If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(BBC)   The Senate Intelligence Committee orders a review of US spying program. You know, the same people that turned a blind eye to all this the first time   (bbc.co.uk) divider line 89
    More: Unlikely, U.S. Senate, United States Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, Intelligence Committee, President Obama, National Archives, US TV, intelligence, foreign official  
•       •       •

294 clicks; posted to Politics » on 29 Oct 2013 at 7:46 AM (39 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



89 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-10-29 07:51:09 AM
The Senate will save us from an out of control NSA..

Yeah, right.  And the House is going on about how there's not enough time left in the year to do anything, so they're going to take the rest of the year off.
 
2013-10-29 07:51:16 AM
Our secret judges that are accountable to no one should offer plenty of review.
 
2013-10-29 08:02:26 AM
This is how SHIELD got started
 
2013-10-29 08:13:12 AM
The GOP has been handed a goldmine

Why aren't they taking advantage of it?

Sure there are partisan hacks who attack Obama for absolutely everything who are pissed about it, but most Republicans are passive about the whole damn thing.
 
2013-10-29 08:15:03 AM
Hypocrisy is the least evil here by far. Just be glad they're doing something (or feel like they have to give the appearance of doing something in any case).
 
2013-10-29 08:22:01 AM

cman: The GOP has been handed a goldmine

Why aren't they taking advantage of it?

Sure there are partisan hacks who attack Obama for absolutely everything who are pissed about it, but most Republicans are passive about the whole damn thing.


How else are Boeing, Lockheed, and GD going to outbid foreign competition on arms deals to "friendly" dictators? No contracto no kickbacko, claro y comprende, compadre?
 
2013-10-29 08:25:07 AM

cman: The GOP has been handed a goldmine

Why aren't they taking advantage of it?


Because they support the national security apparatus.
 
2013-10-29 08:25:35 AM
GOP logic, now that people are paying attention to a topic lets pretend we are driving results on that topic..even when they caused it, in most cases..LOL
 
2013-10-29 08:30:30 AM
""To be effective, the NSA must be able to conduct these queries quickly, without regard to which phone carrier a terrorist or conspirator uses," she[Feinstein] said. "And the records must be available for a few years - longer than phone companies need them for billing purposes."  -

Dianne Feinstein insists NSA's massive snooping operations are 'not surveillance'


I feel much safer knowing that Chairman Feinstein is looking out for us...
 
2013-10-29 08:34:53 AM
I'm sure the world's leaders are suitably comforted.

/there'll be fallout, but it'll be economic.  Maybe a fake trade war, or a little boycott
//but America probably doesn't export lots of different things to Europe
 
2013-10-29 08:39:32 AM

cman: The GOP has been handed a goldmine

Why aren't they taking advantage of it?

Sure there are partisan hacks who attack Obama for absolutely everything who are pissed about it, but most Republicans are passive about the whole damn thing.


They are authoritarian douchebags. They just want the power next cycle. The idiots are going to have this issue taken right out of their hands.
 
2013-10-29 08:40:47 AM
The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.
 
2013-10-29 08:41:23 AM
Yeah, Lindsey Graham will fix this shiat right up, doncha know!
 
2013-10-29 08:42:16 AM

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.


Doesn't mean that its right

We're supposed to be better than that.
 
2013-10-29 08:42:33 AM

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.


I don't give a shiat about Merkel. I am pissed the NSA is spying on me. It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens. Legal is not even a thing anymore.
 
2013-10-29 08:44:05 AM
Correspondents say pressure is growing on the White House to explain why President Barack Obama apparently did not know about the extent of the intelligence gathering operations.

Do they not understand the concept of plausible deniability?

They may have never said "We're tapping her phones", they just said "Here's this information on what Merkel wants out of the G8 meetings"... Magic!

cman: The GOP has been handed a goldmine

Why aren't they taking advantage of it?

Sure there are partisan hacks who attack Obama for absolutely everything who are pissed about it, but most Republicans are passive about the whole damn thing.


It's almost as if this has been going on for decades, and they don't want to lose their power (and insider trading information...)
 
2013-10-29 08:44:11 AM

badhatharry: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

I don't give a shiat about Merkel. I am pissed the NSA is spying on me. It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens. Legal is not even a thing anymore.


^^^This
 
2013-10-29 08:44:17 AM
Well you see, Subby. That was when the NSA was spying on regular powerless peasants. It was totally patriotty and we should know our place.

It's only when the NSA was caught spying on the powerful and the elites of the world did things get all OMG THIS IS AN OUTRAGE!!!!
 
2013-10-29 08:50:00 AM
Supposedly, even if they wanted to do anything about it, the Senators aren't allowed to talk about any classified information that they are privy to -- so if they talk about US spying efforts, they'll end up sounding like Michele Bachmann on a bad day.  The Snowden case has finally given them a reason to have a credible public discussion.
 
2013-10-29 08:50:19 AM
If you don't trust the government you're a 911truther!
 
2013-10-29 08:51:12 AM

jakomo002: I'm sure the world's leaders are suitably comforted.

/there'll be fallout, but it'll be economic.  Maybe a fake trade war, or a little boycott
//but America probably doesn't export lots of different things to Europe


Many of those foreign leaders have their hand firmly in the NSA's cookie jar too.

When PRISM first came the light I recall the Germans stating that they were quite pleased with their cooperation with the NSA and how they received information when requested. Here's one article talking about... There are many others.

I don't know what else is to come out of Snowden's cache of documents. If nothing big is left then it will likely blow over in most, if not all, countries. The leaders, however, must feign the same outrage our leaders do while they continue to receive a steady stream of intelligence from our agencies.

Sad but that is how it will likely go.
 
2013-10-29 08:51:28 AM
If only there was some way they could possibly spy on it.

While they are checking I wonder what they've on Benghazi.
 
2013-10-29 08:51:36 AM

neversubmit: If you don't trust the government you're a 911truther!


No one says that
 
2013-10-29 08:52:05 AM

cman: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

Doesn't mean that its right

We're supposed to be better than that.


Why?
 
2013-10-29 08:54:26 AM

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: cman: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

Doesn't mean that its right

We're supposed to be better than that.

Why?


I dunno. Its just how I feel.
 
2013-10-29 08:55:07 AM

badhatharry: It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens.


Not disagreeing with you there. It's just funny that suddenly Congress is all up in arms over legitimate spying.
 
2013-10-29 08:56:06 AM

AngryDragon: ""To be effective, the NSA must be able to conduct these queries quickly, without regard to which phone carrier a terrorist or conspirator uses," she[Feinstein] said. "And the records must be available for a few years - longer than phone companies need them for billing purposes."  -

Dianne Feinstein insists NSA's massive snooping operations are 'not surveillance'


I feel much safer knowing that Chairman Feinstein is looking out for us...


www.wired.com

Just don't stand too close to her, you're likely to end up shot.

For those without a clue, that's Senator Dianne Feinstein violating ever damned gun safety rule in the book: Magazine inserted, bolt closed, safety off, muzzle pointed in an unsafe direction, and her farkin' finger on the farkin' trigger.

Anyone that stupid doesn't deserve to be in Congress.
 
2013-10-29 08:57:15 AM

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: badhatharry: It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens.

Not disagreeing with you there. It's just funny that suddenly Congress is all up in arms over legitimate spying.


They don't care about spying on the little  people.
 
2013-10-29 09:00:03 AM
Ms. Feinstein: "It is my understanding that President Obama was not aware Chancellor Merkel's communications were being collected since 2002. That is a big problem". Doesn't she know that, officially speaking, Obama never knows about anything that's embarrassing? She's already embarrassed herself enough defending the NSA and she's about to do it again putting on this dog and pony show..
 
2013-10-29 09:03:00 AM

dittybopper: AngryDragon: ""To be effective, the NSA must be able to conduct these queries quickly, without regard to which phone carrier a terrorist or conspirator uses," she[Feinstein] said. "And the records must be available for a few years - longer than phone companies need them for billing purposes."  -

Dianne Feinstein insists NSA's massive snooping operations are 'not surveillance'


I feel much safer knowing that Chairman Feinstein is looking out for us...

[www.wired.com image 670x545]

Just don't stand too close to her, you're likely to end up shot.

For those without a clue, that's Senator Dianne Feinstein violating ever damned gun safety rule in the book: Magazine inserted, bolt closed, safety off, muzzle pointed in an unsafe direction, and her farkin' finger on the farkin' trigger.

Anyone that stupid doesn't deserve to be in Congress.


Really? This is what you're outraged about?
 
2013-10-29 09:03:17 AM

slykens1: I don't know what else is to come out of Snowden's cache of documents. If nothing big is left then it will likely blow over in most, if not all, countries. The leaders, however, must feign the same outrage our leaders do while they continue to receive a steady stream of intelligence from our agencies.



You're paying too much attention to terrible US media framing.

People are less upset that their leader was spied on, and more upset that so were they and EVERYONE THEY KNOW.  I mean, tens of millions of calls....

Don't be concerned with the leaders' scripted reactions, be concerned with the tens of millions of "the little people" who, if they live in democracies, might demand of their governments some retribution (boycotts, protests, higher tariffs, new trade agreements ...)
 
2013-10-29 09:03:25 AM

oryx: Ms. Feinstein: "It is my understanding that President Obama was not aware Chancellor Merkel's communications were being collected since 2002. That is a big problem". Doesn't she know that, officially speaking, Obama never knows about anything that's embarrassing? She's already embarrassed herself enough defending the NSA and she's about to do it again putting on this dog and pony show..


What's the problem with what she said this time?

And yes, when she claimed the NSA was protecting us, I nearly sprained my eyeballs.
 
2013-10-29 09:04:35 AM
A centralized, unquestioningly powerful organization attempting to keep itself accountable to laws that apparently don't apply to it.  What could go wrong?

dittybopper: Just don't stand too close to her, you're likely to end up shot.

For those without a clue, that's Senator Dianne Feinstein violating ever damned gun safety rule in the book: Magazine inserted, bolt closed, safety off, muzzle pointed in an unsafe direction, and her farkin' finger on the farkin' trigger.


Dear God, please tell me that's not a real gun.  I'd be in favor of controlling her ability to own or use guns.
 
2013-10-29 09:15:49 AM

riverwalk barfly: badhatharry: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

I don't give a shiat about Merkel. I am pissed the NSA is spying on me. It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens. Legal is not even a thing anymore.

^^^This


Thing is, you give them that kind of power and it will steadily and inexorably be turned against you as well, no matter how many safeguards you think you've put in place. Always for good reasons, of course. Look at airline security. It went from keeping bombs off planes to questioning why you're carrying so much cash, to demanding to search your laptop, to arresting you for having drugs. In short, it's evolved into a law enforcement internal checkpoint.
 
2013-10-29 09:20:13 AM

IrishFarmer: A centralized, unquestioningly powerful organization attempting to keep itself accountable to laws that apparently don't apply to it.  What could go wrong?

dittybopper: Just don't stand too close to her, you're likely to end up shot.

For those without a clue, that's Senator Dianne Feinstein violating ever damned gun safety rule in the book: Magazine inserted, bolt closed, safety off, muzzle pointed in an unsafe direction, and her farkin' finger on the farkin' trigger.

Dear God, please tell me that's not a real gun.  I'd be in favor of controlling her ability to own or use guns.


Funnily enough, she's one of a few Californians to have a concealed weapon permit. The rest of us can't have one, but she does.
 
2013-10-29 09:21:25 AM

cman: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

Doesn't mean that its right

We're supposed to be better than that.


Where did you get that idea? When has the United States ever been "better", especially when it comes to geopolitics?
 
2013-10-29 09:23:36 AM

cman: neversubmit: If you don't trust the government you're a 911truther!

No one says that


Well, I am a nobody, but I did say it.
 
2013-10-29 09:24:21 AM
Of course, intelligence is beneficial when it's accountable and properly overseen, but that's never going to happen again in the US. For example, we're not even going to see reasonable constraints on domestic surveillance of US citizens (none of whom were involved in 9/11, by the way), let alone on allies, and so forth. In the US, politicians and over-zealous types have never had it this good (voting strategies, etc) with respect to information about us innocent folks, so why should they care what it does to the Constitution or the economy? They're getting paid.  I could be wrong, but we'll see if even an inch of surveillance policy improvement ever happens voluntarily, or at all.
 
2013-10-29 09:32:46 AM

jjorsett: Funnily enough, she's one of a few Californians to have a concealed weapon permit. The rest of us can't have one, but she does.


Considering two of her colleagues were assassinated in her presence, I'm going to give her a pass on this.
 
2013-10-29 09:33:37 AM

dittybopper: AngryDragon: ""To be effective, the NSA must be able to conduct these queries quickly, without regard to which phone carrier a terrorist or conspirator uses," she[Feinstein] said. "And the records must be available for a few years - longer than phone companies need them for billing purposes."  -

Dianne Feinstein insists NSA's massive snooping operations are 'not surveillance'


I feel much safer knowing that Chairman Feinstein is looking out for us...

[www.wired.com image 670x545]

Just don't stand too close to her, you're likely to end up shot.

For those without a clue, that's Senator Dianne Feinstein violating ever damned gun safety rule in the book: Magazine inserted, bolt closed, safety off, muzzle pointed in an unsafe direction, and her farkin' finger on the farkin' trigger.

Anyone that stupid doesn't deserve to be in Congress.


The woman in the red scarf seems to share your opinion as well... I cringe and die a little every time someone like that talks about gun control.
 
2013-10-29 09:35:55 AM

Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: jjorsett: Funnily enough, she's one of a few Californians to have a concealed weapon permit. The rest of us can't have one, but she does.

Considering two of her colleagues were assassinated in her presence, I'm going to give her a pass on this.


Yes, she's a higher profile target.  But she's not more valuable than any other human.
 
2013-10-29 09:36:57 AM

HooskerDoo: Really? This is what you're outraged about?


It's an indicator of her relative level of intelligence.  Even Jim-Bob with 3 teeth in his head and married to his own first cousin knows better than to do something that stupid.
 
2013-10-29 09:37:42 AM

I_C_Weener: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: jjorsett: Funnily enough, she's one of a few Californians to have a concealed weapon permit. The rest of us can't have one, but she does.

Considering two of her colleagues were assassinated in her presence, I'm going to give her a pass on this.

Yes, she's a higher profile target.  But she's not more valuable than any other human.


In fact, she can be, and will eventually, be replaced.
 
2013-10-29 09:55:02 AM

oryx: Ms. Feinstein: "It is my understanding that President Obama was not aware Chancellor Merkel's communications were being collected since 2002. That is a big problem". Doesn't she know that, officially speaking, Obama never knows about anything that's embarrassing? She's already embarrassed herself enough defending the NSA and she's about to do it again putting on this dog and pony show..


www.infiniteunknown.net
 
2013-10-29 09:56:37 AM

Zeb Hesselgresser: oryx: Ms. Feinstein: "It is my understanding that President Obama was not aware Chancellor Merkel's communications were being collected since 2002. That is a big problem". Doesn't she know that, officially speaking, Obama never knows about anything that's embarrassing? She's already embarrassed herself enough defending the NSA and she's about to do it again putting on this dog and pony show..

[www.infiniteunknown.net image 587x317]


Its almost become comical how much of a "know nothing" President he is

/ 9/10. I am gonna get some bites.
 
2013-10-29 09:59:45 AM

dittybopper: I_C_Weener: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: jjorsett: Funnily enough, she's one of a few Californians to have a concealed weapon permit. The rest of us can't have one, but she does.

Considering two of her colleagues were assassinated in her presence, I'm going to give her a pass on this.

Yes, she's a higher profile target.  But she's not more valuable than any other human.

In fact, she can be, and will eventually, be replaced.


She's been an embarrassment to her Chair position. What reasonable oversight can she ever claim when overpriced, overzealous, questionably legal domestic surveillance programs haven't even been accounted for to the public? And now, wow, what a courageous stand for her to say we may not spy on the leaders --- her equals in status ---  of our allies. Meanwhile, her husband Richard Blum's organization continues to profit selling US post offices to private developers. Such integrity in that household!
 
2013-10-29 10:20:50 AM

krackpipe: What reasonable oversight can she ever claim when overpriced, overzealous, questionably legal domestic surveillance programs haven't even been accounted for to the public? And now, wow, what a courageous stand for her to say we may not spy on the leaders --- her equals in status ---  of our allies.


Those priorities are exactly 180 degrees wrong:  We should not be spying on the US public, not without valid, particularized warrants, but spying on foreign heads of state is what we should be doing.

And I would point out that just because some nation is an ally now, that doesn't mean they will be in the future.  Take for example Japan.  We were allies in WWI with Japan, and yet, a mere 23 years later, they bombed Pearl Harbor.  The problem is maintaining continuity of intelligence.  If you haven't been listening to them until they decide they are no longer your allies, then you've got to play a serious game of catch-up in order to figure things out.  Of course, we're going to be in that mode now anyway with the revelations about this, because the Germans would be stupid not to institute some measures to prevent us from listening to their head of state.
 
2013-10-29 10:24:13 AM
Say it with me now: w-h-i-t-e-w-a-s-h spells ....


/'nother round of good cop, bad cop *yawn*
//these people are so goddam predictable
 
2013-10-29 10:27:33 AM

AngryDragon: ""To be effective, the NSA must be able to conduct these queries quickly, without regard to which phone carrier a terrorist or conspirator uses," she[Feinstein] said. "And the records must be available for a few years - longer than phone companies need them for billing purposes."  -

Dianne Feinstein insists NSA's massive snooping operations are 'not surveillance'


I feel much safer knowing that Chairman Feinstein is looking out for us...


And the courageous Harry Reid has once again supported safety over liberty.

/is Feinstein ever right about anything?
 
2013-10-29 10:30:12 AM

badhatharry: Angry Drunk Bureaucrat: The real scandal here is that the NSA got caught spying on foreign leaders.

If you didn't think we were spying on them, you're fairly naive.

I don't give a shiat about Merkel. I am pissed the NSA is spying on me. It's legal to spy on foreign leaders. It's illegal to spy on US citizens. Legal is not even a thing anymore.


We live under a lawless regime. Speaking up against that makes you a racist, militant teahardist according to the state-worshiping members of the media and the useful idiots on Fark that support them.

/I remember when Czar was an outlier of the Fark left. Now, he would fit right at home.
 
Displayed 50 of 89 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report