If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Washington Post)   Obama hits a new low in those who don't have an opinion of him. 59% hate him. 41% love him. 0% have no opinion   (washingtonpost.com) divider line 628
    More: Interesting, President Obama, GfK, disapproval  
•       •       •

3611 clicks; posted to Main » on 27 Mar 2014 at 10:27 AM (25 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



628 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-03-27 02:53:39 PM

Agent Nick Fury: Satan's Bunny Slippers: Deep Contact: He also broke his promise to close Guantanamo Bay.

Ok, now you're just stupid.  Want to explain WHY it's not closed?

Lord_Baull: Deep Contact: He also broke his promise to close Guantanamo Bay.

Double down on the derp!

udhq: Deep Contact: He also broke his promise to close Guantanamo Bay.

And this is exactly the kind of REAL issue that we could be talking about if the right weren't still trying to make scandals out of things like arugula and flag pins.

Guys, guys guys.

You need to co-ordinate these attacks better.

One of you say there's a logical reason it's not closed, the other says it's a derpy question, and the third says it's a real issue but it's the Republicans fault.

I expect more from the Obama Defense Guild.



It doesn't surprise me that you don't understand each answer is the same, just worded differently.
 
2014-03-27 02:53:59 PM

Baz744: Deep Contact: OK, one more pet peeve, he gave tax dollars to AIG executives, then pretended to be outraged about it. He's not even a good actor like Reagan.

As I recall, he gave tax dollars to banks in their corporate capacities. He indicated he didn't like doing it, but felt it was a necessary evil. Not subsidizing the banks, he argued, would aggravate the economic collapse.

The banks in turn used their welfare payments to give bonuses to their executives, even though they had so ineptly managed the banks that they required welfare. Obama may have expressed outrage about that--but there's no reason to believe his outrage wasn't genuine. Especially because the first bill authorizing the bank bailouts was passed before he even became president.

So... if you can produce a citation showing where Obama ordered payment of money to AIG execs in their personal capacities, and later expressed outrage about doing so, I'll a) stop thinking you're a douche, and b) depending on context, I might even get mad at Obama.


The buck always stops at the president, but congress should take the full blame.
 
2014-03-27 02:54:06 PM
Satan's Bunny Slippers:
I don't really know what you're upset about.  The audit is STILL under review, nothing has been settled permanently, but Issa needs to stfu about thing he knows nothing about, and perhaps you could see that democrats want it looked into as well.  But republicans don't seem too concerned about looking at everything, just the one thing.

Issa may be overplaying his hand, I'll grant you that. But my overall point wasn't that Dems were covering it up, rather that it's just one more scandal done under *cough*TheMostTransparentAdministrationEVAH*cough* where apparently transparent=taking the fifth over and over again.

And on a related note, many of Obama's defenders, the ones in O-Bot status, are almost fanatical in defending their leader. Good grief, all that one poster had was "Liar, liar!" Don't try to tell me that guy is a critical thinker. I  may disagree with yo, but at least the two of us are capable of a rational mature discussion.
 
2014-03-27 02:55:25 PM

Epic Fap Session: physt: Tyrano Soros: You libs think we hate Obama because of the color of his skin, but the truth is we'd hate him even if he was brown, red or yellow.

I totally believe that you would hate him no matter the color of his skin.  I also think his color allows your racism to slip out.

You should maybe re-read his comment, then determine if he was joking, then comprehend the joke, then apologize.


My bad...
 
2014-03-27 02:55:37 PM

born_yesterday: Satan's Bunny Slippers: Truther: bleat bleat bleat bleat


Man, second shift sucks.

I would have been skeptical about the assertion regarding "shifts" if I hadn't seen it for myself.  Quite odd.


Some days it's more obvious than others.  And really lately it's been all the second and third string bench warmers.  I guess everyone needs to have their floor time.
 
2014-03-27 02:58:29 PM

LazyMedia: CivicMindedFive: Carn: 59% hate the politician they imagine Obama to be.  If he had an R next to his name and weren't quite so brown, he'd be the second coming of Ronnie St Reagan.  He's pretty close on the spectrum.

What Obama policies or directive are Reaganesque?  Evidence needed.

Making nuclear disarmament a major foreign policy plank. Using  Keynesian deficit spending to get out of a recession. Expanding employer-provided health insurance coverage. Apologizing and paying reparations for past U.S. wrongdoing.

Oh, wait, you asked for Obama policies. Never mind.

/If Teabaggers actually knew what Reagan did in office, they'd call him a socialist.


Cutting taxes on the middle class.  Running a budget deficit (by choice in Reagan's presidency, not so much now).  Not going to war with Russia or Iran.  Obama is in favor of gun control, Reagan signed the Brady Bill.  Obama promised not to raise taxes on capital gains and has stuck to that promise (much to the dismay of many liberals).  Reagan gave amnesty to almost 3 million illegal immigrants, Obama suggested the Dream Act.  Both men support free trade agreements and policies.
 
2014-03-27 03:00:59 PM

Carn: Obama promised not to raise taxes on capital gains and has stuck to that promise (much to the dismay of many liberals).


Obama never promised that, and has raised taxes on capital gains. Perhaps you're thinking of a different tax.
 
2014-03-27 03:02:27 PM

Stuart Wolfe: Satan's Bunny Slippers:
I don't really know what you're upset about.  The audit is STILL under review, nothing has been settled permanently, but Issa needs to stfu about thing he knows nothing about, and perhaps you could see that democrats want it looked into as well.  But republicans don't seem too concerned about looking at everything, just the one thing.

Issa may be overplaying his hand, I'll grant you that. But my overall point wasn't that Dems were covering it up, rather that it's just one more scandal done under *cough*TheMostTransparentAdministrationEVAH*cough* where apparently transparent=taking the fifth over and over again.

And on a related note, many of Obama's defenders, the ones in O-Bot status, are almost fanatical in defending their leader. Good grief, all that one poster had was "Liar, liar!" Don't try to tell me that guy is a critical thinker. I  may disagree with yo, but at least the two of us are capable of a rational mature discussion.


Well, we'll just have to agree to disagree on what constitutes 'scandal', but that's a smallish thing.  I'm certainly not fond of everything that the administration has, or has not, done.  However the wailing and gnashing of teeth so prevalent when any damn thing is perceived to not be in the gop's best interest gets on my nerves.

Blanket "well yeah, you like what I don't so YOU SUCK OBAMACAWK" is stupid and childish. (Not pointing that directly at YOU, but you know it happens with regularity from both troll and non trolls).  I will however lay "O-Bots" at your feet.  Stop it.

Being called a liberal because I don't think that he's a horrid president is at the very least distasteful and irritating.

Now, Issa is really forcing things and it's going to bite him in the ass.  I personally think both sides were treated the same, as in neither side was held accountable for hiding behind tax exempt statuses that shouldn't be.  In this case, without a hint of irony, I'm going with both side ARE bad.
 
2014-03-27 03:03:06 PM

gja: cameroncrazy1984: Agent Nick Fury: One of you say there's a logical reason it's not closed, the other says it's a derpy question, and the third says it's a real issue but it's the Republicans fault.

None of those are mutually exclusive.

And none of them are reasonable or acceptable excuses for it still being open and operating.
No excuses. When you take the top job in the chain you accept the responsibility and either do what is needed or not.



So, this week we're complaining about Obama not being enough of a tyrannical authoritarian?
I cannot keep up with these memos.
 
2014-03-27 03:04:03 PM

Headso: DubyaHater: This joke is not funny. It's stupid and shortsighted. His (dis)approval rating affects the upcoming elections this year.

if his disapproval rating is because he isn't being blowhardy or using the military enough on this Ukraine situation I don't think there's really anything he can do about it. It's like if you have 5 kids and a wife and you decide to spend money on the mortgage instead of season tickets to an amusement park you're going to have a low approval rating if you poll your whole family.


The amusement park analogy is the best I have heard in ages...well played
 
2014-03-27 03:04:13 PM

Dusk-You-n-Me: Carn: Obama promised not to raise taxes on capital gains and has stuck to that promise (much to the dismay of many liberals).

Obama never promised that, and has raised taxes on capital gains. Perhaps you're thinking of a different tax.


Sorry he promised to raise it to 20% but not past there.  It was 20% during the first 6 years of Reagan's presidency and then he raised it to 28% in 1986.  So I guess Reagan was more liberal on capital gains than Obama.
 
2014-03-27 03:05:10 PM

The Numbers: This line of reasoning has always struck me as being a little too heavy on the 'have your cake and eat it' dissonance. The allegation that Republicans operate in full 'oppose everything Obama says or does, even if it's stuff we like' douchebag mode is often made and, given the evidence well justified. But the kicker is that, if that's really the case, then Democrats really have no grounds for treating Republican opinions as a relevant consideration in their own policy decisions. If they're going to object to whatever Democrats do, they stop being a viable excuse for Democrats not taking the stances they should. Can't have it both ways.

Take the ACA for example. Pretty much from day 1, Republicans made it plain they would have no part in the law - no matter what concessions were offered not a single R was going to vote for it, ever. Certainly that behavior was the height of dickishness for elected lawmakers, but it also gave the Democrats an opportunity to write a law free from the need to make concessions to Republicans. Yet still you see people defending aspects of the law, such as the lack of a public option, based on the notion that 'b..b..but Republicans opposed it'.


There were a few problems:

- Obama hadn't yet gotten the memo that Republicans weren't going to support this no matter what
- They needed a couple of R votes to break the inevitable filibuster (Snowe, Collins IIRC)
- Obama being center-right, he actually agrees with (sane) conservatives on some things (see e.g. deficit Grand Bargains), though good luck getting sane conservatives to support Heritage Foundation health care reform when Obama supports it...
 
2014-03-27 03:06:00 PM

Epic Fap Session: physt: Tyrano Soros: You libs think we hate Obama because of the color of his skin, but the truth is we'd hate him even if he was brown, red or yellow.

I totally believe that you would hate him no matter the color of his skin.  I also think his color allows your racism to slip out.

You should maybe re-read his comment, then determine if he was joking, then comprehend the joke, then apologize.



Shhh. He's going for the record.
 
2014-03-27 03:11:27 PM

Gaseous Anomaly: - They needed a couple of R votes to break the inevitable filibuster (Snowe, Collins IIRC)


The ACA was passed during the brief period (seven months or so) when the Democrats had a filibuster proof majority in the Senate (between Franken finally taking office and Kennedy dying).  No Republican Senator voted for it.
 
2014-03-27 03:11:45 PM

doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.


Yes well the only reason you don't like it when I stick my penis in your ass is because you are a homophobe.
 
2014-03-27 03:12:03 PM

The Numbers: ake the ACA for example. Pretty much from day 1, Republicans made it plain they would have no part in the law - no matter what concessions were offered not a single R was going to vote for it, ever. Certainly that behavior was the height of dickishness for elected lawmakers, but it also gave the Democrats an opportunity to write a law free from the need to make concessions to Republicans. Yet still you see people defending aspects of the law, such as the lack of a public option, based on the notion that 'b..b..but Republicans opposed i


Because of the filibuster, the solid wall of Republican opposition concentrated power into the hands of a handful of conservative Senate Democrats, and former Democrats like Lieberman. It wasn't the Republicans who required concessions: it was about 5 Senate Democrats.

I don't know about "excuse." The Democrats lack the party discipline and general sense of political realism the Republicans have. That's a fact of life. It's not going to change. But I'd rather have "less than optimal good" than "optimal evil" in power.
 In my view, there's no good "excuse" for Lieberman to have taken the position that he would support no law with a public option. I'm really mad at him. Hell, given the chance, I'd vote against him.

But Lieberman isn't the 55 other Senate Democrats wanted a public option. And the solution, if we want a robust public option, isn't to elect Republicans, or even to fail to show up to vote for Democrats. It's to vote for more progressive Democrats in primary elections. It's to elect more Democrats, not less, so that the conservadems have less power.

But however mad I am at Lieberman, here's the political reality: he was willing to compromise. Conservadems can be negotiated with. Republicans cannot. As loathsome as they are, they're still better than Republicans.
 
2014-03-27 03:13:11 PM

Slaves2Darkness: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

Yes well the only reason you don't like it when I stick my penis in your ass is because you are a homophobe.


will you STOP THAT


(I keep snerking and people are looking at me weird)
 
2014-03-27 03:13:28 PM
Wendy's Chili:
Her reluctance to testify doesn't make your lies true.

So her reluctance to testify means - what? Hmm. I'm gonna go with she didn't want to confess under oath that what the IRS has been doing would make Nixon blush for $500, Alex. And the fact that so many of Obama's far-loony supporters, the ones in O-Bot status, see nothing suspicious about it really is a bit worrying. The level of Blind Faith you start seeing in these guys is almost getting to religious levels.

But in any event, when that Bastion of Conservative Thought CNN says something is wrong, why criticizing Obama must be a lie.http://www.cnn.com/2013/09/03/opinion/ken-boehm-irs-scandal-inv estigat ion/

I got links. You got nuthin'. Game over.
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:14:13 PM

Lord_Baull: gja: cameroncrazy1984: Agent Nick Fury: One of you say there's a logical reason it's not closed, the other says it's a derpy question, and the third says it's a real issue but it's the Republicans fault.

None of those are mutually exclusive.

And none of them are reasonable or acceptable excuses for it still being open and operating.
No excuses. When you take the top job in the chain you accept the responsibility and either do what is needed or not.


So, this week we're complaining about Obama not being enough of a tyrannical authoritarian?
I cannot keep up with these memos.


Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.
 
2014-03-27 03:14:25 PM

Geotpf: Gaseous Anomaly: - They needed a couple of R votes to break the inevitable filibuster (Snowe, Collins IIRC)

The ACA was passed during the brief period (seven months or so) when the Democrats had a filibuster proof majority in the Senate (between Franken finally taking office and Kennedy dying).  No Republican Senator voted for it.


Boehner got 98% of what he wanted though.
 
2014-03-27 03:14:46 PM

Geotpf: (seven months or so) when the Democrats had a filibuster proof majority


It was closer to 14 weeks.
 
2014-03-27 03:17:23 PM

gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.


[inigomontoya.jpg]
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:19:39 PM

Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]


Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.
 
2014-03-27 03:22:09 PM

Gaseous Anomaly: The Numbers: This line of reasoning has always struck me as being a little too heavy on the 'have your cake and eat it' dissonance. The allegation that Republicans operate in full 'oppose everything Obama says or does, even if it's stuff we like' douchebag mode is often made and, given the evidence well justified. But the kicker is that, if that's really the case, then Democrats really have no grounds for treating Republican opinions as a relevant consideration in their own policy decisions. If they're going to object to whatever Democrats do, they stop being a viable excuse for Democrats not taking the stances they should. Can't have it both ways.

Take the ACA for example. Pretty much from day 1, Republicans made it plain they would have no part in the law - no matter what concessions were offered not a single R was going to vote for it, ever. Certainly that behavior was the height of dickishness for elected lawmakers, but it also gave the Democrats an opportunity to write a law free from the need to make concessions to Republicans. Yet still you see people defending aspects of the law, such as the lack of a public option, based on the notion that 'b..b..but Republicans opposed it'.

There were a few problems:

- Obama hadn't yet gotten the memo that Republicans weren't going to support this no matter what
- They needed a couple of R votes to break the inevitable filibuster (Snowe, Collins IIRC)
- Obama being center-right, he actually agrees with (sane) conservatives on some things (see e.g. deficit Grand Bargains), though good luck getting sane conservatives to support Heritage Foundation health care reform when Obama supports it...


If he hadn't gotten that memo, some secretaries should have been fired immediately. More likely than ignorance is that he honestly didn't want to poison his relationship with the opposition right from the get go. In hindsight, that was hilariously naive.

Many of us were telling him so, at the time.

And then there was the matter of the blue dogs and other assholes in the House and Senate. Acting as if Lieberman was actually a democrat in more than label is silly. Max Baucus was less than helpful as well.

"
To be clear, Baucus helped write the health care reform law that President Obama signed, and played a critical role in getting the measure passed. But along the way to passage and even its aftermath, Baucus has made moves that have bothered Democrats. He shut out liberal advocates of a single-payer system from hearings in 2009, something he later said was a mistake, and he voted against a pair public option amendment proposals. He also extended negotiations for three months, giving Republican opponents more time to ramp up their opposition. And just this month, he said he saw "a huge train wreck coming down" in the implementation of the law."
 
2014-03-27 03:22:25 PM
Good calibration thread!
 
2014-03-27 03:22:36 PM

Deep Contact: The buck always stops at the president, but congress should take the full blame.


The problem is that your statement was inaccurate and misleading. You haven't addressed the following points:

1) That Obama didn't give money to AIG executives.

2) That he didn't express outrage at having given money to AIG executives.

3) That your whole statement was pulled with a motorized wench from the cavernous depths of your asshole.
 
2014-03-27 03:22:55 PM

gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.



Wait, you were making an argument? Try turning off Fox News.
 
2014-03-27 03:24:44 PM

Baz744: Deep Contact: The buck always stops at the president, but congress should take the full blame.

The problem is that your statement was inaccurate and misleading. You haven't addressed the following points:

1) That Obama didn't give money to AIG executives.

2) That he didn't express outrage at having given money to AIG executives.

3) That your whole statement was pulled with a motorized wench from the cavernous depths of your asshole.



On the flip side, he confirms the notion that conservatives don't understand how the government works.
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:25:13 PM

Lord_Baull: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.


Wait, you were making an argument? Try turning off Fox News.


LOL. I get mine from BBC, thanks. Keep the trashheads for yourself.
 
2014-03-27 03:25:25 PM

gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.


Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?
 
2014-03-27 03:26:01 PM

Lord_Baull: Baz744: Deep Contact: The buck always stops at the president, but congress should take the full blame.

The problem is that your statement was inaccurate and misleading. You haven't addressed the following points:

1) That Obama didn't give money to AIG executives.

2) That he didn't express outrage at having given money to AIG executives.

3) That your whole statement was pulled with a motorized wench from the cavernous depths of your asshole.


On the flip side, he confirms the notion that conservatives don't understand how the government works.


They seem pretty sure it has something to do with ball-licking but you can't blame someone from going on personal experience.
 
2014-03-27 03:28:25 PM

gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.


Wait, you were making an argument? Try turning off Fox News.

LOL. I get mine from BBC, thanks. Keep the trashheads for yourself.



You want me to believe BBC told you Obama is keeping Gitmo open because he's being a tyrant?
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:28:57 PM

Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?


I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.
 
2014-03-27 03:29:08 PM

Baz744: That your whole statement was pulled with a motorized wench from the cavernous depths of your asshole.


This is great.  Would you mind terribly if I borrowed it sometime?
 
2014-03-27 03:31:19 PM

Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?


Hey now. You know direct, yes or no questions are strictly prohibited here.
 
2014-03-27 03:33:46 PM

gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.


The relevant law is the National Defense Authorization Act of 2012 (NDAA). This statute confirms the president's power to wage war against al-Qaida and its associates, which was initially given to him in the Authorization for Use of Military Force (AUMF) passed shortly after 9/11. The NDAA also authorizes the president to detain enemy combatants, and bans him from transferring Guantanamo detainees to American soil.

He could, if he wanted to, just let them all go. Is that what you'd like?
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:34:36 PM

Lord_Baull: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.


Wait, you were making an argument? Try turning off Fox News.

LOL. I get mine from BBC, thanks. Keep the trashheads for yourself.


You want me to believe BBC told you Obama is keeping Gitmo open because he's being a tyrant?


So, soundbites and out of context time?
Asinine. He didn't do all he could to do the job.

Let's go back to your quote, shall we?
"So, this week we're complaining about Obama not being enough of a tyrannical authoritarian?
I cannot keep up with these memos.
"

You used the word first. Out of place, and as a bit of stupid hyperbole.

When you take a job like his you know it's a rough ride and there will be things that are hard to do.
Tough.
 
2014-03-27 03:35:07 PM

gja: Epic Fap Session: Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.



So we're back to Obama being a tyrannical authoritarian for not forcing House Republicans to bend to his will. Becuase that is what would be necessary to get it done. Unless you've been under a rock the past 5 years, you'd know the GOP has done whatever possible to not do what Obama wanted.
 
2014-03-27 03:35:29 PM

gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.


Did you run your Weeners through some sort of Sarah Palin quote generator to come up with this absolute gibberish?
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:37:11 PM

Evil High Priest: gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.

The relevant law is the National Defense Authorization Act of 2012 (NDAA). This statute confirms the president's power to wage war against al-Qaida and its associates, which was initially given to him in the Authorization for Use of Military Force (AUMF) passed shortly after 9/11. The NDAA also authorizes the president to detain enemy combatants, and bans him from transferring Guantanamo detainees to American soil.

He could, if he wanted to, just let them all go. Is that what you'd like?


Send them home. Away from us. We know who they are. We know who to watch for.
We also need to not be so fast and loose with human rights violations.
Being so blatantly duplicitous is what costs us 'face' with other countries.
 
2014-03-27 03:37:15 PM

Epic Fap Session: Did you run your Weeners through some sort of Sarah Palin


*snert*
 
2014-03-27 03:38:01 PM

gja: Asinine. He didn't do all he could to do the job.


Pot. Kettle.
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:38:37 PM

Epic Fap Session: gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.

Did you run your Weeners through some sort of Sarah Palin quote generator to come up with this absolute gibberish?


Coming from you that is comical. You are so far out there most need binoculars to find your position.
 
2014-03-27 03:39:06 PM

Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?


Personally, I think the more pertinent question is whether you believe that, if the President did actually have unilateral authority to close Gitmo, it would actually be shut? In other words, how willing are you to look beyond the facade of political theater even when it's showing you exactly what you want to see?
 
2014-03-27 03:40:06 PM

cameroncrazy1984: Deep Contact: Agent Nick Fury: cameroncrazy1984: Agent Nick Fury: Deep Contact: JusticeandIndependence: Deep Contact: Actually liked him in the beginning of his first term. Now can't stand looking at him. Lying sack.

I don't really know what you're upset about.  The audit is STILL under review, nothing has been settled permanently, but Issa needs to stfu about thing he knows nothing about, and perhaps you could see that democrats want it looked into as well.  But republicans don't seem too concerned about looking at everything, just the one thing.


But, you'd rather bleat.


Yes.  2 out of 535.  Dems are all over getting to the bottom of the IRS fiasco.
 
2014-03-27 03:40:33 PM
I hope Obama serves three terms. Screw the constitution. That man is my hero. I got my Obama phone! Plus he pays for my thugspawn.
 
2014-03-27 03:40:48 PM

gja: When you take a job like his you know it's a rough ride and there will be things that are hard to do.


How about House Majority Leader? Pretty close, especially considering hierarchy to the presidential position.

Those hard votes like immigration reform, properly negotiated budgets and global sanctions that don't involve war, why aren't those getting done?

It's a hard thing to do, doing a job like that. No excuses.

If you think Guantanamo Bay still being open is Obama's fault for pressing the issue instead of the obstructionist congress for outright rejecting everything he does and supports, you've probably eaten too much paste to reenter reality.
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:40:50 PM

Lord_Baull: gja: Asinine. He didn't do all he could to do the job.

Pot. Kettle.


I did all one citizen could. Did you? Wrote letters (real on-paper ones, not lazy email crap) phoned, chewed off ears as much as I could.
Pretty sure I made a list somewhere. Don't care, will still do it.
 
gja [TotalFark]
2014-03-27 03:44:29 PM

Triple Oak: gja: When you take a job like his you know it's a rough ride and there will be things that are hard to do.

How about House Majority Leader? Pretty close, especially considering hierarchy to the presidential position.

Those hard votes like immigration reform, properly negotiated budgets and global sanctions that don't involve war, why aren't those getting done?

It's a hard thing to do, doing a job like that. No excuses.

If you think Guantanamo Bay still being open is Obama's fault for pressing the issue instead of the obstructionist congress for outright rejecting everything he does and supports, you've probably eaten too much paste to reenter reality.


And they should get thrown out on their asses. Let me be clear about my complete and total disgust for all politicians, and their machine.
The obstructionists should be cast out. And ridiculed. And made to account for their acts and the resultant damage.
 
2014-03-27 03:46:15 PM

gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Epic Fap Session: gja: Lord_Baull: gja: Cute, but your dumb is showing.
By allowing that place to remain open and operating he IS being tyrannical.
Try again, with more licking of the politician of your choices nuts.

[inigomontoya.jpg]

Oh, meme as an argument. Good. Try growing up.

Do you believe that the president has unilateral authority to close the prison at Gitmo?

I believe that he needs to not stop pushing the issue until something gets done.
And that includes making all possible attempts to get it done. Not what has been done.
Don't be so obtuse as to say there would be total authority needed to make this happen without complete quorum on both sides.

Did you run your Weeners through some sort of Sarah Palin quote generator to come up with this absolute gibberish?

Coming from you that is comical. You are so far out there most need binoculars to find your position.


I don't believe the president has the authority to close the prison at Guantanamo Bay without the cooperation of Congress. Since House Republicans refuse to cooperate with any such undertaking, criticizing the president for it is sort of disingenuous. It's like criticizing the Denver Nuggets for not signing Lebron James during the offseason.
 
Displayed 50 of 628 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report