If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Eater)   Pissed-off wine bar chef slams Yelp hater as mentally ill raging alcoholic for one-star review resulting from being cut off, later apologizes: "This is by no means the way Zebra's Bistro and Wine Bar responds to guest feedback"   (boston.eater.com) divider line 38
    More: Obvious, Yelp, officials, cutoff  
•       •       •

1428 clicks; posted to Business » on 31 Jan 2014 at 10:34 AM (23 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



38 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-01-31 09:36:23 AM
"This is exactly how we respond to bad reviews but I didn't expect that my words on the Internet Thingamajig were public so I was completely unprepared for public backlash."
 
2014-01-31 10:26:01 AM

unlikely: "This is exactly how we respond to bad reviews but I didn't expect that my words on the Internet Thingamajig were public so I was completely unprepared for public backlash."


That being said, if what he posted is accurate, "Kiki" might need some help.
 
2014-01-31 10:46:30 AM
I think it was the horribly generic pizza boxes that forced me to quit ordering from Dominos.
 
2014-01-31 10:54:20 AM
Kiki sounds like a delightful human being.
 
2014-01-31 10:59:13 AM
Kiki thinks that a restaurant in Cambridge MA discriminates against the LGBT community?

That doesn't seem likely.
 
2014-01-31 11:27:23 AM
Well, at the very least he hasn't sued him for defamation, which is the trendy thing to do.
 
2014-01-31 11:34:43 AM

Radak: unlikely: "This is exactly how we respond to bad reviews but I didn't expect that my words on the Internet Thingamajig were public so I was completely unprepared for public backlash."

That being said, if what he posted is accurate, "Kiki" might need some help.


www.troll.me
 
2014-01-31 11:57:08 AM
Yelp reviews should be used for entertainment purposes only.  Most bad reviews can be chalked up to poorly calibrated expectations.
 
2014-01-31 12:12:35 PM

Rapmaster2000: Yelp reviews should be used for entertainment purposes only.  Most bad reviews can be chalked up to poorly calibrated expectations.


No, they are valid to use if one reads more than one review, looks for common threads, and weeds out the assholes with ridiculous expectations. I use when we are looking for somewhere new, or are in a new town. The difference is that I read past the review, and put a bunch of them together to see if there is a consistent pattern or not. Maybe working in restaurants made it easier to tell when a complaint s legit, or just someone trying to be an AW.

Just like Amy's Baking Company, this dude needs to know better than to post a rebuttal like that, though. Holy crap, that's just feeding the fire that 'Kiki' lit, and once she played the LGBT card, she'd already lost with me. Until the stupid chef had to derp it up.
 
2014-01-31 12:19:32 PM

Mikey1969: Rapmaster2000: Yelp reviews should be used for entertainment purposes only.  Most bad reviews can be chalked up to poorly calibrated expectations.

No, they are valid to use if one reads more than one review, looks for common threads, and weeds out the assholes with ridiculous expectations. I use when we are looking for somewhere new, or are in a new town. The difference is that I read past the review, and put a bunch of them together to see if there is a consistent pattern or not. Maybe working in restaurants made it easier to tell when a complaint s legit, or just someone trying to be an AW.

Just like Amy's Baking Company, this dude needs to know better than to post a rebuttal like that, though. Holy crap, that's just feeding the fire that 'Kiki' lit, and once she played the LGBT card, she'd already lost with me. Until the stupid chef had to derp it up.


Perhaps I should recalibrate your expectations.  I say that their utility as entertainment is greater than their utility in legitimately reviewing a restaurant.  That doesn't mean they have no utility in finding a place to eat, just that they have less utility in finding a place to eat vs. making me chortle at the trials and tribulations of Caitlynn's party of 12 that didn't get their Cosmos in under 5 minutes and was faced with the injustice of an automatic gratuity.

www.orangeline.com.au This tells me that a restaurant is good.
 
2014-01-31 12:20:49 PM

Mikey1969: No, they are valid to use if one reads more than one review, looks for common threads, and weeds out the assholes with ridiculous expectations.


I agree for the most part, but it's still really hard to take them seriously sometimes. Look up any sushi joint. Any one at all (provided it has a decent number of reviews). You will notice at least a few people starting out by stating that they don't like sushi. If you don't like sushi, go to a sushi restaurant, and give that sushi restaurant a bad review based on the fact that they serve sushi, you should be beaten to death.
 
2014-01-31 12:24:01 PM

Rapmaster2000: Perhaps I should recalibrate your expectations.  I say that their utility as entertainment is greater than their utility in legitimately reviewing a restaurant.  That doesn't mean they have no utility in finding a place to eat, just that they have less utility in finding a place to eat vs. making me chortle at the trials and tribulations of Caitlynn's party of 12 that didn't get their Cosmos in under 5 minutes and was faced with the injustice of an automatic gratuity.


I see your point. Like I said, that's why I read more than one review, and I agree that there are some crazy-ass reviews in there. Some truly ridiculous people with truly ridiculous expectations.

thurstonxhowell: Mikey1969: No, they are valid to use if one reads more than one review, looks for common threads, and weeds out the assholes with ridiculous expectations.

I agree for the most part, but it's still really hard to take them seriously sometimes. Look up any sushi joint. Any one at all (provided it has a decent number of reviews). You will notice at least a few people starting out by stating that they don't like sushi. If you don't like sushi, go to a sushi restaurant, and give that sushi restaurant a bad review based on the fact that they serve sushi, you should be beaten to death.


I haven't come across one of these, but I agree that this is stupid as hell. Definitely a review I would ignore.
 
2014-01-31 12:34:12 PM
Mikey1969:

I agree for the most part, but it's still really hard to take them seriously sometimes. Look up any sushi joint. Any one at all (provided it has a decent number of reviews). You will notice at least a few people starting out by stating that they don't like sushi. If you don't like sushi, go to a sushi restaurant, and give that sushi restaurant a bad review based on the fact that they serve sushi, you should be beaten to death.

I haven't come across one of these, but I agree that this is stupid as hell. Definitely a review I would ignore.


I've read those sushi reviews. There's a "I don't usually like..." for pretty much every genre.

My favorite so far was a review of an Ethiopian restaurant where the reviewer was incensed because they told her they eat with their hands which she was convinced was actually a trick that they were playing on her.

And sometimes reviews are just awesome.
www.worldwideinterweb.com
 
2014-01-31 12:35:45 PM

Rapmaster2000: Yelp reviews should be used for entertainment purposes only.  Most bad reviews can be chalked up to poorly calibrated expectations.


Or douchebags that insist that everything offends them.
 
2014-01-31 12:41:42 PM
With no expectations at all, I came into this thread looking for something satisfying. The first several posts didn't offer me anything special, but I decided, hey, I've never been in this thread before, so I should probably just calm down and wait to see how it turns out. So I waited patiently but then the next few posts weren't that good either. I'm all for trying new things, and I realize that when a thread is new, that some hiccups are to be expected. But after a dozen posts, nothing substantial had been said. So I decided that THIS THREAD IS BULLshiat. I DEMAND MORE WHEN I COME INTO A THREAD. I AM NOT PAYING GOOD MONEY FOR THIS, SO TREAT ME LIKE A GODDAMN CUSTOMER AND USE SOME GODDAMN RESPECT. I AM NOT PAYING FOR THIS. I AM WALKING OUT. I WILL NEVER COME BACK TO THIS THREAD. I GAVE IT MY BEST AND, MY LORD, I TRIED TO BE PATIENT. BUT A DOZEN POSTS AND NOTHING TO SATISFY ME?!?!?! THEN HELL NO! I DON'T DESERVE THAT AND THIS THREAD DOES NOT DESERVE MY BUSINESS. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT NO ONE EVER COME IN HERE AGAIN. This thread is trite and has a bad after-taste. And the tablecloths are not quite the shade of white that I prefer. 0 out of 4. Will not read again.
 
2014-01-31 12:42:57 PM
I enjoy reading the Yelp reviews from my favorite restaurants. It's interesting to see why people rate them low.
 
2014-01-31 12:49:52 PM
Wine bar chef?

Does not compute.

(yes, I know, but it sounds stupid)
 
2014-01-31 12:50:03 PM
As a restaurant owner Yelp is a necessary evil, People say stupid shiat, like the woman who came in and didn't order anything or interact with anyone but still gave us three stars (that's essentially a kick in the teeth.). Fortunately or not unless you're really bad or good most restaurants score 3.5-4 stars.

The LGBT thing bugs the shiat out of me. Living in San Francisco if I treated my LGBT Customers any different I'd be out of business right quick. But I've still had interactions with people who accused me of discrimination. Seriously, I don't care who you sleep with but if you behave badly in my restaurant I'm going to escort you out. I actually feel sad for people who live in a world where that's the first thing they think when someone notices their bad bahavior. Maybe if you live in Montana that's a reality but not in major urban centers.
 
2014-01-31 01:04:01 PM
I work with a guy who is an "elite" Yelp reviewer and won't shut up about it, nor will he agree to eat anywhere without first checking the reviews on Yelp.  And of course anything that isn't perfect "is going in his yelp review".

Funny thing is, with all this, I never see any of his reviews appear on Yelp in the top results...
 
2014-01-31 01:26:14 PM

Rapmaster2000: My favorite so far was a review of an Ethiopian restaurant where the reviewer was incensed because they told her they eat with their hands which she was convinced was actually a trick that they were playing on her.


Wow, I like how she could get onto the internet to leave the review, but didn't think to check first and see if Ethiopian restaurants had you eat with your fingers...

And the Lincoln one is farking awesome!
 
2014-01-31 01:28:46 PM

what_now: Kiki thinks that a restaurant in Cambridge MA discriminates against the LGBT community?

That doesn't seem likely.


Yeah, I'm getting a little sick of everything being about 'discriminating against gays', for one, it makes it harder for people to take serious complaints to heart when someone is crying 'Wolf!' all of the time.
 
2014-01-31 01:41:35 PM
 
2014-01-31 02:40:05 PM
I will just leave this here.
 
2014-01-31 02:58:13 PM
I've only looked on Yelp a handful of times and I've been tempted to create an account just to counter idiot reviews of restaurants I like.

For example, there's a local taco place here in Katy that has this idiot white person review biatching how they didn't have "the good home made" tortillas and instead gave them the cheap store about tortillas without warning them and because of that this place sucks.

I grab tacos from this place once a week.  They have two types of tortillas; home made corn and home made flour.  You have to specify which one you want.  This idiot doesn't even know the difference between corn and flour.

(corn tastes better, but it tends to mush/crumble if you don't eat it quick enough or if you use too much sauce)
 
2014-01-31 03:31:00 PM
Satanic_Hamster: I've only looked on Yelp a handful of times and I've been tempted to create an account just to counter idiot reviews of restaurants I like.

My favorite Szechuan seafood restaurant has bad reviews because they have shark fin soup on the menu.
 
2014-01-31 03:39:04 PM

tricycleracer: http://farkyouyelper.tumblr.com/post/9748807963/well-ive-never-even-e a ten-here-so-why-you


This is great stuff.

I've seen a wanna-be food critic downgrade a restaurant because their french fries were "too long".
 
2014-01-31 04:40:13 PM
Every review I have made (all positive) have either been filtered or flagged to TOS violations.

I gave up even trying to review businesses there.
 
2014-01-31 04:42:46 PM

TheYeti: Every review I have made (all positive) have either been filtered or flagged to TOS violations.

I gave up even trying to review businesses there.


Same with me.  I positively reviewed every bathroom I had sex in.
 
2014-01-31 05:17:57 PM
I walked into a place that was described as being very Bob's Burgers, and it was. 6pm on a Thursday in a bedroom community and there's ONE customer (me), The burger was adequate, the fries were previously frozen, and after I was served everyone scurried off to the back. I could have stolen the cash register. I probably could have heisted the soda machine.
 
2014-01-31 06:52:26 PM
Who cares about Yelp? I mean, really. Seems like it is a place for rotten customers and rotten owners to get in petty slapfights with each other.
 
2014-01-31 07:18:29 PM

TheYeti: Every review I have made (all positive) have either been filtered or flagged to TOS violations.

I gave up even trying to review businesses there.


I reviewed Jillian's/Lucky Strikes in Boston and some Thai food takeout place where the manager/owner was really rude not customer service oriented at all. Both negative reviews. Both were filtered because Yelp thought I was trying to hurt the businesses. The businesses were trying to hurt themselves by not being good. I didn't do anything except show up wanting to just have a nice experience. Don't even bother with Yelp anymore. They filter reviews either because they thing you're trying to hurt the business or you are a company shill purposely writing a glowing review.
 
2014-01-31 08:10:53 PM
fark yelp with a red hot metal cactus
 
2014-01-31 08:25:11 PM
I guess Im just one of those people out there that like to think for my self and try a place my self. I really dont care about reviews. Like others have said. You have to look at all of them. And when I read a review or article and the person brings up race or LGBT or religious discrimination. Sorry 90% of the time the reviewer or writer is crazy. And thats all they care about.

Now what I want to know. Is what this snowflake did to get a restraining order issued agents them? You know its not as easy as just saying you want one. So what did she do?
 
2014-01-31 11:42:51 PM
Half the restaurants on Yelp around here have been closed for 3 years, so it's pretty much worthless.  I updated one with "this location is now closed" along with a picture of the store front with a "Now leasing" sign on the door, and it was kicked back because they couldn't verify the information.  The last 10 reviews were all "this location is now closed".

The entire premise of the site is to allow us the user to provide the content for them.  If they don't want useful data, I'm not all that inclined to give them any of it.  Had to send them an email to kill the account, which is bullshiat.
 
2014-02-01 12:06:34 AM
Well if you look up a local scam business, they only have one review and its correct. Part of the thing with Yelp is Advertising. If you read into Yelp they are really screwed up. There are a few lawsuits over it right now. In some they are accused of filtering reviews, trying to get that business to advertise with them. But when it comes down to it. Its just worthless.
 
2014-02-01 01:34:53 AM
My funny yelp story:

Took my toddler to a kids salon at a nearby mall last summer. Said mall closed at 6, but we arrived at 5:20. The salon was empty, one employee working. She was unwilling to cut my kids hair, citing time restrictions with closing duties or some bullshiat. I pretty much just shake my head, flabbergasted.

We go home, I get on yelp, create an account, and write my experience. My wife posted on their Facebook page and sent them an email. They (to their credit) get back to her pretty quickly, apologizing, and giving us a $5 coupon. Whatever, good enough.

Now for the funny part:
About a month later, my wife and kid are at a local drop-in-clinic during the day. She's sitting next to an older Eastern European woman, shooting the shiat, sharing grips about life. Shiat shoots to work, and the woman complains about "Facebook and yelp and people complaining. I got in trouble because a man brought his toddler in 5 minutes before closing, and I told him I couldn't cut it. So they complained and I get in trouble" Yup. Same woman. Wife says she had trouble maintaining a straight face. Anyway, my wife goes into her appointment. Comes back out, and the older woman is still waiting. My wife looks at her saying, "actually he arrived 40 minutes before closing" before walking out.
 
2014-02-01 02:35:17 AM

Rapmaster2000: TheYeti: Every review I have made (all positive) have either been filtered or flagged to TOS violations.

I gave up even trying to review businesses there.

Same with me.  I positively reviewed every bathroom I had sex in.


Humpty Hump?  Is that you?
 
2014-02-01 06:49:51 AM
The problem with yelp, and with most online reviews, is that people have no concept of how a 5 star rating system works.  The sum of your reviews should resemble a bell curve.    Very few 1 star experiences for the uniquely horrible, very few 5 star experiences for the uniquely exquisite, and a big lump inbetween.    Instead we get what I call the dumb bell curve.  All 1 star and 5 star reviews, with very little inbetween.    "I had nachos.  They were pretty tasty.  5 STARS!!!"    "My food was pretty good, but my waiter didn't refresh my water often enough.   1 STAR OMGZ NEVER COME HERE AGAIN!!!"

The really useful thing with yelp is to find out where the the communal groupthink and local hivemind convinces themselves that this little diner/hole in the wall is THE BEST food you'll ever eat.  Usually, it turns out to be just a generic greasy spoon serving up uninspiring and mediocre food.   It's amazing watching the power of iteration and social proof in action.
 
Displayed 38 of 38 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report