If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(DFW Star-Telegram)   Parent files bullying complaint. Fark: against an entire high school football team for the 91-0 whupping her snowflake's team received   (star-telegram.com) divider line 44
    More: Amusing, Bearcats  
•       •       •

1564 clicks; posted to Sports » on 21 Oct 2013 at 4:13 PM (37 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



44 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-10-21 02:32:29 PM
You know, we had a situation like this when my daughter played soccer. A recreational level team signed up for a competitive level Super-Blue tune-up tournament. Their team was getting smoked by my daughter's team, and we removed a player from the field for each goal above 11-0 (I think, it has been a long time). With only 3 players on the field for our team, they still couldn't score. Throughout this game the refs had asked the coach if they wanted to call the game and the losing team said no, so we removed players as per their standard practice. After the game, one of the parents accused our team of being bullies and actually complained to the league. Nothing came of the complaint of course; they were told to be sure they signed up for recreational tournaments instead. I can imagine what those little snowflakes act like now if their parents are still fighting these kind of "battles" for them.
 
2013-10-21 02:49:42 PM
Meh, it sounds like the coaches did everything possible to mitigate it short of throwing the white flag.

When you have 3rd stringers in doing nothing but run the ball to run time down and your team still can't stop them, you're gonna have a bad time.
 
2013-10-21 03:15:16 PM

Deedeemarz: I can imagine what those little snowflakes act like now if their parents are still fighting these kind of "battles" for them.


So THAT'S how the Tea Party came to be.
 
2013-10-21 03:32:35 PM
"I have to address it," Buchanan said. "It's not something you can laugh off or anything like that. What they said was that I should've told my players to ease up and not play so hard."

oh my f#*%ing god.  :-/
 
2013-10-21 03:53:34 PM
When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice.
 
2013-10-21 03:54:26 PM
Wow. Talk about "not helping". If that team felt bad losing 91-0 before, imagine the taunts they're going to get from all the other teams they play this year when they find out about this idiotic bullying complaint.

Also, if I were the coach, I would more concerned about putting my players in a position to be recruited than the feelings of the opposing team. If my QB throws eight TDs in a game en route to a season that'll get him noticed by a BCS school, or one of my linebackers gets ten sacks in a game with scouts in attendance, so be it.
 
2013-10-21 04:18:46 PM
Meh, just put in the third stringers and assign them unfamiliar positions. QB? You're now the center. Kicker? You're QB. Running backs? You're playing safety, etc.

If that doesn't work, make them all play with their helmets turned sideways so they have to peek out of the ear hole.
 
2013-10-21 04:18:50 PM
You put in your third stringers and do nothing but run the ball up the middle...

Which is probably something this coach already tried. You can't ask the players in the field not to play. If they try to slow down their own game they risk being injured.

I suppose you could start mixing up positions, but then you're also risking injuring your players and that wouldn't be acceptable.
 
2013-10-21 04:22:34 PM
Back in high school our basketball team was really good (we won State the year after I graduated) and some of our games got out of hand no matter how hard our coach tried to keep the scores down and not embarrass the other schools- clearing the bench, running clock etc. His final solution was to phone in scores to the league that made the games a bit more competitive. I remember we beat one team 59-9. Yep, they scored 9 points in THE ENTIRE GAME. He phoned in 59-31 or something. Another game we won 111-29, he phoned in 101-50. Drove a bunch of the players crazy and really drove me nuts since I was the team manager, keeping these super-meticulous scorebooks and shot charts that he freely tossed out the window.
 
2013-10-21 04:22:37 PM
With nothing beyond "a report was filed", I am really hoping it was just a tongue in cheek thing.
 
2013-10-21 04:23:07 PM
After reading the article I have tremendous respect for both coaches (the winning team kept the ball on the ground the entire game, they are just straight up better prepared; this wasn't nearly close to running up the score).
 
2013-10-21 04:23:21 PM

Lsherm: When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural

Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice
not touch yourselves at night, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice
not touch themselves at night.

/Catholicized
 
2013-10-21 04:25:04 PM
Meh, meatball squad takes pride in their work.  Your team is only as good as the meatballs you practice against, and meatballs are hungry too.  If they get a chance to score, meatball squad is going to embarrass you.  It just is.
 
2013-10-21 04:31:46 PM

Lsherm: When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice.


My cousin's basketball team in Wartburg, TN was this bad. My aunt wanted me to go coach for them (she heard I played basketball in Junior High School) because it took till their 4th game of the season before they even scored 1 basket. At the end of the season, they had scored 12 points as a team.

Being rural Tennessee, they said it was all the 'colored kids' running up the scores.
 
2013-10-21 04:38:53 PM
High school football is one of the last institutions where the still allow hard learned lessons. Don't like them running up the score? Play better defense.
 
2013-10-21 04:40:45 PM
I played baseball growing up. One year, my team finished with a perfect record of 0-16 including a couple games called due to the mercy rule (one game was 20-0 after the third inning). No one got butt hurt or anything. We realized that the coaches were shiat and half the team sucked.
 
2013-10-21 04:45:24 PM
This is how fair and nurturing societies progress.  Sorry you knuckle-draggers haven't evolved and still the celebrate barbaric emotional abuse called "competition".
 
2013-10-21 04:47:32 PM

Lsherm: When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice.


Yeah That is what SHOULD happen, but this is America so LAWSUITS! LAWSUITS! LAWSUITS! LAWSUITS!
 
2013-10-21 04:50:37 PM
Bullying Report Forms are public... and so are the Reports themselves.

I say someone gets the report under FOIA and outs the parent.
 
2013-10-21 05:01:52 PM
BA*
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2013-10-21 05:04:10 PM
Meh, just put in the third stringers and assign them unfamiliar positions.

Practice trick plays, the kind where if you mess up the other team scoops up the dropped-lateral-is-a-fumble and runs for a touchdown.  Or the other team stares at the dropped ball wondering if it's live. Some problems you can't fix.
 
2013-10-21 05:13:36 PM

DirtyDeadGhostofEbenezerCooke: Lsherm: When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice not touch yourselves at night, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice not touch themselves at night.

/Catholicized


We had sex-ed from 4th grade on (Jesuit school) and they never really harped on the not touching yourself.  Our priest had a pretty good take on everything:

"If you're going to sin, be smart about it.  Don't say you won't masturbate and then have premarital sex.  If you're already having premarital sex, for God's sake use a condom, because if that girl gets pregnant no one is going to credit you for keeping your hands off yourself and a rubber off your junk."

And this was in the 80's.
 
2013-10-21 05:27:17 PM
Whomever filed a "bullying report" should be outed and give that parent(s) a public atomic wedgie and purple nurple,,
 
2013-10-21 05:30:00 PM
My HS football team was undefeated and usually up 28-0 at the half.  JV played the third quarter, sophomores the fourth.  Frequently ran up the score further because they wanted to start.
 
2013-10-21 05:39:05 PM

Uzzah: Meh, just put in the third stringers and assign them unfamiliar positions. QB? You're now the center. Kicker? You're QB. Running backs? You're playing safety, etc.

If that doesn't work, make them all play with their helmets turned sideways so they have to peek out of the ear hole.


Don't forget the scuba diving suits and skis.
 
2013-10-21 05:49:22 PM

RedPhoenix122: Deedeemarz: I can imagine what those little snowflakes act like now if their parents are still fighting these kind of "battles" for them.

So THAT'S how the Tea Party came to be.


Actually that's the exact opposite if the tea party but this is not politics and fark isn't exactly a rational place to discuss politics.

Sounds like they did all they could to help, the parents need to fark off and teach their kids life isn't fair so work harder.

I've been on both sides of ass whoopins, the winning side feels better but you learn more from getting your ass beat.
 
2013-10-21 06:10:56 PM

Lsherm: When I was in grade school my class was very small because we were a rural Catholic school.  There were only 9 boys in my class, so we all played basketball.  Poorly.  Once we went up against the biggest public school in our district, and it was a blowout from the first 30 seconds.  By the half the score was 73-8.  In the middle of the third quarter, when the score was nearing 100 for them and 11 for us, their coach had them call a timeout and he came over to chat with our coach.  He offered to bench two players so we could at least score a little.  Our coach rebuffed him, saying it was good for us to learn why we needed to work harder in practice.

The final score was 134 to 16.  On the drive home my dad said "if you guys would work harder in practice, things like that wouldn't happen."

Someone should sit those kids down, point out that the other team was better than them in every conceivable way, and if they don't want to be losers for the rest of their life they need to work harder in practice.


Don't tell me you actually bought that load of bullshiat that your coach was telling you.
 
2013-10-21 06:30:55 PM

Crewmannumber6: High school football is one of the last institutions where the still allow hard learned lessons. Don't like them running up the score? Play better defense.


This usually results in trying to take out opposing players.

If you respond with "Deal with it" usually the other players will deal with in a way you won't like.
 
2013-10-21 06:58:06 PM
The only way of solving that is to punt earlier...like first or second down.
 
2013-10-21 07:06:05 PM

GoldSpider: This is how fair and nurturing societies progress.  Sorry you knuckle-draggers haven't evolved and still the celebrate barbaric emotional abuse called "competition".


Sorry you sucked at sports, but  third-stringer who works really hard and gets no play except when the team is crushing their opponent is going to actually want to play. There is nothing more unjust than putting a kid who puts the time in into a game and telling him that he has to kneel on the ball or otherwise play like a buffoon because people like you are put up as sacrificial lambs by your coaches and parents.

When you get out into the "real world" and everything is about competition, you can't call your mommy and have her file a complaint. Losing in that game actually has meaning, like poverty and starvation. It's better you learn that on a football field or a basketball court instead of at a homeless shelter. That's a simple, stark fact, and no insults can change that. Someone has to win, and someone has to lose.
 
2013-10-21 07:06:47 PM
As soon as I saw that it was a Star-Telegram link I cringed.  And, sigh, yeah that's my alma mater getting slammed 91-0.  Go Cougars!  Aledo is a football machine, so I could see something like this coming (but both coaches seem cool about the whole thing).  Football was never our thing, I guess.  When I attended back in the 80's i think we won maybe 2 games a year.  I was a soccer player and we always ranked pretty high, so there's that.  They did win a state championship in baseball in the early 2000's, so there's that on top of that.

I've lurked on Fark since 2008 and this is the second time WHHS has made it here.  I wonder if that's a record for high schools?  Go Cougars?
 
2013-10-21 07:26:32 PM
GoldSpider: This is how fair and nurturing societies progress. Sorry you knuckle-draggers haven't evolved and still the celebrate barbaric emotional abuse called "competition".

Yeah, feel that "nurturing" in this: "knuckle-draggers". If by "progress", you mean "dumbass parent let their kid play knowing exactly what was going to happen, but whines about it later", sure, that's progress.

Competition is "emotional abuse"? Tell that to the parents of a dying child who are relying on a doctor to save their kid, I'm sure they would totally get on board with the idea that medical school and residencies are all about making sure everyone gets no lower than an A, a gold star next to their name on a wall chart and feels really swell about themselves at the end of the day.

I'm glad I was on a Little League team as a 10 year old that got walloped 33-0 (it was the late 60's, you played to the last out in the league I was in). It taught me an important lesson: life isn't fair and that crying about it and wishing it was different was going to make one bit of difference.
 
2013-10-21 07:27:33 PM
Life is like that, as is football. I suggest that your precious unique snowflake should play soccer instead.
 
2013-10-21 07:27:56 PM
My son's U8 soccer team won all of their games by a combined score of 105-3 this year - that was over 6 games. Most of the game I played them 2-2-2, and all 6 players on the other team couldn't get the ball from the two up front. I felt a little bad for the other teams, but we decided early on that asking the kids to hold back would not be good for anyone. I know there was at least one complaint, don't know if it was formal.

Thing is, my kids have been on the side of getting their asses whupped before, including being shutout numerous times when they were younger, in fact they used to measure success by only letting the opposing team score two or three in the second half as opposed to 5 or 6. Regardless, instead of crying about it, they learned from it, pushed hard and got better. Scary better. It's fun to coach them - they have so much heart.
 
2013-10-21 07:27:57 PM
D'oh! Last sentence should read:

Life isn't fair and that crying about it and wishing it was different WASN'T going to make one bit of difference.
 
2013-10-21 08:15:59 PM

Adolf Oliver Nipples: GoldSpider: This is how fair and nurturing societies progress.  Sorry you knuckle-draggers haven't evolved and still the celebrate barbaric emotional abuse called "competition".

Sorry you sucked at sports, but  third-stringer who works really hard and gets no play except when the team is crushing their opponent is going to actually want to play. There is nothing more unjust than putting a kid who puts the time in into a game and telling him that he has to kneel on the ball or otherwise play like a buffoon because people like you are put up as sacrificial lambs by your coaches and parents.

When you get out into the "real world" and everything is about competition, you can't call your mommy and have her file a complaint. Losing in that game actually has meaning, like poverty and starvation. It's better you learn that on a football field or a basketball court instead of at a homeless shelter. That's a simple, stark fact, and no insults can change that. Someone has to win, and someone has to lose.


This description has very little similarity to the actual real world.  Unless maybe you're a pure commission salesman.
 
2013-10-21 09:09:51 PM

meanmutton: Don't tell me you actually bought that load of bullshiat that your coach was telling you.


No, we were the kind of awful that can only come from genetics and cannot be overcome with hard work.  I just found it amusing that adults back then assumed that it could, or that adults these days still do.  We keep telling kids they all need to go to college, but some people clearly aren't meant for it like I wasn't meant for the NBA.
 
2013-10-21 09:10:32 PM

meanmutton: This description has very little similarity to the actual real world. Unless maybe you're a pure commission salesman.


Bootstraps were evidently standard equipment on all of his team sports.
 
2013-10-22 12:46:44 AM
"Mom, please don't do this!  PLEASE DO NOT DO THIS!"

/psychic
 
2013-10-22 03:18:53 AM

uncoveror: Life is like that, as is football. I suggest that your precious unique snowflake should play soccer instead.


I played soccer in a very large tournament as a teenager where through some stroke of luck we ended up in the knockout stages of the actual championship tournament (round robin, 3 games, top 2 in each group end up in the knockout stages).  Our opponent in the first round was a select team from the New York City area...my team was the second best team in our age group in our suburb.  Needless to say, it was an absolute blowout...I don't remember the final score but I think it was 11-0 at halftime.  The other team stopped trying to score at halftime but we still couldn't get the ball from them...it was a learning experience though, no hard feelings.  We entered a nationwide tournament and got to play a much higher caliber of team than we ever would have in our league and became better players as a result.  Oddly enough we finished higher than the team we all tried out for and didn't make.
 
2013-10-22 07:31:28 AM

Henry Holland: Competition is "emotional abuse"? Tell that to the parents of a dying child who are relying on a doctor to save their kid, I'm sure they would totally get on board with the idea that medical school and residencies are all about making sure everyone gets no lower than an A, a gold star next to their name on a wall chart and feels really swell about themselves at the end of the day.


OK, we're really starting to take the FarkTM "life lesson" thing to creepy levels.  You certainly want a doctor to be qualified, but frankly one of America's social failings is this constant insistence that people compete against each other.  A doctor's ability to do a proper job has fark-all to do with how his/her grades ranked.  Market forces should be used to balance labor pool skill sets with demand; for example, lawyers used to make a ton of money but then everyone became a lawyer and now most lawyers make shiat because there are so many of them.  Setting aside the "qualified" bit that questions how easy it is to become a lawyer, this is how things should be.  But people are encouraged to compete even when there's no need, even when it doesn't make a lick of sense, and the consequences can be downright toxic.  Large projects require the cooperation of hundreds of people; a competitive atmosphere (usually initiated by some shiat-headed MBA) grinds productivity to a halt as people try to undercut each other.  Take your Randian dog-eat-dog ideals and shove 'em someplace stinky.

The real lesson here is that, at least at lower levels of play, sports is a game where dedication is rewarded.  If you got beat, it's because the other team wanted to win.  You can play for fun OR play hard, but you can't screw around and then expect to coast to victory.  If you're practicing like you don't care, why do you suddenly care when the other team starts blowing up the score?  It's not like this shiat mattered until your ego suddenly realized your lack of effort was being publicly exposed.

So yeah, there's a lesson to be learned here -- sports tend to reward natural talent, but at younger ages there's still plenty of ways for even undersized players to succeed if they're willing to work at it.  But FFS it's not like these kids should be forced to care.  Rather, they just need to learn that they're only going to get out of the sport what effort they're willing to put in.  If they decide they're OK with being blown out 91-0, the parents should shut up as well.  The kids will be fine; it's not like you need a killer instinct to hold a 9-to-5.
 
2013-10-22 08:01:48 AM
Either the 91 should move up a level or the 0 should move down, if possible.  Total blowouts aren't really all that much fun for either team.
 
2013-10-22 06:03:59 PM

you have pee hands: Either the 91 should move up a level or the 0 should move down, if possible.  Total blowouts aren't really all that much fun for either team.


You can't really move up a level in Texas high school football based on team skill level.  You are grouped according to location and school population.

The biggest problem for the school scoring 91 points is they are taking out starters really early and without the reps in game situations, they're going to have a tougher time when they face a school in the state playoffs with the same talent level.

As a parent of a high school student that attends a school that gets blown out regularly, since she's not playing, my wife and I look for excuses to not go to the games.  It's not fun to watch the team get their butts kicked just about every game.  They may not win many games, but 95% of the senior class will be in a 4 year college next year, many on some form of academic scholarship.
 
2013-10-22 07:54:58 PM
Ah come on, Adrian, it's true. I was nobody. But that don't matter either, you know? 'Cause I was thinkin', it really don't matter if I lose this fight. It really don't matter if this guy opens my head, either. 'Cause all I wanna do is have my mom file a bullying complaint. Nobody's ever filed a bullying complaint against Creed, and if I can have that complaint filed, you see, and that bell rings and I'm still standin', I'm gonna know for the first time in my life, see, that I weren't just another bum born on third base.
 
Displayed 44 of 44 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report