Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(NPR)   California doesn't bother investigating elder-abuse complaints against home health aides and nursing assistants. Fark: Because they can investigate themselves just fine   (npr.org) divider line 33
    More: Fail, nurse's aide, home maintenance, California, Center for Investigative Reporting, complaints, California Department of Public Health, Samsonite, assisted living  
•       •       •

715 clicks; posted to Politics » on 09 Nov 2013 at 6:27 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



33 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-11-09 04:18:04 PM  
1) The nursing home and assisted living corporations and the unions who represent people who work there would rather not have any pesky state inspectors getting in the way of the flow of cash from Sacramento. That also goes for the youth-worshiping Californians who consider their doddering Aunt Hortense a royal pain in the ass and want her to go be old someplace else because they have to be at the pilates studio in 26 minutes.

2) Obviously California's resources are stretched perilously thin, what with their need to enforce the porn-goggles regulations noted last night here at Fark. You want to live somewhere without common sense porn-goggle regulations, why not try Somalia, you libertarian Koch Brothers buttboy?
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2013-11-09 04:21:19 PM  
I just assumed the system worked that way. Where I live child abuse complaints against foster parents reportedly get round-filed (or bitbucketed in the digital age). The RMV took complaints about bad drivers, but trashed all the ones about police officers.
 
2013-11-09 06:28:48 PM  
cdn.bleacherreport.net

And you can lie down or I will put you down
 
2013-11-09 06:34:32 PM  
Who needs regulations? The free market will put them out of business
 
2013-11-09 06:35:25 PM  
Pro-industry solutions are the best.
 
2013-11-09 06:37:42 PM  
Heh.

State agencies have zero money right now, because California's budget has been cut to the bone, and then shaved to the marrow. They don't have the money to investigate KIDS being abused, you think there's money to investigate old people?

However, that's only part of the problem. Thanks to hiring freezes, they haven't hired anyone new for a long time; and then there are other difficulties. The requirements for hiring in state agencies are so insanely restrictive that, for instance, I cannot be hired by them because I do not have an MSW and I am not bilingual. So they often hire substandard candidates who speak Spanish and have the letters, but have no experience in elder abuse (or whatever the agency is looking for). I've noticed that a lot of these investigators are very young and easily overwhelmed and intimidated by the operators of homes and hospitals--because the state, by eliminating people who don't meet their criteria, often exclude older individuals who have experience.

So things fall between the cracks.
 
2013-11-09 06:47:02 PM  

Bucky Katt: Pro-industry solutions are the best.


Oh, it's even better. Nursing homes are infamous for firing staff who report abuse to their nursing supervisors, especially if the person doing the abuse is a licensed nurse, or a friend of the DON/ADON.

Once upon a time, while working to get my EMT, I did a stent as a CNA my senior year of high school, and shortly after. I was in a medicare-supported nursing home for a large corporation (One with the word Healthcare in all of it's facilities, typically after the town name), with a night time patient ratio of 15-20 total care patients to one CNA from the hours of 11 until 7 AM.

 I reported one of the nurses (Night LPN) for abuse after watching her physically shove and slap the face of a resident, and take food from her. The next morning, the DON called me into her office and asked me if I was embellishing or lying about my complaint in any way. When I told her no, she suddenly produced several "write ups" I had apparantly had in my file, and then accused me of leaving a patient unclean all night, despite the fact I had cleaned that patient 15 minutes before going off shift. She then told me I was being fired. Their policy, in this case, is to take photographs and notify the state board because it is an abuse issue. Strangely, they didn't follow their own policy, and could not provide any evidence of this. The notification was never made.

The matter was swept under the rug, and the nurse was only fired after she was arrested a year later for diverting narcotics.
 
2013-11-09 07:01:57 PM  

Peter von Nostrand: Who needs regulations? The free market will put them out of business


It very well could. The civil penalties for elder abuse are actually very large in California. If you are worried about someone in a nursing home or other elder care, call a lawyer who handles those cases.
 
2013-11-09 07:07:02 PM  
Eh, I thought that was pretty much how it was everywhere in the United States? Seriously, this is a problem. Also, it doesn't help that the home health aides are usually paid poorly. Yes, of course I'll take care of old people for 10 dollars an hour. Uh, no, I'll pass.
 
2013-11-09 07:09:44 PM  

Gyrfalcon: State agencies have zero money right now, because California's budget has been cut to the bone, and then shaved to the marrow. They don't have the money to investigate KIDS being abused, you think there's money to investigate old people?


Any hack can blame their farkups on budget cuts, but they also didn't investigate when they did have the money. This has been going on in California for a long time.
 
2013-11-09 07:09:44 PM  
I'm surprised no one's saying she got beaten because she voted Republican.

/the GOP has some odd conspiracy theories about California
 
d23 [TotalFark]
2013-11-09 07:15:26 PM  
Wait a second, I thought regulation was bad, and California is a shiat pile because of regulation and government and democrats and all that.

regulation bad, but but but but

<<head splodes>>
 
2013-11-09 07:33:46 PM  
Why not?  It works great for cops.
 
2013-11-09 07:35:42 PM  

Gulper Eel: 1) The nursing home and assisted living corporations and the unions who represent people who work there would rather not have any pesky state inspectors getting in the way of the flow of cash from Sacramento. That also goes for the youth-worshiping Californians who consider their doddering Aunt Hortense a royal pain in the ass and want her to go be old someplace else because they have to be at the pilates studio in 26 minutes.

2) Obviously California's resources are stretched perilously thin, what with their need to enforce the porn-goggles regulations noted last night here at Fark. You want to live somewhere without common sense porn-goggle regulations, why not try Somalia, you libertarian Koch Brothers buttboy?


Nursing home abuse is a nationwide problem and California is hardly the worst.

http://nursinghomereportcards.com/

Must be those powerful unions and youth culture in Texas and Indiana.
 
2013-11-09 07:49:08 PM  

Fart_Machine: Gulper Eel: 1) The nursing home and assisted living corporations and the unions who represent people who work there would rather not have any pesky state inspectors getting in the way of the flow of cash from Sacramento. That also goes for the youth-worshiping Californians who consider their doddering Aunt Hortense a royal pain in the ass and want her to go be old someplace else because they have to be at the pilates studio in 26 minutes.

2) Obviously California's resources are stretched perilously thin, what with their need to enforce the porn-goggles regulations noted last night here at Fark. You want to live somewhere without common sense porn-goggle regulations, why not try Somalia, you libertarian Koch Brothers buttboy?

Nursing home abuse is a nationwide problem and California is hardly the worst.

http://nursinghomereportcards.com/

Must be those powerful unions and youth culture in Texas and Indiana.


Illinois and NY both have Fs.  Therefore unions are all good and should never be questioned.

Or something...
 
2013-11-09 07:53:20 PM  

Fark It: Fart_Machine: Gulper Eel: 1) The nursing home and assisted living corporations and the unions who represent people who work there would rather not have any pesky state inspectors getting in the way of the flow of cash from Sacramento. That also goes for the youth-worshiping Californians who consider their doddering Aunt Hortense a royal pain in the ass and want her to go be old someplace else because they have to be at the pilates studio in 26 minutes.

2) Obviously California's resources are stretched perilously thin, what with their need to enforce the porn-goggles regulations noted last night here at Fark. You want to live somewhere without common sense porn-goggle regulations, why not try Somalia, you libertarian Koch Brothers buttboy?

Nursing home abuse is a nationwide problem and California is hardly the worst.

http://nursinghomereportcards.com/

Must be those powerful unions and youth culture in Texas and Indiana.

Illinois and NY both have Fs.  Therefore unions are all good and should never be questioned.

Or something...


Where did I say that? Point is it might not be ZOMG unions are ebil! Knee jerk much?
 
2013-11-09 07:54:55 PM  
Yep, government employees are either jack-booted thugs going after bootstrappy entrepreneurs or corrupt idiots allowing any type of malfeasance to occur while the employees surf the internet. While this is certainly true, when trying to do their work correctly, employees are often portrayed badly. Note that legislators will rear up on their hind legs and blame overzealous staffers instead of the laws they should have passed or should not have passed.

Several recent and horrible stories about nursing homes/care facilities that are truly awful are playing out right now.
 
2013-11-09 07:59:13 PM  

Fart_Machine: Where did I say that? Point is it might not be ZOMG unions are ebil! Knee jerk much?


And maybe they are, and exert undue influence upon the state agencies that are responsible for regulating them.
 
2013-11-09 08:06:02 PM  

Fark It: Fart_Machine: Where did I say that? Point is it might not be ZOMG unions are ebil! Knee jerk much?

And maybe they are, and exert undue influence upon the state agencies that are responsible for regulating them.


Which isn't validated by this article or any correlation based upon state nursing home abuse. But whatever.
 
2013-11-09 09:21:45 PM  
We're pretty sure there's an illegal nursing home operating down the street. Authorities told us too bad, but they can't really care.

At least one of them has a conscience though. The guy parked on our side of the street where we usually park the day we brought my grandmother home from the hospital for hospice care. I put a note on the guy's car, saying "Hey, please park on the other side, some of the residents have elderly family they need to care for, thanks, the neighbors." Turns out he went to his car right when the ambulance pulled up and blocked his car in diagonally so he couldn't leave. My uncle said the guy had quite the deer in the headlights look after looking at the note, my uncle, my grandmother on the gurney, and the vehicles. The car hasn't been on our side since.

/some things are just so perfect they don't need planning
 
2013-11-09 09:26:44 PM  
I just moved my 87 year old mother into assisted living today.


/ not getting a kick......
 
2013-11-09 09:36:04 PM  

Gulper Eel: 1) The nursing home and assisted living corporations and the unions who represent people who work there would rather not have any pesky state inspectors getting in the way of the flow of cash from Sacramento. That also goes for the youth-worshiping Californians who consider their doddering Aunt Hortense a royal pain in the ass and want her to go be old someplace else because they have to be at the pilates studio in 26 minutes.


Dude, you're supposed to blame the Union Thugs only, especially when the word "union" appears nowhere in TFA.  Nothing is ever the fault of the Job Creators®, the peace and blessings of Mammon be upon them.
 
2013-11-09 09:55:47 PM  
Better make sure we have enough money to give illegal crotch fruit for the DREAM Act.  Fark your grandmother, citizen.
 
2013-11-09 10:23:02 PM  
If the elderly didn't want to be abused by their caregivers, they should have thought about that before they decided to get old.
 
2013-11-09 10:38:28 PM  

Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: And you can lie down or I will put you down


no. it's "and you will go to sleep or I will put you to sleep"
 
2013-11-09 10:39:34 PM  

Gulper Eel: Gyrfalcon: State agencies have zero money right now, because California's budget has been cut to the bone, and then shaved to the marrow. They don't have the money to investigate KIDS being abused, you think there's money to investigate old people?

Any hack can blame their farkups on budget cuts, but they also didn't investigate when they did have the money. This has been going on in California for a long time.


Cal didn't have money in 2006. We haven't had money for over 20 years.

And I remember the Valdivia case. It's like I said. There isn't money--or time, or interest--to investigate KIDS being abused, there certainly isn't enough of any of them to worry about old people.

I can tell you where the problem really lies: It's caught in the regulatory/legislative cracks between mental health care and incarceration and between well-meaning laws meant to keep people out of institutions and laws meant to protect the elderly and the helpless. Down in that dark crevice is where Skilled Nursing Facilities lie, and it isn't pretty. It's where you get people who are too demented to be running around loose on the streets, yet not really mentally ill; they're not retarded but not crazy, often they've got severe physical ailments that need special care which costs a lot of money but frequently they are poor or lack the family support to get them to and from the doctor on their own.

Then you have well-intentioned lawmakers who often don't understand why doddering Aunt Hortense has to be strapped to the bed ten hours a day because they aren't there to see how she routinely falls out of bed or falls out of the window when she isn't restrained; and they go back to Sacramento and pass laws about how and when and why people can be restrained or medicated. This means Auntie has to be placed in a bed on the floor with all the attendant sanitary problems. And these same inspectors don't realize that Old Uncle Fred isn't screaming because he's in pain, he's screaming because he's having flashbacks to Tarawa, but he can't be given his meds because of those same laws they passed last week. And on and on.

On the flip side, if you've ever been in a SNF, they are real hellholes, even the best of them. The residents are smelly, scary and depressing to work with; demented adults swear, bite, hit, shiat their pants, often with amazing strength, and there's no reasoning with them. Or they lie unmoving in their beds for hours and days at a time. Thus, it is difficult to get and keep good workers, so these places often wind up with crappy ill-paid workers and high turnover. SNFs do not make, as you seem to think, piles of money, because the overhead is so high, the cost of each patient is incredibly expensive, and Medicare payments are doled out as if the government was spending its own blood.

When you combine crazy patients who can't do things for themselves and underpaid, overworked employees without proper training, there WILL be abuses. What's amazing isn't that there is abuse in SNFs and nursing homes--it's that there isn't more.
 
2013-11-09 10:55:28 PM  

Gyrfalcon: What's amazing isn't that there is abuse in SNFs and nursing homes--it's that there isn't more.


So... we can go beat up the elderly in nursing homes now?
 
2013-11-09 11:32:33 PM  
They learned how to regulate themselves from Wall St.
 
2013-11-09 11:39:24 PM  
This is the most disheartening story I've read all day.


Damn it. I need a drink.
 
2013-11-10 12:13:49 AM  

Weatherkiss: If the elderly didn't want to be abused by their caregivers, they should have thought about that before they decided to get old.


Nursing homes are over-regulated already. Get the government out and let the market decide who gets beat!
 
2013-11-10 04:09:02 AM  

Gulper Eel: Gyrfalcon: State agencies have zero money right now, because California's budget has been cut to the bone, and then shaved to the marrow. They don't have the money to investigate KIDS being abused, you think there's money to investigate old people?

Any hack can blame their farkups on budget cuts, but they also didn't investigate when they did have the money. This has been going on in California for a long time.


The important message I want you to take away from this is that California is a terrible, horrible place - and you should never, under any circumstances, come here.
 
2013-11-10 05:08:35 AM  

Weatherkiss: Gyrfalcon: What's amazing isn't that there is abuse in SNFs and nursing homes--it's that there isn't more.

So... we can go beat up the elderly in nursing homes now?


If that's what makes you happy, you sick, weird f*cker. Or you could go work for PETA and torture kittens in the name of saving them if you're really that degraded, either way.
 
2013-11-10 12:01:16 PM  

I HATE LIBS: Better make sure we have enough money to give illegal crotch fruit for the DREAM Act.  Fark your grandmother, citizen.


How's that abstinence-only edumakashun and defunding Planned Parenthood working out for you?
 
Displayed 33 of 33 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report