Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(New York Daily News)   The NYPD finds that when you stop violating people's civil rights, complaints against cops decline   (nydailynews.com) divider line 50
    More: Obvious, N.Y.P.D., Bronx, New York Civil Liberties Union, Civilian Complaint Review Board, complaints  
•       •       •

4797 clicks; posted to Main » on 17 Mar 2014 at 2:06 PM (45 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



50 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-03-17 02:07:12 PM  
You can't explain that.
 
2014-03-17 02:07:32 PM  
I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.
 
2014-03-17 02:08:56 PM  
Where was Ric?
 
2014-03-17 02:09:24 PM  
When the police stop doing proactive police work and actively trying to stop crime, complaints go down too.
 
2014-03-17 02:10:55 PM  
Also, since the NY Daily is too dense to realize, those photos were taken from a training video.
 
2014-03-17 02:12:53 PM  
Show people respect and they respect you back? GTFO.
 
2014-03-17 02:13:35 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


You enjoy sucking coop peener, don't you?
 
2014-03-17 02:14:33 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


#whitesplaining
 
2014-03-17 02:18:00 PM  
You don't say? Fascinating....
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2014-03-17 02:18:48 PM  
Complaints are down more than 6%, which implies nearly 94% of civil rights violations are not related to stop and frisk.
 
2014-03-17 02:24:55 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


White-like typing detected
 
2014-03-17 02:25:38 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.



No, they don't. You just don't complain about it.
 
2014-03-17 02:27:19 PM  
So long as crime does not go up by an equal or greater % ...
 
2014-03-17 02:30:52 PM  

SandmanEsq: So long as crime does not go up by an equal or greater % ...


Civil rights violations are unacceptable even if they correspond to lower crime rates.
 
2014-03-17 02:39:46 PM  

OgreMagi: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

You enjoy sucking coop peener, don't you?


See what happens when you forget the sarcasm tag?
 
2014-03-17 02:43:54 PM  

give me doughnuts: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


No, they don't. You just don't complain about it.


To be fair, it's difficult to have your rights violated if you preemptively relinquish them.
 
2014-03-17 02:48:14 PM  
So the plunge in complaints isn't Abnermal?

/nuthin'
 
2014-03-17 03:01:49 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.



As long as they only violate your rights a little bit, everything is cool.
 
PJ-
2014-03-17 03:05:17 PM  

OgreMagi: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

You enjoy sucking coop peener, don't you?


coop peener?  Is that where he shares with his friends?
 
2014-03-17 03:05:59 PM  

mlorton: OgreMagi: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

You enjoy sucking coop peener, don't you?

See what happens when you forget the sarcasm tag?


Theres a difference between sarcasm and trolling.
 
2014-03-17 03:28:10 PM  
go figure.
 
2014-03-17 03:36:54 PM  

Awesome T-Shirt: Also, since the NY Daily is too dense to realize, those photos were taken from a training video.


What was your tip? The baby-blue "training" Glocks?
 
2014-03-17 03:43:16 PM  

Awesome T-Shirt: Also, since the NY Daily is too dense to realize, those photos were taken from a training video.


That explains the blue handled pistols (fakes I assume), I was going to ask about that.
 
2014-03-17 03:45:04 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


What if police aren't complying with your civil rights?
 
2014-03-17 03:45:25 PM  

dramboxf: Awesome T-Shirt: Also, since the NY Daily is too dense to realize, those photos were taken from a training video.

What was your tip? The baby-blue "training" Glocks?


That and a white guy was being arrested.
 
2014-03-17 03:47:30 PM  

Odd Bird: Awesome T-Shirt: Also, since the NY Daily is too dense to realize, those photos were taken from a training video.

That explains the blue handled pistols (fakes I assume), I was going to ask about that.


Glock makes those specifically for training purposes.
 
2014-03-17 03:57:09 PM  

Awesome T-Shirt: When the police stop doing proactive police work and actively trying to stop crime, complaints go down too.


Stop and frisk wasn't proactive police work, it was police harassment and violation of constitutional rights that amounted to a waste of the cops time. Only about 1.5% of the stop and frisks resulted in the person being in jail or in prison for more than 30 days.and of those only a tenth resulted in convictions for weapons or violent crimes. And by the way this is from between 2009 and 2012, and their were more than 2.4 million stops in that period.
 
2014-03-17 04:06:11 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


And if the cops' request command violates your civil rights?
 
2014-03-17 04:10:09 PM  
NYPD is a huge reason I don't want to live in NYC. I know one NYPD cop personally and he's a massive asshole. I know many cops in other cities, and none are as big a prick as this guy.
 
2014-03-17 04:42:23 PM  

stewbert: NYPD is a huge reason I don't want to live in NYC. I know one NYPD cop personally and he's a massive asshole. I know many cops in other cities, and none are as big a prick as this guy.


The NYPD's current uniformed strength is approximately 34,500and you know one guy.

Meh, seems like fark logic
 
2014-03-17 04:44:19 PM  

nijika: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

#whitesplaining


poot_rootbeer: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

White-like typing detected


Mexican, fool. Nice try, though.
 
2014-03-17 04:46:33 PM  

OgreMagi: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

You enjoy sucking coop peener, don't you?


So, let me get this straight...

You actually have sucked a cops dick, and didn't care for it, or you're trolling me. Are there words in my sentence you don't understand?
 
2014-03-17 04:48:05 PM  

Anayalator: nijika: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

#whitesplaining

poot_rootbeer: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

White-like typing detected

Mexican, fool. Nice try, though.


You only have to bribe your police.
 
2014-03-17 04:50:28 PM  

ZAZ: Complaints are down more than 6%, which implies nearly 94% of civil rights violations are not related to stop and frisk.


That's actually kind of scary to think about.
 
2014-03-17 04:55:26 PM  

Noticeably F.A.T.: give me doughnuts: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


No, they don't. You just don't complain about it.

To be fair, it's difficult to have your rights violated if you preemptively relinquish them.


I've been pulled over for being in the wrong neighborhood, frisked with a vehicle search for matching the description, etc.

I've got nothing to hide, and if I did, the law protects me from illegal search and seizure, so it would be hard to make a case on anything found. That is, until I start mouthing off to the cops or getting agitated. Now they have a reason to be suspicious. Doesn't mean I've broken the law, it just means that I'm not acting appropriately for those circumstances.

I don't see it as relinquishing my rights. I see it as protecting the officer. If I give him no reason to worry about his safety, he can ask his questions and be on his way to some real bad guys. I think it's sad/funny that many people who get hemmed up on a felony, that started as a suspicion, have a record already. I have cousins with rap sheets a mile long, and the rest of the family is squeaky clean. You either get it or you don't.
 
2014-03-17 04:55:46 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


1/10
 
2014-03-17 05:19:24 PM  
...and the crime rate, um, stays the same?
 
2014-03-17 05:23:05 PM  
Lede is like something that's something like
 
2014-03-17 05:24:45 PM  
Ric Romero went to work for the NYPD?
 
2014-03-17 05:26:48 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


You're doing it backwards.
 
2014-03-17 06:32:27 PM  
Police state

You have no rights.

Soon hate crimes will be followed by the thought police.
 
2014-03-17 06:33:43 PM  

SevenizGud: Police state

You have no rights.

Soon hate crimes will be followed by the thought police.


He said, commenting on an article about things moving in the other direction.
 
2014-03-17 06:46:26 PM  

Anayalator: nijika: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

#whitesplaining

poot_rootbeer: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

White-like typing detected

Mexican, fool. Nice try, though.


Not saying you were white, but it was what you were doing.  Maybe it's Stockholm syndrome, who knows.
 
2014-03-17 07:31:29 PM  

MassAsster: stewbert: NYPD is a huge reason I don't want to live in NYC. I know one NYPD cop personally and he's a massive asshole. I know many cops in other cities, and none are as big a prick as this guy.

The NYPD's current uniformed strength is approximately 34,500and you know one guy.

Meh, seems like fark logic


Of course it's Fark logic.

That said, NYPD's Stop and Frisk is widely known. This guy is a precinct commander, and argues until he's blue in the face about how great (and consitutional) S&F is.

Also, I'm not aware of any other police force that has anti-terrorism agents stationed outside the US.

I'm glad I only know one guy.
 
2014-03-17 10:15:17 PM  

nijika: Anayalator: nijika: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

#whitesplaining

poot_rootbeer: Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.

White-like typing detected

Mexican, fool. Nice try, though.

Not saying you were white, but it was what you were doing.  Maybe it's Stockholm syndrome, who knows.


If you mess with the bull, you get the horns. If your automatic response upon being pulled over is "What the f*ck is your problem, dickwad?" then you are unlikely to be treated well, regardless of your race or color.

There are places and times to be confrontational with police and times not to; that's not "acting white" or "sucking cop dick," that's just common courtesy. Surprisingly, acting like a dick often gets you dick-like treatment in return, whether it's from a cop or a cashier. If getting a traffic ticket rouses your persecution complex, you might need to reconsider what it is you've been doing to garner so many traffic stops. Perhaps you might consider driving at the posted speed limit for a while and see what that gets you.
 
2014-03-18 08:58:27 AM  
Anayalator:

I've got nothing to hide


I love that gem.  If you've got nothing to hide you've got nothing to worry about, eh?

You wouldn't mind a CCTV camera in your house watching you all the time then would you?  Oh, you wouldn't like that??  What are you trying to hide??
 
2014-03-18 12:10:14 PM  

Anayalator: I find that when you comply with police, your civil rights get violated less.


You sound white.
 
2014-03-18 03:22:17 PM  

GanjSmokr: Anayalator:

I've got nothing to hide


I love that gem.  If you've got nothing to hide you've got nothing to worry about, eh?

You wouldn't mind a CCTV camera in your house watching you all the time then would you?  Oh, you wouldn't like that??  What are you trying to hide??


I bet you spit when you talk
 
2014-03-18 03:29:39 PM  

ongbok: Awesome T-Shirt: When the police stop doing proactive police work and actively trying to stop crime, complaints go down too.

Stop and frisk wasn't proactive police work, it was police harassment and violation of constitutional rights that amounted to a waste of the cops time. Only about 1.5% of the stop and frisks resulted in the person being in jail or in prison for more than 30 days.and of those only a tenth resulted in convictions for weapons or violent crimes. And by the way this is from between 2009 and 2012, and their were more than 2.4 million stops in that period.


I agree during that time period, when Commissioner Kelly turned it into a numbers game by attaching a "productivity goal" to it that things got out of hand and it was turned into something that it shouldn't of have, but I was not specifically talking about Stop, Question, and POSSIBLE Frisk. Any type of proactive police work generates complaints.
 
2014-03-18 03:50:49 PM  

Anayalator: GanjSmokr: Anayalator:

I've got nothing to hide


I love that gem.  If you've got nothing to hide you've got nothing to worry about, eh?

You wouldn't mind a CCTV camera in your house watching you all the time then would you?  Oh, you wouldn't like that??  What are you trying to hide??

I bet you spit when you talk


And I bet you swallow when you blow.
 
Displayed 50 of 50 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report