If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ZDNet)   Tech reviewer regains senses, suddenly realizes that Live Tiles suck ass   (zdnet.com) divider line 67
    More: Obvious, Microsoft, Windows Phones, anilingus  
•       •       •

3212 clicks; posted to Geek » on 19 Feb 2014 at 11:08 AM (27 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



67 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-02-19 10:35:13 AM
Tech reviewer regains senses,not paid enough shill money suddenly realizesadmits that Live Tiles suck ass
 
2014-02-19 10:52:28 AM
Maybe it's just me but I don't want an emotional attachment to my phone. I don't want it to give me the warm fuzzies. It's a phone not a girlfriend.
 
2014-02-19 10:55:09 AM

Tellingthem: Maybe it's just me but I don't want an emotional attachment to my phone. I don't want it to give me the warm fuzzies. It's a phone not a girlfriend.


I feel the same way about my PC.
 
2014-02-19 11:15:04 AM
Wanting some sort of warm, fuzzy connection with the way you set up your interface?  What is this?  Your blog sucks.

The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet.  The Bing Weather live tile on WP8 and Win8 is awesome, so is the calendar.  Gives you the information you (probably) want at a quick glance.
 
2014-02-19 11:17:50 AM
Live Tiles are probably the best mobile interface for conveying the information that they convey.  I don't like how Android does it, and iOS has copied Live Tiles in the newest version of iOS
 
2014-02-19 11:19:10 AM

CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet


Plus they're hideously ugly.
 
2014-02-19 11:21:59 AM

bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it


What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?
 
2014-02-19 11:22:47 AM
"Windows 8" would have been better as a separate OS, ala iOS vs OSX. As it is, the ideas it has for the mobile/tablet system aren't bad, but they don't play well with the older Windows features.
 
2014-02-19 11:23:57 AM

Tellingthem: Maybe it's just me but I don't want an emotional attachment to my phone. I don't want it to give me the warm fuzzies. It's a phone not a girlfriend.


Oh, yeah, please tell me about all the utility you get out of metro and live tiles.
 
2014-02-19 11:24:20 AM
I have no problem with tiles, but they're more oriented to phone and tablet use.  It's a pain in the ass on my PC.  I prefer the old style.  They SHOULD have a way where you can toggle between the two.

/I'm referring to the NBCNews redesign, btw
 
2014-02-19 11:26:09 AM

Driedsponge: bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it

What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?


pastels?
 
2014-02-19 11:27:43 AM

Driedsponge: bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it

What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?


Widgets are not hideously ugly.
 
2014-02-19 11:29:30 AM

LordJiro: "Windows 8" would have been better as a separate OS, ala iOS vs OSX. As it is, the ideas it has for the mobile/tablet system aren't bad, but they don't play well with the older Windows features.


I agree.  I think the Metro interface works great for phones, and I think it's actually pretty attractive.  I use Android, but I would consider switching to Windows Phone if the app ecosystem were more robust.  It's one thing to have a five-inch screen covered in flashing tiles, though.  It's entirely different and much less useful when that interface is used on a 24" monitor.
 
2014-02-19 11:31:11 AM

Marcus Aurelius: Driedsponge: bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it

What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?

Widgets are not hideously ugly.


That's my take on it as well, I'm just wondering why bhcompy thinks the live tiles are better than customizable widgets.
 
2014-02-19 11:31:46 AM

ikanreed: Tellingthem: Maybe it's just me but I don't want an emotional attachment to my phone. I don't want it to give me the warm fuzzies. It's a phone not a girlfriend.

Oh, yeah, please tell me about all the utility you get out of metro and live tiles.


I have the ones I use on the main screen and that's about it. I use the email and weather ones the most. They work for me. They aren't some amazing time saver or anything but I don't have a problem with them. It's is nice to glance down and see everything on one screen.
 
2014-02-19 11:32:40 AM

Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.


The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.
 
2014-02-19 11:48:28 AM
If my android phones (grandfathered under the $25 plan from virgin mobile) ever die, i would be interested in a Windows phone.

I am way more interested in the cyanogenmod thing on my old optimus as long as i can keep my plan.
 
2014-02-19 11:49:25 AM
If Microsoft thought the tiles were really a great idea, then they would include the option to turn them off.
But they don't, they force you to use them because they know most everyone would turn them off.
 
2014-02-19 11:50:25 AM

Driedsponge: Marcus Aurelius: Driedsponge: bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it

What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?

Widgets are not hideously ugly.

That's my take on it as well, I'm just wondering why bhcompy thinks the live tiles are better than customizable widgets.


I don't want a widget that shows my inbox, I want something that tells me how many new messages(email, chat, RSS, Twitter, whatever) I have.  iOS and WP handle this the same way now.  Yahoo Mail doesn't have a widget and Gmail's widget shows my inbox and not the number of new emails, and other features are more of the same.  Of course, this is my preference, and not everyone has the same preference.  I like the widgets for weather and stocks in Android better than other OSs, but those are not the most important items that I want immediate information on.
 
2014-02-19 11:54:22 AM
"I blame live tiles directly for my inability to connect in an emotional way with the Windows Phone interface"

I think that is all that needs to be seen from that article
 
2014-02-19 11:55:06 AM

CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.


Between Google Now, and one or two other apps, you can do all of those things on Android.  Most of them without even unlocking the phone as they display right on the lock screen.  It will even tell you what time you have to leave for your next calendar appointment based on current traffic conditions.

I am not trying to be argumentative, I just happen to have a dislike for most live tiles, and I am really trying to figure out why people prefer them over other offerings.
 
2014-02-19 11:56:02 AM

CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.


You should see them from my point of view, on twin 27" monitors that are several feet away from me and don't have a touch interface regardless.  From that perspective they look utterly retarded.
 
2014-02-19 11:58:20 AM
Live Tiles are like being in a kitchen in which all of the appliances are always on. It is just overload. Widgets allow the user to decide which appliances (apps) are on, leaving the others passive.
 
2014-02-19 12:04:32 PM
The tiles would be great if confined to a sidebar or pinned on the actual desktop.

It's the full screen of them just doesn't work on a desktop machine.
 
2014-02-19 12:12:19 PM

Driedsponge: bhcompy: I don't like how Android does it

What's the difference between a live tile and a widget?


I don't know, Tommy Smothers, what IS the difference between a live tile and a widget?

[AUDIENCE LAUGHS]
 
2014-02-19 12:19:08 PM

madgonad: Live Tiles are like being in a kitchen in which all of the appliances are always on. It is just overload. Widgets allow the user to decide which appliances (apps) are on, leaving the others passive.


Most apps have options for enabling or disabling Live Tile notifications
 
2014-02-19 12:20:42 PM

Driedsponge: Between Google Now, and one or two other apps, you can do all of those things on Android.  Most of them without even unlocking the phone as they display right on the lock screen.  It will even tell you what time you have to leave for your next calendar appointment based on current traffic conditions.

I am not trying to be argumentative, I just happen to have a dislike for most live tiles, and I am really trying to figure out why people prefer them over other offerings.


To be fair, I haven't used an Android device with Google Now set up.  Knew of its capabilities, but was unaware of the interface updates.  WP8.1 should be adding lots of Google Now-esque features later this year.

Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.

You should see them from my point of view, on twin 27" monitors that are several feet away from me and don't have a touch interface regardless.  From that perspective they look utterly retarded.


I was referring mostly to Windows Phone, but it works pretty well on my Win8 x86 tablet as well.  With a touchless desktop, you're right.  I have yet to even set up the start screen on my desktop.  There's a couple of tiles worth looking at with a quick glance (weather is my most referenced), but most of the time I just start typing to search instead of really "using" the start screen.
 
2014-02-19 12:43:50 PM
Everybody hates them so I hate them.
 
2014-02-19 01:11:33 PM

legion_of_doo: If my android phones (grandfathered under the $25 plan from virgin mobile) ever die, i would be interested in a Windows phone.

I am way more interested in the cyanogenmod thing on my old optimus as long as i can keep my plan.


I finally had to give up my $25 plan.  I was le sad.
 
2014-02-19 01:25:07 PM
I keep active the Tiles I want updates from . I turn off live updates on  the others.
 
2014-02-19 01:39:25 PM
Microsoft's "Tiles" must be the end result of a group of people that dropped LSD, watched a couple episodes of Sid & Marty Krofft's World and wandered into the 10 foot user interface design room and began coding.
 
2014-02-19 01:40:36 PM
Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.
 
2014-02-19 01:46:35 PM

Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.


In the last windows 8 biatchfest I learned that many people actually believe that they can simultaneously visually search their start menu and monitor the background, be it a video a webpage or whatever.  You can't win.  My advice is to ignore them and hope that UI designers do too.
 
2014-02-19 01:50:06 PM
I miss the widgets on my old HTC Desire. From the home screen, I had time and weather (4x2), next appointment (4x1 with tiny font) and the from, subject and first line of my last three emails (again, 4x1 with tiny font). On my S3 now, I have Time and weather, and next appointment. Both are 4x2, so no room for the email.

/Almost 2 years later, still bitter.
 
2014-02-19 01:59:34 PM

CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.


I've been playing with this eye candy:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gtp.nextlauncher&h l= en

I actually spent the $15 for it.
 
2014-02-19 02:17:02 PM

SteakMan: CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.

I've been playing with this eye candy:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gtp.nextlauncher&h l= en

I actually spent the $15 for it.


Boy.  I have to say that there is almost nothing about that which appeals to me in any way.

I do know a few people who'd probably like it, though.
 
2014-02-19 02:38:20 PM

bhcompy: madgonad: Live Tiles are like being in a kitchen in which all of the appliances are always on. It is just overload. Widgets allow the user to decide which appliances (apps) are on, leaving the others passive.

Most apps have options for enabling or disabling Live Tile notifications


And there is always "right click on tile and choose 'Turn Off Live Tile'" from the OS.  You actually can do this "easier" (= less click count or context switch) than widgets.

But the main difference between widgets and live tiles has nothing to do with choices or display.  The main difference is that the tiles are arranged on one logical screen where you have to flip pages on the android.  This has nothing to do with liveness, but it makes the live information more accessible (less swipes to reach).
 
2014-02-19 02:41:44 PM

Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.


Oh, I get that it's a more efficient use of space than static icons.  I have just yet to see a compelling reason as to how the MetroUI efficiency translates into better overall productivity or usability in a desktop or server environment.
 
2014-02-19 02:49:09 PM

Driedsponge: Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.

Oh, I get that it's a more efficient use of space than static icons.  I have just yet to see a compelling reason as to how the MetroUI efficiency translates into better overall productivity or usability in a desktop or server environment.


What part of F U, do what we say, what part of dominating a market didn't you understand?
 
2014-02-19 02:55:56 PM
Well 200 million people in a stagnate PC market must be wrong.
There is way too much info going on here, I can't for the love of God understand any of itimg.fark.net
 
2014-02-19 03:04:20 PM
As you can see, i can see how many emails I have from 4 email accounts(I check them when they reach 40+), facebook, News, sports, weather, time, or whatever I want to know. Guess what and if I don't want to see that shiat i press desktop and boom img.fark.net
No more tiles
 
2014-02-19 03:10:25 PM

SteakMan: CmndrFish: Marcus Aurelius: CmndrFish: The only valid complaint against live tiles is that most developers/designers just don't know how to use them effectively yet

Plus they're hideously ugly.

The Android interface to me looks like it's from 2006.  iOS 7 looks like Easter.

These are subjective qualities, though.  I can unlock my phone and, without opening any app, see the temperature and forecast, missed calls/voicemails, texts, unread emails for my 3 different accounts, and what meeting/event I'm about to be late to.

It did take some configuring to set up, yes, but whenever I grab an Android or iPhone, it feels like a step backwards to me now.

I've been playing with this eye candy:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.gtp.nextlauncher&h l= en

I actually spent the $15 for it.


I've been using Next Launcher since shortly after its release.

Love. It.
 
2014-02-19 03:10:33 PM

Driedsponge: Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.

Oh, I get that it's a more efficient use of space than static icons.  I have just yet to see a compelling reason as to how the MetroUI efficiency translates into better overall productivity or usability in a desktop or server environment.


They did release data on why it is better in a mouse and keyboard environment.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/b8/archive/2011/10/11/reflecting-on-your-com me nts-on-the-start-screen.aspx

Clicking the app button on the desktop browser for google.com also gives a tile list of choices, because Fitt's law is the primary scientific approach to UI usability and efficiency and has been the driving force behind most modern UI changes.  Similarly for the MacOS Dashboard, and the MacOS Launch Pad, and, well, most modern application pickers out there.  This really isn't a Microsoft thing by any stretch.
 
2014-02-19 03:13:15 PM

stevenvictx: If Microsoft thought the tiles were really a great idea, then they would include the option to turn them off.
But they don't, they force you to use them because they know most everyone would turn them off.


Um... You can turn them off.


http://m.winsupersite.com/windows-8/windows-81-tip-personalize-start- s creen
 
2014-02-19 03:17:19 PM

Driedsponge: Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.

Oh, I get that it's a more efficient use of space than static icons.  I have just yet to see a compelling reason as to how the MetroUI efficiency translates into better overall productivity or usability in a desktop or server environment.


I like the interface on the Windows 2012 releases (on the few I have with a UI at all) better than on Win8.x. All the tools I need are right there.
 
2014-02-19 04:21:47 PM

Marine1: Live Tiles are a coup in UI design that use space far more efficiently than static icons.

And yes, if you don't get that, you're an idiot.


A screen filled with terminal windows with 4pt fonts would use screen real estate more efficiently than Live Tiles. Turns out there's a lot more to good UX than efficient use of space.
 
2014-02-19 05:03:12 PM
Ahem....

Microsoft Windows Metro designer admits Metro is for morans, not for people who know how to use computers.

Have fun, shills, defending a horrendous desktop experience that demands learning keyboard shortcuts and removing visual cues in favor of a Fisher-Price Playskool UI with the chromatics of an Atari 2600.
 
2014-02-19 05:15:58 PM

LesserEvil: Ahem....

Microsoft Windows Metro designer admits Metro is for morans, not for people who know how to use computers.

Have fun, shills, defending a horrendous desktop experience that demands learning keyboard shortcuts and removing visual cues in favor of a Fisher-Price Playskool UI with the chromatics of an Atari 2600.


I'm defending it from a mobile perspective, and for Grandma
 
2014-02-19 05:25:19 PM
I get that it is required to hate MS and Windows in particular here on FARK. That's fine, but this writer is a goddamned douchebag.


/has a win 8 phone.
//doesnt give a fark about tiles.
 
2014-02-19 05:33:04 PM
One of Microsoft's cheerleaders has stopped cheering. Did the payola check bounce?
 
Displayed 50 of 67 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report