If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Opposing Views)   Civilian police review board to discipline cop who arrested man for being a "smart ass." New legal precedent allows Farkers to breathe easy   (opposingviews.com) divider line 165
    More: Dumbass, police review, Roman Goris, law enforcements, stop and frisk, Civilian Complaint Review Board, disciplines  
•       •       •

6470 clicks; posted to Main » on 20 Dec 2013 at 5:35 PM (16 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



165 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-12-20 04:24:22 PM
i.imgur.com


FTFA: Goris and two other cops, saying that they smelled marijuana, asked Martin if he had any. Martin said he did not and blew out cigar smoke to make his point.

Asshole cops. The lot of them.
 
2013-12-20 04:25:39 PM
 
2013-12-20 04:45:04 PM
I am coming to the conclusion that, much like politicians, the only people who should be allowed to be policemen are those who don't want to be.
 
2013-12-20 04:56:50 PM

SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.


you do the work of the just and righteous!
 
2013-12-20 05:03:59 PM
So what's the "discipline"?  The usual two-week paid vacation?
 
2013-12-20 05:38:27 PM
The cops will, however, continue profiling wiseguys.
 
2013-12-20 05:40:22 PM

SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.


Your links away from that site are greatly appreciated.
 
2013-12-20 05:41:39 PM
Sounds about right for the NYPD. Don't worry though. The reforms will begin any day now. Just because the Knapp Commission, the Mollen Commission, and the federal courts haven't been able to stop them doesn't mean they won't change themselves!
 
2013-12-20 05:46:58 PM
Farkers will only  truly breathe easy when Opposing View pollution is cleaned up.
 
2013-12-20 05:48:05 PM
Bill Bratton's back and there's going to be trouble.
 
2013-12-20 05:49:30 PM
And to top it off, his car full of Christmas gifts was stolen because the officers wouldn't let him lock his car.

I hope someone shiats in their mouths for Christmas, but I'm concerned that would be too good for those assholes.
 
2013-12-20 05:50:17 PM

timujin


So what's the "discipline"? The usual two-week paid vacation?


Over Xmas and New Year, no less. The horror. The horror.
 
2013-12-20 05:50:48 PM
The bigger the city, the more dealing with their police is like dealing with a powerful local gang.
 
2013-12-20 05:52:26 PM
Hope this dirty farking pig loses his pension.
 
2013-12-20 05:53:47 PM
Constable Savage, is that you?
 
2013-12-20 05:55:18 PM
Last time I got stopped:
I  saw the lights and purposely turned left into the right lane of a much busier thoroughfare, where he had to dodge traffic to get his lardbutt out of the car and come talk to me.

Lardass Cop: Looks like you're trying to cause a traffic accident today.
[Just as he said that a car two lanes over plowed into the back of another car.  Again, this was a busy time of day on a busy street]
Smartass Me: As are you.
Cop: What did you say?
Me: Nothing
Moments later he had to respond to an emergency call and let me go.
Cop: Drive safely
Me:  You too!
 
2013-12-20 05:58:02 PM
How much is Opposing Views paying Fark for all the traffic sent their way?
 
2013-12-20 05:58:17 PM
If people would just stop clicking on Opposing Views links, maybe the retard mods will stop greening them.
 
2013-12-20 05:59:10 PM

Fluid: The cops will, however, continue profiling wiseguys.


Not true. The Wiseguys run the departments.

Cop: mumblemumble mushmouthmumble etc
You: What?
Cop: mumblemumblemumble
You: Pardon me?
cop: Step out of the vehicle
You: Why?
Cop: For being a smartmouth that doesn't understand plain english.
You: But you weren't saying anything that made sense.
Cop (pulls gun out and points it at you): Step out of the Vehicle, I ain't gonna tell you again.
So you open your car door and get out of the car. At that point, the officer has all the legal authority to do whatever he pleases, including outright murder, as you have now "advanced" on his person.

Police officers are trained in methods that allow them to turn any interaction with you into a Felony. At the very least, they will deliberately provoke a response that permits them to use whatever force is necessary to enable that felony charge. They aren't promoted on the basis of how many tickets they write or how many misdemeanor arrests they make, they are promoted on the number of Felony arrests they make. The more felonies they can charge a person with, the faster they get those promotions. Any interaction a non-police person has with an officer runs the risk of that person being shot or beaten to death, even if one is only guilty of rolling a stop sign or just sitting on a park bench. There's a reason why they test specifically for sadistic and narcissistic personalities for new recruits.
 
2013-12-20 05:59:20 PM
blog.zap2it.com
"Roman!  Finally!  My dear boy, I need tospeak
to your brother, Peter!  It's quite important!"
 
2013-12-20 05:59:29 PM
I hope the smart ass padded the list of Christmas presents in the stolen car.  I know I would have.
 
2013-12-20 06:01:27 PM

Deathfrogg: Police officers are trained in methods that allow them to turn any interaction with you into a Felony. At the very least, they will deliberately provoke a response that permits them to use whatever force is necessary to enable that felony charge.


And we call these people lying, sh*t for brains, two faced thugs!  For Freedom!
 
2013-12-20 06:03:20 PM
I was told to keep my mouth shut and not argue with cops, but this changes everything. Who wants to do some obscure, technically legal, vehicular maneuvers?
 
2013-12-20 06:05:20 PM

ChildOfBhaal: I hope the smart ass padded the list of Christmas presents in the stolen car.  I know I would have.


What about the Creedence?
 
2013-12-20 06:07:25 PM
I have friends that are NYPD and from what I've heard is that the police will start only reacting to dispatched calls and not trying to prevent crimes like "stop & frisk" was doing. NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.
 
2013-12-20 06:11:14 PM

bmr68: I have friends that are NYPD and from what I've heard is that the police will start only reacting to dispatched calls and not trying to prevent crimes like "stop & frisk" was doing. NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.


Glad to see that the NYPD has the populace's best interests at heart.
 
2013-12-20 06:12:13 PM

UsikFark: ChildOfBhaal: I hope the smart ass padded the list of Christmas presents in the stolen car.  I know I would have.

What about the Creedence?


Not sure about the Credence.
 
2013-12-20 06:12:16 PM

bmr68: NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.


Define "police work".  Cause criminal has already been defined laboriously in a wall of ponderous tomes, none of which seem to apply to cops.
 
2013-12-20 06:14:02 PM

bmr68: I have friends that are NYPD and from what I've heard is that the police will start only reacting to dispatched calls and not trying to prevent crimes like "stop & frisk" was doing. NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.


Thanks for verifying what we already knew.  NYPD are a bunch of assholes.
 
2013-12-20 06:14:36 PM

bmr68: I have friends that are NYPD and from what I've heard is that the police will start only reacting to dispatched calls and not trying to prevent crimes like "stop & frisk" was doing. NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.


People on the streets have a greater effect on crime than police. The police are reactionary, whereas a few people visibly watching the street will keep you from busting out car windows. That's kind of how the classic mafia kept their own neighborhoods respectable, but you don't have to be a criminal organization, just have eyes on the street that will call someone out for dealing drugs or stealing bikes.
 
2013-12-20 06:14:50 PM

redmid17: bmr68: I have friends that are NYPD and from what I've heard is that the police will start only reacting to dispatched calls and not trying to prevent crimes like "stop & frisk" was doing. NYC's crime rate will rise fast if this civilian review board starts criminalizing police work.

Glad to see that the NYPD has the populace's best interests at heart.


Yeah.  "Let's take our ball and go home".  Farking idiots.

There are two lessons to be learned from this story:
Many if not most cops are idiots who have way to much authority.
It's not wise (but it is perfectly legal) to taunt idiots in authority.
 
2013-12-20 06:16:40 PM

Bslim: UsikFark: ChildOfBhaal: I hope the smart ass padded the list of Christmas presents in the stolen car.  I know I would have.

What about the Creedence?

Not sure about the Credence.


You know, I mean, you got any promising, uh, leads, or...
 
2013-12-20 06:18:13 PM

Deathfrogg: The more felonies they can charge a person with, the faster they get those promotions.


False. In the NYPD, the department in this story  -- as in most big-city departments -- promotions are based on the results of civil service tests. Promotions from Police Officer to Sergeant, Lieutenant and Captain are test-based. From Deputy Inspector on up to Chief (six separate ranks) are more political and at that level it's about covering the department's ass rather than arrests.
 
2013-12-20 06:18:32 PM
I love how the left (rightfully) throws its arms in the air when the NYPD practices stop and frisk, but when their favorite son Obama summarily executes US citizens without trial via drone, it earns barely a peep.

I guess it's okay to urinate all over the Fourth Amendment as long as you have a D next to your name.
 
2013-12-20 06:18:48 PM

hippyneil: Constable Savage, is that you?


Came for Constable Savage, leaving satisfied.

/ we is old
 
2013-12-20 06:18:53 PM

SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.


Thank you very much, dear lady., Greatly appreciated.
 
2013-12-20 06:19:51 PM

RoxtarRyan: And to top it off, his car full of Christmas gifts was stolen because the officers wouldn't let him lock his car.

I hope someone shiats in their mouths for Christmas, but I'm concerned that would be too good for those assholes.


Not only were his car and gifts stolen but his wife must have come back to the car and panicked. Dick power play on the cop's part.
 
2013-12-20 06:20:38 PM

timujin: So what's the "discipline"?  The usual two-week paid vacation?


Not this time.  This is very serious.  No less than four weeks paid vacation is demanded for justice.
 
2013-12-20 06:20:55 PM
+1 for ironic use of the Dumbass tag.
 
2013-12-20 06:21:12 PM

nickdaisy: I guess it's okay to urinate all over the Fourth Amendment as long as you have a D next to your name.


You are aware that people in other countries have no rights under our Constitution, right? And that executing someone without trial would be a violation of the fifth and sixth amendments, not the fourth?
 
2013-12-20 06:21:55 PM

OgreMagi: timujin: So what's the "discipline"?  The usual two-week paid vacation?

Not this time.  This is very serious.  No less than four weeks paid vacation is demanded for justice.


HOW DA FUGGA MY SUPPOSTA WOIK LIKE DIS!?
 
2013-12-20 06:22:30 PM

SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.

FTA:  My personal verdict is that if he's found guilty, Officer Goris should be required to replace Mr. Martin's car and stolen gifts.
And fired. Don't forget fired.
And a few nights in jail to think things over might be a good idea too.


Sounds good to me.  Don't forget his partner, too. I'd also like some way to punish the department directly, for hiring/training such a dumbass, but all that will do is impact the tax payer.  Best we can hope for is there keep being reasonable punishments for BS like this, and eventually it will stop.
 
2013-12-20 06:24:15 PM
The NYPD is in the top 5 reasons of me not wanting to visit New York City.  I just don't want to have to deal with them.
 
2013-12-20 06:24:30 PM

dramboxf: nickdaisy: I guess it's okay to urinate all over the Fourth Amendment as long as you have a D next to your name.

You are aware that people in other countries have no rights under our Constitution, right? And that executing someone without trial would be a violation of the fifth and sixth amendments, not the fourth?


you are aware that he executed Americans in other countries without trial, right?

You're correct on the Fourth Amendment. I should have cited the Fifth and Sixth. But I think I saw something in the news recently about how there've been one or two federal Fourth Amendment issues recently....
 
2013-12-20 06:24:32 PM

dramboxf: nickdaisy: I guess it's okay to urinate all over the Fourth Amendment as long as you have a D next to your name.

You are aware that people in other countries have no rights under our Constitution, right? And that executing someone without trial would be a violation of the fifth and sixth amendments, not the fourth?


You are aware the poster specifically said, "US citizens", right?  Also, our government can not ignore a citizen's rights simply because he is visiting another country.

Also, the 14th would come into play.
 
2013-12-20 06:25:30 PM
The best we can hope for is when people with guns strapped to their ass, deeply ingrained hatred for those they are contracted to protect, and severe steroid addictions can get their fat asses fired, too.
 
2013-12-20 06:25:40 PM

SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.


cannotsuggestaname: SecretAgentWoman: Non-Opposing Views link for those opposed to clicking on Opposing Views.

you do the work of the just and righteous!


arcas: How much is Opposing Views paying Fark for all the traffic sent their way?


Prank Call of Cthulhu: If people would just stop clicking on Opposing Views links, maybe the retard mods will stop greening them.



There sure is a lot of butthurt about Opposing Views. I'm guessing some right-wing Farkers disapprove of the accurate reporting from the site. I read both articles. Opposing views has details that are omitted from the "superior" site.
 
2013-12-20 06:25:59 PM

dramboxf: nickdaisy: I guess it's okay to urinate all over the Fourth Amendment as long as you have a D next to your name.

You are aware that people in other countries have no rights under our Constitution, right? And that executing someone without trial would be a violation of the fifth and sixth amendments, not the fourth?


Don't try to tell him what's in the Constitution he believes in!
 
2013-12-20 06:26:05 PM

nickdaisy: you are aware that he executed Americans in other countries without trial, right?


Yeah. As I said, they are not due one. They're not subject to US law.

I am not saying I agree with it in the slightest.

All I am saying is they have no Constitutional protections unless the moment the drone-fired Hellfire turns them into moist, pink atoms they are standing on US soil.
 
2013-12-20 06:27:04 PM

OgreMagi: You are aware the poster specifically said, "US citizens", right?


I am now.

And again, you don't have US Constitutional protections unless you are on US Soil.
 
Displayed 50 of 165 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report