding of why they were willing to take the risks.  The dwarves in the book are responsible for a whole mess of destruction and death, and everyone else has to fix it and clean up after them.  They end up becoming and deserving the very reputation everyone held of them.
 
2014-04-10 01:03:49 PM  
Stratohead:

Jacksons films are the most expensive fan fiction ever made.  the LotR triolgy had a few retarded  moments of hyper unrealistic video game action... mostly involving Legolas. the Hobbit films...ALL THE ACTION IS HYPER REAL UNREALISTIC video game action bullshiat. its just awful


I like the cut of your jib!  Agree with all that you wrote about Jackson.
I was able to forgive some of the stuff in the LotR movies.  No Old Forst, or Tom?  Fine.  No Glorfindel?  Argh.  Ok.  Elves at Helm's Deep?  *sigh* Fark it, why not.
However, I cannot tolerate the crap he smeared onto film and called the Hobbit.
 
Displayed 50 of 57 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report