Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Washington Post)   Obama hits a new low in those who don't have an opinion of him. 59% hate him. 41% love him. 0% have no opinion   (washingtonpost.com ) divider line
    More: Interesting, President Obama, GfK, disapproval  
•       •       •

3634 clicks; posted to Main » on 27 Mar 2014 at 10:27 AM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



628 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-03-27 01:27:39 PM  

Netrngr: Billified: Hugh2d2: Where's the "very disappointed in him" option?

This. Now the reasonable Democrats understand how reasonable Republicans feel about GW Bush. I'm not talking about the apologists for both men who try to convince us they walk on red or blue water. For those of us in the middle, who thought Bush was a better choice than Gore or Kerry, who also thought Obama was a better choice than McCain or Romney, it's been 16 long years of mostly disappointment. I honestly hope the two parties offer us Hillary Clinton (been there, done that) vs. Jeb Bush (been there, done that too) in 2016. Then maybe, just maybe, the nation will realize the two major parties really have nothing to offer and voters will consider looking at other candidates.

Oh please do. Very well put.


Wait, there are actually people who are not Republicans that thought that Bush was a BETTER OPTION than Gore or Kerry?

You people are crazier than I thought. Why on earth would anyone think that, especially in 2004?
 
2014-03-27 01:27:51 PM  
Obama is a very mediocre president.
He's done some good things and made some mistakes but on the big list, he's somewhere in the middle.
Bush Jr. is in the bottom 5 so honestly anyone would have been better, Romney, McCain, Obama, Hilary, almost anyone.
 
2014-03-27 01:28:42 PM  

Deep Contact: OK, one more pet peeve, he gave tax dollars to AIG executives, then pretended to be outraged about it. He's not even a good actor like Reagan.


As I recall, he gave tax dollars to banks in their corporate capacities. He indicated he didn't like doing it, but felt it was a necessary evil. Not subsidizing the banks, he argued, would aggravate the economic collapse.

The banks in turn used their welfare payments to give bonuses to their executives, even though they had so ineptly managed the banks that they required welfare. Obama may have expressed outrage about that--but there's no reason to believe his outrage wasn't genuine. Especially because the first bill authorizing the bank bailouts was passed before he even became president.

So... if you can produce a citation showing where Obama ordered payment of money to AIG execs in their personal capacities, and later expressed outrage about doing so, I'll a) stop thinking you're a douche, and b) depending on context, I might even get mad at Obama.
 
2014-03-27 01:28:54 PM  

Hung Like A Tic-Tac: thanks TANGbama


I lol'd. New nicknames in old formats can still be funny.
 
2014-03-27 01:29:01 PM  

LazyMedia: Satan's Bunny Slippers: However, it's clear that nobody held in Gitmo could be convicted of anything in a fair trial at this point,

That's not actually true. The military tribunals that are taking place are getting fairly high marks from neutral observers for the sentences they've handed out. They didn't try the Nazis in civilian courts, either, and nobody thinks the Nuremberg verdicts were a travesty.


1. Those trials have basically stopped.  The people remaining mostly are either A. Guilty of nothing B. Guilty of stuff but not provable in a fair trial (due to torture or national security reasons).  Maybe my use of "nobody" was overstating it slightly; I probably should have said "almost nobody".

2. The Nuremberg trials happened in 1945 and 1946.  It's now 2014; the last prisoners sent to Gitmo were sent during the Bush administration (IE, very early 2009 or before).  Some have been there for a decade or more.  The concept of a "speedy trial" is violated here; it's too late to try them at this point, IMHO.
 
2014-03-27 01:29:27 PM  

Pants full of macaroni!!: Well that tears it.  I'm never voting for him again.


www.funnymeme.com
 
2014-03-27 01:29:31 PM  

doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.


I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.
 
2014-03-27 01:30:19 PM  

Begoggle: Obama is a very mediocre president.
He's done some good things and made some mistakes but on the big list, he's somewhere in the middle.
Bush Jr. is in the bottom 5 so honestly anyone would have been better, Romney, McCain, Obama, Hilary, almost anyone.


a dead cat would have performed better than President Bush's son.
 
2014-03-27 01:31:51 PM  

Begoggle: Obama is a very mediocre president.
He's done some good things and made some mistakes but on the big list, he's somewhere in the middle.
Bush Jr. is in the bottom 5 so honestly anyone would have been better, Romney, McCain, Obama, Hilary, almost anyone.


Also, this is probably the heart of the problem.
It's obvious why conservative wackos hate him.
But imagine if we went directly from the Clinton era to Obama, skipping the 8 years of Bush... then it's easy to see why non-conservatives are unhappy with him too.  It's a downgrade.
 
2014-03-27 01:32:37 PM  

sprawl15: Lord_Baull: sprawl15: government overreach


bwaahahahaaa.

well that is the argument, isn't it?

obama is bad because he is not using government power to ensure that every health insurer is forced to offer the same plans at the same rates in perpetuity...a far greater reach of evil government power than anything obamacare actually does. that obama is a tyrant because he is not being enough of a tyrant


The way it was explained to me back when this was still a thing (which was a while ago, come to think of it) was that Obama made statements - if you like your plan/doctor, you can keep it/him/her - that were technically incorrect if interpreted in an absurdly literal manner which was completely divorced from the original context, where they were meant to be a reassurance that the government won't force private companies to cancel plans.

Of course, if one goes by this standard for what constitutes a "lie", then any instance of somebody losing their plan for any reason, no matter how obvious or unrelated to the law itself, could be equally held against Obama. For instance, someone's preferred doctor died, or if the person got sent to prison and was thus unable to fully avail himself of his prior health plan, then that would just make Obama even more of a liar because he didn't include specific disclaimers about this kind of stuff when making the original statements.
 
2014-03-27 01:33:41 PM  

scotchlandia: Why sould anyone explain that? Why the hell is the federal government regulating the insurance industry at all? Insurance should be regulated at state level in accordance with the Tenth Amendment, which provides that any powers that are not enumerated in the Constitution are reserved for the states. So the ACA is illegal unless it amends the constitution. Yes, I know the supreme court ruled on this. It's still wrong.


The commerce clause? That would be the usual justification for these types of federal regulations (health insurance being one example of many)

I'm okay with the federal government regulating this industry; healthcare needs may cross state lines, so federal rules are appropriate in my opinion. However, if the issue were decided the other way, it wouldn't be the end of the world either.

What I would really like to see though is a national healthcare program that is offered along side of private health insurance. Government teat for some, private plans for others. With that in place, I would fully support the States regulating their own insurance industries completely.
 
2014-03-27 01:33:50 PM  

Begoggle: then it's easy to see why non-conservatives are unhappy with him too.  It's a downgrade.


In what respect? Had we gone right from Clinton to Obama we wouldn't have had the Patriot Act.
 
2014-03-27 01:35:32 PM  
Hmm, it got quiet all of a sudden. Either they've run out of talking points for us to debunk or we're waiting on the next shift.
 
2014-03-27 01:35:45 PM  

noblewolf: Am I free to refuse health insurance for myself if I so choose?


Yes.

Or am I currently forced by law to pay the health insurance industry due to mandatory participation.

No.

Are the liberals trying to make it much harder for law abiding citizens to own firearms by which they may protect themselves?  (because as you know criminals are going to follow those rules right?)

If by "harder" you mean "wait about two minutes for a dealer to run a background check."

Has the Obama terms done anything in the way of reversing the stifling freedom limiting Patriot Act?

Yes. He started to clamp down on the NSA in March of 2009.

Until Edward Snowden made media waves on the abuses the NSA are committing, was Obama working on protecting your privacy freedoms?

Yes. See previous answer.

Has the transparency that Obama promised during his campaigns come to fruition?

Yes. The Obama White House became the first to stream every White House event, live. He held the first-ever first online town hall from the White House, and took questions from the public. He provided the first voluntary disclosure of the White House Visitors Log in history. He crafted an Executive Order on Presidential Records, which restored the 30-day time frame for former presidents to review records, and eliminated the right for the vice president or family members of former presidents to do the reviews. This provides the public with greater access to historic White House documents, and severely curtails the ability to use executive privilege to shield them. And he improved aspects of the Freedom of Information Act, and issued new guidelines to make FOIA more open and transparent in the processing of FOIA requests.

If that is not enough to qualify as the most transparent White House in history, to whom does such an honor belong?

I find it funny that you and your like automatically accuse those who disagree with liberal policy with Obama in office racist, militant christian people.  You are in fact as bad as racists are, only instead of using the color of a persons skin, you do it because they don't agree with your ideas.

And I find it funny that the answers to all of your questions are the opposite of what you think they are. It's almost as if your opposition to him stems from something other than his policies. Hmm...

Oh and assuming I'm a republican would be an error on your part.  No matter who came up with these ideas, I would be against them.  Just as much as I am apposed to any religious nut jobs who want to force their morals on me as well.

Yes, yes, both sides are bad. Your fellow Fark Independents™ have already reminded us of that several times today.
 
2014-03-27 01:36:33 PM  

Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.


The only people making this strawman in this particular thread are conservatives.
 
2014-03-27 01:38:01 PM  

Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.


What we really believe is that you don't like Obama because he's center-right, and you would prefer Teabagger right. But the reason you hate the moderate, mild mannered, even tempered, and mostly uncontroversial center-right president is because he's black.

And we are right.
 
2014-03-27 01:38:42 PM  

Carn: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

The only people making this strawman in this particular thread are conservatives.


The only straw man is all the people claiming it is all about racism.
 
2014-03-27 01:38:56 PM  
I understand the angst that people who disapprove of President Obama feel. It wasn't long ago that i was pretty much feeling the same way about a sitting president.
the only solace i can give those people is that eventually all terms come to an end and don't take this personal but i think your disapproval is misplaced, congress hasn't exactly governed in good faith.
I understand that when you feel the way about things you people do, there's always a general target that takes the blame for the misery you have created in your life.

Hopefully the GOP can whip up a candidate that will be more likeable to mainstream voters and i think this election they have a better chance than ever with the financial help from the 1%.
 
2014-03-27 01:39:33 PM  

Chris Ween: Carn: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

The only people making this strawman in this particular thread are conservatives.

The only straw man is all the people claiming it is all about racism.


Aren't you just agreeing with him? Yes, you made a strawman.
 
2014-03-27 01:40:47 PM  

Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.


Sure - we believe that any idiot can broad brush stroke an entire ideology with baseless accusations. It's nothing to do with a propensity for conservatives to also be racially, and socioeconomically biased.

STUDY IT OUT
 
2014-03-27 01:40:52 PM  

Chris Ween: Carn: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

The only people making this strawman in this particular thread are conservatives.

The only straw man is all the people claiming it is all about racism.


That's exactly what I just said!  so high five?
 
2014-03-27 01:41:23 PM  
This whole thread...

img.fark.net
 
2014-03-27 01:41:37 PM  
Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.
 
2014-03-27 01:41:51 PM  

Baz744: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

What we really believe is that you don't like Obama because he's center-right, and you would prefer Teabagger right. But the reason you hate the moderate, mild mannered, even tempered, and mostly uncontroversial center-right president is because he's black.

And we are right.


Had to one whole post to disprove your point Carn.
 
2014-03-27 01:43:05 PM  

Begoggle: Obama is a very mediocre president.
He's done some good things and made some mistakes but on the big list, he's somewhere in the middle.
Bush Jr. is in the bottom 5 so honestly anyone would have been better, Romney, McCain, Obama, Hilary, almost anyone.


I'd agree with this.  I'm disappointed, but only slightly.
 
2014-03-27 01:43:23 PM  

count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.


Some of us make enough money to have a bit of leisure time now and again. I guess you don't know what that's like, what with your minimum wage job probably working 60 hours a week with no overtime. Sound about right?
 
2014-03-27 01:44:34 PM  

count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.


Our Obamaphones run out of minutes already and we have to wait until April to recharge. So there is that too.
 
2014-03-27 01:44:44 PM  

cameroncrazy1984: Hmm, it got quiet all of a sudden. Either they've run out of talking points for us to debunk or we're waiting on the next shift.


Well, one new one just showed up.
 
2014-03-27 01:45:09 PM  

count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.


Now this... This is what conservatives actually believe.
 
2014-03-27 01:45:25 PM  
42% of people love Obama. The black and Democratic core stays firm.

58% of people hate him. Of those: 48% of people are Republicans who would hated anybody who was a Democrat. 10% of people are disappointed liberal Democrats or Clintonistas.

Prediction:  52% of people will vote Democrat in 2016.

Whether this is enough to elect Mrs. Clinton is anybody's guess, but at least if it is, I won't have to do much work on my family tree except copy already existing research.
 
2014-03-27 01:46:26 PM  

count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.


Dude, it's free coffee and internet day at the liberry.
 
2014-03-27 01:47:26 PM  

brantgoose: Whether this is enough to elect Mrs. Clinton is anybody's guess, but at least if it is, I won't have to do much work on my family tree except copy already existing research.


wut?
 
2014-03-27 01:47:46 PM  

Baz744: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

What we really believe is that you don't like Obama because he's center-right, and you would prefer Teabagger right. But the reason you hate the moderate, mild mannered, even tempered, and mostly uncontroversial center-right president is because he's black.

And we are right.


Nah, there are WAY more people who hate Obama and think he's a soshaliss Muslim than there are racists who think that. People who believe what they see on Fox News don't need to be racist to hate Obama, because what's portrayed is completely distorted from reality.

I'm not saying there aren't a lot of racists who hate Obama only because he's black. I'm just saying there are plenty of other people who hate him for completely spurious reasons unrelated to his being black. Fox would go after a white Democrat just as hard (see Bill Clinton, another moderate portrayed as a pinko).
 
2014-03-27 01:48:23 PM  

JusticeandIndependence: brantgoose: Whether this is enough to elect Mrs. Clinton is anybody's guess, but at least if it is, I won't have to do much work on my family tree except copy already existing research.

wut?


Yeah that confused the hell out fo me too.
 
2014-03-27 01:48:27 PM  

Jairzinho: count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.

Our Obamaphones run out of minutes already and we have to wait until April to recharge. So there is that too.


My Obamaphone looks like a lobster!!!!
 
2014-03-27 01:48:34 PM  

Rapmaster2000: jackbooted thugs of this ineffectual and weak leader


Does the dissonance hurt your brain?

This is the most powerful, controlling, dictatorial leader that has never done a single thing in office except wear an empty suit and read powerpoint slides while on his vacations.   And everything that he did do was illegal and everything that he didn't do was illegal.

/Yawn.  Same bit, new day.
 
2014-03-27 01:48:52 PM  

Evil High Priest: Stuart Wolfe: UrukHaiGuyz: iheartscotch: I've come to the conclusion that certain people really believe that, if you do not like the 'bama, you are racist. For only racists would fail to love our lord and savior.

You've come to a really stupid conclusion.

No, it really isn't. Elsewhere, I noted that I had serious problems with Obama because of the IRS scandal,

What scandal, exactly?

the ay Benghazi was handled,

How would you have handled this?

Fast and Furious,

The Bush program?

spying on the AP,

?

the NSA actions,

Excellent point! Good job!

Gitmo still in use,

Speak with Congress.

and the completely comical and amateur way Obamacare was trotted out

Sucked, but not actually his job.

Anything else?


Long story short, the IRS slow-tracking tax-exempt status for conservative-sounding agencies while fast-tracking liberal-sounding ones, Benghazi - doesn't matter how I would have handled it, the fact remains Obama and his admin screwed up, Fast and Furious - so because Bush did it, that makes Obama blameless? The "He did it too" defense doesn't even fly in first grade, I have no problem holding Bush at fault for what he did when he was prez, but apparently Obama's supporters cannot do the same. Still boils down to "Blame Bush" while holding Obama blameless for continuing it. Spying on the AP, look here:  http://www.nytimes.com/2013/05/15/opinion/spying-on-the-associated-pr e ss.html?_r=0  , Gitmo still in use, could have done it the first two years in office when he had both sides of Congress, cold still issue an executive order if he wanted to, and Obamacare: Yes, it IS his job, or does the buck not stop at the Oval Office anymore?
 
2014-03-27 01:49:46 PM  

Rapmaster2000: This text is now purple: Rapmaster2000: garkola: But - but - wasn't Obama supposed to improve the standing of the US overseas?

I'm not sure if he was supposed to.  It might be that more people just hated Bush than like Obama.  So, in that sense, I suppose you're right.  Obama didn't do anything to improve America's image.  Americans improved their image by not voting for the other guy.

[l.yimg.com image 618x785]

Not doing so hot in Poland, though.  Obama forgot Poland.

That's your takeaway?

Obama's 2009 looks just like Bush's 2001, and his trendline is nearly identical.

My takeaway is that foreigners liked America in 2009 more than the year before because the policies of the Bush administration were finally kicking in.  Obama's approval among foreigners in 2013 are only more popular than Bush's in 2008 because of the HARD choices that the visionary George W. Bush made in the previous 8 years.

The Bush Recovery is in full swing!  Even the weak and ineffectual Obama can't stop it now!

I'm sorry that you can't see that.  Your hate for Bush blinds you.


Obama's 2013 correlates to Bush's 2005...
 
2014-03-27 01:51:10 PM  

Chris Ween: Baz744: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

What we really believe is that you don't like Obama because he's center-right, and you would prefer Teabagger right. But the reason you hate the moderate, mild mannered, even tempered, and mostly uncontroversial center-right president is because he's black.

And we are right.

Had to one whole post to disprove your point Carn.


He posted that after I made that statement so it doesn't count.  Well maybe it counts but it wasn't wrong when I said it.  He might be using the singular you, not the plural you.

/what do you mean you people
 
2014-03-27 01:51:17 PM  

Stuart Wolfe: Long story short, the IRS slow-tracking tax-exempt status for conservative-sounding agencies while fast-tracking liberal-sounding ones


They didn't do this. Not that evidence would convince you.
 
2014-03-27 01:51:20 PM  

steve42: I live in the south.  Since 2006, I have heard Southern Conservative Republicans mention Obama's race a few dozen times.  I've heard them mention his heritage probably twice as often.  I hear them discussing his politics daily.

I am a frequent Fark reader.  Since 2006, I have seen Obama supporters mention Obama's race a few thousand times.  I've never seen them mention his heritage.  I see them defending his politics daily.

Yet, somehow, believing he was unqualified for this (or any other) political office and unprepared for the task at hand makes me a racist instead of just a legitimately concerned citizen.

Once and for all, I could give a flying Fark what his race is,  I believe he is the worst president since Carter, and the damage he has done will have a longer-lasting effect. Unfortunately, the Republican party doesn't have Reagan waiting in the wings for this go-round..


You're welcome to your opinion, of course. Nonetheless, it is obviously informed by an influence apart from objective reality. Carter did no lasting damage to your country. He wasn't a great president because he tried to control all of the details, not because his policies were terrible. Reagan, on the other hand, was a talking head who pumped out jingoism while allowing his subordinates to lawbreak at an unprecedented level. Even Harding never had as many of his administration under indictment (and/or convicted) for felonies against the American people. That's not historical revisionism btw. It's public record. Unfortunately a large percentage of Americans can be swayed by jingoism because it absolves them of responsibility for reality. I feel regret for the progressive minds in your country, and wish them well, but as for the millions of willfully ignorant, emotionally swayed masses indoctrinated by propaganda I feel only pity. Most societies have a majority of citizens who don't pay attention to the details, but eventually vote in their own self interest from pragmatism alone. Your society has swallowed its own wartime rhetoric and propaganda about exceptionalism to the point that you don't just vote against your own self interest, and the interests of your country, you've come to believe in policies that harm you, your loved ones and your nation. I view the situation with contempt, but feel only pity for the manipulated.
 
2014-03-27 01:51:22 PM  
Meh, GW Bush was at 39 - 60 round this time in his last term. It's Obama's last round as Prez, odds at this point are the senate will flip making him a lame duck. He's not going to tarnish the next Democratic contender the way Clinton did regardless of approval numbers, so really, who give a flying fark?

Trolls be Trollin.
 
2014-03-27 01:51:39 PM  

Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.


Right, because we've always had screaming matches about the president using uppity mustard and greens, regardless of race.....

I'm not saying it's 100% racism, but it's equally ridiculous to suggest that it's not at all based in racism, especially when the white-supremacist wing of the GOP spent 6 years pushing a baseless conspiracy theory about the 1st black president being somehow not an American.
 
gja
2014-03-27 01:51:40 PM  

cameroncrazy1984: Agent Nick Fury: One of you say there's a logical reason it's not closed, the other says it's a derpy question, and the third says it's a real issue but it's the Republicans fault.

None of those are mutually exclusive.


And none of them are reasonable or acceptable excuses for it still being open and operating.
No excuses. When you take the top job in the chain you accept the responsibility and either do what is needed or not.
 
2014-03-27 01:52:09 PM  
of course the down side of this misplaced disapproval is that there really aren't any corrective or alternative suggestions coming from his opposition, just loud noises, finger pointing, a lot of misinformed statements.
what sets the adults apart from the children is not just the acknowledgement that things could be handled differently but participating in the decision making process to correct the problems that exist.
 
2014-03-27 01:52:17 PM  
For the last couple of years I've alternatively gotten a chuckle or very annoyed from those trying to extend the IndependentsTM meme beyond it's useful life. Sure there was a time when on Fark when it was very amusing when everyone seemed to be opposed to the Bush, including the people that put him into office.

But that ship has long sailed to the point that it's use means pretty much the opposite of what's intended.  Obama was elected twice, largely on his appeal to independents, with whom he performed much better than Gore or Kerry and his electoral performance in this group almost single handedly accounts for his improvement over the preceding Democratic nominees.  Moreover, the most searing criticisms, come from the left of Obama, rather than from the middle or the obviously politically motivated charges coming from the right.

So, while the meme is intended to suggest an unquestioning opposition to Obama, regardless of facts; what it reveals is quite the opposite: an unquestioning support for Obama, regardless of facts. It aims to dismiss criticisms based merely on alleged biases.  Yet, It denigrates the large segment of the country that actually is independent and actually does vote that way, and are largely responsible putting Obama in office in the first place.  Similarly, it's invocation summarily dismisses any criticisms to which the user prefer not to answer by labeling a criticism political instead of on policy, whether it is or not.  I've had it invoked against me and I haven't voted for a Republican in a federal election since 1994.

Obviously, no one is going to stop using the Fark Independents meme because I said so.  But you should at least know how you're representing yourself.  Depending on the context, it comes across as either hopelessly partisan, to the fullest degree any Fark Independent has ever been; and/or wholly ignorant of politics as it exists outside of Fark, i.e. the "no true independents" that helped elect Obama, twice.

The reason I bring this up is because the meme is prevalent throughout the thread and  it's a good indicator of how generally debased political discussions have become here, and in general. Yes, I understand that this is a thread on politics not policy, but issue threads are hardly any different. They used to be regularly informative. Now it's rare to have a thread that isn't drowned in partisan spittle from the start. Everyone seems to recognize this except those that are engaging in it.  It matters because, if one refuses to call for accountability what the people their own party do, then accountability will never be had.  And in one small measure, the rhetorical crutch that is the Fark IndependentsTM meme is an effort to avoid the accountability that is desperately needed to address systemic issues, and serves to perpetuate long standing problems that go unaddressed for that lack of accountability, which thrives upon the partisan priorities that have become endemic here.  So, how about letting this particular dead horse rest in peace?
 
2014-03-27 01:52:56 PM  
Yes, the rightwing hate machine would have cranked up to 11 for any democrat, but having the target being all blah and such just made it that much easier. Not racist, just #1 with racists. They distort, you comply.
 
2014-03-27 01:52:56 PM  

TheGogmagog: ChipNASA: ChipNASA: [i.imgur.com image 504x360]

[i1086.photobucket.com image 340x336]

Wait, why did the color of the hands change?


Either way, they're all black.
 
2014-03-27 01:53:05 PM  

cameroncrazy1984: count_chimpula: Liberal knob gobblers are busy today, guess they have nothing else to do until their EBT cards reload at the beginning of the month.

Some of us make enough money to have a bit of leisure time now and again. I guess you don't know what that's like, what with your minimum wage job probably working 60 hours a week with no overtime. Sound about right?


The DMV is usually pretty slow on Thursday
 
2014-03-27 01:53:22 PM  

Baz744: Chris Ween: doubled99: The only reason anyone doesn't like Obama is because they are racists who can't stand a black man in charge. It's disgusting.

I only hate LeBron because he is black. Not because he keeps knocking my team out of the playoffs.

This is what liberals believe...about Fark conservatives.

What we really believe is that you don't like Obama because he's center-right, and you would prefer Teabagger right. But the reason you hate the moderate, mild mannered, even tempered, and mostly uncontroversial center-right president is because he's black.

And we are right.


Nah, you assume that the hate is for reasons we in the reality-based community can understand; it isn't.

All of the (anti-black) racists are anti-Obama, of course, because otherwise they're kinda doing racism wrong. But the converse isn't true.

My impression is that the frothing hate from residents of the right-wing reality bubble just stems directly from the content of the reality in that bubble. Obama's a do-nothing empty suit who's singlehandedly destroying the American way of life, after all; who *wouldn't* hate that?
 
Displayed 50 of 628 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report