If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Washington Times)   "Pot is not very different from cigarettes, is no more dangerous than booze." Well that's, like, just your opinion, Mr. President   (washingtontimes.com) divider line 202
    More: Cool, Mr. President, cigarettes, mess, social costs  
•       •       •

2576 clicks; posted to Politics » on 19 Jan 2014 at 6:20 PM (30 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



202 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-01-19 07:15:05 PM

Lsherm: In case you haven't noticed, we've spent the last 50 years trying to get people to stop using nicotine.


True, but we haven't spent a dime incarcerating people for using it, which seems far more reasonable.
 
2014-01-19 07:16:08 PM
Its almost as if every beneficial chemical also has harmful side effects and should be used in proper dosage.

Hmmmm.
 
2014-01-19 07:17:39 PM
What a reasonable view. Too bad Obama's not in a position to effect legislation or anything.
 
2014-01-19 07:26:59 PM
But then what would the CIA do to fund their black project assassinations, bribery and coups?
 
2014-01-19 07:28:21 PM

MayoSlather: Lsherm: In case you haven't noticed, we've spent the last 50 years trying to get people to stop using nicotine.

True, but we haven't spent a dime incarcerating people for using it, which seems far more reasonable.


Also the rate of smoking has declined significantly over those 50 years. Count me among them. 1 week as of today.
 
2014-01-19 07:30:56 PM

flynn80: But then what would the CIA do to fund their black project assassinations, bribery and coups?


They'd better come up with something fast and furious.
 
2014-01-19 07:31:14 PM
In another thread I stated that there was no chance that pot would be rescheduled by President Obama, and an hour or so later this headline came out. Sooo...I would like to respectfully retract my confident assertion. There are still nearly three years before the next presidential election, and since Mr. Obama is not up for reelection, rescheduling now appears possible. It would certainly take a lot of heat off Madam President...who will face enough challenges as it is. ;^)
 
2014-01-19 07:32:13 PM

MayoSlather: Lsherm: In case you haven't noticed, we've spent the last 50 years trying to get people to stop using nicotine.

True, but we haven't spent a dime incarcerating people for using it, which seems far more reasonable.


I think that's the crux of the issue. If we spent all the money we spent investigating, arresting, prosecuting, and locking up people that use drugs and put it into treatment programs and poverty prevention, the war against drugs might have been as successful as anti-smoking campaigns.
 
2014-01-19 07:32:53 PM
Way to jump on the bandwagon, President Hypocrite.
 
2014-01-19 07:36:23 PM

Lsherm: Eddie Adams from Torrance: fusillade762: "If marijuana is fully legalized and at some point folks say, Well, we can come up with a negotiated dose of cocaine that we can show is not any more harmful than vodka, are we open to that?" Obama wondered. "If somebody says, We've got a finely calibrated dose of meth, it isn't going to kill you or rot your teeth, are we O.K. with that?"

Wow. Thoughtfulness and nuance from a politician.

Legalizing even the smallest amounts of cocaine or meth would be completely irresponsible.... since neither of those is still under patent protection.

Well, both are also highly addictive.  Pot isn't.


But if it's cured of its dangers, all you're left with addiction itself. Mere addictiveness isn't necessarily bad... vitamins are addictive, just an addiction that humanity has had for a long time and become totally dependent on.
 
2014-01-19 07:36:34 PM
That a US President has said this aloud is a pretty big thing.
 
2014-01-19 07:36:37 PM

MJMaloney187: Way to jump on the bandwagon, President Hypocrite.


Would you prefer he be staunchly anti-pot?
 
2014-01-19 07:37:13 PM

iaazathot: That a US President has said this aloud is a pretty big thing.


A farking big deal, so to speak.
 
2014-01-19 07:37:38 PM
Now I'm starting to understand why Biden is still there.
 
2014-01-19 07:38:35 PM

HMS_Blinkin: phillydrifter: (He dodges the question by jumping from "if we legalize weed, will coke, meth be next?") Well lets see, alcohol is legal and kills thousands annually. Tobacco is legal and kills thousands annually.

/weed for president
//you know why -- a la Cruz "pot still schedule 1, Obama says "don't worry about it" -- Biden is going to run down every one of those legal pot shops come Jan 21 2017

Are you having a stroke?  There was nothing remotely coherent about that post.


It's got a certain je ne sais quoi - literally.
 
2014-01-19 07:39:57 PM
"If marijuana is fully legalized and at some point folks say, Well, we can come up with a negotiated dose of cocaine that we can show is not any more harmful than vodka, are we open to that?" Obama wondered. "If somebody says, We've got a finely calibrated dose of meth, it isn't going to kill you or rot your teeth, are we O.K. with that?"

Yes, I'm fine with that.

But in the meantime, since you aren't even pretending to believe in your own drug policy anymore, how about you at least make a half-hearted effort fix the low-hanging fruit?
 
2014-01-19 07:47:47 PM
Hey, Obama. You have a phone. Give Holder a call and tell him to send the DEA home.
 
2014-01-19 07:52:35 PM

Lsherm: In case you haven't noticed, we've spent the last 50 years trying to get people to stop using nicotine.


And the government should take similar steps to minimize the use of alcohol, marijuana and other illegal drugs. Making it legal, does not mean advocating use. It doesn't even mean not advocating against it. It just means using it is not illegal.
 
jek
2014-01-19 07:54:50 PM
Well that sucks. Nothing will make Republicans line up against something quicker than Obama saying he something positive about it.
 
2014-01-19 07:55:21 PM
Any farker who is interested can go interview ER Pers. at their local hospitals.  Ask a very specific question:  "How many individuals have been examined/treated/admitted owing to a condition attributable to marijuana, alone?

If the interview(s) (best to go during down-times) doesn't devolve into ethanol only horror stories, please, post them up... (they particularly focus on the slightly injured but disgustingly drunk accident victims that freak out when they mistake evacuation of liquid stool for blood and go smearing it all over the equipment and everything else before being tied down - dare you to find a `marijuana' story like that).

/petition for a rescheduling, barry - it ain't like the farking Marinol wasn't dropped to CIII in `09
// "Addiction" is an attribute arising from a moral judgment - `physical dependency' is something else altogether - though still not worthy of `stigma'
 
2014-01-19 07:55:56 PM

Sgygus: Too bad he can't change how cannabis is scheduled.


The last year of his administration, when it will cost him not political capital that could hamper implementing things like imigration reform, he will change what he can.
 
2014-01-19 07:57:02 PM

Hobodeluxe: TV's Vinnie: By now, the only ones who want to keep pot illegal are DEA Agents (reduced funding if pot becomes legal), televangelists (because they hate everything fun), and pot cartels (the obvious).

the for-profit private prison industry


Big Pharma.
 
2014-01-19 07:58:26 PM

jek: Well that sucks. Nothing will make Republicans line up against something quicker than Obama saying he something positive about it.


Obama needs to make a PSA about seat-belts.
 
2014-01-19 08:03:15 PM

vygramul: jek: Well that sucks. Nothing will make Republicans line up against something quicker than Obama saying he something positive about it.

Obama needs to make a PSA about seat-belts.


A PSA about NOT playing on the interstate would also be good. OOH! How about a PSA about Krokodil?
 
2014-01-19 08:05:51 PM

Crazy Lee: Any farker who is interested can go interview ER Pers. at their local hospitals.  Ask a very specific question:  "How many individuals have been examined/treated/admitted owing to a condition attributable to marijuana, alone?

If the interview(s) (best to go during down-times) doesn't devolve into ethanol only horror stories, please, post them up... (they particularly focus on the slightly injured but disgustingly drunk accident victims that freak out when they mistake evacuation of liquid stool for blood and go smearing it all over the equipment and everything else before being tied down - dare you to find a `marijuana' story like that).



That's um...That's a hell of a story there, Lee.
 
2014-01-19 08:08:10 PM

theorellior: Target Builder: and is a factor in a lot of violent assaults, domestic violence and drug assisted rapes.

I read that quickly, and thought you said "dog-assisted rapes".


Go on...
 
2014-01-19 08:10:33 PM

Bane of Broone: MayoSlather: Lsherm: In case you haven't noticed, we've spent the last 50 years trying to get people to stop using nicotine.

True, but we haven't spent a dime incarcerating people for using it, which seems far more reasonable.

Also the rate of smoking has declined significantly over those 50 years. Count me among them. 1 week as of today.


Good on you! And....you are over the hump.
 
2014-01-19 08:10:33 PM

A Dark Evil Omen: There was never a good argument for the drug war - against any drugs - to begin with, it's all grounded in racism and farked up corporate protectionism.


Not to mention generations of self-perpetuating poverty and staggeringly small amounts of class mobility that's facilitated in part by the criminal stigma associated with drug-related crimes.
 
2014-01-19 08:12:55 PM

LeftOfLiberal: Sgygus: Too bad he can't change how cannabis is scheduled.

The last year of his administration, when it will cost him not political capital that could hamper implementing things like imigration reform, he will change what he can.


He can't change anything. He is in charge of enforcing the law, not making the law.
 
2014-01-19 08:17:19 PM

badhatharry: LeftOfLiberal: Sgygus: Too bad he can't change how cannabis is scheduled.

The last year of his administration, when it will cost him not political capital that could hamper implementing things like imigration reform, he will change what he can.

He can't change anything. He is in charge of enforcing the law, not making the law.


He has the power of mass pardon, however.
 
2014-01-19 08:17:23 PM
President Obama believes the legalization of marijuana in Washington and Colorado ultimately may open a Pandora's Box and could lead to calls for cocaine, methamphetamine and other drugs to be sold freely and openly.


Wow, that's some impressive spin.
 
2014-01-19 08:17:25 PM

Your Hind Brain: Legalize everything! Let Darwin sort it out! However, it may be a bit socialist if we have to pay taxes for incenerating the bodies of those who died of whatever. Ok. Screw that. Ban everything!!


In fact, the fear that legalizing everything is the consequence of legalizing something is a logical fallacy so evident even the ignorant can hold fast to the schism;  when we legalized handguns, did we also worry about legalizing shoulder-mounted missiles? The "safety" of THC is not dose related, and ANY amount of cocaine or meth, administered daily even via 'safe' methods,would have a chroniceffect unlike that of THC.

Dopamine ain't nothin' to fark with, just like missiles... and shouldn't be lumped in with drugs like THC and Modafinil that aren't directly linked into your limbic system. In fact, both of the latter  are not addictive and that line, i would think, would be an obvious one.

what we need is a better definition of addictive that takes in to account psychology so as to not blame the drug for what the person is, anyway. It's not just "people are different", it's "people are resourceful", and if they cant do one thing they do another... and so the damage to society from the prohibition just (profitably) moves the problem around, it doesn't solve it. Or anything.

An acceptance by society that drug use is both a symptom of and a response to issues that are fundamental in human experience without inferring they are also criminals would give us the backdrop for looking past the drug, to the person suffering, instead of the literally dark alleys and callous criminality that is the black market.

The true crime is the existence of black market, because each person that is forced to buy from the street is a person who may be exposed to any of the worst that can happen, instead of obtaining substances that cost pennies/dollars and, through admitting that dependence, receive the mental help they really need, from someone who won't destroy their family for admitting it.

The cost of prohibition to society never pays off versus treatment. Never.
 
2014-01-19 08:18:23 PM
TV's Vinnie: By now, the only ones who want to keep pot illegal are DEA Agents (reduced funding if pot becomes legal), televangelists (because they hate everything fun), and pot cartels (the obvious).
=============================================

Um, you're forgetting Big Pharma. In fact, that's the ONLY thing that really cares is Big Pharma.

Pot is GLORIOUS at keeping your nausea and pain at bay for a cancer paitent. Plus, munchies!
 
2014-01-19 08:18:39 PM

Lsherm: Eddie Adams from Torrance: fusillade762: "If marijuana is fully legalized and at some point folks say, Well, we can come up with a negotiated dose of cocaine that we can show is not any more harmful than vodka, are we open to that?" Obama wondered. "If somebody says, We've got a finely calibrated dose of meth, it isn't going to kill you or rot your teeth, are we O.K. with that?"

Wow. Thoughtfulness and nuance from a politician.

Legalizing even the smallest amounts of cocaine or meth would be completely irresponsible.... since neither of those is still under patent protection.

Well, both are also highly addictive.  Pot isn't.


Like cigarettes?

/probably already stated
 
jek
2014-01-19 08:19:28 PM

dr_blasto: vygramul: jek: Well that sucks. Nothing will make Republicans line up against something quicker than Obama saying he something positive about it.

Obama needs to make a PSA about seat-belts.

A PSA about NOT playing on the interstate would also be good. OOH! How about a PSA about Krokodil?


Seat-belts and Krokodil are good starts. But I have always wished Obama would show some of that real strategic brilliance we all thought he had. Do something like a PSA about... let's see... water they did already... transfats... exercise... reading... good lord! Obama and his cronies are creating a super-party of sub-human-intellect monsters!! I hope we like what we've asked for...
 
2014-01-19 08:21:04 PM
Seriously, I'm 52yo and I never thought I would see this in my lifetime.  Now perhaps I know how my LGBT friends are feeling right now.  Good for the POTUS.  I'm one fat, old white guy who is proud to have voted for him twice!!

/I hope it makes up for voting Reagen twice
 
2014-01-19 08:24:35 PM
Very overly political comments.

Things are slowly moving in the right direction.
 
2014-01-19 08:24:52 PM
OTC meth would eliminate the most psychotic cartels. If Adderall is okay to give to kids then start passing it over the counter.
 
2014-01-19 08:25:54 PM
(okay, errata: not when we legalized handguns, but when we gave people the right to bear arms did the question of whether that meant being allowed to lug a loaded cannon to the city square a "slippery slope"?)
 
2014-01-19 08:26:18 PM

fusillade762: "If marijuana is fully legalized and at some point folks say, Well, we can come up with a negotiated dose of cocaine that we can show is not any more harmful than vodka, are we open to that?" Obama wondered. "If somebody says, We've got a finely calibrated dose of meth, it isn't going to kill you or rot your teeth, are we O.K. with that?"

Wow. Thoughtfulness and nuance from a politician.


The entire original article is really great.
 
2014-01-19 08:26:59 PM

Frederick: Lsherm: Eddie Adams from Torrance: fusillade762: "If marijuana is fully legalized and at some point folks say, Well, we can come up with a negotiated dose of cocaine that we can show is not any more harmful than vodka, are we open to that?" Obama wondered. "If somebody says, We've got a finely calibrated dose of meth, it isn't going to kill you or rot your teeth, are we O.K. with that?"

Wow. Thoughtfulness and nuance from a politician.

Legalizing even the smallest amounts of cocaine or meth would be completely irresponsible.... since neither of those is still under patent protection.

Well, both are also highly addictive.  Pot isn't.

Like cigarettes?

/probably already stated


Alcohol too. I'm all for legalizing cocaine, H, meth and the like. Turn that enforcement money over to treatment money. Ban importation of drugs or their precursors. Tax the holy bejeebus out of it to help pay for the treatment. Put actual criminals in jail.
 
2014-01-19 08:28:28 PM
This is just a clever ploy to take focus off  of you know where
 
2014-01-19 08:30:12 PM
I'd love to see the President baked like a potato. I bet he'd be loads of fun.

"The White House: President Obama issued an official pardon to White House secretary Karen McKinney after Ms McKinney bumped into the President in the hallway. According to administration aides, this incident "ain't no thang". Mr Obama was uninjured in the incident. This is CNN."
 
2014-01-19 08:34:21 PM

vicioushobbit: Crazy Lee: Any farker who is interested can go interview ER Pers. at their local hospitals.  Ask a very specific question:  "How many individuals have been examined/treated/admitted owing to a condition attributable to marijuana, alone?

If the interview(s) (best to go during down-times) doesn't devolve into ethanol only horror stories, please, post them up... (they particularly focus on the slightly injured but disgustingly drunk accident victims that freak out when they mistake evacuation of liquid stool for blood and go smearing it all over the equipment and everything else before being tied down - dare you to find a `marijuana' story like that).


That's um...That's a hell of a story there, Lee.


Alcohol is a hell of a drug (if one can't remember to titrate the farking dose and aspirates to death on their own vomit after passing out - or merely mistakes shiat for blood)

College town sporting 3 ER's in the `80's - when interviews were conducted with docs/RNs/techs - booze & pills & autos - no marijuana (State Dept. of Health/Mental Health also maintains no stats on Dx's attributable to marijuana, alone - pretty much say what they want - just the usual)
 
2014-01-19 09:10:42 PM
This is a pretty cool thing, but it pretty well cements the fact that Obama waits for public opinion to push him into voicing his own opinions. He was never really against same-sex marriage, either.
 
2014-01-19 09:15:25 PM
Where are the Libertarians lauding Obama for his coming to his senses?

I thought this was the day y'all were dreaming of...
 
2014-01-19 09:25:47 PM
Cool. Now how about letting Marc Emery go back to Canada?
 
2014-01-19 09:30:55 PM

hubiestubert: Where are the Libertarians lauding Obama for his coming to his senses?

I thought this was the day y'all were dreaming of...


Republictarians wouldn't give President Obama credit for anything positive... ever... for anything.

He could publically smoke a joint while quoting Ayn Rand in the process of repealing child labor laws and outlawing taxes and they would still hate him.
 
2014-01-19 09:32:14 PM
In an alternate universe, President Mitt Romney* condemned the voters of Colorado and Washington state for their short-sighted and ultimately destructive decisions regarding dangerous, addictive Schedule One gateway drugs. Following his inauguration, the DEA is issued strict instructions to monitor and crack down on medical marijuana dispensaries in Colorado and Washington, with further strict oversight in every other state with medical marijuana statutes.

Local police in Colorado and Washington gladly comply with Federal directives, actively harassing and punishing anyone involved in the medical marijuana business, as well as anyone thinking that the passage of simple state amendments would change anything for a substance still illegal at a federal level. Arrests, tickets and other infractions for marijuana use rise throughout 2013, disrupting a trend leaning towards decriminalization in the years prior.

As a handful of nervous shop owners opened their dispensaries to recreational use in Colorado on New Year's Day 2014, their first sight consisted of police and DEA surrounding a pitiful line of people seemingly arriving more in protest than anything else. Recreational marijuana collapses within a week in the state of Colorado under intense Federal pressure.

2015: President Mitt Romney* invades Mexico in an extension of the War On Drugs.


*insert John McCain or Sarah Palin here, because alternate histories

/That last part, okay actually the whole thing, is a bit over the top
//But still, come on guys, things could be going a lot worse. I think Obama deserves a little credit here
/// three slashies
 
2014-01-19 09:35:52 PM

Aaron Haynes: This is a pretty cool thing, but it pretty well cements the fact that Obama waits for public opinion to push him into voicing his own opinions. He was never really against same-sex marriage, either.


Obama is a political pragmatist. He made that known when he threw single payer (which admittedly would have been difficult to pass) and the public option (which would have been somewhat less difficult) under the bus in 2009.
 
Displayed 50 of 202 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »





Report