If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Daily Kos)   File a complaint against a cop in Kansas and it gets dismissed? That's a felony   (dailykos.com) divider line 93
    More: Asinine, Kansas, Kansas House, Health Care, International, complaints, juvenile justice, felony charges, House Minority Leader  
•       •       •

11596 clicks; posted to Main » on 19 Mar 2014 at 2:35 PM (23 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



93 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-03-19 03:31:08 PM

walkerhound: Dependent on how far the target is at the time.  He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.


He should have said the response "speed" of the gun was 1800 ft/sec (or whatever it was).   Instead he called it time.  Time is not measured in ft/sec no matter how smart you think you are.
 
2014-03-19 03:31:27 PM

hardinparamedic: ciberido: Sarcasm quotes do not help you.

Well, since the intent wasn't picked up on, they were meant to demonstrate the amount of farks I give.

Instead, I'll present a handy, dandy pie chart on the amount I give of your personal opinion of me.

[global3.memecdn.com image 640x492]


That's fine, but you should be aware that these posts are accomplishing nothing but demolishing your own credibility.

And let's just take it as given that you really don't care about that, either, shall we?  So there's really no need for you to actually go through with the inevitable insult or mockery.
 
2014-03-19 03:33:17 PM

genner: mlorton: genner: I assume cops will also be charged with a felony if they arrest someone who is found to be innocent?

Police have qualified immunity, which means they cannot be convicted for misconduct unless they violate a "clearly established right".

So, arresting an innocent person?  No.  Arresting someone they know to be innocent?  Yes.

[www.quickmeme.com image 512x288]



well, it was pretty obvious that you were being sarcastic but i'm afraid i missed your point as well.
 
2014-03-19 03:33:33 PM

I hate pigs, but on the scale of things to get outraged about "make it criminal to lie on a police complaint" falls pretty far down the list. I'm actually a lot more outraged at the "you can't investigate if another law enforcement org found in favor of the cop" part.

Giving them all evidence against them prior to questioning them is a big NO.

 
2014-03-19 03:33:52 PM

ciberido: And let's just take it as given that you really don't care about that, either, shall we?  So there's really no need for you to actually go through with the inevitable insult or mockery.


It's just my innate masochism.
 
2014-03-19 03:35:35 PM
shanrick [TotalFark]

call-a-hippy.jpg

If you think calling a police will actually get you help, you're dumber than a hippy.
 
2014-03-19 03:36:32 PM
Skyd1v:

Cheers!
 
2014-03-19 03:37:01 PM

iheartscotch: Oh Daily Kos; representing the bill in the worst possible light, why am I not surprised?

Granted, it's trash and it's not going to pass; but, it's not exactly pearl clutchy material. I agree that patiently false and malicious complaints should be punished; but, not at the cost of discouraging legit complaints.


Even law enforcement officers testified against it.

""The sheriff's office investigates numerous criminal cases, and we do not provide these materials to the interviewee prior the interview, thus I do not believe in providing deputies with evidence prior to the interview on alleged misconduct," [Sedgwick County Sheriff] Easter said...Easter said of the 152 complaints filed with the sheriff's office last year, only two were determined to be false and that the people who filed those complaints are already being prosecuted under current law for filing false police reports."

The only person who testified in favor of the bill was the lawyer for the Kansas law enforcement unions who was also, not coincidentally, the one who was behind the bill in the first place.
 
2014-03-19 03:38:21 PM

rugman11: The only person who testified in favor of the bill was the lawyer for the Kansas law enforcement unions who was also, not coincidentally, the one who was behind the bill in the first place.


Imagine that. An LE union testifying in favor of a bill that would give them utter immunity in their actions.

Hey, did you know it's a day that ends in -y?
 
2014-03-19 03:39:08 PM
We'll stop filing false police reports when they stop planting drugs on people
 
2014-03-19 03:41:15 PM

simkatu: walkerhound: Dependent on how far the target is at the time.  He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.

He should have said the response "speed" of the gun was 1800 ft/sec (or whatever it was).   Instead he called it time.  Time is not measured in ft/sec no matter how smart you think you are.


i1.ytimg.com
 
2014-03-19 03:43:26 PM

busy chillin': walkerhound: He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.

check out the hook while dj revolves it.


Ice cold, man
 
2014-03-19 03:54:08 PM

hardinparamedic: I'll present a handy, dandy pie chart on the amount I give of your personal opinion of me.


I'd like to add on a personal note, considering the number of threads in which we've found ourselves in agreement and/or have backed each other up when a third party challenges something we said, I rather thought we had some some kind of mutual respect or fellow feeling.  I suppose it was naïve of me to imagine this feeling was mutual, but I admit I am saddened to discover you think so little of me.

Yes, yes, you don't care about this, either.  I get that.
 
2014-03-19 03:59:26 PM

ciberido: I rather thought we had some some kind of mutual respect or fellow feeling.


Actually, cynicism aside, I have a lot of respect for you and your beliefs on this board.

To be honest, that was not so much delivered in regards to you, but rather in general, especially towards Prophet of Loss or  OnlyM3*. Sorry about that.

*I've had him ignored for the past two months, since every post addressed to be tends to be the rantings of a homophobic FARK Libertarian, or of his odd gay foot fetishes.
 
2014-03-19 04:07:25 PM

walkerhound: simkatu: 69gnarkill69:    [oi48.tinypic.com image 726x396]

That's a speed not a measurement of time.

Dependent on how far the target is at the time.  He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.


Or, it's a stupid propaganda bit and deserves to be laughed at, just as you do.

/because he is correct and you're a tool
 
2014-03-19 04:12:07 PM

ArcadianRefugee: walkerhound: simkatu: 69gnarkill69:    [oi48.tinypic.com image 726x396]

That's a speed not a measurement of time.

Dependent on how far the target is at the time.  He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.

Or, it's a stupid propaganda bit and deserves to be laughed at, just as you do.

/because he is correct and you're a tool


Something something Kessel Run something something parsecs.
 
2014-03-19 04:13:08 PM

Spad31: Since this is Daily Kos, can we assume the same credibility


They link to, and quote, the Washington Post story the article is based on.
 
2014-03-19 04:15:03 PM

hardinparamedic: Prophet of Loss: Hardin and 12 - Fark's resident cop apologists.

/Isolated incident

Please quote where I have "apologized" for anything. I spent six months defending myself along with a non-commissioned deputy against a false sexual assault charge because I cut the clothes off a drunk teenager to ensure she didn't have a life-threatening injury. Somehow, despite a woman deputy in the back with this little tart, we both managed to tag-team rape her in-between the scene and the Regional Medical Center.

Oh, wait. This is where you go "LOL I TROLL U", right?


False my ass. Women don't lie about such things.
 
2014-03-19 04:18:37 PM
This has been the law in California for decades.
 
2014-03-19 04:23:12 PM

fnordfocus: This has been the law in California for decades.


that explains why you constantly see stories about the police beating up old and disabled people coming out of cali.
 
2014-03-19 04:29:53 PM
Here is what happens when you walk into police the department and ask to file a complaint.
 
2014-03-19 04:36:37 PM
Oh, and there's a beautiful gift to crooked LEOs hiding in the new law.  In Section 1(f)(2):

(f) A law enforcement agency shall not:
...
(3) open a separate investigation of a complaint if another agency has
investigated such complaint and found no evidence of misconduct on the
part of the law enforcement officer; or

So, if the local department rubber stamps an investigation that finds their Officer did nothing wrong, a state agency can't look into it.
 
2014-03-19 04:47:06 PM

hardinparamedic: EvilEgg: Well then, why not have this law apply to everyone?  Police should not be special.

You don't think that Police would be in any position to be at a higher risk of someone filing an exaggerated or false claim?

Come on. You have people on FARK alone who gloat about how they would openly lie about something just to see a cop get in trouble. What makes you think that doesn't extend to the general public*.

*not talking about cases where ACTUAL misdeeds have been done.


I'm concerned that it says "proven false"--does that mean merely "unsubstantiated," or is there an additional component of malice that needs to be shown for a felony charge to be made?

A lot of people file misconduct complaints that are ultimately unfounded (ie false), but that doesn't mean there was malicious intent to cause harm.
 
2014-03-19 04:50:35 PM
what, slander and liable law not good enough?

How about hiring better cops?

how about both?

Or is that not an option . . .
 
2014-03-19 04:59:34 PM

Gyrfalcon: A lot of people file misconduct complaints that are ultimately unfounded


I have seen several people assert this but I am curious if it is even true, who are all these people  entitled enough to believe they can just file a complaint against what amounts to a gang and get away with it? The vast majority of people who get their rights violated are street smart enough to know not to put your name on a document that has complaints against the police.
 
2014-03-19 05:09:33 PM

Gyrfalcon: 'm concerned that it says "proven false"--does that mean merely "unsubstantiated," or is there an additional component of malice that needs to be shown for a felony charge to be made?

A lot of people file misconduct complaints that are ultimately unfounded (ie false), but that doesn't mean there was malicious intent to cause harm.


I won't support this for the simple fact it gives the police unions a blanket immunity through people who are members investigating other members of it. The way this bill is written, it places responsibility for disciplinary action at the local department level, and actually prohibits State authorities from investigating.
 
PJ-
2014-03-19 05:15:47 PM
My dealings with police is always the same, no matter what the situation, even if I'm the one who is a victim of a crime.

Cop: 'What do you remember about what happened?'
Me: 'nothing, I was looking at something else at the time'
cop: 'well, did you hear anything?'
me: 'nope'

Sure, I've had a couple cops try to get heavy handed with me, and I just shrug it off and ask if I'm free to go.  I have zero trust of all cops, and it's the best way of staying safe from the actual bad cops.  So I keep interaction between the cops and myself to a minimum.

Sure, there may be a time where I will need a cop to save me some unknown danger, but that's what I pay my taxes for.  I don't pay taxes to be treated like a potential suspect at all times thanks.
 
2014-03-19 05:16:21 PM

rugman11: iheartscotch: Oh Daily Kos; representing the bill in the worst possible light, why am I not surprised?

Granted, it's trash and it's not going to pass; but, it's not exactly pearl clutchy material. I agree that patiently false and malicious complaints should be punished; but, not at the cost of discouraging legit complaints.

Even law enforcement officers testified against it.

""The sheriff's office investigates numerous criminal cases, and we do not provide these materials to the interviewee prior the interview, thus I do not believe in providing deputies with evidence prior to the interview on alleged misconduct," [Sedgwick County Sheriff] Easter said...Easter said of the 152 complaints filed with the sheriff's office last year, only two were determined to be false and that the people who filed those complaints are already being prosecuted under current law for filing false police reports."

The only person who testified in favor of the bill was the lawyer for the Kansas law enforcement unions who was also, not coincidentally, the one who was behind the bill in the first place.


Who hired him?
 
2014-03-19 05:24:31 PM

shanrick: [i.imgur.com image 850x223]


The ONE time in my life I called the cops, I was handcuffed.  Long story short, drunk ex-girlfriend, blah, blah.  She was smashing out my windows.  I called the cops, they arrive and handcuff me to "stabilize the situation".  In the end, they let her drunk ass drive off and told me I'd be arrested if there were anymore calls that night.  Fark every single one of them.  I'll take my chances without these morons.
 
2014-03-19 05:29:06 PM
TFA uses the words "dismissed" and "proven false" as though they mean the same thing. They don't. Complaints can conceivably be dismissed for lack of sufficient evidence without being "proven false".

And I believe that perjury statutes usually require that a statement be knowingly false, and made with intent to deceive. An incorrect statement made in good faith is not perjury.
 
2014-03-19 05:31:16 PM
Uh .. "when you report police abuse, you must swear out an affidavit which makes you subject to felony charges if any portion is 'shown false' and the officer is provided all of this information ahead of time.  .."

Filing a false report  ought to get you whacked.

Just as not putting a serious whack on police who cross the line is wrong

/whack
//whacka whacka whacka
 
2014-03-19 05:49:19 PM

hardinparamedic: Prophet of Loss: Hardin and 12 - Fark's resident cop apologists.

/Isolated incident

Please quote where I have "apologized" for anything. I spent six months defending myself along with a non-commissioned deputy against a false sexual assault charge because I cut the clothes off a drunk teenager to ensure she didn't have a life-threatening injury. Somehow, despite a woman deputy in the back with this little tart, we both managed to tag-team rape her in-between the scene and the Regional Medical Center.

Oh, wait. This is where you go "LOL I TROLL U", right?


Was she hot? Pictures?
 
2014-03-19 05:55:17 PM

ciberido: hardinparamedic: I'll present a handy, dandy pie chart on the amount I give of your personal opinion of me.

I'd like to add on a personal note, considering the number of threads in which we've found ourselves in agreement and/or have backed each other up when a third party challenges something we said, I rather thought we had some some kind of mutual respect or fellow feeling.  I suppose it was naïve of me to imagine this feeling was mutual, but I admit I am saddened to discover you think so little of me.

Yes, yes, you don't care about this, either.  I get that.


hardinparamedic: ciberido: I rather thought we had some some kind of mutual respect or fellow feeling.

Actually, cynicism aside, I have a lot of respect for you and your beliefs on this board.

To be honest, that was not so much delivered in regards to you, but rather in general, especially towards Prophet of Loss or  OnlyM3*. Sorry about that.

*I've had him ignored for the past two months, since every post addressed to be tends to be the rantings of a homophobic FARK Libertarian, or of his odd gay foot fetishes.


Good, good....now you two kiss....
 
2014-03-19 06:32:15 PM
img.fark.net
 
2014-03-19 07:00:40 PM
"I'm filing a report against you, pig! I'm gonna sue your ass!"

talesfromthelou.files.wordpress.com

"Haha, this here's Kansas, boy! You ain't filing nuttin"
 
2014-03-19 07:25:24 PM

hardinparamedic: Please quote where I have "apologized" for anything. I spent six months defending myself along with a non-commissioned deputy against a false sexual assault charge because I cut the clothes off a drunk teenager to ensure she didn't have a life-threatening injury. Somehow, despite a woman deputy in the back with this little tart, we both managed to tag-team rape her in-between the scene and the Regional Medical Center.


Why'd that take 6 months? Simply have the 'woman deputy' talk to the 'little tart's'* lawyer, and tell him what really happened, and how she'll testify. What idiot lawyer would take the case after that?

*nice way to refer to someone, btw. Kinda doesn't support your case, though.
 
2014-03-19 08:15:42 PM

EvilEgg: hardinparamedic: EvilEgg: Yeah, doesn't perjury already cover this?

Not necessarily. It falls along the same lines as falsifying a rape allegation. Complaints are treated with the benefit of the doubt.

Well then, why not have this law apply to everyone?  Police should not be special.


Au contraire.  It's vital that we hold police to lower standards, because their jobs are almost as dangerous as those of lumberjacks and fishermen.
 
2014-03-19 08:19:08 PM

fredklein: hardinparamedic: Please quote where I have "apologized" for anything. I spent six months defending myself along with a non-commissioned deputy against a false sexual assault charge because I cut the clothes off a drunk teenager to ensure she didn't have a life-threatening injury. Somehow, despite a woman deputy in the back with this little tart, we both managed to tag-team rape her in-between the scene and the Regional Medical Center.

Why'd that take 6 months? Simply have the 'woman deputy' talk to the 'little tart's'* lawyer, and tell him what really happened, and how she'll testify. What idiot lawyer would take the case after that?

*nice way to refer to someone, btw. Kinda doesn't support your case, though.


Wouldn't you use a nasty derogatory name for someone who tried to get you fired and thrown in jail, just to get out of a DUI?

And no, once the wheels of an sexual assault investigation are set in motion, a nice little chat from the deputy doesn't make it go away. There are multiple interviews and much fact-gathering by the police, then more by your employer, then more by any unions or professional associations you belong to.
 
2014-03-19 09:22:32 PM

foxyshadis: Wouldn't you use a nasty derogatory name for someone who tried to get you fired and thrown in jail, just to get out of a DUI?


Officers get people fired and thrown in jail for bogus reasons all the team.

When us little people use derogatory names for Officers, we get the fark beat out of us.
 
2014-03-19 10:13:07 PM

CruiserTwelve: False complaints against cops occur far too often, but this isn't the way to fix it. There are already laws against filing false police reports.


Police misconduct also occurs far to often.  

Clean up your house and start arresting your 'brothers' for their crimes.   Get serous about addressing the legitimate complaints, stop dismissing real complaints as false ones, and maybe we'll be a little more sympathetic about the really false ones.
 
2014-03-20 01:25:37 AM

abmoraz: ArcadianRefugee: walkerhound: simkatu: 69gnarkill69:    [oi48.tinypic.com image 726x396]

That's a speed not a measurement of time.

Dependent on how far the target is at the time.  He basically gave you an equation for "X" and you're too dumb to solve it.

Or, it's a stupid propaganda bit and deserves to be laughed at, just as you do.

/because he is correct and you're a tool

Something something Kessel Run something something parsecs.


Exactly.

/wait, what?
 
2014-03-20 01:50:12 AM

hardinparamedic: ciberido: I rather thought we had some some kind of mutual respect or fellow feeling.

Actually, cynicism aside, I have a lot of respect for you and your beliefs on this board.

To be honest, that was not so much delivered in regards to you, but rather in general, especially towards Prophet of Loss or  OnlyM3*. Sorry about that.

*I've had him ignored for the past two months, since every post addressed to be tends to be the rantings of a homophobic FARK Libertarian, or of his odd gay foot fetishes.


I am so heartbroken some random self-righteous arrogant prick on the internet doesn't like me.

I am going to have a good cry.
 
2014-03-20 01:55:17 AM

Clint_Torres: [img.fark.net image 468x304]


OK, THAT was a blast from the past that nobody remembers. Holy shiat.
 
Displayed 43 of 93 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report