If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(LA Times)   Pitchfork Media will publish limited-run quarterly print magazine at $20/copy, in order to make their laughably precise music reviews seem more credible and authoritative   (latimes.com) divider line 31
    More: Ironic, pitchforks, electronic publishing, magazines, L.A. Review of Books, Gawker Media, Syrian refugees  
•       •       •

444 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 16 Dec 2013 at 10:11 PM (35 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



31 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-12-16 08:16:43 PM
treasure.diylol.com
 
2013-12-16 10:21:33 PM
Why am I not surprised that hipsters now want to read their music reviews in analog format?

I guess paper gives the reviews a warmer and more organic feel than reading from an iPad screen.
 
2013-12-16 10:23:01 PM
If they paid me $20 I might start reading it.
 
2013-12-16 10:45:57 PM

darkjezter: Why am I not surprised that hipsters now want to read their music reviews in analog format?

I guess paper gives the reviews a warmer and more organic feel than reading from an iPad screen.


Young people prefer books to ebooks.
 
2013-12-16 10:56:29 PM
The print version will only review albums on vinyl.
 
2013-12-16 11:01:26 PM
At some point I expect hipsters to repeat all the follies of history through their attempts to shun 'the mainstream.'

"They're my least favorite race. They're pretty obscure, though. You've probably never heard of them."
 
2013-12-16 11:04:47 PM
What exactly is a "laughably precise music review"? Is it a repeatable (though not necessarily accurate) review?

/I have no idea what a pitchfork media is
 
2013-12-16 11:12:18 PM

saintwrathchild: darkjezter: Why am I not surprised that hipsters now want to read their music reviews in analog format?

I guess paper gives the reviews a warmer and more organic feel than reading from an iPad screen.

Young people prefer books to ebooks.


I prefer books as well. Mostly because I'm a klutz and don't trust myself with a tablet.
 
2013-12-16 11:20:24 PM

Sasquach: What exactly is a "laughably precise music review"? Is it a repeatable (though not necessarily accurate) review?

/I have no idea what a pitchfork media is


It's when a record mixes the symphonic IDM of early Efterklang with the chiprock explorations of Puss.
 
2013-12-16 11:22:07 PM

LemSkroob: I prefer books as well. Mostly because I'm a klutz and don't trust myself with a tablet.


My main reason is that bargain books and used books are generally still cheaper.
 
2013-12-16 11:32:38 PM
 
2013-12-16 11:32:55 PM
As a fan of classic prog rock (ELP, Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Genesis in the early 70's), it cracks me up to a read a Pitchfork review that claims that something is "prog" just because it lasts longer than 4 minutes or has a key or tempo change in it. Um, no.
 
2013-12-16 11:41:39 PM

Henry Holland: As a fan of classic prog rock (ELP, Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Genesis in the early 70's), it cracks me up to a read a Pitchfork review that claims that something is "prog" just because it lasts longer than 4 minutes or has a key or tempo change in it. Um, no.


I have no idea what this means but it makes me feel uncomfortable.
 
Slu
2013-12-16 11:41:45 PM
My problem with Pitchfork is that the music to which they generally give the best reviews I generally find boring.  And I am a rock guy who loves discovering new music.  But when everything you give a great review to sounds the same, you lose credibility.
 
2013-12-16 11:53:39 PM
i used to generally admire their reviews and taste
but that was ten years ago...

maybe there are simply too many reviewers now,
but i've had to listen to an awful lot of highly-rated crap.
 
2013-12-17 12:04:53 AM
$20 for the fawning over that rapist R. Kelly?  No thanks.
 
2013-12-17 12:09:47 AM

davynelson: i used to generally admire their reviews and taste
but that was ten years ago...

maybe there are simply too many reviewers now,
but i've had to listen to an awful lot of highly-rated crap.


These days it seems the more difficult it is to enjoy a song or find a melody or structure in it, the higher Pitchfork will rate it. I actually find myself enjoying the music they rate lower a lot better.
 
2013-12-17 12:18:12 AM

Henry Holland: As a fan of classic prog rock (ELP, Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Genesis in the early 70's), it cracks me up to a read a Pitchfork review that claims that something is "prog" just because it lasts longer than 4 minutes or has a key or tempo change in it. Um, no.


Or see that searching "Dream Theater" on that site turns up no results.
 
kab
2013-12-17 01:12:07 AM
Is Pitchfork still posing as a purveyor of independent acts?

Just checking.
 
2013-12-17 01:17:40 AM
Not gonna be a troll, but fark Pitchfork and get what real underground music looks like (no scenes, no ads, and no distinction to genre whatsoever):

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-LZE8Vu9GPbO_DxGlCX2kw

You look, take your pick, and decide.
 
2013-12-17 01:30:51 AM

kling_klang_bed: Not gonna be a troll, but fark Pitchfork and get what real underground music looks like (no scenes, no ads, and no distinction to genre whatsoever):

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-LZE8Vu9GPbO_DxGlCX2kw

You look, take your pick, and decide.



Fark Pitchfork, sure, but "sift through the entirety of Music in your spare time" seems a little iffy too.
 
2013-12-17 01:36:36 AM

Monkeyfark Ridiculous: Fark Pitchfork, sure, but "sift through the entirety of Music in your spare time" seems a little iffy too.


Yep that's not happening.  I'd recommend limiting your genres and finding some genre specific sites.
 
kab
2013-12-17 01:39:05 AM

kling_klang_bed: You look, take your pick, and decide.


Far too much work for most folks.
 
2013-12-17 02:13:12 AM
I give their idea a 2.34.
 
2013-12-17 02:20:06 AM

Henry Holland: As a fan of classic prog rock (ELP, Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Genesis in the early 70's), it cracks me up to a read a Pitchfork review that claims that something is "prog" just because it lasts longer than 4 minutes or has a key or tempo change in it. Um, no.


Absolutely correct.  I am also 12 minutes into Suppers Ready now because of you.
 
2013-12-17 03:21:27 AM

Bareefer Obonghit: Henry Holland: As a fan of classic prog rock (ELP, Yes, King Crimson, Gentle Giant and Genesis in the early 70's), it cracks me up to a read a Pitchfork review that claims that something is "prog" just because it lasts longer than 4 minutes or has a key or tempo change in it. Um, no.

I have no idea what this means


It means that he's pretentious
 
2013-12-17 03:29:14 AM
Who? Rolling Stone? Ok, well whatever nevermind.

/blows dogs for wine change, etc, a-la Billy Corgan
//Ryan Schreiber = Jan Wenner
///fark Pitchfork with a rusty pitchfork
 
2013-12-17 05:24:51 AM

Monkeyfark Ridiculous: kling_klang_bed: Not gonna be a troll, but fark Pitchfork and get what real underground music looks like (no scenes, no ads, and no distinction to genre whatsoever):

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-LZE8Vu9GPbO_DxGlCX2kw

You look, take your pick, and decide.


Fark Pitchfork, sure, but "sift through the entirety of Music in your spare time" seems a little iffy too.

so

I'm guessing you bothered to sift through my playlist past page 8? Take more than a 20 minute trip through my page. Pick and adore, it's a grab-bag of all sorts of genres. I take a very open ear, and prove it.

OK  I'll get past the basics and get you to my fave video of 2013:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ZrKbecv8qc

Your comments are warm and welcome, and PS, Pitchfrok would get hands and knees for this one!
 
2013-12-17 06:12:07 AM

kab: kling_klang_bed: You look, take your pick, and decide.

Far too much work for most folks.


Ummmmmmmmmm, I'm supposed to retort to..............
 
2013-12-17 09:07:55 AM

kling_klang_bed: OK I'll get past the basics and get you to my fave video of 2013:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ZrKbecv8qc

Your comments are warm and welcome, and PS, Pitchfrok would get hands and knees for this one!


Is this a troll? Holy shiat, that was awful. I couldn't make it past 3 minutes. Find someone who can sing, then get back to me.
 
2013-12-17 11:37:47 AM

Sasquach: What exactly is a "laughably precise music review"? Is it a repeatable (though not necessarily accurate) review?


I assume it's referring to them ratings albums as like 7.4/10 rather than 7/10. The decimal comes about because it's an averaged out score from other editors.
 
Displayed 31 of 31 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »





Report