If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ABC)   Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users   (abcnews.go.com) divider line 91
    More: Fail, Yahoo, passwords, e-mail address  
•       •       •

4764 clicks; posted to Geek » on 01 Feb 2014 at 3:02 AM (28 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



91 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-02-01 01:18:08 AM
Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.
 
2014-02-01 03:06:03 AM
img.gawkerassets.com
 
2014-02-01 03:08:43 AM
*********
 
2014-02-01 03:09:06 AM
I think I may have one in theory from before gmail existed but I uavent used it in like a decade.
 
2014-02-01 03:09:57 AM
OH CRAP!

They readin' my spam box...my precious throwaway email account...
 
2014-02-01 03:10:36 AM
273,000,000
7
No difference.
 
2014-02-01 03:10:38 AM
Oh Noes!!!  Don't hack that abandoned email account I haven't used in over a decade!
You might get access to all of the dick growing pill spam messages that have accumulated over the past 4000 days.

"Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail "

Ok.  When was the last time you emailed someone who wasn't your grandmother who had a @Yahoo address?

I can't think of one off the top of my head.

/I hope they don't do something dastardly like hack AOL next.
 
2014-02-01 03:12:39 AM
Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail, according to the research firm comScore. There are 273 million Yahoo mail accounts worldwide, including 81 million in the U.S.


If they're counting the total number of accounts that have ever been opened with Yahoo rather than those which are currently active I might believe that.
 
2014-02-01 03:15:06 AM
I still have a yahoo address.  Nothing important though.  Mainly semi-span, semi-not spam goes in there.  I have more secured emails for important crap.
 
2014-02-01 03:20:08 AM
Damn. All those spam whipping-boy accounts, compromised by hackers.
 
2014-02-01 03:21:02 AM

generallyso: Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail, according to the research firm comScore. There are 273 million Yahoo mail accounts worldwide, including 81 million in the U.S.


If they're counting the total number of accounts that have ever been opened with Yahoo rather than those which are currently active I might believe that.


Didnt they do a clean out not all that long ago to clear the dead accounts out??
 
2014-02-01 03:23:22 AM
Well, if you are one of the other 6 people who still use Yahoo, keep an eye out for bogus emails from Amazon.  The email will try to get you to open it to see details about a recent order.  Telltale sign is no logos anywhere.  I'm sure there are others going around but the Amazon angle is very recent.
 
2014-02-01 03:25:01 AM
If anyone has my old, old, old yahoo account, have fun, motherfarker. ;)
 
2014-02-01 03:25:43 AM
Everything yahoo does is second rate, buggy and years behind the competition. Have two yahoo accounts dating to the late nineties when my parents ditched aol for a DSL. Only use they still have are spam email addresses. Their email client is god awful compared to gmail.

But my paranoia made me change those passwords. Cause lord knows I'm not reading all the thousands of unread messages and not taking a chance someone finds something in there they can use against me.
 
2014-02-01 03:25:44 AM
Damn, my AdBlockPlus goes apeshiat when I go to abc.com.  100 blocked assholes?  shiat!
 
2014-02-01 03:26:36 AM

ChewbaccaJones: Oh Noes!!!  Don't hack that abandoned email account I haven't used in over a decade!
You might get access to all of the dick growing pill spam messages that have accumulated over the past 4000 days.

"Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail "

Ok.  When was the last time you emailed someone who wasn't your grandmother who had a @Yahoo address?

I can't think of one off the top of my head.

/I hope they don't do something dastardly like hack AOL next.


Or netscapenavigator.
 
2014-02-01 03:28:41 AM

super_grass: Damn. All those spam whipping-boy accounts, compromised by hackers.


How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?
 
2014-02-01 03:30:17 AM

dangelder: *********


You realize we can see your password, don't you?
 
2014-02-01 03:32:05 AM

brownie in motion: super_grass: Damn. All those spam whipping-boy accounts, compromised by hackers.

How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?


Well I havent used my yahoo email in like a decade, Ive replaced my credit cards several times since then. What Im more concerned about is my cell phone got stolen out of my car earlier today.
 
2014-02-01 03:32:21 AM
If the hackers can actually get into my yahoo account they're welcome to use it.  I certainly can't as it keeps giving me errors for the past week or so.
 
2014-02-01 03:33:43 AM

5 star chef of tv dinners: I still have a yahoo address.  Nothing important though.  Mainly semi-span, semi-not spam goes in there.  I have more secured emails for important crap.


My "secured" email through charter generates more spam than yahell, hot mail, and gmail COMBINED. I can count on one hand the number of times I've used that charter Addy, too.
 
2014-02-01 03:33:44 AM

brownie in motion: super_grass: Damn. All those spam whipping-boy accounts, compromised by hackers.

How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?


If your using a credit card online, it should be with someone you trust enough to use one of your real email addresses. If its from long ago credit cards do expire every few years too.

I keep a bullshiat ghetto credit card around with a low credit limit for semi trustworthy online sites. Even if you steal my details, its got an insanely low credit limit so your not banging me out of more than a weeks pay.
 
2014-02-01 03:39:57 AM
i62.tinypic.com
 
2014-02-01 03:41:48 AM

ChewbaccaJones: Oh Noes!!!  Don't hack that abandoned email account I haven't used in over a decade!
You might get access to all of the dick growing pill spam messages that have accumulated over the past 4000 days.

"Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail "

Ok.  When was the last time you emailed someone who wasn't your grandmother who had a @Yahoo address?

I can't think of one off the top of my head.

/I hope they don't do something dastardly like hack AOL next.


I have two yahoo email adds, 1 hotmail, and 1 gmail. I use them all on a daily basis for different shiat.
/are you subby
 
2014-02-01 03:46:57 AM
If you really want to see how many people have a active yahoo account, just go to their comment section on anything dealing with politics.
/he'll, you can go to any article of yahoo and they will turn the comment section into farks politics tab
 
2014-02-01 03:57:37 AM
good luck, i'm behind seven proxies.
 
2014-02-01 04:02:41 AM

Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.


I actually prefer it to gmail.

It is much better for setting up folders. Name@gmail is much more professional seeming than my goofy yahoo account though.
 
2014-02-01 04:04:09 AM

Smackledorfer: Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.

I actually prefer it to gmail.

It is much better for setting up folders. Name@gmail is much more professional seeming than my goofy yahoo account though.


My bad. I was thinking of my hotmail. I left my yahoo behind long ago.
 
2014-02-01 04:14:18 AM
So rocketmail's not affected then? Ha.
 
2014-02-01 04:15:58 AM
Hey fark  you subby. I have a yahoo addy and it's just fine.

Now give me your apology.
 
2014-02-01 04:21:10 AM
I hope no one is still using their old yahoo account as the recovery address for their current and much hipper domain name one.
 
2014-02-01 04:33:03 AM
Poverty and a bad credit score are my protections against identity theft.
 
2014-02-01 04:52:28 AM

Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.


So you're saying 7 people created all those email addresses?

Right. Who's the moron now?
 
2014-02-01 05:01:56 AM
I don't understand, there's nothing about this on the Yahoo News page.

/ Yahoo News commenters will just blame Obama anyway
 
2014-02-01 05:05:49 AM
brownie in motion:
How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?

Not to mention that most people tend to use the same password for every account. Thanks to you fine people on Fark, I started using KeePass. No more of that nonsense.
 
2014-02-01 05:11:10 AM
brownie in motion: How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file?

So, you trust a company enough to give them your credit card number to sign up for a service ... but you don't give them a throwaway mail address?

// the point of a throwaway mail address is that you use it for things you don't care about.
 
2014-02-01 05:13:53 AM
After reading this, I went on to my Yahoo account to change the password, and I checked the email while at it. The only noteworthy piece of mail was a notice in September that someone has reported one of my Yahoo Answers for violating community rules -- done for no reason I could see. Much too late to appeal.

And then I was irritated and also reminded how little I use the account, and finally didn't even bother changing the password since it's exclusive to that account and it doesn't even have my real name attached to it.
 
2014-02-01 05:33:47 AM
That's because many people reuse passwords across many sites

My first thought: "Can anyone over 5 still be that stupid?" My second thought: "Judging from the comments over at Yahoo Sports, yes, yes they can be."

/still love me some Puck Daddy
 
2014-02-01 05:34:15 AM

Shelbyville: Everything yahoo does is second rate, buggy and years behind the competition.


Yahoo's news aggregation portal is pretty good as is their sports reporting but pretty much everything else I've used from Yahoo is as you described it.
 
2014-02-01 05:35:32 AM
Yahoo Mail used to be awful, then it was merely crap, now it's about tolerable. The main problem has not been the GUI which seems to change about once every 2 years but the spam filter which has always been problematic.

A few years ago the filter didn't work at all. These days it just about works but I still seem spam with obvious characteristics which it doesn't catch.
 
2014-02-01 05:37:29 AM
I had a yahoo account when it was still Yang's school project, but I forgot what it is.  My current yahoo account was originally a rocketmail account.  I never use it though.
 
2014-02-01 05:44:06 AM

Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.


I use Yahpo as my portal, so technically I have a Yahoo email address. It doesn't mean I ever use it
 
2014-02-01 06:10:57 AM

Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.


Came to say just this.
 
2014-02-01 06:14:26 AM

ChewbaccaJones: Oh Noes!!!  Don't hack that abandoned email account I haven't used in over a decade!
You might get access to all of the dick growing pill spam messages that have accumulated over the past 4000 days.

"Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail "

Ok.  When was the last time you emailed someone who wasn't your grandmother who had a @Yahoo address?

I can't think of one off the top of my head.

/I hope they don't do something dastardly like hack AOL next.


I have an AT&T Uverse email address. I think that's Yahoo.
 
2014-02-01 06:35:40 AM
Yahoo is still 2nd, huh? They must be counting total open accounts rather than what people are actually using.

I have my same yahoo account from years ago, when it was the best option. I got really annoyed with all the spam and started clean will gmail at the first opportunity. I was one of those that got the coveted evite to join. I've been very happy with it ever since. I still do use my yahoo account today as a business email for some freelance stuff. But that's about it.
 
2014-02-01 06:40:44 AM
Great. So some idiot Russian mafia guy is going to start using my anon porn and spam and throwaway email addresses.

/Bigthickstud (at) yahoo
//Horsecalk (at yahoo
 
2014-02-01 06:41:22 AM
Never had a Yahoo account . I guess it's because every time I ever went to Yahoo it would bog down my computer.
 
2014-02-01 06:41:57 AM
Something just occurred to me. A few weeks ago, yahoo locked my account for "suspicious activity". I had to change my password... I wonder if that's related to this issue?
 
2014-02-01 06:43:28 AM
Thank god my Prodigy account didn't get hacked.

Prodigy: A partnership that combined Sears' strengths in IT with IBM's skills in retail marketing.
 
2014-02-01 06:47:39 AM
I use my Yahoo email account here and a few other websites. Their spam filter is quite good. The spam folder always has 30 times more in it than the inbox.
 
2014-02-01 06:47:56 AM
I use Yahoo email all the time. Is that not cool? I also have an earthlink account that people constantly laugh at. I don't keep up with this stuff. Maybe it's time to switch. What's a socially acceptable e-mail carrier? In case you're not sure- this is serious....
 
2014-02-01 06:54:28 AM

durbnpoisn: Something just occurred to me. A few weeks ago, yahoo locked my account for "suspicious activity". I had to change my password... I wonder if that's related to this issue?


They were having issues with secure and non-secure information being transmitted that FF and IE both were throwing off warnings about. That was cleared up weeks ago. Maybe your address was compromised during that.
My Yahoo address has been fine all along, so don't any of you Farkettes worry about the BIE you sent me, it's still secure.
 
2014-02-01 07:32:23 AM
I still use them for the less important emails.  Job stuff goes to gmail...   (well, the part that doesn't go to the office email).
Yahoo isn't as demanding about real names and seems to care less if you have multiple accounts.  I don't appreciate having my account deleted after signing up for things using the email, so after google did that to an alternate account, the rest stayed on yahoo.  I think they don't do that at the moment, but after seeing that policy waiver a few times, I see no real benefit to trying to switch the other accounts.  Also, after that round of deletions, it's gotten harder to claim a decent email name.
 
2014-02-01 07:59:05 AM
I still use my Yahoo address for random, unimportant stuff. Actually my Fark account is tied to it, so there you go.
 
2014-02-01 08:06:30 AM

brownie in motion: super_grass: Damn. All those spam whipping-boy accounts, compromised by hackers.

How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?


You mean my credit card which expired a decade ago?
 
2014-02-01 08:08:38 AM
Yahoo "detected suspicious activity and locked the account" on Thursday.

Yes, I only use it for spam and trivia.  Used to use it for IM at work.  It works better than MS Lync.

Getting it back was easy, they didn't change my phone number so yahoo sent me a text with a reset code.  Now I have my trivia back, yea!
 
2014-02-01 08:11:01 AM
Hopefully these hackers don't oh after "Ask Jeeves" next. I'd hate to have my ability to do internet searches compromised.
 
2014-02-01 08:25:02 AM
I was assured by Tech Journalism™ that Marissa Mayer was Jesus 2.0 and this kind of crap wasn't going to happen anymore.
 
2014-02-01 08:35:52 AM
I have to use GMail at work.  It royally sucks.
 
2014-02-01 08:35:59 AM
Lots of Yahoo hate going on here. I just don't get it. It's a free service. And the email interface isn't all bad. Good Spam filter, too

Yes, it's been around since the early days of the interwebs. I guess people just like to change their email address/domain name whenever something newer & more cool(?) comes along. PITA, for me at least, to send an email out to everyone telling them to change my email address in their contact list. Makes no sense.

I have the same Yahoo email address from the late 90's - I use it for all personal emails. I used for everything up until the last outage a few months back. Business emails now go to my @outlook.com address.

Gmail's interface & look blows. Whar the Google hate??
 
2014-02-01 08:37:22 AM
Having signed up for 200+ yahoo email accounts in the last 10 years, all under phony names and info, I just can't give a rat's ass.
 
2014-02-01 09:02:42 AM
Yahoo Mail (or other Yahoo services) seem to have a major security breach at least twice a year. Not sure why this one is making mainstream news.  IIRC the previous one last year involved some kind of cookie hijack if you happened to browse across any Yahoo News site.
 
2014-02-01 09:04:30 AM

MarkEC: I use my Yahoo email account here and a few other websites. Their spam filter is quite good. The spam folder always has 30 times more in it than the inbox.


Yahoo is my go-to for any commercial services, merchants, etc. Some advertisement emails I'd actually like to get often end up in my spam folder.

I got a gmail address way back in the "invitation only" days, so I was lucky enough to get just my last name (which is fairly common) and a single digit.

The unintentionally funny result of that is that I get quite a bit of personal email intended for other people. Evidently it's very easy to exclude a few characters here or there and type my email address in by mistake. It's pretty entertaining sometimes, like a reverse voyeurism.
 
2014-02-01 09:05:57 AM
Apparently, there's a fair number of Yahoo employees on Fark.
 
2014-02-01 09:15:23 AM

Pokey.Clyde: Yahoo email addresses and passwords stolen. Company braces for complaints from all seven users

I guess the FAIL tag is for subby.

FTFA:  Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail

In other words, subby.....you're a moron.



Um...you  are aware that FARK is a humor site, right?

On second thought:  Never mind.  You're probably busy fact-checking this week's episode of Two Broke Girls.
 
2014-02-01 09:41:31 AM
If you have internet service from AT&T you are using yahoo for your email if you have an @ameritech.net, @sbcglobal.net, or @att.net account in the midwest and ay of the other subsidiaries around the country.  No word yet if these have been targeted as well.
 
2014-02-01 09:47:53 AM
i have relatives that use yahoo email as their work email...

no, i still don't get it
 
2014-02-01 10:05:58 AM
Marissa Mayer may come and complain to me in person. Naked and bound, that is.
 
2014-02-01 10:13:56 AM

Coming on a Bicycle: Marissa Mayer may come and complain to me in person. Naked and bound, that is.

img2-2.timeinc.net


I bet her password is Sh0e$....
 
2014-02-01 10:26:31 AM
Maybe I'd like Yahoo more if for every spam I get in my inbox I get a naked picture of the ceo
 
2014-02-01 10:34:26 AM

Coming on a Bicycle: Marissa Mayer may come and complain to me in person. Naked and bound, that is.


Has any woman ever not complained when viewing you naked?
 
2014-02-01 10:48:42 AM
I've had the same Yahoo account as my main email since the 90s. I'm always annoyed at these morons who change their email every 6 months because they got a new ISP, got themselves locked out of their old account or just because something newer and trendy came along.

It works as good as any other email service and best of all they're not constantly changing how everything's set up simply for the sake of change.
 
2014-02-01 11:09:24 AM
Yahoo said the usernames and passwords weren't collected from its own systems, but from a third-party database.

Oh, well, it was a third-party database that contained all those Yahoo usernames and passwords... guess that take the pressure off of Yahoo!.
 
2014-02-01 11:22:44 AM
Out of curiosity, I just checked my Yahoo account for the first time in several weeks. Out of 171 emails in my inbox, there were around 20 legitimate emails. The rest were things like this gem.

Sent From: Gionna Hemsworth
Subject: Fw:B lowsOf ffark ingS isterPor nH aired 穌纎篼郡 袕盬贇胵 脁翈駛輺 蛒鄖良骸 讦韫皠蘻 罓銂缣霸. 駊 鉉 詣 筻 絲 翻 鞖 賕 躉! 磵蘊礕蚛豫竊Tꐡhꑳiꃆs骝衊Wꀴeꇉbꋸ-ꃗSꐯiꃷtꂗ e 续郬Cꄟoꋭn
Sent  To: Several hundred other email addresses
Body: Clearly spam for porn site, with special characters between each letter.
Extra Note: I have several dozen of these in my inbox, all with different sender names, but identical subject line and body.

That's the kind of crap that should never ever show up in someone's inbox these days. There's really no excuse, it's not some kind of edge case, there's nothing marginal about it. The only way that doesn't get caught up in a spam filter and either deleted immediately or delivered to a spam folder is incompetence.
 
2014-02-01 11:29:57 AM
I use yahoo for most of my personal email. But lately I've noticed that the client has become unstable. Have to reload every few times I view a message. Might be time to switch.
 
2014-02-01 11:37:04 AM

brownie in motion: How many of those throwaway accounts do you think were used to sign up for services which have your credit card on file? Where the email account can be used to access the "forgot my password" feature?


What bothers me is if I need to call a hotel and make a reservation and they ask for a credit card number to hold the room.  I started giving out one from a Random ID Generator a while ago.  The CV number checks out, so that's all that really matters to the drone on the other side.
 
2014-02-01 11:43:25 AM

ChewbaccaJones: Ok.  When was the last time you emailed someone who wasn't your grandmother who had a @Yahoo address?


Me. Yahoo has been my primary e-mail since 1997. Back then, your choices were pretty much either one of three webmail services -- Yahoo, Hotmail, or AOL --, an e-mail attached to your ISP, job, or college. For somebody who moved around a lot, a webmail address was a better choice. Yahoo and Hotmail were about equivalent in terms of quality and reputation back then, with AOL being the home of hopeless dumbshiats.

Once I had a Yahoo address established for friends, business accounts, etc., it was easier to just stick with it rather than notify hundreds of different people of a new address. Yahoo isn't necessarily the best mail operation, and it does have a bit of a fading reputation, but it's usable, (mostly) reliable, and it does what I need it to do. So that's what I use.
 
2014-02-01 11:48:27 AM

wingnut396: Yahoo said the usernames and passwords weren't collected from its own systems, but from a third-party database.

Oh, well, it was a third-party database that contained all those Yahoo usernames and passwords... guess that take the pressure off of Yahoo!.



If it's true, and people used their yahoo emails and passwords as logins somewhere else, what would yahoo be able to do about that?  That's a pretty common sort of thing and why you get sites like https://pwnedlist.com/

Basically, they detected fraudulent logins, and nobody knows where the data came from yet.
 
2014-02-01 12:16:04 PM
I've been using Yahoo for about 6 months.  Changed jobs and decided it was time to keep business and personal apart.  The mail interface is nice.  The spam filter is pretty decent, maybe one spam a week.  The calendar is the main issue I have.

If you have my password, have fun reading email reminding me I have soccer games on certain days or email from my soccer teams that go from "who's playing tonight" down to the juvenile "I'll be there but i'll be playing with myself after the game" emails.

I have a gmail account but their interface is atrocious. The only thing i get is Gmail spam about new google features or some new video posted to youtube.  I get more "google spam" in that account than I get actual spam in my yahoo account.
 
2014-02-01 12:49:58 PM
A note to the hackers who lifted all those yahoo address's and site passwords from that non-yahoo site:

Don't send so many bots at once to see if the passwords match peoples Yahoo mail.
There are settings in that program you bought, that control how noticeable you are.

/Bludgeon someone to death at 4am, as opposed to 4pm, as there are too many witness's at 4pm.
//Its a good thing
 
2014-02-01 12:54:20 PM
I've had my Yahoo mail account since the late 90s, and I still use it more than my gmail account(s). Because of my username on one of the Gmail accounts I have, the inbox gets flooded with Brazilian Portuguese spam, and they think my name is Marisa. I don't understand Portuguese, but every week or so, I get another "thank you for signing up with $SOCIAL_SITE (or similar), Please verify your email address," usually in Portuguese. I try to cancel the ones I can (there's a couple of gambling sites where I can't seem to delete the fake account that uses my email address), and the rest go into the Spam folder. Obviously, spammers are using accounts with my address on those sites to broadcast their shiat there.

I wish there was a way to filter messages by language. Google had that freakin' translator attached to every site they have, but Gmail can't filter by language. Frankly, I'd rather shut down that account altogether.

So, yeah, I just changed my Yahoo password (again). I haven't touched my mailexcite.com account is ages, though. That's probably a honeypot for spam.
 
2014-02-01 12:55:47 PM
Oh yeah... I had an e-mail shoved down my throat for joining a couple of yahoo discussion groups.  Good luck to hackers.  I'm sure the yahoo bot that sends periodic updates will appreciate their spam. I don't have any other addresses attached to it.
 
2014-02-01 12:56:37 PM

BGates: I have to use GMail at work.  It royally sucks.


When it's loading right after you log in, click the link that switches you to plain HTML.  Instantly makes GMail vastly better.
 
2014-02-01 01:05:01 PM
I have a hotmail, yahoo & gmail account. I hate all 3 because of their shiatty user interface.QUESTION: What are some decent web-based alternatives?I don't like the richly-interactive, facebook / gmail style found in many of today's web-based emails (hotmail, yahoo & gmail).Suggestions?
 
2014-02-01 01:10:53 PM

Piizzadude: generallyso: Yahoo is the second-largest email service worldwide, after Google's Gmail, according to the research firm comScore. There are 273 million Yahoo mail accounts worldwide, including 81 million in the U.S.


If they're counting the total number of accounts that have ever been opened with Yahoo rather than those which are currently active I might believe that.

Didnt they do a clean out not all that long ago to clear the dead accounts out??


Sure did, and my battlefield 3 account was attached to that email account, now I can't play!
 
2014-02-01 01:16:53 PM
I still have my Rocketmail account that I access via Yahoo.
 
2014-02-01 01:25:17 PM
I have several yahoo accounts I can't remember the passwords to anyone have a link to the torrent?
 
2014-02-01 02:08:07 PM

ReapTheChaos: I've had the same Yahoo account as my main email since the 90s. I'm always annoyed at these morons who change their email every 6 months because they got a new ISP, got themselves locked out of their old account or just because something newer and trendy came along.

It works as good as any other email service and best of all they're not constantly changing how everything's set up simply for the sake of change.


THIS
A good portion of the people on my contacts list are so old that they wouldn't know how to change my email to a new address.


Yahoo said the usernames and passwords weren't collected from its own systems, but from a third-party database.

And Target was using a data handling service in India. When will people learn basic data security?
 
2014-02-01 03:20:57 PM

ErinPac: wingnut396: Yahoo said the usernames and passwords weren't collected from its own systems, but from a third-party database.

Oh, well, it was a third-party database that contained all those Yahoo usernames and passwords... guess that take the pressure off of Yahoo!.


If it's true, and people used their yahoo emails and passwords as logins somewhere else, what would yahoo be able to do about that?  That's a pretty common sort of thing and why you get sites like https://pwnedlist.com/

Basically, they detected fraudulent logins, and nobody knows where the data came from yet.


Then it would not really be their data breach. I would hope they would have identified what service, not related to Yahoo, was compromised.  The way I understood it, and some TV reports on it, was that it was a third party vendor/consultant of Yahoo that was breached.   That may be incorrect, so I remain very curious as the details of this third party.
 
2014-02-01 05:56:52 PM
I've had my Rocketmail account since 1996.  Rocketmail is owned by Yahoo.  I don't plan on getting rid of a 20 year old email address.
 
2014-02-01 09:33:28 PM

wingnut396: ErinPac: wingnut396: Yahoo said the usernames and passwords weren't collected from its own systems, but from a third-party database.

Oh, well, it was a third-party database that contained all those Yahoo usernames and passwords... guess that take the pressure off of Yahoo!.


If it's true, and people used their yahoo emails and passwords as logins somewhere else, what would yahoo be able to do about that?  That's a pretty common sort of thing and why you get sites like https://pwnedlist.com/

Basically, they detected fraudulent logins, and nobody knows where the data came from yet.

Then it would not really be their data breach. I would hope they would have identified what service, not related to Yahoo, was compromised.  The way I understood it, and some TV reports on it, was that it was a third party vendor/consultant of Yahoo that was breached.   That may be incorrect, so I remain very curious as the details of this third party.


How would yahoo identify it if it were an unrelated third party?

How the media is reporting on the fault / third party thing seems to vary drastically from article to article.

The more detailed articles I've seen have yahoo reps advising people not to duplicate passwords, saying this is what comes from that, which sounds like an unrelated source (or at least assumed unrelated), and mentioned that they noticed the automated, suspicious logins (and not any theft of passwords itself).

This appears to be the official statement most of the news articles are elaborating on:  http://yahoo.tumblr.com/post/75083532312/important-security-update-fo r -yahoo-mail-users   This does mention duplicating passwords, though it isn't especially clear.

I suspect most are drawing conclusions because they do not understand the possibilities involved, and are written based on that official statement and whatever tech knowledge the writer may or may not have.  It doesn't sound like even Yahoo knows where the information came from, and if it was truly third party they might not find out.  If that's the case, then the proactive notice and attempted prevention is a good thing on Yahoo's part, and about as much as they really can do.  Of course, they could be wrong about the source at this point.... though, there could be good clues, like automated incorrect logins and such which wouldn't be as likely to come from their info or a connected source.  A few quotes do mention mass login attempts which sounds like they may not all be successful ones.  They're not real clear about where the source was... but they might not really have much information to work with.
 
Displayed 91 of 91 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »





Report