If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(People Magazine)   Andrew Zimmern summarizes top 10 bizarre food trends of 2013, with unvarnished opinions on some of them like the cronut - "brilliant marketing lesson that should be taught at business schools around the country"   (greatideas.people.com) divider line 53
    More: Cool, Andrew Zimmern, Bizarre Foods, Travel Channel, Saint Paul, sandwich wrap, chicken eggs, fast food  
•       •       •

2861 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 16 Dec 2013 at 2:51 PM (41 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



53 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-12-16 01:31:50 PM
Why should I read anything by the man who murdered Trayvon?
 
2013-12-16 01:40:34 PM
DRINK!
 
2013-12-16 01:44:06 PM
Fried egg on everything sounds good in theory. But then you realize just how goddamn messy it can be.
 
2013-12-16 01:55:09 PM
4. SRIRACHA HOT SAUCE

It's the most overrated item of last 20 years, but brilliantly marketed and distributed. I've written a lot on this subject and I'm bored with my own opinions of it. There are a hundred hot sauces and chile condiments I prefer, but I wish I owned this company.



Is there anything on earth more annoying than this "I hated Sriracha before it was cool to hate it" thing everyone's doing now?

It's like a double-reverse meta hipster foodie switcheroo.
 
2013-12-16 01:57:06 PM
Curiously, Skittles and iced tea didn't make the list.
 
2013-12-16 02:07:09 PM

sigdiamond2000: 4. SRIRACHA HOT SAUCE

It's the most overrated item of last 20 years, but brilliantly marketed and distributed. I've written a lot on this subject and I'm bored with my own opinions of it. There are a hundred hot sauces and chile condiments I prefer, but I wish I owned this company.


Is there anything on earth more annoying than this "I hated Sriracha before it was cool to hate it" thing everyone's doing now?

It's like a double-reverse meta hipster foodie switcheroo.


America's Test Kitchen said it was the best hot sauce they ever tasted, even better than Tobasco or Frank's Red Hot Sauce (both of which I use religiously).  On that suggestion, I bought some and you know what?  ATK is right.  Sriracha is way better and far less watery.
 
2013-12-16 02:41:51 PM

brigid_fitch: America's Test Kitchen said it was the best hot sauce they ever tasted, even better than Tobasco or Frank's Red Hot Sauce (both of which I use religiously).  On that suggestion, I bought some and you know what?  ATK is right.  Sriracha is way better and far less watery.


Reason?  Vinegar, or absence thereof.  BTW- If those are your comparators, It looks like your hot sauce bar is set pretty low.  Tabasco is fine in a Caesar, Franks perfectly passable on eggs or wings.  But there is a whole world of delicious hot sauces outside of the narrow vinegary sauce category.
 
2013-12-16 02:48:01 PM
"This year Punch Pizza, a fast-casual restaurant in Minnesota's Twin Cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul guaranteed all new hires a living wage of $10 an hour.  "

And MSP hasn't turned into an abandonned radioactive wasteland ?  I was told that raising the minimum wage would rip the space-time-continuum asunder.
 
2013-12-16 02:48:57 PM

Diogenes: Curiously, Skittles and iced tea didn't make the list.


dittybopper: DRINK!


You two need to meet.
 
2013-12-16 02:53:42 PM
Seriously though,  My son's just been diagnosed with a severe egg allergy.  Anyone know more about #10 ?  The company's web-site is severely lacking in the details.
 
2013-12-16 02:58:30 PM

Diogenes: Curiously, Skittles and iced tea didn't make the list.


neither did eating sidewalk.
 
2013-12-16 03:00:03 PM
On Sriracha, he is right, you don't have to put it in everything. A different hot sauce will work just as well or better for all sorts of dishes. Maybe that's obvious. Sriracha is perfect for Pho, which not coincidentally is what it was originally made for. Works great in some creamy soups as well, poultry, shellfish, plenty of other stuff, I mean, it's versatile enough, and I do like it. I guess I just don't get the obsession with it, either. It's not really a must-have for me, unless having Pho.

//and yes, like AZ, I have a bottle in my fridge
 
2013-12-16 03:00:35 PM
so says the guy who travels around the world to find THE BEST bowl of fish assholes and goat nuts
 
2013-12-16 03:05:22 PM

tallguywithglasseson: On Sriracha, he is right, you don't have to put it in everything. A different hot sauce will work just as well or better for all sorts of dishes. Maybe that's obvious. Sriracha is perfect for Pho, which not coincidentally is what it was originally made for. Works great in some creamy soups as well, poultry, shellfish, plenty of other stuff, I mean, it's versatile enough, and I do like it. I guess I just don't get the obsession with it, either. It's not really a must-have for me, unless having Pho.

//and yes, like AZ, I have a bottle in my fridge


Why do people obsess about coke, or bacon, or soy, or not soy, or eggs, or any of the food items which become popular in the zeitgeist for a season?

It's like asking why they obsess about Harley, even though it's an average bike manufacturer.
 
2013-12-16 03:06:38 PM

Flab: Seriously though,  My son's just been diagnosed with a severe egg allergy.  Anyone know more about #10 ?  The company's web-site is severely lacking in the details.


Here's a few more details
 
2013-12-16 03:08:03 PM

Timmy the Tumor: so says the guy who travels around the world to find THE BEST bowl of fish assholes and goat nuts


Well, who would settle for second best fish assholes and goat nuts, after all?
 
2013-12-16 03:14:43 PM

Timmy the Tumor: so says the guy who travels around the world to find THE BEST bowl of fish assholes and goat nuts


look, it's that guy who doesn't know what trend means.
 
2013-12-16 03:15:49 PM

kroonermanblack: Why do people obsess about coke, or bacon, or soy, or not soy, or eggs, or any of the food items which become popular in the zeitgeist for a season?


Bacon Sriracha zombies!
 
2013-12-16 03:19:04 PM
 I just pound down some garlic  and chilis into a paste.   Throw in some ginger, lime juice and lemongrass if you have it handy.     It takes all of 45 seconds to make, no time to clean and is way better than Sriarcha.     If you cook a lot at home, I think a mortar andpestle is a must have for any kitchen.   I could do without a $200 Cuinsinart  before I could ever do without my $30 mortar and pestle.
 
2013-12-16 03:21:17 PM

FloydA: Flab: Seriously though,  My son's just been diagnosed with a severe egg allergy.  Anyone know more about #10 ?  The company's web-site is severely lacking in the details.

Here's a few more details


Thanks.
 
2013-12-16 03:21:51 PM

InmanRoshi: I just pound down some garlic  and chilis into a paste.   Throw in some ginger, lime juice and lemongrass if you have it handy.     It takes all of 45 seconds to make, no time to clean and is way better than Sriarcha.     If you cook a lot at home, I think a mortar andpestle is a must have for any kitchen.   I could do without a $200 Cuinsinart  before I could ever do without my $30 mortar and pestle.


That sounds delicious, but Sriracha keeps forever in the door of the fridge.
 
2013-12-16 03:22:30 PM
First he shoots a kid in Florida, then he becomes a TV chef? No thank you.
 
2013-12-16 03:24:07 PM

brigid_fitch: sigdiamond2000: 4. SRIRACHA HOT SAUCE

It's the most overrated item of last 20 years, but brilliantly marketed and distributed. I've written a lot on this subject and I'm bored with my own opinions of it. There are a hundred hot sauces and chile condiments I prefer, but I wish I owned this company.


Is there anything on earth more annoying than this "I hated Sriracha before it was cool to hate it" thing everyone's doing now?

It's like a double-reverse meta hipster foodie switcheroo.

America's Test Kitchen said it was the best hot sauce they ever tasted, even better than Tobasco or Frank's Red Hot Sauce (both of which I use religiously).  On that suggestion, I bought some and you know what?  ATK is right.  Sriracha is way better and far less watery.


I agree.  Frank's Red is good almost only on buffalo wings, otherwise it has a weird side-taste.  Tobasco is like an old fashioned version of good hot sauce, watery but too strong in a certain way.  Still, good in some instances, like soup and gumbo (which I hate anyway).

Sriracha has more of a total flavor.  I'm astonished it grew so popular, but there's absolutely nothing wrong with it.  It's very good.
 
2013-12-16 03:25:10 PM
I also put a little of the other chili sauce on the Pho

s3.amazonaws.com

Whatever this stuff is, the stuff that still has the seeds in it.
 
2013-12-16 03:26:58 PM
tallguywithglasseson: Bacon Sriracha zombies!

lol
 
2013-12-16 03:27:35 PM

tallguywithglasseson: kroonermanblack: Why do people obsess about coke, or bacon, or soy, or not soy, or eggs, or any of the food items which become popular in the zeitgeist for a season?

Bacon Sriracha zombies!


There has to be a food trailer in Portland or Austin that has those three words on a menu item title.  Pork belly has to be involved somehow.    Probably in some sort of Banh Mi.  Or ramen bowl.
 
2013-12-16 03:30:31 PM
<<looks right>>
<<looks left>>

I don't know what a cronut is.

on the sriracha.  it's a good hot sauce for certain things.  awesome with anything that might be served with fish sauce and sandwiches.

but, not so good on other stuffs.

my incomplete list:

crystals:
- gumbos and the like (but, it's rare I add hotsauce, usually it's seasoned right)
- new orleans style bbq shrimp (and some worchestershire.. hmm, this the louisiana counterpoint to vietnamese sriracha and fish sauce.... since worcherstershire sauce is a kind of fish sauce)

louisiana hot sauce: buffalo wings, as the base

tabasco: terrible pizza, because i'm depressed by the terrible pizza and don't care about life.

all other hot sauces: put on crackers in some grand taste testing scheme, while i'm waiting for my food to show up
 
2013-12-16 03:33:52 PM

Flab: "This year Punch Pizza, a fast-casual restaurant in Minnesota's Twin Cities of Minneapolis and Saint Paul guaranteed all new hires a living wage of $10 an hour.  "

And MSP hasn't turned into an abandonned radioactive wasteland ?  I was told that raising the minimum wage would rip the space-time-continuum asunder.


Well, they just announced that wage increase about a week ago.  So give it a few weeks for our economy to collapse.
 
2013-12-16 03:35:21 PM

someonelse: InmanRoshi: I just pound down some garlic  and chilis into a paste.   Throw in some ginger, lime juice and lemongrass if you have it handy.     It takes all of 45 seconds to make, no time to clean and is way better than Sriarcha.     If you cook a lot at home, I think a mortar andpestle is a must have for any kitchen.   I could do without a $200 Cuinsinart  before I could ever do without my $30 mortar and pestle.

That sounds delicious, but Sriracha keeps forever in the door of the fridge.


If you ever get burnt out on Sriracha and want some alternatives,

Korean Gochujang (fermented chili paste)
 encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com

2.bp.blogspot.com

Lau Gan Ma Chili Beans in Oil

Both keep eons in the fridge, and can be found in Asian supermarket.  If not,  you can probably get both on Amazon
 
2013-12-16 03:44:39 PM
Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?
 
2013-12-16 03:47:39 PM
My local grocery store has been selling glazed fried danishes (and similar) for years including an actual fried glazed croissant. It makes me sad that this is a kind of an anomaly as any of the three varieties I have available to me are far beyond any other type of donut I've ever encountered.
 
2013-12-16 03:47:52 PM
At least people have (mostly) shut the fark up about cupcakes.
 
2013-12-16 03:52:14 PM
Andrew Zimmern is one of the most obnoxious personalities on television and I wish he would chew with his mouth closed and swallow before talking.
 
2013-12-16 03:54:24 PM

ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?


See the Boobies.
 
2013-12-16 03:55:30 PM

pute kisses like a man: <<looks right>>
<<looks left>>

I don't know what a cronut is.

on the sriracha.  it's a good hot sauce for certain things.  awesome with anything that might be served with fish sauce and sandwiches.

but, not so good on other stuffs.

my incomplete list:

crystals:
- gumbos and the like (but, it's rare I add hotsauce, usually it's seasoned right)
- new orleans style bbq shrimp (and some worchestershire.. hmm, this the louisiana counterpoint to vietnamese sriracha and fish sauce.... since worcherstershire sauce is a kind of fish sauce)

louisiana hot sauce: buffalo wings, as the base

tabasco: terrible pizza, because i'm depressed by the terrible pizza and don't care about life.

all other hot sauces: put on crackers in some grand taste testing scheme, while i'm waiting for my food to show up


Yep, Crystal, Louisiana, and  Tabasco were created to go in soups, gumbos, and beans, liquidy foodstuffs where it would enhance the flavor and add a little heat.

They do not take over the flavor like others do.
 
2013-12-16 04:12:23 PM

ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?


i105.photobucket.com

RIP ANDREW ZIMMERMAN

 
2013-12-16 04:21:04 PM

Evil Mackerel: ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?

See the Boobies.

 
2013-12-16 04:21:43 PM

Evil Mackerel: Evil Mackerel: ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?

See the Boobies.


whatever,/bs
---bye
 
2013-12-16 04:33:13 PM

Evil Mackerel: Evil Mackerel: ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?

See the Boobies.


Always good advice.

(BTW, Farkisms.  You can't type the words  i105.photobucket.com  in a Fark thread.  The filter automatically changes it.
 
2013-12-16 04:42:02 PM
Cronuts do teach a lot about business. If you create a finicky product that requires expert input that limits production you are going to run into a hard wall in production numbers. That means you can charge more, but if there's a lot of disposable income in your market you might face an absurd demand curve that results in needing to hire security that eats into your profits, and you might as well go back to making the stuff you can crank out in the thousands with half-skilled labor. Then the crowds disperse, you can lay off security, and make just as much in higher volume, lower cost goods.

Unless someone makes a tool to make cronut injecting automatic. Then Dunkin' Donuts buys the patent to the device, markets the product under a new name (or perhaps they've scooped the inventor on trademarks) and have the product made in their faceless contract factories they don't actually own. Then your innovation becomes the profit of someone else, and your viral success, a black swan event, goes back to a memetic cache in the history of Buzzfeed servers.
 
2013-12-16 04:42:13 PM
Ever since I watched the Mozambique episode of "No Reservations", I've been hoping that charcoal grilled, piri piri chicken becomes a 'thing'.
 
2013-12-16 04:49:14 PM

tallguywithglasseson: I also put a little of the other chili sauce on the Pho

[s3.amazonaws.com image 590x590]

Whatever this stuff is, the stuff that still has the seeds in it.


Sambal Oolek (aka chili-garlic sauce). That stuff is friggin AWESOME, and incredibly easy to make, like

InmanRoshi said. It's basically chilis, garlic, and salt ground to a paste.

At the Chinese restaurant I work at for my first job, we use to make something similar, but it was just ground chilis and oil. I forget what that's called in Cantonese...


InmanRoshi: ...Korean Gochujang (fermented chili paste)...


I stumbled across that by accident once, and have been hooked ever since. I love that adding that to Bi Bim Bop. It's *almost* as versatile when cooking as white miso paste.
 
2013-12-16 04:54:55 PM

tallguywithglasseson: Ever since I watched the Mozambique episode of "No Reservations", I've been hoping that charcoal grilled, piri piri chicken becomes a 'thing'.


STRONGLY AGREE.  Penzey's Spices now has a "Berbere" spice blend that is similar.  Check it.  My good friend from Zimbabwe is my resident taste-tester and agrees - solid product.

http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/C13Berbere.html
 
2013-12-16 04:59:01 PM

FloydA: Evil Mackerel: Evil Mackerel: ColSanders: Has anyone else noticed that Andrew Zimmern's name is somewhat similar to the name of the guy who shot Trayvon Marton?  His name was Zimmerman.  See?

See the Boobies.

Always good advice.

(BTW, Farkisms.  You can't type the words  [i105.photobucket.com image 90x30]  in a Fark thread.  The filter automatically changes it.


Understood, I retract my statement
 
2013-12-16 05:53:55 PM
"If it looks gross - eat it!"
 
2013-12-16 06:04:55 PM

sigdiamond2000: 4. SRIRACHA HOT SAUCE

It's the most overrated item of last 20 years, but brilliantly marketed and distributed. I've written a lot on this subject and I'm bored with my own opinions of it. There are a hundred hot sauces and chile condiments I prefer, but I wish I owned this company.


Is there anything on earth more annoying than this "I hated Sriracha before it was cool to hate it" thing everyone's doing now?

It's like a double-reverse meta hipster foodie switcheroo.


Not when he has a list of BETTER sauces to follow that up:
http://andrewzimmern.com/2013/11/18/sriracha/
 
2013-12-16 08:10:04 PM

pute kisses like a man: I don't know what a cronut is.


It's what idiots call a donut made with croissant dough.

Do we call a donut made with cake dough a conut? No.
Do we call a donut made with yeast dough a yonut? No.
Do we call a donut made with brownie dough a bronut? No.

They are all just donuts.
 
2013-12-16 09:04:43 PM

sigdiamond2000: Is there anything on earth more annoying than this "I hated Sriracha before it was cool to hate it" thing everyone's doing now?


I'd never heard of sriracha until everything just started having it.

/Same thing with chipotle. Never heard of it, then suddenly everything had to have it.
 
2013-12-16 11:59:07 PM

Hz so good: tallguywithglasseson: I also put a little of the other chili sauce on the Pho

[s3.amazonaws.com image 590x590]

Whatever this stuff is, the stuff that still has the seeds in it.

Sambal Oolek (aka chili-garlic sauce). That stuff is friggin AWESOME, and incredibly easy to make, like InmanRoshi said. It's basically chilis, garlic, and salt ground to a paste.

At the Chinese restaurant I work at for my first job, we use to make something similar, but it was just ground chilis and oil. I forget what that's called in Cantonese...


InmanRoshi: ...Korean Gochujang (fermented chili paste)...

I stumbled across that by accident once, and have been hooked ever since. I love that adding that to Bi Bim Bop. It's *almost* as versatile when cooking as white miso paste.


辣椒油


Pretty standard condiment at any chinese restaurant.  My favorite was also really simple, small chili peppers steeped in soy sauce so that the soy had a little heat to it.
 
2013-12-17 12:36:12 AM

WndrWmn: tallguywithglasseson: Ever since I watched the Mozambique episode of "No Reservations", I've been hoping that charcoal grilled, piri piri chicken becomes a 'thing'.

STRONGLY AGREE.  Penzey's Spices now has a "Berbere" spice blend that is similar.  Check it.  My good friend from Zimbabwe is my resident taste-tester and agrees - solid product.

http://www.penzeys.com/cgi-bin/penzeys/C13Berbere.html


I would like to second this recommendation. I am not African, but I do love Ethiopian food. Penzeys rocks!
 
Displayed 50 of 53 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report