Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Yelp)   Yelp releases the 100 best reviewed eateries in America. Your favorite is probably #101   (officialblog.yelp.com ) divider line
    More: Spiffy, Yelp, Michelin Guide, Le Bernardin, star rating  
•       •       •

954 clicks; posted to FarkUs » on 28 Feb 2014 at 12:51 PM (2 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



24 Comments   (+0 »)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2014-02-28 12:15:20 PM  
#65: Tiki Juice Bar, Anaheim, CA

This location is literally the Dole juice stand adjoining the Enchanted Tiki Room at Disneyland.

Granted, the pineapple whip they serve is the best damned treat in the park not called "Monte Cristo Sandwich," but... yeah, it's a refreshment stand at Disneyland.
 
2014-02-28 12:29:10 PM  
100 best paid for eateries reviews in America!

Yelp? People still do that?
 
2014-02-28 12:57:51 PM  
IF I COLD GIVE IT ZEROE STARS I WOULD NEVER AGAIN THE SERVER ONLY FILLED ARE WATER GLASS 3 TIMES AND TOLD ME TO USE THE BATHROOM WHEN I CHANGEDD MY DAUGHTER AT THE TABLE AND SHE DIDNT EVEN SMILE AT MY DAUGHTER EITHER IM FROM COLUMBUS oh gO bUCKEYES SO I KNOW GOOD BARBEQU AND THIS ISNT IT I TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS NEVER TO EAT THERE BECAUSE THE SERVERS THINK THEIR BETTER THAN YOU AND THE PORTIONS ARE TOO SMALL
 
2014-02-28 12:59:01 PM  
#101, the Y at the intersection of submitter's mom's legs
 
2014-02-28 01:03:02 PM  
47 places out of 100 are in California.

Yelp has never steered me wrong when traveling, but there's clearly some selection bias going on here.
 
2014-02-28 01:04:41 PM  

factoryconnection: 47 places out of 100 are in California.

Yelp has never steered me wrong when traveling, but there's clearly some selection bias going on here.


^ This.
 
2014-02-28 02:09:43 PM  
Oklahoma Joe's is a terrible place to eat. The food is great though.
 
2014-02-28 02:51:19 PM  
Danko at #9 - I think it is low, but I haven't been to the places rated above it.

Lou's at #40 is a great place.

Ikes at #59 is honestly by favorite sandwich joint.

as far as selection bias, Yelp started in SF so I would expect more reviews for CA based businesses.
 
2014-02-28 03:42:08 PM  
Amy's Baking Company?

/DNRTFA
 
2014-02-28 04:04:07 PM  

DarkJohnson: 100 best paid for eateries reviews in America!

Yelp? People still do that?


And we're done here, last one out, turn out the lights
 
2014-02-28 04:04:08 PM  

factoryconnection: 47 places out of 100 are in California.

Yelp has never steered me wrong when traveling, but there's clearly some selection bias going on here.


Marcus Aurelius: factoryconnection: 47 places out of 100 are in California.

Yelp has never steered me wrong when traveling, but there's clearly some selection bias going on here.

^ This.


Yeah... I assume this is because only dumb asses from California routinely rate restaurants on Yelp, and website known for its lack of transparency.

Seriously, why even release this list.   Its a farking joke.
 
2014-02-28 04:44:11 PM  
Yelp! has never steered me wrong but I don't eat out.
 
2014-02-28 05:22:01 PM  
If it doesn't say "all you can eat buffet", I am not interested.
 
2014-02-28 05:29:51 PM  
Yelp can be depressingly blue-collar sometimes.
As can the United States.
 
2014-02-28 06:05:39 PM  
sigdiamond2000

beat me to it, but, i always love the over the top negative review.  i don't use Yelp often, but it seems like whenever I do, there's always one review that just cannot possibly be true.  a pizza place i semifrequent, which is very clean, very good, very quick, hell, i go there several times a year, one review was on and on about roaches and flies flying around, the person's entire getting weapons grade food poisoning for days, the staff being racist, sexist, homophobic, you name it, and meanwhile the place is always packed.

crazy yelp reviewer person, don't you ever change.
 
2014-02-28 07:26:17 PM  
I haven't eaten at any of these places but from what I hear the two places in Colorado are both very good.  A buddy of mine has mentioned both of them numerous times.
I also noticed that the vast majority of them are in the west (someone else already mentioned this) and two of them are the same restaurant in two different cities...list kind of sucks but I will say that of the two that I've heard of I've only heard very good things.
 
2014-02-28 07:37:03 PM  

DarkJohnson: 100 best paid for eateries reviews in America!

Yelp? People still do that?


I skim read reviews for good dishes to try when I'm taking a random stab at the menu.

By the way, Taste of Ethiopia in Pflugerville , Texas?

First off: I'd be impressed if that was the same Taste of Ethiopia folks as in Michigan. It's okay Ethiopian.  Hardly mindblowing, other than the fact that it was Ethiopian food in the suburbs and it wasn't Blue Nile (which doesn't even use teff in their damn injera).  Good healthy filing stuff at Eastern Market, then they closed up shop there, which sucked.  But still, I'd rather go to Toronto or DC, Windsor in a pinch since my favorite Michigan strip mall Ethiopian place closed up shop.

Second: Taste of Ethiopia in Pflugerville, Texas?

It's not even the first result when you search "Taste of Ethiopia Yelp".

Wow.
 
2014-02-28 08:23:17 PM  
I don't know if it's the 5th best place in America, but Porto's Bakery is ridiculously good food.  Those damn potato balls once ended a fight between me and my husband.  He didn't think going to a bakery could possibly be a good choice for a meal, then he took one bite of the potato balls and changed his mind fast.

Only thing wrong with Porto's is it's always packed.  I've gone in thunderstorms only to run into everyone else who looked out at the rain and thought "I bet there's no line at Porto's!"  What fools were we...
 
2014-02-28 08:28:03 PM  

factoryconnection: 47 places out of 100 are in California.

Yelp has never steered me wrong when traveling, but there's clearly some selection bias going on here.


Alternate Translation: "47% of people who blog about everything they eat, live in California."
 
2014-02-28 09:55:50 PM  

sigdiamond2000: IF I COLD GIVE IT ZEROE STARS I WOULD NEVER AGAIN THE SERVER ONLY FILLED ARE WATER GLASS 3 TIMES AND TOLD ME TO USE THE BATHROOM WHEN I CHANGEDD MY DAUGHTER AT THE TABLE AND SHE DIDNT EVEN SMILE AT MY DAUGHTER EITHER IM FROM COLUMBUS oh gO bUCKEYES SO I KNOW GOOD BARBEQU AND THIS ISNT IT I TOLD ALL MY FRIENDS NEVER TO EAT THERE BECAUSE THE SERVERS THINK THEIR BETTER THAN YOU AND THE PORTIONS ARE TOO SMALL


For this I turned off 'ignore' to read your post?
 
2014-02-28 09:59:46 PM  
I've only been to #2, Paseo. If you need a Cuban sandwich in Seattle, look no further
 
2014-02-28 10:01:01 PM  

K.B.O. Winston: I don't know if it's the 5th best place in America, but Porto's Bakery is ridiculously good food.  Those damn potato balls once ended a fight between me and my husband.  He didn't think going to a bakery could possibly be a good choice for a meal, then he took one bite of the potato balls and changed his mind fast.

Only thing wrong with Porto's is it's always packed.  I've gone in thunderstorms only to run into everyone else who looked out at the rain and thought "I bet there's no line at Porto's!"  What fools were we...


As Yogi Berra said, "No one goes to eat there any more. It's always too crowded."
 
2014-02-28 10:09:29 PM  

Tillmaster: Yelp can be depressingly blue-collar sometimes.
As can the United States.


Actually, thank God for that in San Francisco. This list gave me three affordable places to try. Pisses me off to read about Gary Danko's, check out the menu, $76 for three courses. Which actually sounds reasonable for the quality, but like I say the good side is that there are the three new places I found out about tonight that I can afford.
 
2014-03-01 03:38:37 AM  
My favorite is Mother India in Morgantown WV. Their Chicken Biryani is a rockin....
And yes, they'll adjust spice to your taste. If you want burn, they can bring burn.
 
Displayed 24 of 24 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report