If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Raw Story)   Here's a job you should really only take if all the janitorial positions at your local adult bookstore are already filed: MtGox, which recently lost $340 million of depositor's Bitcoins, opens a call center to field customer complaints   (rawstory.com) divider line 253
    More: Fail, bitcoins, customer complaint, deposits  
•       •       •

3416 clicks; posted to Main » on 04 Mar 2014 at 12:45 PM (33 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



253 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-03-04 04:07:45 PM  

SonOfSpam: Pyramid scheme.


It's even written into the code and design, but it won't just end in one last fraud like your typical pyramid scheme.  Nope, it'll be libertarian wackos who think it solves some [I'd say unspecified, but I can think of quite a few specified yet nonsensical ones] problem in financial markets infinitely preying on each other like in eve.
 
2014-03-04 04:09:33 PM  

LasersHurt: Smackledorfer: LasersHurt: impaler: No. Based on math.

I look forward to your math.

I've yet to see any of yours.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees


Just how high do you believe a debit transaction fee is? Why would a similar process not be involved when, as you've already said, regulation and security is added to the bitcoin end of things.

How is this "security" going to be paid for?
 
2014-03-04 04:10:11 PM  

ikanreed: SonOfSpam: Pyramid scheme.

It's even written into the code and design, but it won't just end in one last fraud like your typical pyramid scheme.  Nope, it'll be libertarian wackos who think it solves some [I'd say unspecified, but I can think of quite a few specified yet nonsensical ones] problem in financial markets infinitely preying on each other like in eve.


Alternatively, circle jerk?
 
2014-03-04 04:11:01 PM  

impaler: LasersHurt: Smackledorfer: LasersHurt: impaler: No. Based on math.

I look forward to your math.

I've yet to see any of yours.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees

Just how high do you believe a debit transaction fee is? Why would a similar process not be involved when, as you've already said, regulation and security is added to the bitcoin end of things.

How is this "security" going to be paid for?


Why are you asking this as if it's hypothetical? I gave you the transaction costs there. You told me you didn't want to hear about exchanges, but if you DO suddenly want that, go to ANY of their websites and they tell you the fees.

Try CoinBase.com, it's US based and touts bank-level security. Have a look instead of demanding I tell you.
 
2014-03-04 04:11:58 PM  

impaler: Now take bitcoin, where if someone hacks your phone they get all your money and you never get it back.


My post listed an advantage of Bitcoin. Your post does not address this advantage, and instead offers another scenario "phone hacked" that is a perceived disadvantage.  I'll take that as a concession that my post shows a valid advantage.

Having never had a virus, trojan, or hacking incident of any kind, I'll gladly be responsible for making sure my phone isn't "hacked".  Hint: stay away from installing programs that pop up when you visit porn sites. It's really not that hard.
 
2014-03-04 04:13:51 PM  

Belias: Smackledorfer: The only supported advantage you have mentioned in this entire thread is transaction fees, and that is only an advantage over credit cards.

Ok, here's another. If I visit a store and pay with my debit card, I must trust the store to safeguard my information.  If you shopped at Target late last year, you know that is not always a safe bet.  Target stores your card number, your name, your PIN, etc.  With this information, nefarious people can access your bank account.  The fact that you stand to be reimbursed for that theft is little consolation to people who's mortgage payment bounced due to their accounts being siphoned.

Let's compare that to a Bitcoin payment scenario. I visit a retailer (not Target yet, but a Bitcoin accepting retailer). I make my purchase by snapping a QR code with my phone, tap my password in, and accept the charge.  The retailer gets ONLY that payment. They do not get any information that would allow them (or a nefarious hacker) to access any further funds.


This is true.  Which is why I, and many others, keep multiple accounts and don't keep huge amounts of money tied to a debit card. My mortgage is auto-payed out of a different account than my debit card is attached to.

It seems silly to support something as requiring of extra effort as the Bitcoin and then compare it directly to only one of many alternatives being used in the laziest way possible. Or do I overestimate the measures required to safely manage your bitcoins? It certainly doesn't sound like less work than managing multiple banking accounts through a major bank.

Also, cash is certainly an option. Could I be robbed? Sure, but honestly any cash I carry is worth less than my cell phone already, not to mention the cost in time and money to replace all the bits in my wallet.
 
2014-03-04 04:14:48 PM  

Belias: Having never had a virus, trojan, or hacking incident of any kind, I'll gladly be responsible for making sure my phone isn't "hacked".  Hint: stay away from installing programs that pop up when you visit porn sites. It's really not that hard.


Nice phone there.

us.123rf.com

Be a shame if something happened to the person holding it.

/sneaker net is not secure. Physical access methods and social engineering are highly effective zero day exploits.
 
2014-03-04 04:17:52 PM  

LasersHurt: Why are you asking this as if it's hypothetical?


You must be trolling.

Well played I guess.
 
2014-03-04 04:18:23 PM  

hardinparamedic: Belias: Having never had a virus, trojan, or hacking incident of any kind, I'll gladly be responsible for making sure my phone isn't "hacked".  Hint: stay away from installing programs that pop up when you visit porn sites. It's really not that hard.

Nice phone there.

[us.123rf.com image 300x450]

Be a shame if something happened to the person holding it.

/sneaker net is not secure. Physical access methods and social engineering are highly effective zero day exploits.


That's kind of a good way to get anything from a person though, be it money, devices, or information.
 
2014-03-04 04:19:24 PM  

Smackledorfer: LasersHurt: Why are you asking this as if it's hypothetical?

You must be trolling.

Well played I guess.


Yes, you're incapable of understanding the basic things I've said, so I'm trolling. That's how that works.
 
2014-03-04 04:20:53 PM  

LasersHurt: I explained that there are two different things in play; I don't know why you don't understand this, and I particularly don't understand why you think it's valid to say "the costs would be the same." Bitcoin /= current transaction methods.


The transaction costs for bitcoin are much, much higher as the network has to validate the ever-growing blockchains in the transaction.  The costs are simply distributed across the network at this point, so nobody really feels it, but it is certainly.  There's also an issue that if bitcoin ever were to get as popular as the USD, the blockchains and their validation would get absolutely stupid, making the costs go up further.
 
2014-03-04 04:23:05 PM  

OptionC: LasersHurt: I explained that there are two different things in play; I don't know why you don't understand this, and I particularly don't understand why you think it's valid to say "the costs would be the same." Bitcoin /= current transaction methods.

The transaction costs for bitcoin are much, much higher as the network has to validate the ever-growing blockchains in the transaction.  The costs are simply distributed across the network at this point, so nobody really feels it, but it is certainly.  There's also an issue that if bitcoin ever were to get as popular as the USD, the blockchains and their validation would get absolutely stupid, making the costs go up further.


Assuming nothing changes about the protocol over that amount of time, perhaps.
 
2014-03-04 04:28:57 PM  

Belias: My post listed an advantage of Bitcoin. Your post does not address this advantage, and instead offers another scenario "phone hacked" that is a perceived disadvantage.  I'll take that as a concession that my post shows a valid advantage.


So "phone hacked" is a different scenario than "Target hacked"

Ok.
 
2014-03-04 04:33:02 PM  

Belias: Having never had a virus, trojan, or hacking incident of any kind, I'll gladly be responsible for making sure my phone isn't "hacked".  Hint: stay away from installing programs that pop up when you visit porn sites. It's really not that hard.


How would you know you never had malware installed?
 
2014-03-04 05:22:57 PM  

Belias: Smackledorfer: The only supported advantage you have mentioned in this entire thread is transaction fees, and that is only an advantage over credit cards.

Ok, here's another. If I visit a store and pay with my debit card, I must trust the store to safeguard my information.  If you shopped at Target late last year, you know that is not always a safe bet.  Target stores your card number, your name, your PIN, etc.  With this information, nefarious people can access your bank account.  The fact that you stand to be reimbursed for that theft is little consolation to people who's mortgage payment bounced due to their accounts being siphoned.

Let's compare that to a Bitcoin payment scenario. I visit a retailer (not Target yet, but a Bitcoin accepting retailer). I make my purchase by snapping a QR code with my phone, tap my password in, and accept the charge.  The retailer gets ONLY that payment. They do not get any information that would allow them (or a nefarious hacker) to access any further funds.


The scenario you describe is how Venmo works (PayPal just bought Venmo) but for plain old dollars.

Bitcoin as an alternative to visa is fine. But as a payment alternative AND as a tradeable asset class? Won't work.
 
2014-03-04 05:24:42 PM  

talkertopc: 3 years in a call center got me PTSD so no thanks. OK, slight exaggeration, only one hell of an anxiety disorder.


You sound like you didn't catch on quickly. Management likes anxiety disorders developed in weeks not years! Now get back to work...

/worked 3 call centers for a total of 8 years
 
2014-03-04 05:37:24 PM  

Sliding Carp: K3rmy: For those who work in call centers, the other thing to do is pick a stupid word of the day.  This would be a word that should have NO BUSINESS being spoken during your call but you have to find a way to do so.  Bonus points for creativity.  Now the word does not have to be profane or vulgar.  Just inappropriate.  Like "Watermelon", "Aardvark", "Disco" or "Pantyhose" in a inbound technical support call center.

"Let's see what version of the software you're running meow."


Asking me where your order is, is like watching an aardvark wearing pantyhose in a disco, sir, while it might be entertaining, it doesn't make sense. Let's contact the shipper and find out, and get the aardvark back to eating watermelon.
 
2014-03-04 06:05:15 PM  

ikanreed: Tell me, if the hard drive that had your .wallet crashed, how much would you have?


Tell me, if the mattress you stuffed your cash in burns up in a house fire, how much would you have?

Dollars are worthless since you can set them on fire.
 
2014-03-04 06:36:03 PM  

umad: Dollars are worthless since you can set them on fire.


And yet I can go buy groceries and see a movie that night with dollars.....
 
2014-03-04 06:39:59 PM  

hardinparamedic: umad: Dollars are worthless since you can set them on fire.

And yet I can go buy groceries and see a movie that night with dollars.....


Doesn't matter. They can be destroyed or taken from you, so they are worthless. I'm just following the derp logic of the thread.

/you can buy shiat with bitcoins too btw.
 
2014-03-04 06:52:41 PM  

LasersHurt: The thread is filled with information on Bitcoin


In fact, it is not. We weirdo's are still waiting for a compeling reason as to why your "virtual money" has any value (other than to the Minecraft crowd).
 
2014-03-04 06:54:10 PM  

MelGoesOnTour: LasersHurt: The thread is filled with information on Bitcoin

In fact, it is not. We weirdo's are still waiting for a compeling reason as to why your "virtual money" has any value (other than to the Minecraft crowd).


And you can find any number of places on the internet which are explicitly designed to explain this to you. If you have any actual interest, look it up.
 
2014-03-04 06:58:55 PM  

ikanreed: LesserEvil: Again, people who do not understand cryptos seem to think they can speak about it.

Dummy: I understand crypography just damned fine.  I was alleging the basic skills necessary to "protect yourself" are out of the grasp of the majority of people making the currency doomed to continually face scenarios like this one or shrink down to the core believers.


THIS.

Thread over.
 
2014-03-04 07:00:30 PM  

MelGoesOnTour: LasersHurt: The thread is filled with information on Bitcoin

In fact, it is not. We weirdo's are still waiting for a compeling reason as to why your "virtual money" has any value (other than to the Minecraft crowd).


How about buying computer parts from a major vendor?

How about a growing number of retailers?

Insisting something that can be exchanged for goods or services is worthless is just stupid.
 
2014-03-04 07:05:19 PM  

umad: hardinparamedic: umad: Dollars are worthless since you can set them on fire.

And yet I can go buy groceries and see a movie that night with dollars.....

Doesn't matter. They can be destroyed or taken from you, so they are worthless. I'm just following the derp logic of the thread.

/you can buy shiat with bitcoins too btw.


Except for the fact that "saving your money in your mattress" is universally seen as a bad idea, yet that is what is actually recommended for bitcoin.
 
2014-03-04 07:07:18 PM  

umad: /you can buy shiat with bitcoins too btw.


I don't have any use for a key of coke, or mexican Viagra. Or an AK-47 from Uganda. Or some Ukranian Kiddie porn.

Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.
 
2014-03-04 07:16:27 PM  

LasersHurt: I wash my hands of it.


Pontious P., are you?
 
2014-03-04 07:17:11 PM  

hardinparamedic: umad: /you can buy shiat with bitcoins too btw.

I don't have any use for a key of coke, or mexican Viagra. Or an AK-47 from Uganda. Or some Ukranian Kiddie porn.

Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.


LesserEvil: MelGoesOnTour: LasersHurt: The thread is filled with information on Bitcoin

In fact, it is not. We weirdo's are still waiting for a compeling reason as to why your "virtual money" has any value (other than to the Minecraft crowd).

How about buying computer parts from a major vendor?

How about a growing number of retailers?

Insisting something that can be exchanged for goods or services is worthless is just stupid.



Try paying attention once and a while, instead of plugging your ears and going "La LA La LA  La LA  La LA" and repeating your lies.

I bet you can even buy some MLP bed sheets for your bedroom with BTC.
 
2014-03-04 07:19:44 PM  

hardinparamedic: umad: /you can buy shiat with bitcoins too btw.

I don't have any use for a key of coke, or mexican Viagra. Or an AK-47 from Uganda. Or some Ukranian Kiddie porn.

Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.


Nobody is saying you have to stop using dollars, so calm your tits.
 
2014-03-04 07:22:16 PM  

LasersHurt: impaler: No. Based on math.

I look forward to your math.


You're either trolling (in which case I award you the Big Fish) or you're just being an asshole right now. Not sure which it is BUT it's fun to see it play out.   :)
 
2014-03-04 07:25:04 PM  

MelGoesOnTour: LasersHurt: impaler: No. Based on math.

I look forward to your math.

You're either trolling (in which case I award you the Big Fish) or you're just being an asshole right now. Not sure which it is BUT it's fun to see it play out.   :)


Hours later, you decide I'm "trolling or an asshole." Thanks for coming to the thread big guy, you're an asset to the team.
 
2014-03-04 07:44:44 PM  

LesserEvil: Try paying attention once and a while, instead of plugging your ears and going "La LA La LA La LA La LA" and repeating your lies.


Oh, cool. TigerDirect can rip me off in BitCoins just as much as USD.
Nice to know.

And your directory site comes up blank.

Yet, somehow, can't fill up my car with gas. Can't go see a movie. Can't go buy groceries. Can't pay my taxes, light bill, or water bill.

You know, useful things.

/it's not "Lah lah lah". It's "your sideshow act is no use to me".
 
2014-03-04 08:08:12 PM  

hardinparamedic: LesserEvil: Try paying attention once and a while, instead of plugging your ears and going "La LA La LA La LA La LA" and repeating your lies.

Oh, cool. TigerDirect can rip me off in BitCoins just as much as USD.
Nice to know.

And your directory site comes up blank.

Yet, somehow, can't fill up my car with gas. Can't go see a movie. Can't go buy groceries. Can't pay my taxes, light bill, or water bill.

You know, useful things.

/it's not "Lah lah lah". It's "your sideshow act is no use to me".


Well, it's not my fault you can't operate a browser. The directory lists over 600 businesses that deal in BitCoin, none of them dealing in illegal goods.

As for this sideshow, why do you feel threatened enough by Bitcoin to hop into every thread and disparage it? I don't jump into your MLP threads to troll bronies, nor do I get upset when bronies don't share my opinions of a little girls' cartoon and the men who follow it rapturously. Frankly, I'll take a bitcoin over an MLP playset any day, you are free to value that playset over a cryptocurrency that you fail to understand.
 
2014-03-04 08:17:15 PM  
Hm, doesn't it connect directly to the Suicide Prevention Hotline? Why would they need more people at MtGox for fielding calls?
 
2014-03-04 08:21:30 PM  

LesserEvil: Well, it's not my fault you can't operate a browser. The directory lists over 600 businesses that deal in BitCoin, none of them dealing in illegal goods.


Don't really care. There are over 57 million licensed businesses in the United States that I can spend a US dollar on, and they'll take it for the value of a US dollar.

Not for a currency which is environmentally devistating and, while an interesting application of both mathematics and terrifying naivety, serves me no purpose in a First World Country. Absolutely none.

LesserEvil: As for this sideshow, why do you feel threatened enough by Bitcoin to hop into every thread and disparage it? I don't jump into your MLP threads to troll bronies, nor do I get upset when bronies don't share my opinions of a little girls' cartoon and the men who follow it rapturously. Frankly, I'll take a bitcoin over an MLP playset any day, you are free to value that playset over a cryptocurrency that you fail to understand.


I'm not trolling you. Sorry to break that to you. I geninely enjoy you people masturbating over a cryptocurrency that is little more than a ponzi scheamer's wet dream, and then watching you grasp at straws when this is pointed out as to why bitcoin is the NEXT BIG THING that just hasn't been realized yet.

You like cryptocurrency. That's great. You've yet to present a single convincing argument as to why I should trust my livelyhood and hard earned money to a barter currency that is entirely unregulated, unbacked by anyone, and subject to forced scarcity and market dumping among other forms of attack because of this.

It's not that I "fail to understand it". I understand it enough that it scares the shiat out of me that people would delve their life savings into it. That people would sell their houses to buy it. That people would spend tens of thousands of dollars for ASICs to mine the algorhythms for it.

Your hobby is just that. It's just far more expensive than the 3 bucks a month I pay to watch Cartoon Network and The Hub on saturday mornings.

But I digress. If you can present me just ONE convincing argument that a bitcoin should be used over any other currency in the First World, or WHY I should even use a cryptocurrency in the first place, then I'd be happy to listen to you.
 
2014-03-04 08:35:00 PM  

LasersHurt: MelGoesOnTour: LasersHurt: impaler: No. Based on math.

I look forward to your math.

You're either trolling (in which case I award you the Big Fish) or you're just being an asshole right now. Not sure which it is BUT it's fun to see it play out.   :)

Hours later, you decide I'm "trolling or an asshole." Thanks for coming to the thread big guy, you're an asset to the team.


Congrats on trolling me. You've won the crown.
 
2014-03-04 08:47:26 PM  

OptionC: LasersHurt: I explained that there are two different things in play; I don't know why you don't understand this, and I particularly don't understand why you think it's valid to say "the costs would be the same." Bitcoin /= current transaction methods.

The transaction costs for bitcoin are much, much higher as the network has to validate the ever-growing blockchains in the transaction.  The costs are simply distributed across the network at this point, so nobody really feels it, but it is certainly.  There's also an issue that if bitcoin ever were to get as popular as the USD, the blockchains and their validation would get absolutely stupid, making the costs go up further.


This is a common misconception. The costs of blockchain validation do not increase with transaction volume.  Nor does it go up over time automatically.  The difficulty increases only when more/faster Bitcoin hardware comes online. It's self-balancing. If it becomes financially untenable, miners will drop off.

It's absolutely true that the current implementation of the Bitcoin protocol could not hope to handle the complete USD transaction volume. However this is a bit like crying foul when a young couple buys a Prius, and pointing out that it will never be able to handle a family of seven.  The current implementation works well for the current volume, and will for the near future.  Development is underway to extend/expand/enhance in many ways.  That's the beauty of an open source implementation of an open and free protocol. It grows.
 
2014-03-04 08:49:33 PM  
hardinparamedic:
Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.


This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.
 
2014-03-04 08:54:31 PM  

Belias: This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.


Unlike Email, Bitcoin doesn't solve any problems.

Again, give me one good reason why I should be using it? I don't care about the novelty of it. The usefullness of it to buy stuff is only unique if I am trying to buy off a darknet market - every business that accepts it also accepts USD for the same item - and I really don't care if my purchases are "trackable" or not.

So again. Why should I use it, or view it as anything more than a barter novelty?

What makes BitCoin more valuable than Dogecoin, or Shiatcoin? (Granted, Dogecoin users are more laid back and less douchy about their crypto of choice.)
 
2014-03-04 09:00:14 PM  

Belias: hardinparamedic:
Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.

This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.


No it isn't.

Not even close.
 
2014-03-04 09:18:50 PM  

Belias: hardinparamedic:
Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.

This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.


No it wasn't. There were no arguments against email. For those that could use it, it was great, and provided a VERY CLEAR advantage over regular mail.

This line of thinking seems common in reddit as well. Nothing like hearing 20 somethings talk about how no one thought the Internet would work, or other such drivel. No one ever seriously dismissed the Internet, and the only real serious arguments against it was that it would literally collapse over it overuse.
 
2014-03-04 09:45:57 PM  
ts1.mm.bing.net
umhu yea realy ok
 
2014-03-04 10:15:04 PM  

Smackledorfer: Belias: hardinparamedic:
Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.

This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.

No it isn't.

Not even close.


Um yes it was. Perhaps you're not thinking early enough?  When "nobody has an email account, why would I use that instead of regular real mail?"
 
2014-03-04 10:16:03 PM  
impaler: Nothing like hearing 20 somethings talk about how no one thought the Internet would work, or other such drivel.

Nice try, but my first computer was a Vic-20.
 
2014-03-04 10:52:28 PM  

Belias: impaler: Nothing like hearing 20 somethings talk about how no one thought the Internet would work, or other such drivel.

Nice try, but my first computer was a Vic-20.


So you lied about it being an argument against email.
 
2014-03-04 10:55:19 PM  

Belias: Um yes it was. Perhaps you're not thinking early enough?  When "nobody has an email account, why would I use that instead of regular real mail?"


No one said that. If they didn't have an email account, they didn't care if you did. If you didn't have anyone to use email with, you didn't have an email account. If you did have email, and had people to use it with, the advantage was obvious.
 
2014-03-04 10:57:38 PM  

impaler: No one said that. If they didn't have an email account, they didn't care if you did.


In fact, they wouldn't even know WTF email was to comment on it.

Stop lying. Jesus. This bitcoiner desire to compare bitcoin adoption to the internet is transparent and ridiculous.
 
2014-03-04 10:57:51 PM  
While I run the risk of becoming the "crying girl leaning on a locker door" in the "welcome to fark" meme, I have to ask...

How can one lose imaginary money?  and if the imaginary money goes missing, why not replace it with more imaginary money???  Hell, if Ben Bernanke taught us anything, printing presses are our economy's best friend....
 
2014-03-04 11:21:45 PM  

impaler: impaler: No one said that. If they didn't have an email account, they didn't care if you did.

In fact, they wouldn't even know WTF email was to comment on it.

Stop lying. Jesus. This bitcoiner desire to compare bitcoin adoption to the internet is transparent and ridiculous.


When in doubt, ad hominem?

The fact is, when offered email, some (SOME) people absolutely questioned it because their friends didn't have it. Source? My personal experience. I'm not comparing Bitcoin to the Internet, I'm noting that the specific complaint of 'my favorite retailers don't accept it, so I don't see the point of it' is absolutely similar to some early questioners of the usefulness of email.

I get it, you hate Bitcoin. You think it's silly, you think it's a ponzi scheme, or you're just pissed off that you didn't 'get in' soon enough to cash in on early rises.  With gleeful malice, you point to each "crash" of the exchange value as proof of your evaluation.  And yet, the exchange rate now stands at $650 to one Bitcoin, despite several "crashes".  This brand of logic parallels climate change deniers who point to short term downward trends in temperature as "proof" that climate change is invalid, ignoring the clear long-term upward trend.

The concept of cryptocurrency isn't going anywhere. The genie is out of the bottle and there's no putting it back in. Bitcoin's only real competitor is a child coin, but first mover is a powerful advantage, especially with open source.

I'd love to argue with you more, but I'm off to get the latest humble bundle, with Bitcoin of course.
 
2014-03-04 11:32:30 PM  

Belias: Smackledorfer: Belias: hardinparamedic:
Oh, look at that. One BitCoin "ATM" in Austin, Tx, and one in Vancouver.

Man, that sure makes it more convienent than using my US Dollar.

This is precisely the argument used against email in the early days.

No it isn't.

Not even close.

Um yes it was. Perhaps you're not thinking early enough?  When "nobody has an email account, why would I use that instead of regular real mail?"


No.

This literally never happened.
 
Displayed 50 of 253 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report