If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(CBS News)   You might want to go to Angie's List to get a review of Angie's List. Wait, what?   (cbsnews.com) divider line 32
    More: Interesting, Angie's List, MoneyWatch  
•       •       •

2726 clicks; posted to Business » on 16 Jan 2014 at 8:02 PM (13 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



32 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2014-01-16 08:14:57 PM
I am shocked and appalled!

heh...

Why the f*ck do people need this? It's a joke. I've had the same electrician and plumber my parents had. When I lived in other places, I asked friends who they used. (Friends who I trusted, mind you.)

Is Angie's List a site for people with no friends?
 
2014-01-16 08:28:34 PM
I have never seen anything that leads me to believe that Angie's list is somehow superior to things like Yelp, I hear the ads but just never have seen or heard for someone I trust evidence that the reviews are going to be better.  The issue with user reviews is always getting people who have "OK" experiences to respond, you always get the people who think its great and especially the people who have a horrible experience to respond (and most of the time many of them are crazy folks who hate everything), thus the results are skewed.  Somehow we just all want "excellent" all the time when OK is is just fine, and lets face it everything has to be graded on a curve so we can't all be expect to be A+ although it seems that that has become the expectation.
 
2014-01-16 08:31:33 PM

NewportBarGuy: I am shocked and appalled!

heh...

Why the f*ck do people need this? It's a joke. I've had the same electrician and plumber my parents had. When I lived in other places, I asked friends who they used. (Friends who I trusted, mind you.)

Is Angie's List a site for people with no friends?


Agreed. And once you find a good handy man (for whatever field you need them) can usually recommend friends of theirs that are also on the up and up. My plumber recommended a carpenter who recommended a high end wood worker who recommended a welder, ect.

/All of them are awesome guys. Have dinner with 1 of them every few weeks.
 
2014-01-16 08:47:29 PM

SearchN: And once you find a good handy man (for whatever field you need them) can usually recommend friends of theirs that are also on the up and up. My plumber recommended a carpenter who recommended a high end wood worker who recommended a welder, ect.


Absof*ckinglutely! I mean, I care about the price, but I want the job done right. I've only had one bad referral, and it was for a painter. I can fix that myself. Especially when it comes to wood and electrical, I want someone really good, not just capable.

I've never hired a big name firm, always go with some local guy who's booked solid. Sure, you have to schedule it and such, but I've found that if you are a known customer for life, they will reschedule jobs for you.

I'm in the middle of doing my kitchen and my usual electrician has bent over backwards to help me out. They've bumped some jobs to help me meet schedule. I had to go with a different plumber because the Polar vortex tied him up, but I went with a guy he recommended and he was fantastic.
 
2014-01-16 09:02:23 PM
The few estimates I got from big name firms were 5x the cost, and 1/5 the know-how, as any local competent plumbers or electricians I hired. The difference is insane.
 
2014-01-16 09:10:25 PM
Wait, you have to PAY to use Angie's List?  What a silly business model.
 
2014-01-16 09:11:40 PM

nytmare: The few estimates I got from big name firms were 5x the cost, and 1/5 the know-how, as any local competent plumbers or electricians I hired. The difference is insane.


My interactions with my contractors has me 100% behind vocational education for kids who should not be wasting time at college.

I really wish we had a few more of these guys. I gladly give them my money, and they do great work. And, I'm not someone who happily hands over money.
 
2014-01-16 09:34:31 PM
Plumbers?  Painters?  Electricians?   Carpenters?  Shoveling the snow off your driveway?  Most of this work can be done on your own if you set your mind to it and aren't a wuss about giving it a try.   However I have many friends who won't lift a finger for home maintenance and instead hire everything out because "manual labor isn't my thing, man".
 
2014-01-16 09:34:52 PM

NewportBarGuy: SearchN: And once you find a good handy man (for whatever field you need them) can usually recommend friends of theirs that are also on the up and up. My plumber recommended a carpenter who recommended a high end wood worker who recommended a welder, ect.

Absof*ckinglutely! I mean, I care about the price, but I want the job done right. I've only had one bad referral, and it was for a painter. I can fix that myself. Especially when it comes to wood and electrical, I want someone really good, not just capable.

I've never hired a big name firm, always go with some local guy who's booked solid. Sure, you have to schedule it and such, but I've found that if you are a known customer for life, they will reschedule jobs for you.

I'm in the middle of doing my kitchen and my usual electrician has bent over backwards to help me out. They've bumped some jobs to help me meet schedule. I had to go with a different plumber because the Polar vortex tied him up, but I went with a guy he recommended and he was fantastic.


Yup. The guys that support themselves doing that type of work do cost a bit more, but the quality is far and away worth it.
 
2014-01-16 09:39:25 PM

The Googles Do Nothing: Plumbers?  Painters?  Electricians?   Carpenters?  Shoveling the snow off your driveway?  Most of this work can be done on your own if you set your mind to it and aren't a wuss about giving it a try.   However I have many friends who won't lift a finger for home maintenance and instead hire everything out because "manual labor isn't my thing, man".


Built houses with my father when I was in my late teens. I can do the wiring, plumbing, drywall, painting, install windows and doors, ect.

At this point in life, I would rather pay someone else to do it for me.
 
2014-01-16 09:50:56 PM
I stayed away from Angie's list through the simple step of using teh Google.   There were lots of reports that businesses that were listed on Angie's List were told that they need to buy advertising to move up in the results.

That, and how you couldn't' get a peek to see how useful the info was until you shelled out for a full year subscription. No trial subscriptions.

That, and how Dear ol' Angie is not so much a housewife so as a marketing executive.

Don't worry Angie you can get better review if just pay for an ad.
 
2014-01-16 11:40:45 PM

The Googles Do Nothing: Plumbers?  Painters?  Electricians?   Carpenters?  Shoveling the snow off your driveway?  Most of this work can be done on your own if you set your mind to it and aren't a wuss about giving it a try.   However I have many friends who won't lift a finger for home maintenance and instead hire everything out because "manual labor isn't my thing, man".


Judging by the Mike Holmes TV shows, there's plenty of average joes doing really shoddy work too.
 
2014-01-16 11:57:43 PM
img.fark.net

/obligatory
 
2014-01-17 12:15:06 AM
Ok, maybe I'm completely uninformed.  But I worked in and went through the dot com boom... how are companies like Angie's List publically traded?  Didn't we learn anything from the late 1990's?
 
2014-01-17 12:46:33 AM

NewportBarGuy: I am shocked and appalled!

heh...

Why the f*ck do people need this? It's a joke. I've had the same electrician and plumber my parents had. When I lived in other places, I asked friends who they used. (Friends who I trusted, mind you.)

Is Angie's List a site for people with no friends?


I've never used it, but, yes, it is helpful if you move to an area where you don't know anyone. It does happen.
 
2014-01-17 01:30:00 AM
My biz's advertising budget is exclusively Angie's list, and we have a waiting list and turn down new customers several times a week.  But as a very small biz trying to hit a very narrow market/location it makes sense.  Our only complaint is that it is not free for everyone to see us, it actually narrows our possible clientele by 80% (according to everyone trying to get us to spend our $$ with them (and not one of them a math major)).   Then again, we have easily kept EVERY Angie's list customer we have wanted with awesome reviews.  And even a few who gave godly reviews that I consider... well, they pay upfront.
To be fair- several of our customers are new to the area and looking for our services, and don't have many friends for referrals.  And the few outside our "target zone" are wiling to pay for what we deliver.  And several times I have needed services in areas that I did not know anybody and was able to locate capable local help

/In need of a slashie comment, gimme ideas...
 
2014-01-17 01:39:45 AM

eaglepuss: NewportBarGuy: I am shocked and appalled!

heh...

Why the f*ck do people need this? It's a joke. I've had the same electrician and plumber my parents had. When I lived in other places, I asked friends who they used. (Friends who I trusted, mind you.)

Is Angie's List a site for people with no friends?

I've never used it, but, yes, it is helpful if you move to an area where you don't know anyone. It does happen.


This. Move across the country to a place with no friends or relatives close. New coworkers, who you don't know how full of shiat they are yet.

As far as do it yourself? Yeah, if you have time. Maybe I'll pay extra to have free time.
 
2014-01-17 01:55:57 AM
WALL STREET.  If your company isn't growing, they don't make money.  And if they don't make money, then your stock goes down.
 
2014-01-17 02:48:21 AM
On the flip side, if you're a business owner and want a review taken down, you can go to reviewmender.com . Just saying.
 
2014-01-17 03:12:06 AM
I'm getting a kick out of this thread!

Fellow Farkers! I'm a small business owner that minors in IT but majors in CRM ( Salesforce, ACT, SUGAR CRM, so on and so forth) and I can't say enough on how these above threads are so true in the fact that advertised service mostly leaves with you at best a mediocre service.

I've done google adwords with no return on investment. Yellowpages.com was a joke. Facebook and linked in was a waste of time. In the long run I found my small local competitors were my biggest customers. I simply reach out to them with the outlook of just doing some additional work with non-compete contracts  and a year later I'm booked up for 2 months with new work just from word of mouth marketing.

So what I would like to add for those who would like to know who to call if their pipes break or their AC/Furnace goes out, Just call a friend and ask who they recommend and what service/price they got from it. It's that simple. There are many service providers out there that do not advertise on/in main stream marketing because they chose to spend their money on service and not on a websites top list rankings.

/ and a word to Google adwords, I WANT MY MONEY BACK!
 
2014-01-17 04:35:18 AM

ski9600: WALL STREET. If your company isn't growing, they don't make money. And if they don't make money, then your stock goes down.


You would not believe how much this pisses me off.  Farking MBAs first create the expectation that 10% growth in revenue is possible (and thus mandatory) every farking year, and that has turned managers of every company into short-term-focused zealots, and everyone watches stock prices all day long, assigning small moves up or down to whatever story is trending on Twitter.  Legitimate companies that sell actual products get slammed if they don't juice the numbers to show constant, impossible growth.  Every company is required to be above average, and that's mathematically impossible, and then everyone up and down the line, no matter their ethics, get exhausted trying to apologize for normal, competent, non-fraudulent productivity, and then they gradually just start dying a little inside, and either they leave management (on very rare occasions) or their eyes glaze over and they start harping about this new metric that needs to be reported every three minutes, summarized on a powerpoint slide and expressed in MS project.

I find it sad that things are upside-down: the highest level execs are compensated for short term stock appreciation and end up not caring about the long term health of their companies, while the lower level employees, who can only succeed if the company sticks around for a long time, end up caring much more about keeping the company in business.

Just my $0.02.

But here's why I loved Angie's list and why I now hate it.  When I bought a very distressed property a couple of years ago, I eagerly paid money to find the highest ranked contractors.  And I found them, and was glad.  But that was because these rating systems were novel and the ratings were believable.  Now they're common, and just like grade inflation in school, everyone wants As for everything, and As becomes meaningless.

In addition, Angie's list constantly pesters me to review everything, and while I'm doing that, it keeps on urging me to add more zest!  And they want repeats; how do I feel about ABC Roofing now?  Great!  But I gave them $8000 and they gave me good roofs over my house and my garage, and that's our relationship.  I won't really be calling them for ten more years.  So stop hounding me, and that's the first reason I hate Angie's List: they seem to think that I work for them and not the other way around.In addition, when I tried to find a contractor I knew to exist and was local, I could not find him (easily), because companies with the same A ratings who don't have the same name as this guy are ranked higher than this guy when I'm searching for him by name, which confirms that they accept money to put companies higher on the list.  Well, that means I'm paying $40 per year to get a list of Angie's List advertisers, and therefore the information in Angies List is now worthless to consumers.

In any case, I've had sprinkler problems for a few weeks, and while talking with someone at work, she said she had a GREAT plumber, and I gave the "not going through Angie's List" lifestyle a shot.  Called the guy, asked about sprinklers, and he said he didn't do sprinklers, but suggested his "go to" sprinkler guy.  Called that guy, he came over today, replaced two sprinkler valves and relocated them from their SEALED FOR ETERNITY prison beneath my porch to a place I can actually reach, and they finished so quickly that I asked if they'd give me an estimate for the moldy fountain in the corner of my back yard that has furrowed my brow for 30 months.  They didn't give me an estimate; they fixed it.  It's fixed.  I have a working fountain in my back yard, just like the royal family of every country on earth that has royal families who have fountains in their back yards.  And they didn't ask me to give them a good write up anywhere!  And, of course, they will profit mightily, because I will tell anyone I know who needs sprinkler work done that they need to call my "go to" sprinkler guy.

All I hoped for today was to bring an end to the drought afflicting my front lawn, but it turned out better than I'd ever dreamed.  Robin Leach is probably trying to figure out how to get his people to call my people to interview me because I am virtually indistinguishable from ROYALTY.

// Don't get me started about leaving packaging feedback for Amazon.  Packages are packages.  Until they start taping packages to cheerleaders or naughty nurses, there can be no true innovation in packaging.
 
2014-01-17 06:55:44 AM
At an old company, the boss heard from his business associates about all the Web based business they were getting with the 'free' advertising on various sites.  He decided that the marketing budget was better spent through his wallet, and then three months later was wondering why we were all sitting around trying to look busy.

He signed up for every website possible, declined all the 'upgrades for premium' services, and tried to rely solely only internet word of mouth, mainly because his personality was so repellent that few customers were repeats unless they were able to see lower level staff.  He was technically very qualified, but was so narcissistic that customers just would avoid him, until all else failed.

I was so glad to see the 'for sale' sign in the window the last time I cruised by that place.  I hope the same happens here, because I can't stand the phoniness of businesses being rated by the amount of advertising dollars spent.
 
2014-01-17 07:09:54 AM

RyansPrivates: /obligatory


I was starting to worry!
 
2014-01-17 07:28:34 AM

NewportBarGuy: I am shocked and appalled!

heh...

Why the f*ck do people need this? It's a joke. I've had the same electrician and plumber my parents had. When I lived in other places, I asked friends who they used. (Friends who I trusted, mind you.)

Is Angie's List a site for people with no friends?


I just hire the guys that knock on my door. They always have stuff left over from another job and give me a good price. They'll be back soon to finish the job, right?
 
2014-01-17 08:56:04 AM
People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?
 
2014-01-17 09:34:14 AM

ReapTheChaos: People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?


Can you recommend a good electrician? You seem trustworthy...
 
2014-01-17 10:24:20 AM

stewbert: ReapTheChaos: People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?

Can you recommend a good electrician? You seem trustworthy...


I recommend Big Johnson Contractors. If you need it drilled, hammered, screwed or plugged, you need a Big Johnson on the job.
 
2014-01-17 11:07:47 AM
Servicemagic.com and have not been disappointed yet
 
2014-01-17 12:25:21 PM

ReapTheChaos: stewbert: ReapTheChaos: People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?

Can you recommend a good electrician? You seem trustworthy...

I recommend Big Johnson Contractors. If you need it drilled, hammered, screwed or plugged, you need a Big Johnson on the job.


Now that my house burned down, can you recommend a good GC?
 
2014-01-17 01:15:12 PM

stewbert: ReapTheChaos: stewbert: ReapTheChaos: People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?

Can you recommend a good electrician? You seem trustworthy...

I recommend Big Johnson Contractors. If you need it drilled, hammered, screwed or plugged, you need a Big Johnson on the job.

Now that my house burned down, can you recommend a good GC?



static.fjcdn.com

Her work is shoddy and not up to code, but for some odd reason I don't really care.
 
2014-01-17 01:39:00 PM

ReapTheChaos: stewbert: ReapTheChaos: stewbert: ReapTheChaos: People are stupid. Anyone who's spent five minutes reading comments here on Fark knows that. So why would you take online reviews from strangers any more seriously than you do what people say elsewhere online?

Can you recommend a good electrician? You seem trustworthy...

I recommend Big Johnson Contractors. If you need it drilled, hammered, screwed or plugged, you need a Big Johnson on the job.

Now that my house burned down, can you recommend a good GC?


[static.fjcdn.com image 600x725]

Her work is shoddy and not up to code, but for some odd reason I don't really care.


And you're the guy who says I shouldn't trust referrals from the internet. Seems to me like you've proven yourself wrong.

I'll be in my bunk.
 
2014-01-17 05:37:51 PM
The fact that yelp won that battle might have something to do with it..
 
Displayed 32 of 32 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report