Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Washington Post)   Obama hits a new low in those who don't have an opinion of him. 59% hate him. 41% love him. 0% have no opinion   (washingtonpost.com) divider line 628
    More: Interesting, President Obama, GfK, disapproval  
•       •       •

3630 clicks; posted to Main » on 27 Mar 2014 at 10:27 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



628 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-03-27 11:52:13 AM  
Will the people who call those who oppose the President's POLICIES "racists", suddenly switch to calling them "sexist" when or if they oppose Hillary's policies?

I wish we could drop the unnecessary and unproductive labeling and start focusing more on the POLICIES.

We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.

Buddha
 
2014-03-27 11:52:33 AM  

Lord_Baull: Reagan signed gun control legislation; Obama wants to take your guns.



Please give us more information about this nugget.
 
2014-03-27 11:52:51 AM  

Nutsac_Jim: The only chance many Democrats have of winning in 2016 is if they shift most campaign funds over to some Libertarian candidate, and hoping it pulls enough voters from the Republican.

//ie:Va.


(favorite: pro israel anti obama DC)
 
2014-03-27 11:53:44 AM  

Geotpf: Nutsac_Jim: Slaves2Darkness: Lord_Baull: A majority of Americans disapprove of the way he handles foreign policy. This diplomacy of his... why can't we invade and occupy a foreign country like the good ole days? I mean, that's why we HAVE a desert full of unused tanks, amiright?

Yeah, we should just fly over there in our C-190's or what ever we use to transport those tanks and kick them out over the tops of the Russian troops. Just use the tanks as gravity bombs, that will show them Commies that they can't compete with the US and should never try, because we are so rich we use excess tanks as gravity bombs.

Yes, because if you don't think Obama has done a good job on Ukraine, it means you want to bomb Moscow.

Well, what other choices are there?

The choices are sanctions or bombing.  Obama chose the first.  If you don't like his policies, that pretty much means you are in favor of bombing.


Or angry mail. Or nothing.
 
2014-03-27 11:54:28 AM  
I'm still waiting for my white slavery I was promised by the Republicans if Obama were to be elected in 2008. It's 2014 and there are only 2 years left for him, and there's a lot of us healthy white folks who have been waiting patiently to be enslaved.
 
2014-03-27 11:54:51 AM  

happyleper: Carn: MyRandomName: keylock71: Meh... He's the best Republican President we've had in decades.

His approval ratings are down, his policies don't work... quick call him republican!

Phew, liberalism is saved.

He's been center-right from the start.  Many conservatives these days have trouble seeing that because they're so far right on the spectrum.  Anything to the left looks liberal, even the center.

Many liberals can't judge where someone is on the spectrum because they're so far to the left, either, and I believe that your post illustrates that perfectly.


What policy did I mention that I support that enabled you to determine my alignment on the liberal/conservative political spectrum?
 
2014-03-27 11:54:51 AM  

Geotpf: Carn: 59% hate the politician they imagine Obama to be.  If he had an R next to his name and weren't quite so brown, he'd be the second coming of Ronnie St Reagan.  He's pretty close on the spectrum.

This is an amazingly stupid talking point that I keep seeing.

Reagan was against gay marriage; Obama is for it.

Reagan fired the air traffic controllers due to their union; Obama saved two unionized auto manufacturers.

Reagan was against raising the minimum wage; Obama is for it.

Reagan cut federal medical funding; Obama expanded federal involvement in healthcare.

Reagan wanted to eliminate the Department of Education; Obama wants to expand it.

There's probably a hundred other differences.  Obama is a generic 21st Century Democrat; Reagan was a generic 1980's Republican.


Racist.

/Amidoingitright?
 
2014-03-27 11:54:57 AM  

kortex: He's the worst president in the last 100 years. If only congress had the balls to impeach him.


Not a fan of Taft?
 
2014-03-27 11:54:57 AM  

iheartscotch: I, personally, dislike the fact that Obama didn't live up to his most important campaign promises. Yes, his tax policy is good. Yes, most of his policies are good. What really bothers me; is the ongoing attacks on the Bill of Rights. Especially, the attacks on the 2nd and 4th amendments. I really don't like secret courts and secret warrants; that smacks too much of 1984 for my tastes.


Fair enough. I'm not a huge fan of the apparent disregard since the passage of the PATRIOT Act of the protections of the 4th (consistent through both Bush and Obama's administrations), so you have my sympathy there.

As far as 2nd amendment rights, I personally think it was a bad political choice on Obama's part to tackle something so contentious, but he apparently feels strongly enough about the issue to take the heat. I'm ambivalent about guns- I think the NRA has derailed any meaningful possible conversations, especially regarding sensible regulation of a deadly tool.
I've got no problem with gun ownership (and I like to shoot, the few times I have), but the rampant paranoia and violent rhetoric surrounding the issue are all but guaranteed to keep me away from the range any time soon.
 
2014-03-27 11:55:04 AM  

Rent Party: LazyMedia: Rent Party: LazyMedia: j__z: Lord_Baull: A majority of Americans disapprove of the way he handles foreign policy. This diplomacy of his... why can't we invade and occupy a foreign country like the good ole days? I mean, that's why we HAVE a desert full of unused tanks, amiright?

Pfft, a tank, get out of the stone age, we don't need to invade, we have drones to take care of our target now.

It's weird how people seem to think drones are effective battlefield weapons. The only reason we can use drones in Afghanistan is that none of the people we're shooting at have the ability to shoot back. A drone is the equivalent of the day bombers that European air forces used on their colonial subjects in the '20s and '30s. When those got into an environment with enemy fighter planes in 1939, they went bye-bye in flames.

A weapon that can deliver ordinance on target, on time, and can not be destroyed by the enemy is by definition, a perfect battlefield weapon.

I can kill you, you can't kill me.  And it's cheap and cost effective!   What more do you want?

It's not a battlefield if there's no opposing army (battles by definition are fought between military forces). Drones are swell as a mil vs. civ weapon, but utterly useless if there's any kind of air defense around, because they're so easy to shoot down.

There are two forces.  The Taliban, which can't kill the drones, and the US drones, which can kill them.  The battlefield is where the battle is.  That one force is helpless against the other doesn't change that.

When the Taliban starts putting in air defense capabilities, we should start to worry, maybe.    I expect the martians will land first, though.


The point I was making is that a lot of Farkers (see bolded above) seem to think drones are some awesome new war-winner that we would use against Russia in the event of a real mil-mil fight, instead of tanks or manned attack jets. They're not, they're just model airplanes with rockets strapped to them.

Also, referring to a populated area where you're fighting an insurgency as a "battlefield" is one sure way to fail. The point of COIN is to protect the people who live there from the bad guys, not to just kill the bad guys (and collaterally kill some of the people you're trying to protect).
 
2014-03-27 11:55:39 AM  
ct.fra.bz
 
2014-03-27 11:55:52 AM  

Weatherkiss: I'm still waiting for my white slavery I was promised by the Republicans if Obama were to be elected in 2008. It's 2014 and there are only 2 years left for him, and there's a lot of us healthy white folks who have been waiting patiently to be enslaved.


How YOU doin'?

Oh, you didn't mean that? I....uh.......*nevermind*


rushes out of thread
 
2014-03-27 11:56:17 AM  

Ambitwistor: Let them hate, so long as they fear.

[www.theblogmocracy.com image 300x266]


lol I like that one. Really, living a life so full of fear like a conservative must be just pathetic. Guns taken away, what reds conceive "socialism" to be, healthcare more available while the government has their hands all over their Medicare, Republican Jesus maybe giving food to the hungry while promoting tax cuts for the rich... it's so sad. It'd be laughable, except these crybabies still hold power in this country.
 
2014-03-27 11:56:40 AM  

Generation_D: Nutsac_Jim: The only chance many Democrats have of winning in 2016 is if they shift most campaign funds over to some Libertarian candidate, and hoping it pulls enough voters from the Republican.

//ie:Va.

(favorite: pro israel anti obama DC)


Never mind the fact that the libertarian candidate took more votes from the Dem candidate than the GOP candidate.

Still seems the GOP can't accept the fact they ran a terry candidate in VA
 
2014-03-27 11:57:13 AM  

Agent Nick Fury: Carn: ..

'The study published in Race and Social Problems indicates that Tea Party members are not necessarily any more racist than typical white Americans, but that the movement's supporters are more likely to be, leading the researchers to conclude that, "what the Tea Party means to its members and what it represents to the large public may, in fact, not be the same thing." '

Wow, a study published in Race and Social Problems.

Good thing all these tea baggers are racist and providing good jobs for these folks.


Wat?
 
2014-03-27 11:57:50 AM  

Nutsac_Jim: Lord_Baull: Reagan signed gun control legislation; Obama wants to take your guns.


Please give us more information about this nugget.


img.fark.net

Oh come on, look at that SmugFace!  Is that the face of a man who wants to let you keep your guns?
 
2014-03-27 11:57:54 AM  

Satan's Bunny Slippers: Oh, you didn't mean that?


Who says I didn't? ;)
 
2014-03-27 11:58:06 AM  

LazyMedia: Also, referring to a populated area where you're fighting an insurgency as a "battlefield" is one sure way to fail. The point of COIN is to protect the people who live there from the bad guys, not to just kill the bad guys (and collaterally kill some of the people you're trying to protect).


I prefer this COIN instead.
 
2014-03-27 11:58:19 AM  

Nutsac_Jim: Lord_Baull: Reagan signed gun control legislation; Obama wants to take your guns.


Please give us more information about this nugget.



As governor, Reagan signed the The Mulford Act in 1967 prohibiting the public carrying of loaded firearms.
As president, Reagan was in favor of the Brady Bill which would institute background checks on firearm purchases.
This is common knowledge.
 
2014-03-27 11:58:46 AM  

danfrank: I read Robert Kagen's column in the Washington Post while sitting in a metro delay this morning. It quotes these same numbers and comes to the conclusion that Obama is giving us the foreign policy that we want, and everyone hates him for it.


Oh, FFS...

Will those bloodthirsty neo-cons just STFU and go away already?
 
2014-03-27 11:59:03 AM  
I'm a racist bastard.
 
2014-03-27 11:59:32 AM  

Agent Nick Fury: Carn: ..

'The study published in Race and Social Problems indicates that Tea Party members are not necessarily any more racist than typical white Americans, but that the movement's supporters are more likely to be, leading the researchers to conclude that, "what the Tea Party means to its members and what it represents to the large public may, in fact, not be the same thing." '

Wow, a study published in Race and Social Problems.

Good thing all these tea baggers are racist and providing good jobs for these folks.


I never said all, but someone above questioned whether anyone who dislikes Obama does so because of race.  Hopefully I have eased that concern.  Many people who dislike Obama do so because of race and I stand by my previous statement that things would have been a hell of a lot different if he were a white Republican.
 
2014-03-27 11:59:57 AM  

bdub77: What if you ask an American a pointed question like "How would you handle the Ukrainian crisis?" Can we at least see the absolute retardation that comes out of their mouth?

In summary, Americans are clueless f*cking idiots.


If we aren't dropping bombs on people then how do I know that we are doing anything at all?
 
2014-03-27 12:00:16 PM  

Wendy's Chili: kortex: He's the worst president in the last 100 years. If only congress had the balls to impeach him.

Not a fan of Taft?


Taft was OK. Far better than Harding, Coolidge, Reagan, GW Bush and Ford (that's my bottom 5 of the 20th century, with Harding the worst). Nixon was a crook, but he did some good things policy-wise.
 
2014-03-27 12:01:08 PM  

Triple Oak: noblewolf: Wow, how the hate flows in these political threads...  I don't have the Emperors image from Star Wars but here is more fuel for the fire...


Well that's all I got for now.  Let the hatred flow......

It's so hard to hate someone as stupid as you. You try so hard though.

/the drone comment on the first picture is plenty of reason not to take any of those seriously


Of course, if just one of those silly things is wrong, the entire thing must be wrong.  You must take the same approach to everything.  If I don't agree with one of these things, everything else is wrong also.  Good luck with that thinking, imbecile.
 
2014-03-27 12:01:13 PM  
Ever notice that Republicans didn't have an opinion on Ukraine until Obama did? And that that opinion is that Putin is sexy?
 
2014-03-27 12:01:18 PM  

UrukHaiGuyz: Stuart Wolfe: The O-Bots

You were saying about political discourse?

There's Obama supporters who actually have reasoned positions for why they defend the guy. And then there's the people I described who can't do that, all they can do is either blame Bush or call anyone who disagrees with Obama a racist. Yeah, O-Bot describes them perfectly.

 
2014-03-27 12:01:42 PM  

Carn: Many people who dislike Obama do so because of race and I stand by my previous statement that things would have been a hell of a lot different if he were a white Republican.


He wouldn't have been elected in 2008, for one.
 
2014-03-27 12:01:55 PM  

badaboom:


That's how I usually imagine what the people who say that look like.
 
2014-03-27 12:02:00 PM  

bdub77: Taking military action against Russia to prevent it from annexing other areas
Support - 13%


Only 13% of americans are complete and utter morons who'd choose the single worst choice?  Interesting.
 
2014-03-27 12:03:41 PM  

Chris Ween: The Stealth Hippopotamus:

Lol


like it? I just made it. It made me giggle.
 
2014-03-27 12:04:20 PM  

noblewolf: Good luck with that thinking, imbecile.



My irony-meter just exploded.
 
2014-03-27 12:04:48 PM  
Carn:   Many people who dislike Obama do so because of race and I stand by my previous statement that things would have been a hell of a lot different if he were a white Republican.

Well if he was a white Republican I doubt he would get 94% of the African American vote
 
2014-03-27 12:05:19 PM  

Rapmaster2000: garkola: But - but - wasn't Obama supposed to improve the standing of the US overseas?

I'm not sure if he was supposed to.  It might be that more people just hated Bush than like Obama.  So, in that sense, I suppose you're right.  Obama didn't do anything to improve America's image.  Americans improved their image by not voting for the other guy.

[l.yimg.com image 618x785]

Not doing so hot in Poland, though.  Obama forgot Poland.


According to your chart and despite of Obama being such "anti-semitic muslim-loving Israel-hating president", US approval rating in Israel is at the highest in the last 15 years. He seems bad at hating the jews too. Total failure.
 
2014-03-27 12:05:32 PM  

Cletus C.: Carn: Many people who dislike Obama do so because of race and I stand by my previous statement that things would have been a hell of a lot different if he were a white Republican.

He wouldn't have been elected in 2008, for one.


haha, ok true.  Imagine if he changed parties and turned white after the election.
 
2014-03-27 12:05:57 PM  

ChipNASA: Pants full of macaroni!!: Well that tears it.  I'm never voting for him again.


"President" Ballrog, HUSSEIN, Sombrero, Fresh Prince of Bill Ayers, al-Chicago, Chocolate Jesus, B-Rock the Islamic Shock, Barky McTeleprompter, Wizard of Uhhs, BoBo the Clown, Oblahbla, Jug Ears,   Saunas breach akimbo, Waffles The Clown, Borborygmos Hammerhiem, The Rainbow King, Bukkake O'Bunga, OBIGOT, El Jefe Chocholate,   "Jace the Mindsculpter", Hopey McChangeypants, Oyobi, Bonzo the Time Traveler, La Bamba yo' Mamma, Samurai Kebab Nachos, Barackabeedoobeedoobeedo, Hussein-In-The-Membrane, Black Thunder, Dr. Utopia,  Obamarambo, Fartbongo, II"


I fully support these new nicknames.
 
2014-03-27 12:06:07 PM  

Agent Nick Fury: Carn:   Many people who dislike Obama do so because of race and I stand by my previous statement that things would have been a hell of a lot different if he were a white Republican.

Well if he was a white Republican I doubt he would get 94% of the African American vote


Only 90% would then?
 
2014-03-27 12:06:25 PM  

Miss Alexandra: I bet these people are all racist:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVv24P7SOuY


It's a press conference, not a speech, you vapid twit.
 
2014-03-27 12:06:41 PM  
On racism:

The first vote-shift graph shows basically the entire country, including most red states, voting more liberal in 2008 than 2004 ... except for an arc in the south (plus Arizona, McCain's home state) that became more conservative.  This has sometimes been referred to as the "racist belt".

benfry.com

The second vote-shift graph shows the entire country voting more conservative in 2012 compared to 2008, except for a different arc in the deep south (plus a few patches elsewhere), that became more liberal.  This roughly coincides with the heavily-black counties that went strongly for Obama in both 2008 and 2012.

www.gislounge.com
 
2014-03-27 12:06:59 PM  

ikanreed: bdub77: Taking military action against Russia to prevent it from annexing other areas
Support - 13%

Only 13% of americans are complete and utter morons who'd choose the single worst choice?  Interesting.


These are probably people who think Putin is a strong leader who should be emulated, instead of a brainless thug who is screwing up his country's economy and foreign policy for a generation.
 
2014-03-27 12:08:15 PM  

Agent Nick Fury: bdub77:

In summary, Americans are clueless f*cking idiots.

skozlaw:

/ Americans are ill-informed, lazy and fickle


Sorry racist rigtwingers, we clueless, idiotic, ill-informed, lazy and fickle Americans elected him and now you're going to have to live with it.

You people make me sick.


Ah yes, if we disagree with how Obama is running his administration, foreign policy and/or ruining our healthcare.  To say nothing of the scandal after scandal, we are, de-facto racist right wingers.

The Libbies here sure have their panties in a bunch.
 
2014-03-27 12:08:21 PM  

Miss Alexandra: iheartscotch: I've come to the conclusion that certain people really believe that, if you do not like the 'bama, you are racist. For only racists would fail to love our lord and savior.

My mom's asked me if I'm racist because I don't like Obama.


That's not the point though.  LOL  I don't like his politics.


I reminded her that I didn't like Dubya either.  Great.  I got to be a terrorist during the Bush regime, now I'm an eeeevil "racist" during the Obama regime.


Though since we have Hussein Hopenchange, I'm ALMOST starting to miss Dubya....


/they're all worthless

//conservative and independent




i865.photobucket.com
 
2014-03-27 12:09:18 PM  

Nutsac_Jim: Slaves2Darkness: Lord_Baull: A majority of Americans disapprove of the way he handles foreign policy. This diplomacy of his... why can't we invade and occupy a foreign country like the good ole days? I mean, that's why we HAVE a desert full of unused tanks, amiright?

Yeah, we should just fly over there in our C-190's or what ever we use to transport those tanks and kick them out over the tops of the Russian troops. Just use the tanks as gravity bombs, that will show them Commies that they can't compete with the US and should never try, because we are so rich we use excess tanks as gravity bombs.

Yes, because if you don't think Obama has done a good job on Ukraine, it means you want to bomb Moscow.


What should be done?
 
2014-03-27 12:09:37 PM  

Snatch Bandergrip: Ever notice that Republicans didn't have an opinion on Ukraine until Obama did? And that that opinion is that Putin is sexy?


He is sexy! Have you seen what the man can do with his Judo against lower ranked children?

02varvara.files.wordpress.com


i.telegraph.co.uk
 
2014-03-27 12:11:21 PM  

Jairzinho: Rapmaster2000: garkola: But - but - wasn't Obama supposed to improve the standing of the US overseas?

I'm not sure if he was supposed to.  It might be that more people just hated Bush than like Obama.  So, in that sense, I suppose you're right.  Obama didn't do anything to improve America's image.  Americans improved their image by not voting for the other guy.

[l.yimg.com image 618x785]

Not doing so hot in Poland, though.  Obama forgot Poland.

According to your chart and despite of Obama being such "anti-semitic muslim-loving Israel-hating president", US approval rating in Israel is at the highest in the last 15 years. He seems bad at hating the jews too. Total failure.


Liberal logic:

Poll shows majority of Americans disagree with Obama - that's because they only call old people with landlines who are racist and don't ask the right questions in the right way.

Poll shows majority of Poles and Jews agree with Obama - see, that's why he won his Nobel Peace Prize, he's the bestest!
 
2014-03-27 12:13:04 PM  

mistrmind: Ah yes, if we disagree with how Obama is running his administration, foreign policy and/or ruining our healthcare. To say nothing of the scandal after scandal, we are, de-facto racist right wingers.

The Libbies here sure have their panties in a bunch.



Okay, not racists, just willfully uninformed.
 
2014-03-27 12:13:18 PM  

Epic Fap Session: Snatch Bandergrip: Ever notice that Republicans didn't have an opinion on Ukraine until Obama did? And that that opinion is that Putin is sexy?

He is sexy! Have you seen what the man can do with his Judo against lower ranked children?

[02varvara.files.wordpress.com image 800x546]


[i.telegraph.co.uk image 460x288]


i595.photobucket.com
 
2014-03-27 12:13:29 PM  

noblewolf: Well that's all I got for now.  Let the hatred flow......


That's OK.  I think you have it covered.
 
2014-03-27 12:13:34 PM  
Remember too, that 41% is only counted as 24.6%...
 
2014-03-27 12:13:42 PM  
Where's the poll asking the opinion on the alternatives proposed by Republicans?

Oh
 
Displayed 50 of 628 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report