If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Uproxx)   If you read one user review of a $40,000. 85-inch television today, let it be this one   (uproxx.com) divider line 45
    More: Amusing, LED TV, ultra hd, viewable image size  
•       •       •

7223 clicks; posted to Business » on 04 Dec 2013 at 3:12 PM (19 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



45 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-12-04 03:14:39 PM
I've been going through the reviews of that thing since yesterday.  They aren't the quality of the gallon of milk, but some of them are pretty damn funny.
 
2013-12-04 03:21:34 PM

Shrugging Atlas: I've been going through the reviews of that thing since yesterday.  They aren't the quality of the gallon of milk, but some of them are pretty damn funny.


i don't trust the reviews. why do some reviewers try to make them funny instead of talking about it and no one answers my questions? i think amazon people are dumb.
 
2013-12-04 03:32:16 PM
Ha, it's obviously fake. They couldn't have a one year review when the product has only been available since March 31 2013.
 
2013-12-04 03:32:19 PM
Oh, come on. Do you really think that after giving her parents $30,000, they are going to let her go after only a year? Not a very believable story IMHO.
 
2013-12-04 03:35:12 PM
Okay, I kind of grinned.  Kind of.
 
2013-12-04 03:35:42 PM

Pick: Oh, come on. Do you really think that after giving her parents $30,000, they are going to let her go after only a year? Not a very believable story IMHO.


I guess we need pics of the girl to make that determination.
 
2013-12-04 03:37:18 PM
Did we just out PocketNinja?
 
2013-12-04 03:41:57 PM
To be fair, though, Samsung makes a damn fine TV (my mom has a 55" 3D one that still looks great after
almost 3 years).

The only down side is that they use Windows XP under the hood.
 
2013-12-04 03:42:51 PM
OK, that wasn't bad. Not the best I've seen on Amazon, but still pretty good. I'm torn on this though. While I like these funny Amazon reviews, I DO read user reviews to actually get feedback from users before buying something or going somewhere. As people do this relatively frequently on Amazon, I don't go there for actually reviews because I don't want to spend an hour looking for real ones... I kind of wish Amazon would fix his, but since I buy very little from them anyway, it's not a major deal.

/The review would have been FAR better if there had been no followup at all regarding the daughter, and they just kind of quit mentioning her as if she'd never existed, because the TV was THAT good...
 
2013-12-04 03:44:30 PM

bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?


The similarities are astounding, and I've always wondered what he does in between the gems he drops here on Fark.
 
2013-12-04 03:48:04 PM

Pick: Oh, come on. Do you really think that after giving her parents $30,000, they are going to let her go after only a year? Not a very believable story IMHO.


That is a lot of sex to pay it off in a year.
 
2013-12-04 03:48:55 PM

Mikey1969: While I like these funny Amazon reviews, I DO read user reviews to actually get feedback from users before buying something or going somewhere.


The fact that people base purchasing decisions on those half-wit tard screeds is exactly why this can be so amusing sometimes. The average person doesn't know shiat about reviewing a product of any reasonable technological prowess, and if I myself wrote a review for this TV, I would hold anyone suspect who makes a purchasing decision based off of it.
 
2013-12-04 03:51:16 PM

Mikey1969: OK, that wasn't bad. Not the best I've seen on Amazon, but still pretty good. I'm torn on this though. While I like these funny Amazon reviews, I DO read user reviews to actually get feedback from users before buying something or going somewhere. As people do this relatively frequently on Amazon, I don't go there for actually reviews because I don't want to spend an hour looking for real ones... I kind of wish Amazon would fix his, but since I buy very little from them anyway, it's not a major deal.


Typically though you only see this type of stuff for products that are beyond absurd....like a $40,000 TV for example...or a gallon of milk.

I think you can also filter the reviews to only include individuals who have actually purchased the item...though I'm not positive about that.  If not, they'll still be labeled as such.
 
2013-12-04 03:57:12 PM

un4gvn666: Mikey1969: While I like these funny Amazon reviews, I DO read user reviews to actually get feedback from users before buying something or going somewhere.

The fact that people base purchasing decisions on those half-wit tard screeds is exactly why this can be so amusing sometimes. The average person doesn't know shiat about reviewing a product of any reasonable technological prowess, and if I myself wrote a review for this TV, I would hold anyone suspect who makes a purchasing decision based off of it.


No, but if they are looking for the same things I am, and are mentioning if the product lasted a year, 10 years, 3 days, those things matter, regardless of tech know-how... I have no problem with your average layman telling me about their experiences. How was customer service? Did the item break during the warranty? If so, how hard was it to get a replacement, and how did that replacement hold up? How many people have had this same issue? How is the picture for an AVERAGE user? I don't need to know the technical specs down to the decimal place, and I try to read more than one and take an average, but I'll trust a regular user that's reviewing the same things I would want to know. I'll go to an A/V website for a more professional review, maybe 2 or 3 websites, but I'll still listen to the users as well.

Shrugging Atlas:

Typically though you only see this type of stuff for products that are beyond absurd....like a $40,000 TV for example...or a gallon of milk.

I think you can also filter the reviews to only include individuals who have actually purchased the item...though I'm not positive about that.  If not, they'll still be labeled as such.


Filtering would be nice... I haven't checked for it myself. As for the absurd things, one of the best I saw was for a laptop stand that clipped into your steering wheel. Holy crap those were good, although they once again detracted from actual reviews of the product, since if you sit in your car waiting for the train, or at lunch, waiting for the carpool guys to show up, etc., I could actually see it being something people could use. Still, they were absolutely great reviews, and I saw them about 3 days after I somehow stumbled on the thing on my own...
 
2013-12-04 03:59:46 PM

bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?


It doesn't have the same goofy feel to it.  Perhaps somebody inspired by PocketNinja.
 
2013-12-04 04:02:00 PM
is that tv real?

at 80in, just get a projection screen.
 
2013-12-04 04:03:49 PM
as John Mayer would say (gosh he's talented.)

I farking lost it here.  Bravo.
 
2013-12-04 04:10:52 PM

tricycleracer: as John Mayer would say (gosh he's talented.)

I farking lost it here.  Bravo.

P.S., as for our daughter, NO ONE has the right to question our parenting. Totally out of bounds. Amanda was going into 7th grade, so it was going to be a transitional year anyway. Now she gets to see the world. How many kids her age get to go to Bahrain? I sure as heck didn't, but you don't hear me screaming "child abuse." Bottom line: MYOB! Seriously.


That is where I lost it and had to take a short break because I was laughing too hard. Especially the Bahrain part.
 
2013-12-04 04:12:43 PM
Hmph.. not as good as the classid "Like a jukebox rolled in body hair"......   http://www.amazon.com/review/R31FCVBBB1IFR7/ref=cm_cr_pr_perm?ie=UTF8 & ASIN=B0000070S1&linkCode=&nodeID=&tag=
 
2013-12-04 04:18:49 PM
I thought it was a good, funny read. If you were looking for a real review, you wouldn't have had to read very far into it to click away and go to another one.
 
2013-12-04 04:49:30 PM
Meh.  The WattGate audio-grade duplex socket reviews on Amazon were better.  Much better.
 
2013-12-04 05:07:01 PM

basemetal: Okay, I kind of grinned.  Kind of.


I agree.  A while back I looked at some really expensive watches (on Overstock, I think) that were hilarious.  This is kind of okay.
 
2013-12-04 05:13:01 PM

DjangoStonereaver: To be fair, though, Samsung makes a damn fine TV (my mom has a 55" 3D one that still looks great after
almost 3 years).

The only down side is that they use Windows XP under the hood.


Buy a Sony TV - they use FreeBSD.
 
2013-12-04 05:15:42 PM

DjangoStonereaver: To be fair, though, Samsung makes a damn fine TV (my mom has a 55" 3D one that still looks great after
almost 3 years).

The only down side is that they use Windows XP under the hood.


As someone who just spent an hour trying to figure out a 3 keystroke procedure, may I add that an ancient laptop, Windows XP and a newly-bought refurbed external monitor can open your grave and beckon you in.

But the monitor sure looks purty now. I have yet to inspect areolas on it. I can hardly wait!
 
2013-12-04 05:30:39 PM
I write software for 80" 4K Smart Super HD LED TVs, so I'm getting a kick out of this...
 
2013-12-04 05:43:16 PM
Oh c'mon, his short-but-sweet review of the "mankini" is quite chuckle-worthy:  http://www.amazon.com/review/R1J5DZJGFJTKS4/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8 &ASIN=B00CQCMP4Y&channel=detail-glance&nodeID=1036592&store=apparel"> http://www.amazon.com/review/R1J5DZJGFJTKS4/ref=cm_cr_dp_title?ie=UTF8 &ASIN=B00CQCMP4Y&channel=detail-glance&nodeID=1036592&store=apparel
 
2013-12-04 06:06:17 PM
Kid for a TV?

I can see that.

But then I just traded my left nut for a Nissan, so what do I know?


/ and I'm off to the rodeo . . . .
 
2013-12-04 06:25:51 PM

bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?


I think PN could do better. Much better.
 
2013-12-04 08:21:28 PM

maxx2112: Kid for a TV?

I can see that.

But then I just traded my left nut for a Nissan, so what do I know?


/ and I'm off to the rodeo . . . .

Tour de France

//FTFY
 
2013-12-04 08:58:25 PM

maxx2112: Kid for a TV?

I can see that.

But then I just traded my left nut for a Nissan, so what do I know?


/ and I'm off to the rodeo . . . .


Most people just treat their kids as financial losses. Like they owe their kids money or a future or something.

Bravo for this guy for turning his financial liability into an asset!
 
2013-12-04 09:53:39 PM
But, was the daughter cute?
 
2013-12-04 10:11:50 PM
if PocketNinja doesn't have an amazon account for the sole purpose of concocting fake reviews than this is indeed a disturbing world we live in.
 
2013-12-04 10:17:12 PM
Well, I guess it's better than sending her to Abu Dhabi.
 
2013-12-04 10:25:59 PM

Dr Jack Badofsky: Meh.  The WattGate audio-grade duplex socket reviews on Amazon were better.  Much better.


Sin_City_Superhero: bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?

I think PN could do better. Much better.


Is this a thing now?
 
2013-12-04 11:04:00 PM
newlin-deschler.com
 
2013-12-04 11:36:00 PM
Show off your artistry. Everyone go post your best review for this:

http://www.amazon.com/Male-Penis-Pump-Enlarger-Handsome/dp/B00CLK0S5O / ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1386218063&sr=8-3&keywords=penis+enlarger
 
2013-12-04 11:43:06 PM

p the boiler: Dr Jack Badofsky: Meh.  The WattGate audio-grade duplex socket reviews on Amazon were better.  Much better.

Sin_City_Superhero: bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?

I think PN could do better. Much better.

Is this a thing now?


Can we make it one?
 
2013-12-05 01:11:18 AM
My all-time favourite Amazon review was of the latest George RR Martin book, A Dance of Dragons.

/ A truly horrid read.
 
2013-12-05 03:51:17 AM

sendtodave: maxx2112: Kid for a TV?

I can see that.

But then I just traded my left nut for a Nissan, so what do I know?


/ and I'm off to the rodeo . . . .

Most people just treat their kids as financial losses. Like they owe their kids money or a future or something.

Bravo for this guy for turning his financial liability into an asset!




Aproves.
mjcdn.motherjones.com
 
2013-12-05 06:47:08 AM
Amazon reviews have become the definition of trying too hard. Everyone thinks they're funny. They're not
 
2013-12-05 07:50:01 AM

un4gvn666: The fact that people base purchasing decisions on those half-wit tard screeds is exactly why this can be so amusing sometimes. The average person doesn't know shiat about reviewing a product of any reasonable technological prowess, and if I myself wrote a review for this TV, I would hold anyone suspect who makes a purchasing decision based off of it.


I use the bad reviews to look at why people don't like products. Are there quality or design issues or are people complaining about something else.
 
2013-12-05 10:38:18 AM

bdub77: p the boiler: Dr Jack Badofsky: Meh.  The WattGate audio-grade duplex socket reviews on Amazon were better.  Much better.

Sin_City_Superhero: bdub77: Did we just out PocketNinja?

I think PN could do better. Much better.

Is this a thing now?

Can we make it one?


It sure would make this world better.  Much better.
 
2013-12-05 10:39:14 AM

abhorrent1: Everyone thinks they're funny. They're not


With all due respect, if everyone but you thinks it's funny, maybe the problem isn't with everyone else.

Just sayin'
 
2013-12-05 11:49:49 AM
Also, has anyone ever seen this TV up close? It's truly spectacular. I thought I was walking past a huge poster then did a double take when I realized it was a TV.
 
2013-12-05 07:19:05 PM
 
Displayed 45 of 45 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report