If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Edmonton Journal)   Tim Hortons hires new CEO, who's charged with reviewing everything from coffee cup sizes to doughnut selection in bid to extend chain's image beyond iconic Canadianness   (edmontonjournal.com) divider line 36
    More: Interesting, Tim Hortons, foodservice, smoothies, McCafe, activist investors, Oakville, nestle  
•       •       •

470 clicks; posted to Business » on 18 Sep 2013 at 9:12 AM (51 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



36 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-09-18 07:28:09 AM
If you're ever at a combination Tim Horton's / Wendy's, and someone calls asking where you are, don't refer to the establishment as "the Canadian embassy."

Apparently the register-persons do not find this funny. They will shoot maple-flavored hate from their eyes in your direction. It was a good thing I had already been served.
 
2013-09-18 09:39:44 AM
Is he going to review their coffee that tastes like burnt ass?
 
2013-09-18 09:41:17 AM
As long as they expand in the US and don't change their sour cream Timbits, I don't care what they do.  Their regular coffee will wake you the fark up, even if you're a seasoned coffee drinker.  I lived on that stuff in law school.
 
2013-09-18 09:45:53 AM
EmmaLou: As long as they expand in the US and don't change their sour cream Timbits, I don't care what they do.

THIS!

/TIMBITS!
 
2013-09-18 09:49:55 AM

EmmaLou: As long as they expand in the US and don't change their sour cream Timbits, I don't care what they do.  Their regular coffee will wake you the fark up, even if you're a seasoned coffee drinker.  I lived on that stuff in law school.


Really? You must have some weak-ass sh*t-excuse coffee down there in 'merikuh if Timmy's swill tastes good.
i1151.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-18 09:53:14 AM

GreenAdder


If you're ever at a combination Tim Horton's / Wendy's, and someone calls asking where you are, don't refer to the establishment as "the Canadian embassy."


Wendy's is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio; there isn't really anything Canadian about it. The Tim's-Wendy's partnership lasted only a couple years (2006-2008, IIRC), but there are some Tim's locations in the US.
 
2013-09-18 10:34:01 AM
Coffee chain trifecta in progress?
 
2013-09-18 10:52:17 AM
Just introduced the kids to Vancouverian Timbits back in July.  I was then obligated to go every morning we were there, and then threatened with pain on the last day if we didn't get a 40-pack to go home.

The customs agent laughed when he saw the box.
 
2013-09-18 11:01:47 AM

fickenchucker: Just introduced the kids to Vancouverian Timbits back in July.  I was then obligated to go every morning we were there, and then threatened with pain on the last day if we didn't get a 40-pack to go home.

The customs agent laughed when he saw the box.


Tell the kiddies that those are actually `bits of Tim'.
 
2013-09-18 11:31:40 AM

GreenAdder: If you're ever at a combination Tim Horton's / Wendy's, and someone calls asking where you are, don't refer to the establishment as "the Canadian embassy."

Apparently the register-persons do not find this funny. They will shoot maple-flavored hate from their eyes in your direction. It was a good thing I had already been served.


I knew Barney Stinson was a Farker.

/ Been watching way too much How I Met Your Mother lately.
 
2013-09-18 11:43:21 AM
They could always open a Stan Mikita's Donut chain in Chicago....


cdn.nhl.com
 
2013-09-18 11:46:41 AM

bsharitt: Is he going to review their coffee that tastes like burnt ass?


Seriously.  I took one sip and was transported back 20 years to when I used to stop for coffee at a farking gas station.

/rant
Whenever a new breakfast place opens, I go and try their coffee, and if it sucks worse than what I can make easily at home with a k cup or drip machine, with just regular grounds, I think "WTF is the point".   Even Dunkin can make friggin coffee taste OK consistenty.   How hard is it?  A Bunn, measured grounds that aren't chock-full-o-nuts or savarin, and somewhat clean water.  Yet places fark this simple ass task up routinely.   Mind boggling.  It's like taking your car to a mechanic and you get it back with dirty oil spilled all over the windshield.  'Oh, sorry, Eddie tripped.  While carrying an open container of dirty oil.  And we didn't clean it off.  Because we suck at doing the most basic things.'
/rant over
 
2013-09-18 11:54:54 AM
In the U.S. they should have the poutine on the menu but advertised in a "crazy dare" manner.
 
2013-09-18 11:59:52 AM
Tried Horton's for the first time earlier this year. It was awful; way worse than I had imagined. Donuts were fine, coffee was horrible.
 
2013-09-18 12:14:42 PM

stellarossa: Tried Horton's for the first time earlier this year. It was awful; way worse than I had imagined. Donuts were fine, coffee was horrible.


I guess, if you like dough mostly cooked then frozen in Toronto to be shipped to the rest of the country.

There is nothing decent or worthwhile at Tim Hortons.
 
2013-09-18 12:23:52 PM

SMB2811: stellarossa: Tried Horton's for the first time earlier this year. It was awful; way worse than I had imagined. Donuts were fine, coffee was horrible.

I guess, if you like dough mostly cooked then frozen in Toronto to be shipped to the rest of the country.

There is nothing decent or worthwhile at Tim Hortons.


It was an apple fritter-type thing and something else. They were ok. I do like that kind of dough, yes.
 
2013-09-18 12:25:40 PM

EmmaLou: As long as they expand in the US and don't change their sour cream Timbits, I don't care what they do.  Their regular coffee will wake you the fark up, even if you're a seasoned coffee drinker.  I lived on that stuff in law school.


I hope they bring back some other Timbits flavors.  We were up there in April and the selection was dismal.
 
2013-09-18 01:36:36 PM
Tim Horton's Maple Donut

31.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-09-18 01:42:09 PM

EmmaLou: As long as they expand in the US and don't change their sour cream Timbits, I don't care what they do.  Their regular coffee will wake you the fark up, even if you're a seasoned coffee drinker.  I lived on that stuff in law school.


Or iced Capp.

Change those at your peril.
 
2013-09-18 02:05:39 PM
Alternate headline:

New Tim Horton's CEO will completely change everything around for no reason because that's what CEOs do when they get hired to show everyone that they're visionaries and go getters, but then everyone hates their ideas and they back down or get fired after a period of doubling down, after which they get a golden parachute and an even higher paying job alienating everyone at some other major company for no reason.
 
2013-09-18 02:24:44 PM
extend chain's image beyond iconic Canadianness

Have a maple-syrup-flavored donut with a flannel pattern on it made with frosting, and call it the Lumberjack.
 
2013-09-18 02:36:00 PM
The demonstrable change in food quality when they switched from on-site baking to on-site reheating made me sad, but alas, it's not like you have too many options where I am if you want a doughnut.
 
2013-09-18 03:03:18 PM
Tim Hortons had a meal combo of soup with a donut when I was in Canada several years ago.

It seemed like a bizarre combination to me.

Would you like....
Cake and some beef stew?
A scone and a bowl of gumbo?
A cupcake and clam chowder?

Uhhhhh......no thanks.
 
2013-09-18 03:42:39 PM

SMB2811: There is nothing decent or worthwhile at Tim Hortons.


They have the best fast food chili.
 
2013-09-18 05:26:00 PM

good_2_go: SMB2811: There is nothing decent or worthwhile at Tim Hortons.

They have the best fast food chili.


Wendys is still better.
 
2013-09-18 05:59:14 PM

Englebert Slaptyback: GreenAdder

If you're ever at a combination Tim Horton's / Wendy's, and someone calls asking where you are, don't refer to the establishment as "the Canadian embassy."


Wendy's is headquartered in Columbus, Ohio; there isn't really anything Canadian about it. The Tim's-Wendy's partnership lasted only a couple years (2006-2008, IIRC), but there are some Tim's locations in the US.


The combination restaurants are still all over the place, and with Wendy's focus on bacon it sure comes across as Canadian.
 
2013-09-18 06:13:52 PM
Dear Timmy Ho's CEO:

PLEASE COME TO CHICAGO, RID US OF OUR EIGHT BILLION DUNKIN DONUTS
 
2013-09-18 07:42:27 PM
Up here in Michigan we have Tim Horton's all over the place. They're also tied to Cold Stone, which makes them a great place to go if I feel like I need to pack on the calories.

I miss Dawn Donuts, though.
 
2013-09-18 07:49:59 PM
Once upon a time, every Tim Horton's store made fresh doughnuts every morning. That and a decent cup of coffee is what made them popular. Now they just coast on that legacy but it won't work in the U.S. because they're moving in with crap sandwiches, mediocre doughnuts and coffee that isn't burnt.
 
2013-09-18 10:34:31 PM
A timely reminder to pick up some Timbits Friday, when I have my last chance until next summer.
 
2013-09-18 11:51:05 PM

bsharitt: Is he going to review their coffee that tastes like burnt ass?


Is anyone else bothered by the apparently large number of coffee snobs who seem to know what burnt ass tastes like?
 
2013-09-19 12:46:08 AM
I can't honestly tell their regular coffee from decaf.* Doughnuts are as good as you tend to get at any chain shop that isn't crispy creme. Their hot chocolate is really quite good, though I like it really sweet. Iced cappuccino is great, although it is just ground up ice, milk, instant coffee, and sugar. It should be noted that in the states its quality can be much worse, just like up here Coffee Time is always super ghetto.

*I might have ordered some pure caffeine off the internet, measured out 50mg, grabbed a 100U insulin syringe and thought, "hey lets see what happens." Therefore, my opinion may be biased, though I don't drink coffee enough to have any tolerance.

/No, I don't recommend it, though it was pretty fun for about 15 minutes.
 
2013-09-19 04:01:17 AM
My Tim Horton's experience involves a bowl of chili that somehow had diagonal-cut slices of banana in it.

/didn't eat it all
 
2013-09-19 09:40:44 AM
Saw 'cup sizes'. Came looking for boob pics. Leaving disappointed.
 
2013-09-19 07:24:51 PM
To all the haters:

Okay...so what else do you recommend when I'm on my way to work at 8 in the morning, and I don't want to pay $14.00 for a cup of hot mud that is over-roasted, over-heated, and takes them 25 minutes to brew for whatever bizarro reason?!?!?! Jesus. I can make a better hamburger at home, that doesn't mean I get to slag McDonalds for not serving hamburgers the quality of the Waldorf Astoria on a daily basis, right?

//And, before you provide me with the name of some stupid Toronto-centric mini-chain, not all of us live down east...kay?
 
2013-09-19 08:01:56 PM

SirMadness: not all of us live down east


Correct. Very few people live in Washington County, Maine.
 
Displayed 36 of 36 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report