If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   West Virginia chemical plant used a legal loophole to avoid inspections for 22 years. So naturally, John Boehner wants to know why President Obama didn't use his magic time machine to go back and fix the problem   (huffingtonpost.com) divider line 116
    More: Dumbass, Boehner, chemical accident, West Virginia, President Obama, clean coal, Kanawha County, water treatment plant, state capitols  
•       •       •

3178 clicks; posted to Politics » on 14 Jan 2014 at 4:39 PM (28 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



116 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2014-01-14 03:39:01 PM
"The issue is this: We have enough regulations on the books. And what the administration ought to be doing is actually doing their jobs," Boehner said at a press conference. "Why wasn't this plant inspected since 1991?"


Boehner's Funding From Coal up 2,400 Percent
Donations from coal-industry interests account for more than 10% of the $12.5 million Mr. Boehner collected from Jan. 1 to June 30 for fundraising accounts he directly controls. Mr. Boehner's personal campaign account collected less than $200,000 from the coal industry during the entire 2009-10 election cycle.
http://www.motherjones.com/blue-marble/2011/09/boehner-funding-from- co al-up-2400-percent

States Fear Further EPA Budget Cuts In FY14 Due To Congress' Impasse
http://insideepa.com/Risk-Policy-Report/Risk-Policy-Report-09/24/201 3/ states-fear-further-epa-budget-cuts-in-fy14-due-to-congress-impasse/me nu-id-1098.html

House panel approves bill with deep cuts for EPA
http://www.politico.com/story/2013/07/epa-budget-cuts-94632.html
 
2014-01-14 03:41:52 PM
Someone serve this asshole a glass of West Virginia water pronto, please
 
vpb [TotalFark]
2014-01-14 03:53:09 PM
If they have enough regulations they must have the wrong ones.
 
2014-01-14 04:03:55 PM
He's right, damn it.  Obama, get that f'ing hazmat suit on and get inspecting!

Current laws in West Virginia, where the coal industry forms the heart of the economy, require inspections for chemical production facilities, but not for facilities used for chemical storage.

And why the hell didn't Obama change WV's laws!?  WHY!?  The man has to be stopped!  Benghazi, the IRC, that bridge fiasco, now this.  This Obama fellow is a menace.
 
2014-01-14 04:09:14 PM
"And what the [Obama] administration ought to be doing is actually doing their jobs...Why wasn't this plant inspected since 1991?"

But ... but ... Bush 1.0

Seriously, wasn't Obama in law school in 1991?
 
2014-01-14 04:13:57 PM
Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.
 
2014-01-14 04:17:27 PM

vpb: If they have enough regulations they must have the wrong ones.


Looking at what was spilled and the quantity, the facility was required to file a SARA 313 report with the Federal government on an annual basis.  This information is then shared with state and local governments.  If they didn't, they're toast.
 
2014-01-14 04:24:00 PM
Why ask him this? Of course he supports chemical spills; how do you suppose he became The Translucent Orange Boner, defender of the indefensible? To the Derp Cave!
 
2014-01-14 04:42:07 PM

Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.


No, they're trying to turn it into the EEA, the Environmental Exploitation Agency
 
2014-01-14 04:42:59 PM
My god, he really almost did say that.
 
2014-01-14 04:44:44 PM
Republicans hate regulations until its THEIR water that is poisoned.

Farking assholes.
 
2014-01-14 04:45:07 PM
So, John baby it sounds like you are all in favor of increasing the budget of all Federal government regulatory agencies so they can do their jobs.
 
2014-01-14 04:48:06 PM
The Free Market can handle this without onerous government regulations.  If people don't want Freedom Industries putting coal solvent into their drinking water, then they are free to choose another company for coal solvent needs.

One day, you'll all be sorry when the Randian Supermen GO GALT and there is nowhere for you to get coal solvent.  What will you do then, libs?  What will you do without coal solvent?  I bet you didn't think about that.
 
2014-01-14 04:48:48 PM

vpb: If they have enough regulations they must have the wrong ones.


Or the regulatory agencies have no budget to enforce the regulations?
 
2014-01-14 04:48:53 PM

Slaves2Darkness: So, John baby it sounds like you are all in favor of increasing the budget of all Federal government regulatory agencies so they can do their jobs.


And providing penalties for breaking regulations and preventing grandfather clauses.

I get hard at the prospect of regulatory agencies with real power. Let's go, Boehner. I didn't bring it out for air.
 
2014-01-14 04:49:19 PM
WHY DOESN'T OBAMA REGULATE BUSINESS MORE!!!

We have been hearing that from Republicans for years now!
 
2014-01-14 04:49:38 PM
Was he crying?

/He does that.
//Fun Filled Fact of the Day: Boehner is old German for "little biatch."
 
m00
2014-01-14 04:50:24 PM
If he were smart, he would have blamed the Clintons -- this started in 1992 after all.  I don't know why Republicans are still going after Obama, he's only got a year of attempting-to-govern left.
 
2014-01-14 04:50:39 PM

Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.


The Libertarian Party?

No?

How about the Fark Independent Party?

Am I getting warm yet?
 
2014-01-14 04:51:31 PM
This is one of those "never never want a serious crisis go to waste" moments. Let the GOP dog pile on this for awhile then come out with new regulation for business in this regard and watch Boehner  go limp.
 
2014-01-14 04:52:10 PM
Well, technically, that loophole exists in regulation, yes? So Boehner Johnson is right about Regulation Johnson being wrong.
 
2014-01-14 04:52:56 PM

Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.


Governor Perry? Is that you?
 
2014-01-14 04:53:02 PM
Why won't Obama fix these loopholes that we won't allow him to fix!?!
 
2014-01-14 04:53:26 PM

sdd2000: vpb: If they have enough regulations they must have the wrong ones.

Or the regulatory agencies have no budget to enforce the regulations?


The agencies should allocate the majority of their budgets to enforcing the existing regulations in Bohner's District.

It would be legal, because they are required to enforce the regulations.
It would be the perfect use of their budget dollars.
 
2014-01-14 04:54:45 PM

AirForceVet: Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.

The Libertarian Party?

No?

How about the Fark Independent Party?

Am I getting warm yet?


Considering most Fark Independents are really just Republicans...yes.
 
2014-01-14 04:55:52 PM
"I am entirely confident that there are ample regulations already on the books to protect the health and safety of the American people"

Confident, but doesn't actually know. We used to call that a guess.
 
2014-01-14 04:56:10 PM
SHUT UP, BOEHNER, YOU COCK!
 
2014-01-14 04:57:18 PM
I'm lost. I thought the EPA was an out of control bureaucracy crushing small and medium sized companies under the burden of onerous regulation. So...I'm still confused.
 
2014-01-14 04:57:30 PM

grumpfuff: AirForceVet: Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.

The Libertarian Party?

No?

How about the Fark Independent Party?

Am I getting warm yet?

Considering most Fark Independents are really just Republicans...yes.



Indep: I am an independent!!
Q: Have you ever voted for a dem?
Indep: never. I wont vote for those commies!
Q: Have you ever voted for a non-gop?
Indep: HELL YES!! I am an independent!!
Q: who did you vote for?
Indep: Ross Perot!
Q: Mkay, other than Ross have you only voted for GOP candidates?
Indep: DAMN STRAIGHT! I LOVE MY COUNTRY WHICH IS WHY I AM AN INDEPENDENT!!!

/sigh
 
2014-01-14 04:59:09 PM

grumpfuff: AirForceVet: Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.

The Libertarian Party?

No?

How about the Fark Independent Party?

Am I getting warm yet?

Considering most Fark Independents are really just Republicans...yes.



On second thought, both of those groups are usually just Republicans, so double yes.
 
2014-01-14 05:00:23 PM
"Somebody ought to be held accountable here. What we try to do is look at those regulations that we think are cumbersome, are over the top, and that are costing the economy jobs. That's where our focus continues to be."

Okay, what is the economic impact of this spill which resulted from Freedom Industries failing to self-regulate? Give us real numbers, John.
 
2014-01-14 05:04:59 PM
"I am entirely confident that there are ample regulations already on the books to protect the health and safety of the American people," he added. "Somebody ought to be held accountable here.

That sounds reasonable.

How about the people who keep cutting funds for the Regulators?
Or the people that stonewall the filling of Regulatory positions?
Or the people that keep stripping Regulator powers?
Or the people who sabotage cases brought forward by Regulators?
 
2014-01-14 05:05:07 PM
What an arsehole!
 
2014-01-14 05:06:08 PM
Aww yes. I love the Orangeman and his cronies railing about "Job-killing regulations on the free market", but when a business explodes in Texas, or an oil derrick pollutes the entire gulf, or a chemical spill happens in West Virginia it's back to blaming the black guy in the white house.

Personally, I feel the EPA shouldn't have cleaned anything up. The voters in the south and West Virginia vote for these GOP idiots, they should let the "Free Market" clean itself and turn these states into even more distopian post-apocalyptic wastelands than they already are.
 
2014-01-14 05:06:48 PM

namatad: grumpfuff: AirForceVet: Marcus Aurelius: Which party is trying to dismantle the EPA again?  I forget.

The Libertarian Party?

No?

How about the Fark Independent Party?

Am I getting warm yet?

Considering most Fark Independents are really just Republicans...yes.


Indep: I am an independent!!
Q: Have you ever voted for a dem?
Indep: never. I wont vote for those commies!
Q: Have you ever voted for a non-gop?
Indep: HELL YES!! I am an independent!!
Q: who did you vote for?
Indep: Ross Perot!
Q: Mkay, other than Ross have you only voted for GOP candidates?
Indep: DAMN STRAIGHT! I LOVE MY COUNTRY WHICH IS WHY I AM AN INDEPENDENT!!!

/sigh


Yup, basically.
 
2014-01-14 05:12:03 PM
Yes, Obama and the EPA failed.  No, that doesn't support your "away with the EPA" position.  This is what a center-right president looks like.
 
2014-01-14 05:14:48 PM
There's literally nothing that cannot be blamed on Obama. Obama's the reason I'm fat.

/Wait, I'm not fat. Must be that damned Obama's fault.
 
2014-01-14 05:16:14 PM

ikanreed: Yes, Obama and the EPA failed.  No, that doesn't support your "away with the EPA" position.  This is what a center-right president and two decades of deregulation, half a decade of stonewalling, and corrupt corporations looks like.


FTFY
 
2014-01-14 05:20:18 PM
So now republicans WANT Obama to micromanage everything?
 
2014-01-14 05:21:57 PM
Republicans even bragged about successfully cutting the EPA's funding by 20 percent since 2010 when summarizing the bill.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration has also suffered under recent budget cuts. Due to low pay, the agency has struggled to hire and retain inspectors, resulting in so few workplace inspections that the average site will only face an inspection every 99 years.

"And what the administration ought to be doing is actually doing their jobs," Boehner said at a press conference. "Why wasn't this plant inspected since 1991?"


Eat shiat you evil motherfarkers.
 
2014-01-14 05:22:53 PM

NeverDrunk23: So now republicans WANT Obama to micromanage everything?


They've wanted that in EVERY scandal. They wanted him to micromanage security at every consulate, they wanted him to micromanage the day-to-day actions of the IRS, they wanted him to personally code a massive website without any flaws...

Republicans REALLY want a dictator.
 
2014-01-14 05:28:09 PM
Dear John:
THIS IS A STATE ISSUE YOU fark, YOU LYING STUPID fark.  IT'S A STATE ISSUE.  IT'S A farkING STATE ISSUE.  YOU fark.  WHY DO YOU WANT TO VIOLATE THE 10TH AMENDMENT YOU fark, YOU SACK OF fark.

You fark.

fark you.
 
2014-01-14 05:32:01 PM
Fark the GOP
 
2014-01-14 05:45:27 PM
I must admit I don't know exactly what happened at this chemical plant, but I know it was Obama's fault.
 
2014-01-14 05:47:55 PM

Rapmaster2000: The Free Market can handle this without onerous government regulations.  If people don't want Freedom Industries putting coal solvent into their drinking water, then they are free to choose another company for coal solvent needs.

One day, you'll all be sorry when the Randian Supermen GO GALT and there is nowhere for you to get coal solvent.  What will you do then, libs?  What will you do without coal solvent?  I bet you didn't think about that.


i.imgur.com

Zinc... Zinc... ZIIIINNNNCCCC!!!!
 
2014-01-14 05:51:30 PM

Satanic_Hamster: Dear John:
THIS IS A STATE ISSUE YOU fark, YOU LYING STUPID fark.  IT'S A STATE ISSUE.  IT'S A farkING STATE ISSUE.  YOU fark.  WHY DO YOU WANT TO VIOLATE THE 10TH AMENDMENT YOU fark, YOU SACK OF fark.

You fark.

fark you.


Now now, be honest. How do you REALLY feel?

Cause if you feel like jamming Boehner's head in a toilet and stuffing a plunger up his ass while giving him a swirly, I'd like to subscribe to your newsletter.
 
2014-01-14 05:54:02 PM

LordJiro: NeverDrunk23: So now republicans WANT Obama to micromanage everything?

They've wanted that in EVERY scandal. They wanted him to micromanage security at every consulate, they wanted him to micromanage the day-to-day actions of the IRS, they wanted him to personally code a massive website without any flaws...

Republicans REALLY want a dictator.


Well, actually they want a white, ultra wealthy, disenfranchise the poor and minorities, shower the rich with wealth, Christian Dominionist dictator. They right now have to deal with "the black guy", so what they do is instead cut government funding on all regulatory agencies that prevent wealthy people from doing what they want and then turn around and blame the president when something goes wrong to deflect criticism away from them.
 
2014-01-14 05:56:37 PM
this thread is suspiciously devoid of Fark Independents
 
2014-01-14 05:57:27 PM
I'm as liberal as they come but this trend blame the victims here for what happened is gross. I don't care how they vote (putting aside that WV has two D Senators), they didn't deserve this.
 
2014-01-14 06:00:24 PM

Fuggin Bizzy: There's literally nothing that cannot be blamed on Obama. Obama's the reason I'm fat.

/Wait, I'm not fat. Must be that damned Obama's fault.


The thing is, they can blame Obama for whatever , but that does not mean he is at fault.
 
Displayed 50 of 116 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report