If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Local10 WPLG)   Spirit Airlines set to unveil new "Safe for Flight" fee for passengers wanting planes passing FAA inspections   (local10.com) divider line 36
    More: Scary, Spirit Airlines, Federal Aviation Administration, Fort Lauderdale, flight delay, passengers, Planned Maintenance  
•       •       •

2334 clicks; posted to Business » on 24 Oct 2013 at 1:47 PM (43 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



36 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-10-24 12:08:09 PM
Every time I hear one of these stories I feel a little less bad for people who were burned by Spirit's poor customer service. If price is all that matters to you then Welcome to your Free Market Paradise.
 
2013-10-24 12:23:16 PM
These dopes can't even get their story straight and neither can the news either apparently.

Airline blames delays on voluntary engine inspections

Travelers said representatives at the customer service counter told them the Federal Aviation Administration had deemed the planes unsafe for flight.

Following the engine failure on one of our aircraft last week ... we are completing a proactive and voluntary check on our aircraft engines overnight as a precautionary measure.

"Spirit Airlines has just delayed an 8:40 PM departure to 12:35 AM blaming an FAA FLASH INSPECTION," Doug Stewart tweeted.
 
2013-10-24 12:23:56 PM

exick: and neither can the news either apparently.


Note to self: no more drnka posting.
 
2013-10-24 12:36:36 PM
Weird. There was a VERY knowledgable Farker here chewing me out for suggesting the FFA does inspections.

He claimed (as an "industry insider") that the FAA doesn't care if planes are leaking engine oil, have cracks, etc. All they care about is their coffee breaks.

I'm SHOCKED to find out he had an axe to grind!
 
2013-10-24 12:38:38 PM

mediablitz: Weird. There was a VERY knowledgable Farker here chewing me out for suggesting the FFA does inspections.

He claimed (as an "industry insider") that the FAA doesn't care if planes are leaking engine oil, have cracks, etc. All they care about is their coffee breaks.

I'm SHOCKED to find out he had an axe to grind!


The FAA doesn't do routine inspections so long as you take care of them yourself. If there's a problem and they suspect you've been cheating on the paperwork they'll come down on you.
 
2013-10-24 01:14:51 PM
"You should at least give the people that's paying a clear answer," added Cathie Davis, who was flying to Detroit. "I'm not using Spirit no more."

Really?
 
2013-10-24 01:47:38 PM
I'm going to implement a Safe For Work fee, for when people want me to put on pants.
 
2013-10-24 02:03:18 PM
I don't understand why people who fly Spirit expect anything other than a horrible experience.  Spirit's track record is well-documented.
 
2013-10-24 02:11:33 PM

flaflaflowhigh: I don't understand why people who fly Spirit expect anything other than a horrible experience.  Spirit's track record is well-documented.


Yeah. And Frank farking Miller didn't do a good job with the movie adaptation, either.
 
2013-10-24 02:17:11 PM
I swear to god, if this happens a dozen more times, I'm never flying Spirit Airlines again.
 
2013-10-24 02:34:01 PM

exick: These dopes can't even get their story straight and neither can the news either apparently.

Airline blames delays on voluntary engine inspections

Travelers said representatives at the customer service counter told them the Federal Aviation Administration had deemed the planes unsafe for flight.

Following the engine failure on one of our aircraft last week ... we are completing a proactive and voluntary check on our aircraft engines overnight as a precautionary measure.

"Spirit Airlines has just delayed an 8:40 PM departure to 12:35 AM blaming an FAA FLASH INSPECTION," Doug Stewart tweeted.


"This is your captain, we're going to have a voluntary emergency landing on the highway down below. Thank you for flying Spirit."
 
2013-10-24 02:38:52 PM
Oh, you wanted a "SAFE" aircraft to fly in... well, that'll be ( places pinkie on corner of mouth )... $1,000 more. Cash, no receipt... and hurry up, you are delaying boarding...
 
2013-10-24 02:58:11 PM
fark spirit airlines, I will never fly them again.  Worst airline in the world by far.
 
2013-10-24 03:12:55 PM

Ima_Lurker: will never fly them again


That's pretty much what my first-hand experience with them has been.. Flew them to Vegas without reading the fine print.. Caught it in time to pre-pay for checked bags, vs getting soaked $100 at the ramp.

Flew from Dallas to Vegas, it took ALMOST as long for our luggage to materialize as the farking flight lasted. Nearly 40 people never got their bags after the first batch of passengers got theirs in about 20 minutes.

It took 2+ hours for some "customer service" asshole to finally call downstairs and another 30 minutes before suddenly, automagically, a second baggage carousel turned on and puked out everyone else's bags..

On the return flight to Dallas, same thing happened.. The entire plane's luggage was held up for close to 2 hours, and as it turned out the carts were taken to another baggage claim location, so we all had to walk down 12 more gates to get our crap. No apology, no nothing. Just "Go get your crap before it gets impounded as lost luggage NOW"


NEVER AGAIN!
 
2013-10-24 03:25:07 PM
If you're going to fly an airline named after a cigarette, I guess this is the kind of thing you can expect.
 
2013-10-24 03:42:30 PM
Based on the grammar of the passengers in that article, I'd say it was Captain Darwin being removed as pilot that held up the departure.
 
2013-10-24 03:54:19 PM

stpauler: "This is your captain, we're going to have a voluntary emergency landing on the highway down below. Thank you for flying Spirit."


I suspect if they could land on the highways all the time they would. Would save a lot of money on landing fees and gate rent. You'd just have to coordinate where to have the air stairs and fuel truck. It could be like commuter airlines in the old days - the pilots will get out and throw your luggage on the shoulder and throw the next passenger's in the the hold.
 
2013-10-24 03:57:57 PM

markie_farkie: Ima_Lurker: will never fly them again

That's pretty much what my first-hand experience with them has been.. Flew them to Vegas without reading the fine print.. Caught it in time to pre-pay for checked bags, vs getting soaked $100 at the ramp.

Flew from Dallas to Vegas, it took ALMOST as long for our luggage to materialize as the farking flight lasted. Nearly 40 people never got their bags after the first batch of passengers got theirs in about 20 minutes.

It took 2+ hours for some "customer service" asshole to finally call downstairs and another 30 minutes before suddenly, automagically, a second baggage carousel turned on and puked out everyone else's bags..

On the return flight to Dallas, same thing happened.. The entire plane's luggage was held up for close to 2 hours, and as it turned out the carts were taken to another baggage claim location, so we all had to walk down 12 more gates to get our crap. No apology, no nothing. Just "Go get your crap before it gets impounded as lost luggage NOW"


NEVER AGAIN!


Maybe it's the Vegas airport that's cursed or the combination of the two, my bad experience was Vegas to BWI.  A red-eye that was supposed to leave at 11:45 PM ended up leaving after 3 AM with no explanation, and the gate was so crowded with other late spirit flights that we had to wait in the hallway about 3 gates away.

And what the hell is up with flying on a red-eye where the seats don't recline?  Got tired of my forehead smacking into the seat in front of me when I dozed off.

Don't get me started on the "so you want to pick a seat" fee that changes based on what seat you picked.

The only good part of the experience is that the person who checked us in didn't charge me the overweight fee on top of the checked bag fee.
 
2013-10-24 04:35:05 PM
If the type of airplane I'm flying, or flying in, especially at the same airline, has had an Uncontained Failure (meaning it pretty much exploded), I wouldn't be too pissed off that I had to wait while the engines are inspected. Also, a fair amount of the time, the people telling the gate agents what is going on, don't tell them exactly what the issue is. When they are told the details (if it is a mechanical problem), they often don't understand what exactly it is, so they just kind of spit out something that makes little sense, or they give a very generic reason, or don't explain it well. A small portion of the time,they get it right. Its an issue I really wish airlines would work on. There have been quite a few times where I have calmed many passengers down with a simple, honest explination. Granted, the stripes on my shoulders give me a little more credibility than a gate agent.

/no desire to work for Spirit
 
2013-10-24 04:42:08 PM
Actual headline: "Spirit Airlines customers grounded at Fort Lauderdale airport"

Not sure how this is news.
 
2013-10-24 04:44:45 PM
I love how there's a tab on that news site just for Sex Offenders stories.

At least I assume that's what it is. Maybe it's a "life stories" section for sex offenders.

*checks*

No, it's about sex offenders.

/sex offenders sex offenders  sex offenders
 
2013-10-24 04:52:20 PM

flaflaflowhigh: I don't understand why people who fly Spirit expect anything other than a horrible experience.  Spirit's track record is well-documented.


Idiots buy tickets based solely on price.
 
2013-10-24 04:58:36 PM
Spirit's top executives want to keep their high salaries. That's why.
 
2013-10-24 05:20:39 PM

Russ1642: flaflaflowhigh: I don't understand why people who fly Spirit expect anything other than a horrible experience.  Spirit's track record is well-documented.

Idiots buy tickets based solely on price.


I did a last minute, spur of the moment trip to New York last December (I was at the airport less than 2 hours after I decided to visit some friends), and Spirit had the cheapest flights. Not by enough to set off my "is this even an airline?" alarms, but enough that it was a no-brainer. I had never experienced, or heard anyone else's experiences, with Spirit, so I went with it.

Needless to say: never again.
 
2013-10-24 05:32:37 PM
How are they still in business?
 
2013-10-24 06:00:25 PM
It's almost as if you are flying on an airline with aircraft that cost tens of millions of dollars flown by pilots who have tens of thousands of dollars in student debt serviced by at least three ground contractors making just above minimum wage and maintained by mechanics who are also contractors subject to unemployment or reemployment with an even worse contract. What do you expect? Flying is as good as we pay for it to be. And as far as it goes, hurtling through the air inside of a piece of modern brilliance propelled by thousands of dollars of engineered fluid is a miracle. We should not pay as little for air travel as we do. The only reason we can is due to the fact that stockholders > customers > employees. Frontline published a great documentary called Flying Cheap which touched on this subject. Mobility is not the directive of the transport industry anymore. Profits are.
 
2013-10-24 07:12:03 PM
 
2013-10-24 07:14:58 PM

mediablitz: Weird. There was a VERY knowledgable Farker here chewing me out for suggesting the FFA does inspections.

He claimed (as an "industry insider") that the FAA doesn't care if planes are leaking engine oil, have cracks, etc. All they care about is their coffee breaks.

I'm SHOCKED to find out he had an axe to grind!


What an FFA inspection may look like

www.livestockjudges.org
 
2013-10-24 07:53:19 PM
Still better than being left behind at the airport by United.
 
2013-10-24 08:13:24 PM
I just booked a flight with Spirit the other day without really looking into the reputation of the company and now, after reading articles like this and the hilariously large amounts of negative feedback from their customers in nearly every discussion about it, I'm really, really thinking about just cancelling my flight and re-booking with a better, more reliable airline instead. Of course, I was too naive to have paid the insurance at my initial purchase so there's a $100 cancellation fee, but judging from the comments, do you Farkers think it's probably worth it?

Note: flying to get to a cruise that leaves the same day so the plane not being delayed is VERY important to this trip
 
2013-10-24 08:22:59 PM

the_vegetarian_cannibal: I just booked a flight with Spirit the other day without really looking into the reputation of the company and now, after reading articles like this and the hilariously large amounts of negative feedback from their customers in nearly every discussion about it, I'm really, really thinking about just cancelling my flight and re-booking with a better, more reliable airline instead. Of course, I was too naive to have paid the insurance at my initial purchase so there's a $100 cancellation fee, but judging from the comments, do you Farkers think it's probably worth it?

Note: flying to get to a cruise that leaves the same day so the plane not being delayed is VERY important to this trip


Yes.  Yes, it is worth the $100.  Spirit really is that bad.
 
2013-10-24 08:38:09 PM

Robo Beat: the_vegetarian_cannibal: I just booked a flight with Spirit the other day without really looking into the reputation of the company and now, after reading articles like this and the hilariously large amounts of negative feedback from their customers in nearly every discussion about it, I'm really, really thinking about just cancelling my flight and re-booking with a better, more reliable airline instead. Of course, I was too naive to have paid the insurance at my initial purchase so there's a $100 cancellation fee, but judging from the comments, do you Farkers think it's probably worth it?

Note: flying to get to a cruise that leaves the same day so the plane not being delayed is VERY important to this trip

Yes.  Yes, it is worth the $100.  Spirit really is that bad.


Now we see what might be the real business model. Suck up the $100.00 cancellation fees, and relegate flying the planes to an afterthought.
 
2013-10-24 08:51:57 PM

the_vegetarian_cannibal: I just booked a flight with Spirit the other day without really looking into the reputation of the company and now, after reading articles like this and the hilariously large amounts of negative feedback from their customers in nearly every discussion about it, I'm really, really thinking about just cancelling my flight and re-booking with a better, more reliable airline instead. Of course, I was too naive to have paid the insurance at my initial purchase so there's a $100 cancellation fee, but judging from the comments, do you Farkers think it's probably worth it?

Note: flying to get to a cruise that leaves the same day so the plane not being delayed is VERY important to this trip


Fly in the day before and get a hotel nearby, relax, have a nice dinner and then wake up rested for your cruise.  You miss the cruiseship, you are SOL. Drop a bit of extra cash to begin your vaca without the stress.  Decent airlines have issues too, and its not their problem if you miss your ship.
 
2013-10-24 08:57:38 PM
Sites like Kayak should just leave Spirit out of their search results. It's not like they're a real airline anyway. If they could get Southwest in the search results instead of Spirit, that would be even better. While I do think SW is overrated, they do have some really good sales from time to time and you're not likely to discover there is a hidden fee for flying on a plane with wings.
 
2013-10-24 10:21:18 PM
images2.wikia.nocookie.net

What the FAA inspector might look like.
 
2013-10-25 11:27:18 PM
Spirit is cheap, so long as you read the fine print. While I wouldn't use them for a coast-to-coast flight they're a good choice for direct flight hops. I don't mind them nickel and diming their passengers so long as it keeps my ticket cheap.
 
Displayed 36 of 36 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report