If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(NFL)   NFL Pro Bowl rosters announced. Rosters to the left, complaints about who was left off to the right   (nfl.com) divider line 114
    More: Interesting, NFL Pro Bowl, NFL, roster, Deion Sanders, team captains  
•       •       •

1574 clicks; posted to Sports » on 28 Dec 2013 at 2:26 AM (52 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



114 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-12-27 09:29:05 PM  
Well, it's not like Peyton or Brady will have anything else to do that week.
 
2013-12-27 10:03:06 PM  
So when did they decide to start this pro bowl draft nonsense?

I mean, it could be fun. But we fear change.

Fear. It.
 
2013-12-27 11:13:59 PM  
big surprise.  not a giant or jet in the grouping.  at least the people aren't retarded.
 
2013-12-27 11:32:23 PM  
How is Gonzales not there? He still was 5th overall for TEs and deserved the parting nod...
 
2013-12-27 11:32:35 PM  
Really surprised Aaron Rodgers didn't make it.
 
2013-12-27 11:35:12 PM  
Thomas Davis...Carolina
 
2013-12-27 11:42:44 PM  
I want this game to feature 65-yarder attempts from both Prater and Tucker.
 
2013-12-27 11:51:26 PM  
If you complain about the Pro Bowl in any way, shape or form, hand in your NFL card.
 
2013-12-28 01:29:12 AM  

JerseyTim: If you complain about the Pro Bowl in any way, shape or form, hand in your NFL card.


If you watch the Pro Bowl in any way, shape or form, hand in your NFL card.
 
2013-12-28 02:13:46 AM  
Mathis and Jackson from the Eagles should have made it.
 
2013-12-28 02:37:46 AM  
Calais Campbell and Karlos Dansby being left out falsifies this process
 
2013-12-28 02:58:52 AM  
Sweet, I can't wait to notice this is on TV while sitting at the bar, say "Oh, it's the Pro Bowl", watch one play and then not pay attention to it again.
 
2013-12-28 03:05:54 AM  
Oh yay, it's time for another season of "look at all the people posting about how they love football so they openly talk about how they ignore a game."

Also known as the time where everyone pretends no one watches the Pro Bowl despite the fact that it draws better ratings than every other sport's championship (sometimes exception for a really popular NBA Finals).
 
2013-12-28 03:12:36 AM  

neuroflare: Calais Campbell and Karlos Dansby being left out falsifies this process


League gives you a bounce-pass INT, a game, and keeps playoff hopes alive one day; doesn't put you in the Pro Bowl the next. Win some, lose some.
 
2013-12-28 03:12:43 AM  

Di Atribe: Really surprised Aaron Rodgers didn't make it.


Talent wise he deserves it but I think he missed too much time to qualify.
 
2013-12-28 03:17:06 AM  

Danger Avoid Death: JerseyTim: If you complain about the Pro Bowl in any way, shape or form, hand in your NFL card.

If you watch the Pro Bowl in any way, shape or form, hand in your NFL card.


I like the Pro Bowl but it's just so damn anticlimactic being right after the playoffs or superbowl.  You go from football at it's peak form to an exhibition game.
 
2013-12-28 03:18:10 AM  

IAmRight: Oh yay, it's time for another season of "look at all the people posting about how they love football so they openly talk about how they ignore a game."

Also known as the time where everyone pretends no one watches the Pro Bowl despite the fact that it draws better ratings than every other sport's championship (sometimes exception for a really popular NBA Finals).


No one watches the other sport's championship (sometimes exception for a really popular NBA finals)
 
2013-12-28 03:20:28 AM  
...and comments about the Pro Bowl's irrelevancy shall appear above and below.
 
2013-12-28 03:20:42 AM  
For the selections I think they did as good a job as you can expect.  Revis and Polamalu are the only glaring reputation picks I noticed and there is always a couple guys that were close and could have gotten the nod too.
 
2013-12-28 03:24:37 AM  

IAmRight: neuroflare: Calais Campbell and Karlos Dansby being left out falsifies this process

League gives you a bounce-pass INT, a game, and keeps playoff hopes alive one day; doesn't put you in the Pro Bowl the next. Win some, lose some.


Excluding that int, he has 3 instead of 4. two still went for TDs. the bad INT doesnt make his 6.5 sacks go away either. what MLB on your team did that?
 
2013-12-28 03:28:39 AM  

you are a puppet: IAmRight: Oh yay, it's time for another season of "look at all the people posting about how they love football so they openly talk about how they ignore a game."

Also known as the time where everyone pretends no one watches the Pro Bowl despite the fact that it draws better ratings than every other sport's championship (sometimes exception for a really popular NBA Finals).

No one watches the other sport's championship (sometimes exception for a really popular NBA finals)


I didn't know this was a thing.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/22/nfl-tv-ratings-10-most-watc he d-2013_n_3634774.html

"And finally, one last note on the NFL's total and utter dominance. The Pro Bowl, the joke of a postseason exhibition game that is hanging on by a thread and nearing extinction, the PRO BOWL stands at #29 with 12.16 million viewers. This beat the Cotton Bowl, Pacers-Heat Game 7 and every NBA playoff game before the Finals, every Stanley Cup game, every MLB game so far in 2013, every soccer and tennis match, and every golf tournament except for the final round of The Masters"

NASCAR had the Daytona 500 at the 18th most watched sports event which surprised me too.  I thought the World Series would have been up there too.
 
2013-12-28 03:32:27 AM  

neuroflare: IAmRight: neuroflare: Calais Campbell and Karlos Dansby being left out falsifies this process

League gives you a bounce-pass INT, a game, and keeps playoff hopes alive one day; doesn't put you in the Pro Bowl the next. Win some, lose some.

Excluding that int, he has 3 instead of 4. two still went for TDs. the bad INT doesnt make his 6.5 sacks go away either. what MLB on your team did that?


I'm just saying sometimes you don't deserve what you get. It was in a nice way for him on Sunday and not so much today.
 
2013-12-28 03:33:46 AM  
I'm surprised that Foles wasn't chosen over Rivers, Unger was chosen at all.  I am not going to argue with any of the running backs or defensive ends.
 
2013-12-28 03:38:02 AM  
BTW, the only unenjoyable Pro Bowl was the one a couple years ago where no one even pretended to try after a month of every reporter and asshole talking head saying "no one gives a f*ck about this game, so why are you here?" in every interview.

It's really stupid how people openly sneer at games that "don't mean anything." THEY'RE ALL ULTIMATELY MEANINGLESS YOU WANKSTAINS. YOU EITHER HAVE FUN AND ENJOY WATCHING PEOPLE PLAY A GAME OR YOU DON'T. And if you don't, then give it meaning by betting on it like everyone else. Yeesh.
 
2013-12-28 03:42:02 AM  
Is there an NFL Network contributor MORE annoying than Deion Sanders?

/Honorable mention to Warren Sapp
 
2013-12-28 03:50:12 AM  

Forecaster18: Is there an NFL Network contributor MORE annoying than Deion Sanders?

/Honorable mention to Warren Sapp


Steve Mariucci and Sapp "debating" killed my interest in anything NFL network for everything but games.
 
2013-12-28 04:05:45 AM  

IAmRight: BTW, the only unenjoyable Pro Bowl was the one a couple years ago where no one even pretended to try after a month of every reporter and asshole talking head saying "no one gives a f*ck about this game, so why are you here?" in every interview.

It's really stupid how people openly sneer at games that "don't mean anything." THEY'RE ALL ULTIMATELY MEANINGLESS YOU WANKSTAINS. YOU EITHER HAVE FUN AND ENJOY WATCHING PEOPLE PLAY A GAME OR YOU DON'T. And if you don't, then give it meaning by betting on it like everyone else. Yeesh.


Are you going to be on Fark whining with furious butthurt about every call that goes against a player you like? If not then clearly the game means even less than those other games that don't mean anything.
 
2013-12-28 04:41:10 AM  
The Saints miserable offensive line has two pro-bowlers on it.  It's a shame about the left tackle.  I hear right-handed quarterbacks don't really need solid left tackles ...
 
2013-12-28 04:59:39 AM  
I used to watch the pro bowl, but now I refuse because the players don't abide by the warrior code. Pussies.
 
2013-12-28 05:40:20 AM  
All you gotta know: Four Browns made it.

Four.

I mean, obviously Gordon was a shoo-in, but Thomas and Mack are going on reputation alone, and Cameron had a hot first four weeks, then nothing (yes, I agree that Gonzalez should've been in ahead of him).
 
2013-12-28 05:49:50 AM  

elguerodiablo: For the selections I think they did as good a job as you can expect.  Revis and Polamalu are the only glaring reputation picks I noticed and there is always a couple guys that were close and could have gotten the nod too.


Marshal Yanda.  No one from the Ravens Oline deserves to be in the Pro Bowl.
 
2013-12-28 06:12:56 AM  

IlGreven: All you gotta know: Four Browns made it.

Four.

I mean, obviously Gordon was a shoo-in, but Thomas and Mack are going on reputation alone, and Cameron had a hot first four weeks, then nothing (yes, I agree that Gonzalez should've been in ahead of him).


Joe Haden is legit.
 
2013-12-28 06:16:53 AM  
My father and I had season tickets to the New York/New Jersey Knights of the WLAF. I have had partial ticket plans or simply bought a lot of tickets to the New York Dragons and, previously, the New York Nighthawks of the Arena league. My first favorite football team was the Los Angeles Express because the USFL was shown (live or taped, I don't know) after school on weekdays while I was at the babysitter's house and that's who I got to know. I can talk your ear off about the history of nearly all 124 I-A/FBS schools and I often find myself placing wagers on CFL games. I love, love, love, love football.

Of course, I love the NFL.Yet, I could not give two less of a farks about the Pro Bowl. At all. I would watch a re-airing of a Birmingham WFL game from the 70's before I watch one play of the Pro Bowl.

And, I am not alone, I know this. So, I try to follow the money to see why this nonsense still goes on and I fail every time. WHY?!
 
2013-12-28 06:18:47 AM  
Well, apparently, the ratings are still great. I should have read the thread, LOL
 
2013-12-28 06:23:11 AM  
No Alshon Jeffrey or Robbie Gould?
 
2013-12-28 06:35:43 AM  
More like complaints from the players who have to show up
 
2013-12-28 06:36:29 AM  

ongbok: More like complaints from the players who have to show up


I don't think they have too, do they?
 
2013-12-28 06:39:42 AM  
I just realized I might see a PFM to Megatron touchdown and now I'm kind of excited about the new format.
 
2013-12-28 07:27:20 AM  

Tigger: IlGreven: All you gotta know: Four Browns made it.

Four.

I mean, obviously Gordon was a shoo-in, but Thomas and Mack are going on reputation alone, and Cameron had a hot first four weeks, then nothing (yes, I agree that Gonzalez should've been in ahead of him).

Joe Haden is legit.


Oh, wait, missed him.  And he would be, if he had a defense in front of him that knew how to play on 3rd downs and 4th quarters, thereby making his rare mistake nonlethal. (And he probably won't be playing anyway, since his hip is bothering him enough that he's probably not playing this week, either).

/...huh, I might have also described Tony Romo in a sense...except his mistakes are a bit more common.
 
2013-12-28 07:45:33 AM  

lecavalier: My father and I had season tickets to the New York/New Jersey Knights of the WLAF. I have had partial ticket plans or simply bought a lot of tickets to the New York Dragons and, previously, the New York Nighthawks of the Arena league. My first favorite football team was the Los Angeles Express because the USFL was shown (live or taped, I don't know) after school on weekdays while I was at the babysitter's house and that's who I got to know. I can talk your ear off about the history of nearly all 124 I-A/FBS schools and I often find myself placing wagers on CFL games. I love, love, love, love football.

Of course, I love the NFL.Yet, I could not give two less of a farks about the Pro Bowl. At all. I would watch a re-airing of a Birmingham WFL game from the 70's before I watch one play of the Pro Bowl.

And, I am not alone, I know this. So, I try to follow the money to see why this nonsense still goes on and I fail every time. WHY?!


I'll see your Knights season tickets, and raise you.

My family had season tickets for the Raleigh-Durham Skyhawks.
 
2013-12-28 07:59:40 AM  

Torgo_of_Manos: Thomas Davis...Carolina


This....lots and lots of this.
 
2013-12-28 08:23:32 AM  
Robert Quinn of the Rams made it. All is right with the world.
 
2013-12-28 08:25:17 AM  

neuroflare: IAmRight: neuroflare: Calais Campbell and Karlos Dansby being left out falsifies this process

League gives you a bounce-pass INT, a game, and keeps playoff hopes alive one day; doesn't put you in the Pro Bowl the next. Win some, lose some.

Excluding that int, he has 3 instead of 4. two still went for TDs. the bad INT doesnt make his 6.5 sacks go away either. what MLB on your team did that?


But Adrian Peterson is on there ... he's missed several games and been ineffective in others.  Most people, I think, would love to see the fan voting go away.  Just have the captains or the coaches do a draft on the entire roster of the NFL.  It would be interesting, because it could create a breakout name when a coach picks an underappreciated player for a position and then they go crazy at the Pro Bowl.
 
2013-12-28 08:27:42 AM  
Why are there two punt returners and no kickoff returners?  Corderelle Patterson (MN) is second in the league in total yards and has enormously changed the starting field position for the Vikes, both through returns and when other teams pooch it short.  That is a big deal when you have a defense that gives up the most points in the league (lots of kickoff returns!).
 
2013-12-28 08:51:37 AM  

abhorrent1: No Alshon Jeffrey or Robbie Gould?



I can understand Gould being left off, but Alshon deserved a spot. That guy has turned into a monster.
 
2013-12-28 08:54:38 AM  
i actually think this whole "jerry rice vs. deion sanders" fantasy football competition with real players in a game is interesting

of course, they won't play as hard as they would when it means something, but whatever, at least the teams should be more interesting
 
2013-12-28 08:55:03 AM  
Mo Wilkerson is the only Jet that deserved to be there and he's not. Sucks.
 
2013-12-28 08:58:25 AM  

UNC_Samurai: lecavalier: My father and I had season tickets to the New York/New Jersey Knights of the WLAF. I have had partial ticket plans or simply bought a lot of tickets to the New York Dragons and, previously, the New York Nighthawks of the Arena league. My first favorite football team was the Los Angeles Express because the USFL was shown (live or taped, I don't know) after school on weekdays while I was at the babysitter's house and that's who I got to know. I can talk your ear off about the history of nearly all 124 I-A/FBS schools and I often find myself placing wagers on CFL games. I love, love, love, love football.

Of course, I love the NFL.Yet, I could not give two less of a farks about the Pro Bowl. At all. I would watch a re-airing of a Birmingham WFL game from the 70's before I watch one play of the Pro Bowl.

And, I am not alone, I know this. So, I try to follow the money to see why this nonsense still goes on and I fail every time. WHY?!

I'll see your Knights season tickets, and raise you.

My family had season tickets for the Raleigh-Durham Skyhawks.


You poor bastard.
 
2013-12-28 09:05:51 AM  

AdamK: i actually think this whole "jerry rice vs. deion sanders" fantasy football competition with real players in a game is interesting

of course, they won't play as hard as they would when it means something, but whatever, at least the teams should be more interesting


I don't really care about watching the game cause it'll probably suck as usual. I do want to watch them draft their teams though. I bet that will be fun.
 
2013-12-28 09:19:24 AM  

abhorrent1: ongbok: More like complaints from the players who have to show up

I don't think they have too, do they?



If they want their bonus.

But they can always claim injury and not play.
 
Displayed 50 of 114 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report