Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Smoking Gun)   The full litany of complaints Americans filed to the FCC regarding Miley Cyrus's chilling, terrifying "twerking" performance at the VMAs   ( thesmokinggun.com) divider line
    More: Followup, Federal Communications Commission, Americans, Robin Thicke, MTV Video Music Awards  
•       •       •

10882 clicks; posted to Main » on 13 Sep 2013 at 9:08 PM (4 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



168 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-09-13 08:31:44 PM  
This is what happens when we don't have state mental asylums.
 
2013-09-13 08:49:27 PM  

NewportBarGuy: This is what happens when we don't have state mental asylums.


To say nothing of the busybodies who go out of their way to find something that offends them for the express purpose of getting it banned regardless of the people who aren't offended.
 
2013-09-13 09:05:38 PM  
I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.
 
2013-09-13 09:09:25 PM  
Several viewers were reported to have gotten the vapors.
 
2013-09-13 09:11:18 PM  

RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.


It was a whole lot more offensive. Offensive in its unabashed badness.
 
2013-09-13 09:12:40 PM  
They'll get over it
 
2013-09-13 09:12:48 PM  
*reads complaints*

I came.
 
2013-09-13 09:12:48 PM  

RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.


No it wasn't. And these shrieking hens who are crying about this were probably kids themselves when Madonna was doing the same thing on the same channel.


"Where has censorship gone?"

It doesn't apply to cable channels, comrade.
 
2013-09-13 09:13:49 PM  
There ought to be a law.
 
2013-09-13 09:14:00 PM  

Incontinent_dog_and_monkey_rodeo: Several viewers were reported to have gotten the vapors.


You might even say they were verklempt.

i.imgur.com
 
2013-09-13 09:14:04 PM  
Also, I liked when she "grabbed her crouch".
 
2013-09-13 09:14:18 PM  

megarian: *reads complaints*

I came.


It does look like a lot of them were typing those messages with one hand.
 
2013-09-13 09:14:24 PM  
iupui-persuasion-summer2009.wikispaces.com
 
2013-09-13 09:15:40 PM  

megarian: Also, I liked when she "grabbed her crouch".


megarian: *reads complaints*

I came.


Reads comments  ^^^
 
2013-09-13 09:16:21 PM  
Heh. Yes, yes she does need to be spanked.
 
2013-09-13 09:16:38 PM  
Let me guess, the same 200 people that send in "complaints" on the behalf of the Parents Television Council every time this hits the news cycle...
 
2013-09-13 09:16:41 PM  
Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke "to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Methinks someone was looking a little too hard at the screen.

/hard
 
2013-09-13 09:17:39 PM  
So 150 people don't have TV remotes?

// I find it hard to believe ayone who would be watching the VMAs would complain
 
2013-09-13 09:17:39 PM  
It's almost humorous when you think about the fact these whiny b*tches live and walk among us.

How could their lives, upbringing, experiences, etc. have so shaped their worldview in a manner that causes them outrage over this instead of shrugging their shoulders and going "meh" at the whole thing?

/yeah, not humorous once I started thinking about it.
 
2013-09-13 09:17:50 PM  
Why were all of these sensitive families watching the VMAs?  MTV is not known for it's family-friendly content.

/Then there's the complainer who got the point:  "I was subjugated to 4 minutes of Miley Cyrus."
 
2013-09-13 09:18:11 PM  

Mugato: megarian: *reads complaints*

I came.

It does look like a lot of them were typing those messages with one hand.


Hey! Just bcsecause I type width bad, doesn't mesn I was masterbstung.
 
2013-09-13 09:20:23 PM  

GanjSmokr: Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke "to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Methinks someone was looking a little too hard at the screen.

/hard


These outraged people who were so disgusted by the performance seemed to have gone over it like the Zapruder film.
 
2013-09-13 09:21:31 PM  
I just hope she ends up in porn sooner rather than later. I don't think my brain could handle old, ugly Hanna Montana gettin porked.
 
2013-09-13 09:22:04 PM  
i1.kym-cdn.com
 
2013-09-13 09:24:11 PM  
Working, but were any of the complaints about how they can never watch beetlejuice the same way again?
 
2013-09-13 09:24:13 PM  

RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.


I would say Madonna was at least trying to do something artistic even if it was confrontational.

there was no message, boundary pushing, artistic merit with Miley.  Just a white girl who bought an outfit from Hot Topic/Forever 21 who can't dance.
 
2013-09-13 09:25:45 PM  
i23.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-13 09:26:23 PM  
DeadGeek:

omg you stop it YOU STAHP IT RIGHT NOW.
 
2013-09-13 09:27:28 PM  
Well too bad it's a cable channel. Cry til ya eyes bleed and nothing will change.
 
2013-09-13 09:27:37 PM  

TinyFist: It's almost humorous when you think about the fact these whiny b*tches live and walk among us.

How could their lives, upbringing, experiences, etc. have so shaped their worldview in a manner that causes them outrage over this instead of shrugging their shoulders and going "meh" at the whole thing?

/yeah, not humorous once I started thinking about it.


Yeah, those types also tend to be very active voters.  The "meh" crowd stays home on the couch.
 
2013-09-13 09:28:15 PM  
eas81:

Came here to, essentially, say THIS. I think the real story here is that so many people still watch MTV expecting not to be offended. Offending people is all MTV does, and everything they do is structured to accomplish just that. It's their brand.

Proudly pissing off your parents since 1981.
 
2013-09-13 09:28:20 PM  
20+ year old dance move still pisses off white people
/Twerking is the same thing as juking
 
2013-09-13 09:28:42 PM  
If you have MTV, you probably have ~100 other channels you could be watching. But no, it's more important that you find something to feign offense at.
 
2013-09-13 09:29:00 PM  
I'm more offended that VMAs still exist.
 
2013-09-13 09:29:46 PM  
Great name for a punk band

i877.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-13 09:31:56 PM  

AliceBToklasLives: Why were all of these sensitive families watching the VMAs?  MTV is not known for it's family-friendly content.

/Then there's the complainer who got the point:  "I was subjugated to 4 minutes of Miley Cyrus."


No one can subjugate you to Miley Cyrus without your consent.
 
2013-09-13 09:32:23 PM  

DownDaRiver: Great name for a punk band


I'm in.

I call dibs on bass or electric violin.
 
2013-09-13 09:35:07 PM  
Her performance was absurd and embarrassing. The correct response is to point and laugh.
 
2013-09-13 09:35:47 PM  

Hyjamon: RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.

I would say Madonna was at least trying to do something artistic even if it was confrontational.

there was no message, boundary pushing, artistic merit with Miley.  Just a white girl who bought an outfit from Hot Topic/Forever 21 who can't dance.


thats exactly what makes her AWESOME
 
2013-09-13 09:36:54 PM  
"* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.
 
2013-09-13 09:37:03 PM  
But of course, the crap on Jersey Shore and The Real World was totally clean and innocent.
 
2013-09-13 09:40:19 PM  
Morons. The FCC has no control over cable channels.
 
2013-09-13 09:43:45 PM  
"Miley Cyrus needs to be spanked."

Oh. Okay. If I must.
 
2013-09-13 09:44:46 PM  
obligatory

i.imgur.com
 
2013-09-13 09:47:59 PM  
"Had I wanted my family to see a hooker perform a live sex show, I would have taken her to Tijuana."

Sounds like someone has experience in that.
 
2013-09-13 09:49:02 PM  
They should check out her Wrecking Ball video. Nothing says empowered female like her grinding her naked ass on a large metal ball, and giving fellatio lessons to a sledgehammer.

She'd be a lot cuter, and my boner would be less confused if she didn't look like Bieber with tits.
 
2013-09-13 09:52:56 PM  

MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]


The best part is how disgusted the kid looks.
 
2013-09-13 09:53:42 PM  
As someone who has yet to experience either, should I expect to be more terrified of Miley's performance or the Red Wedding?

/Strix is late to all the parties
//or possibly just procrastinating
 
2013-09-13 09:56:17 PM  

ladyfortuna: "* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.



'sudo pkill -9 mileycyrusd'?

Just what popped into my head at the moment.
 
2013-09-13 09:56:28 PM  

Mugato: GanjSmokr: Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke "to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Methinks someone was looking a little too hard at the screen.

/hard

These outraged people who were so disgusted by the performance seemed to have gone over it like the Zapruder film.


They were also disgusted over the Zapruder film.

/"Jackie showed her buttocks reaching over the back!"
 
2013-09-13 09:57:01 PM  

houstondragon: They should check out her Wrecking Ball video. Nothing says empowered female like her grinding her naked ass on a large metal ball, and giving fellatio lessons to a sledgehammer.

She'd be a lot cuter, and my boner would be less confused if she didn't look like Bieber with tits.


Oh that video can't be that bad.

*youtube*

Okay, so did I um...I feel weird.
 
2013-09-13 09:57:05 PM  
The most offensive part of all this is that Miley Cyrus is suddenly considered the most controversial performer in music,
The VMAs have really made strides since the days of Guns N Roses, Madonna, and Marilyn Manson.
 
2013-09-13 09:57:14 PM  

ladyfortuna: "* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.


It resulted in a forked process, which is another sign of the devil...

\got nothin', but wanted to try...
 
2013-09-13 09:59:11 PM  

cretinbob: So 150 people don't have TV remotes?

// I find it hard to believe ayone who would be watching the VMAs would complain


But they had to watch the entire show so they could be enraged enough to complain.

It is past 1984 now. Our TVs don't have an off switch.
 
2013-09-13 10:00:17 PM  
i.cdn.turner.com

Your point?
 
2013-09-13 10:02:34 PM  

ladyfortuna: "* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.


From Wikipedia: A daemon is usually created by a process forking a child process and then immediately exiting.

So, the Robin Thicke process?
 
2013-09-13 10:03:57 PM  

megarian: DownDaRiver: Great name for a punk band

I'm in.

I call dibs on bass or electric violin.


Crap. Ok, ok. I'll be the drummer.
 
2013-09-13 10:05:30 PM  

megarian: houstondragon: They should check out her Wrecking Ball video. Nothing says empowered female like her grinding her naked ass on a large metal ball, and giving fellatio lessons to a sledgehammer.

She'd be a lot cuter, and my boner would be less confused if she didn't look like Bieber with tits.

Oh that video can't be that bad.

*youtube*

Okay, so did I um...I feel weird.


It must have taken weeks to film that video, what with the crew busting up laughing every few minutes.
 
2013-09-13 10:10:25 PM  
the fact that anybody gives a shiat is the most disturbing part
 
2013-09-13 10:12:57 PM  

ultraholland: the fact that anybody gives a shiat is the most disturbing part


Why is that disturbing? Unless you're Miley's publisher.
 
2013-09-13 10:18:27 PM  

Mugato: [i23.photobucket.com image 650x760]


She does look a bit like a demon or gargoyle there... maybe they have a point.
upload.wikimedia.org
 
2013-09-13 10:18:49 PM  
Yet these people decided to tune into MTV and all its wonderful wholesome family programming then are shocked when something a little controversial happens.

I do wonder why MTV bothers with those awards anymore though since they aren't about music anymore, shouldn't they be doing the garbage reality tv rewards instead?
 
2013-09-13 10:19:23 PM  
"Where has censorship gone?"

Ok farker, out yourself.  That's at least a 8/10 right there.  Take your bow.
 
2013-09-13 10:20:07 PM  
While many signs point to our species being near the end of its run, these are just comedy gold.
 
2013-09-13 10:20:12 PM  

Farkenhostile: Yet these people decided to tune into MTV and all its wonderful wholesome family programming then are shocked when something a little controversial happens.

I do wonder why MTV bothers with those awards anymore though since they aren't about music anymore, shouldn't they be doing the garbage reality tv rewards instead?


Awards*
 
2013-09-13 10:26:08 PM  

King Something: NewportBarGuy: This is what happens when we don't have state mental asylums.

To say nothing of the busybodies who go out of their way to find something that offends them for the express purpose of getting it banned regardless of the people who aren't offended.


I'm offended by people who ban things.
 
2013-09-13 10:26:56 PM  

Chevello: megarian: houstondragon: They should check out her Wrecking Ball video. Nothing says empowered female like her grinding her naked ass on a large metal ball, and giving fellatio lessons to a sledgehammer.

She'd be a lot cuter, and my boner would be less confused if she didn't look like Bieber with tits.

Oh that video can't be that bad.

*youtube*

Okay, so did I um...I feel weird.

It must have taken weeks to film that video, what with the crew busting up laughing every few minutes.


Hehe

"Okay, let's go.

Heheeeheehaaaa
...

Heh heh

Hereehahahahaaaha

Ok ok ok, stop. STOP. heheheHahahHHAHAhehe okay. I need to watch something sad or get electrocuted or something. Heeeehehehehe

Okay guys. Snuff film break. See you back in thirty."
 
2013-09-13 10:28:28 PM  

MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]


Is that a real screenshot from the actual performance in question, or something else?

I don't see how this performance is much different from Madonna or others, as has been mentioned.  I'm more surprised to think that the Smith family would all be looking that dismayed.  Is Miley a good family friend and playmate to Smith's kids, so this is somehow shocking to them to see?  Who hasn't watched a young neighbour girl bloom?  Aren't all women secretly whores deep down?  Have I gone too far with this?
 
2013-09-13 10:31:05 PM  
Meh.  People weep and rend their garments over this Disney-engineered Barbie doll shaking her butt and completely miss the real outrage - the crappy, soulless, corporate garbage MTV peddles as music.  Her ass notwithstanding, the girl deserves to be broken on the wheel on the basis of her father's musical crimes alone . . .
 
2013-09-13 10:33:36 PM  
"Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Oh my.
 
2013-09-13 10:33:49 PM  

420Counsellor: MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]

Is that a real screenshot from the actual performance in question, or something else?

I don't see how this performance is much different from Madonna or others, as has been mentioned.  I'm more surprised to think that the Smith family would all be looking that dismayed.  Is Miley a good family friend and playmate to Smith's kids, so this is somehow shocking to them to see?  Who hasn't watched a young neighbour girl bloom?  Aren't all women secretly whores deep down?  Have I gone too far with this?


They were looking at Lady Gaga when that picture was taken. You can see her in the box in the lower right hand corner of the picture. But for some reason, that picture finds its way into every thread about the Miley & foam finger.
 
2013-09-13 10:34:10 PM  
"My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."
 
2013-09-13 10:37:05 PM  

AverageAmericanGuy: RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.

It was a whole lot more offensive. Offensive in its unabashed badness.


I don't/didn't watch the VMAs, but after the outcry I did go watch the aforementioned bit. I found it to be crude at times, mostly involving the gestures using the foam finger. I dislike twerking in general, this was no different. I usually enjoy seeing an attractive women using her tongue, but Miley looked like a fish that had been snagged with a treble hook in her gills.

Having said that, I didn't see anything I'd really call offensive other than how terrible the whole thing was aka "its unabashed badness."
 
2013-09-13 10:38:05 PM  

HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."


You said "slutty" twice...
 
2013-09-13 10:40:12 PM  

megarian: HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."

You said "slutty" twice...


I like sluts :)
 
2013-09-13 10:43:49 PM  
Can any of you more adventurous farkers explain the bolded part, preferably with pictures? I'm hoping it's a euphemism for something pretty perverted, because if it's just a typo I would have a sad.

"...bending over while backed upped to a man's penis and giggling her buttock up against his penis, ..."

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/file/miley-cyrus-fcc-letters?page=18
 
2013-09-13 10:48:12 PM  
I don't get all the fuss. Wasn't Madonna doing that kind of crap years ago?

i.huffpost.com

www.mtv.com
 
2013-09-13 10:49:45 PM  

HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."


I have the oddest boner right now
 
2013-09-13 10:53:50 PM  

IdBeCrazyIf: HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."

I have the oddest boner right now


Is it like a 7 or 9?

Or do you mean primest?
 
2013-09-13 11:01:48 PM  
ladyfortuna: "* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.


Linux? How about "Daemon Tools" for Windows?
"Daemon Tools" allows you to mount anything you want - with or without protection.
 
2013-09-13 11:01:58 PM  

megarian: IdBeCrazyIf: HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."

I have the oddest boner right now

Is it like a 7 or 9?

Or do you mean primest?


23?
 
2013-09-13 11:04:45 PM  

megarian: IdBeCrazyIf: HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."

I have the oddest boner right now

Is it like a 7 or 9?

Or do you mean primest?


47

My boners only work in primes
 
2013-09-13 11:08:19 PM  
One person said they were subjected to 4 minutes of it or whatever. No you weren't. You could've turned the channel. That's like someone complaining about how horrible the food is at an eatery, but they ate all the food anyways.

Also, I read through a few and a lot of them mentioned "it was like I was watching child porn." She's 18. Get over yourselves.

Be outraged about something that's serious and not some girl on television who's just trying to piss off daddy.

I also didn't see the outrage over Janet Jackson's nipple.
 
2013-09-13 11:11:51 PM  

RobertBruce: I didn't watch.  Was it that much more "shocking" than Madonna in the 80's?   Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.


Madonna was sexy.
 
2013-09-13 11:13:01 PM  
People watch MTV?
 
2013-09-13 11:15:12 PM  

tailormadebassist: Be outraged about something that's serious and not some girl on television who's just trying to piss off daddy.


Based on the creepy daddy daughter pic from previous....I think she was trying to impress
 
2013-09-13 11:15:32 PM  
farm4.staticflickr.com
 
2013-09-13 11:20:41 PM  

GanjSmokr: Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke "to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."


I hate to burst their little bubble to tell them those kinds of things typically happen when women are vigorously grinding their heiny bits on a guys crotch.

But I'd hate to ruin their rather pedantic sexual views.
 
2013-09-13 11:24:28 PM  
People shouldn't be offended by the sexual nature of the performance. They should be offended by the fact that Miley Cyrus thought any of what she was doing was sexy.
 
2013-09-13 11:35:15 PM  

shtychkn: MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]

The best part is how disgusted the kid looks.


Nope he just realized just how bad his acting is.
 
2013-09-13 11:35:17 PM  
"Good heavens! I'm certainly no prude, but even I was shocked."

"Good heavens"?  Sorry you inform you, but, you are a prude.
 
2013-09-13 11:46:26 PM  
I find these people more irritating and dangerous than anything Miley Cyrus has ever done.
 
2013-09-13 11:47:15 PM  
"network"

"broadcast"

[inigomontoya.jpg]
 
2013-09-13 11:50:47 PM  
"...as an educator, I have to stand up and say enough is enough ... yadda yadda yadda ... is why we have this vulgar, discusting programming"

I hope you're a math teacher because you can't spell for shiat.

/is our children learning?
 
2013-09-13 11:53:30 PM  
Watching MTV and expecting to not be offended, is like listening to Don Imus and expecting to not be offended.
 
2013-09-13 11:55:03 PM  
I will post it again because it is relevant. "Flat footed, cringingly unsexy." At least Madonna is a trained dancer and had an awareness of art.

http://ideas.time.com/2013/08/27/pops -drop-from-madonna-to-miley/

And can you imagine how foul that plastic underwear was by the end of the night? It probably had to be discarded like bio-waste.
 
2013-09-13 11:57:51 PM  
"So it was absolutely extraordinary when CBS hired MTV
To do the Super bowl this year
Unbelievable and that CBS would be shocked that
MTV couldn't present a Family Halftime Show

Had none of the executives at CBS ever turned on MTV?
All you gotta to do is watch it for 5 minutes
And know that it should be called 'The Boner Network'

Kids come home from school, "I'm gonna watch MTV"
And they lock themselves in their room
And just put their little peckers right up on the set"

Lewis Black
 
2013-09-13 11:58:58 PM  
She's just "acting out" because of the abuse she's suffered on the casting couches of numerous producers and directors. It's kind of like Mos Eisley Spaceport, but in Hollywood. I'm not even going to mention her father, nope, not going there.
 
2013-09-14 12:10:20 AM  
She really needs to see a doctor about that oropharyngeal candidiasis problem she has going on with her tongue.
 
2013-09-14 12:12:39 AM  
She could make a new fashion statement if she opts to use gentian as treatment.
 
2013-09-14 12:14:39 AM  

ArmednHammered: She's just "acting out" because of the abuse she's suffered on the casting couches of numerous producers and directors. It's kind of like Mos Eisley Spaceport, but in Hollywood. I'm not even going to mention her father, nope, not going there.


I am.

i3.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-14 12:18:34 AM  
So what exactly is the difference between complaints in TFA and complaints in this and every MC@VMA thread?
 
2013-09-14 12:22:52 AM  

Incontinent_dog_and_monkey_rodeo: Several viewers were reported to have gotten the vapors.


You, sir, are obviously not from the south.

The vapors are real and they are quite serious.
 
2013-09-14 12:23:46 AM  

MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]


Damn, the look on the Smith kid on the left kills me every time. I know he usually looks like that, but still.
 
2013-09-14 12:29:13 AM  

Jizz Master Zero: People shouldn't be offended by the sexual nature of the performance. They should be offended by the fact that Miley Cyrus thought any of what she was doing was sexy.


Come on, everyone knows that she was doing what producers told her to do
 
2013-09-14 12:30:42 AM  

LawyerBuzz: Incontinent_dog_and_monkey_rodeo: Several viewers were reported to have gotten the vapors.

You, sir, are obviously not from the south.

The vapors are real and they are quite serious.


That's what you get in restaurants when the e-cig people get their way.
 
2013-09-14 12:31:17 AM  
Of course at least one of them had to blame this on how Liberal Socialist county has become.  Cripes.  It's not like this was broadcast directly into people's retinas.  They could have turned it off as soon as she came out and they could see what was going on.
 
2013-09-14 12:36:00 AM  

Prophet of Loss: [farm4.staticflickr.com image 432x304]


This. I haven't watched the videos; the ensuing photoshops (notably the one with Beetlejuice) were enough.
 
2013-09-14 12:40:25 AM  
"150 traumatized viewers wrote the Federal Communications Commission to express their outrage about the 20-year-old singer's twerking, foam-fingering, skimpy costume, bumping, grinding, omnipresent tongue, and her interaction with oversize PEDO bears."
 
2013-09-14 12:41:11 AM  
oi39.tinypic.coml.yimg.comoi39.tinypic.com
 
2013-09-14 12:51:06 AM  
White Bourgeoisie Brooklynite Hipster Blogger on Twitter as it was happening:  OMGZ, Miley Cyrus is slutting it up all over the place on the VMAs.   It's farking disgusting.   Put some clothes on, whore!!!

Public:  You sound like the scared old square white people reacting to Elvis in 1956.   And your "slut shaming" is pathetic misogyny.

White Bourgeoisie Brooklynite Hipster Blogger the next day on his blog:  Oh ..... but .... wait.   See, I was upset because it was RACIST.  Yeah, that's it.  It was racist.    It offended my good progressive idealism, which is WAY more progressive than yours.  Trust me, my reaction was purely because I have a much broader sympathy for the plight of African Americans everywhere.  I'm just much more progressive than thou.   I just hate it when black people and black culture are relegated to props by white musicians.   Now excuse me while I go put on Bowie's "Young Americans" album.
 
2013-09-14 01:05:11 AM  

LewDux: So what exactly is the difference between complaints in TFA and complaints in this and every MC@VMA thread?


FARK is a govt agency? Oh shiat!
 
FNG [TotalFark] [BareFark]
2013-09-14 01:07:38 AM  
I applaud the solid parenting.
 
2013-09-14 01:10:39 AM  

InmanRoshi: White Bourgeoisie Brooklynite Hipster Blogger on Twitter as it was happening:  OMGZ, Miley Cyrus is slutting it up all over the place on the VMAs.   It's farking disgusting.   Put some clothes on, whore!!!

Public:  You sound like the scared old square white people reacting to Elvis in 1956.   And your "slut shaming" is pathetic misogyny.

White Bourgeoisie Brooklynite Hipster Blogger the next day on his blog:  Oh ..... but .... wait.   See, I was upset because it was RACIST.  Yeah, that's it.  It was racist.    It offended my good progressive idealism, which is WAY more progressive than yours.  Trust me, my reaction was purely because I have a much broader sympathy for the plight of African Americans everywhere.  I'm just much more progressive than thou.   I just hate it when black people and black culture are relegated to props by white musicians.   Now excuse me while I go put on Bowie's "Young Americans" album.


Where do us crabby middle class middle aged women who think she is a clodhopping, stump legged, gummy attention whore fit into your narrative? I am no prude but...gross and crass and not remotely entertaining. The girl can sing when not acting a fool. She would probably be on the country charts had she not chosen the annoying slutbag fork in the road. But hey, she is wealthier than me *shrug*

My sister put it well. Quit pointing cameras at her. One can only hope.
 
2013-09-14 01:13:12 AM  

freetomato: She would probably be on the country charts


What a loss!
/Kinda answers your question
 
2013-09-14 01:17:08 AM  
So how much X did she eat before that anyway?
 
2013-09-14 01:22:15 AM  

LewDux: freetomato: She would probably be on the country charts

What a loss!
/Kinda answers your question


Not my thing, personally, but Carrie Underwood types are doing fine. And this hick had her entry lined up. She chose "edgy" and fell flat on her fugly face.
 
2013-09-14 01:35:25 AM  

OtherLittleGuy: Mugato: GanjSmokr: Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke "to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Methinks someone was looking a little too hard at the screen.

/hard

These outraged people who were so disgusted by the performance seemed to have gone over it like the Zapruder film.

They were also disgusted over the Zapruder film.

/"Jackie showed her buttocks reaching over the back!"


fap fap fap
 
2013-09-14 01:42:52 AM  
I'm mostly offended that people keep referring to whatever the hell that was as "twerking." That was some kind of sad white girl jiggle.

Madonna was at least performing. Madonna put on a fan-farking-tastic show. Madonna was trying to push the envelope so that more women would embrace their sexuality-- not trying to be shocking for the hell of it just to convince everyone that she was an adult. Miley looked more like a drunken kid in the crowd took her clothes off and wandered onto the stage while the nice teddy bears danced to Blurred Lines.

Again... Not so much offended. It was just bad, and hubs had to listen to me yell at her bad dance moves throughout the duration of her "performance." I made up for it by demonstrating actual twerking for him.
 
2013-09-14 01:44:14 AM  

IdBeCrazyIf: megarian: IdBeCrazyIf: HighZoolander: "My daughter was even surprised of Slutty Cyrus, and she's the biggest slut in our family. I mean, there's the sluttiest sluts you can imagine, and then there's my daughter; she'd put Mr. Slave up her ass even quicker than he put Paris Hilton up his. And even she was shocked by ol Slutty Cyrus."

I have the oddest boner right now

Is it like a 7 or 9?

Or do you mean primest?

47

My boners only work in primes


Rodimus Prime?
 
2013-09-14 02:07:36 AM  

megarian: Mugato: megarian: *reads complaints*

I came.

It does look like a lot of them were typing those messages with one hand.

Hey! Just bcsecause I type width bad, doesn't mesn I was masterbstung.


Please don't ruin my fantasy.  A guy can dream, can't he?
 
2013-09-14 02:24:58 AM  
DeadGeek:

Says it all
 
2013-09-14 02:31:09 AM  
Why is her tongue so white? That's gross.
 
2013-09-14 02:41:16 AM  

AndeePanda: Why is her tongue so white? That's gross.


How else do you get the coke stuck to the mirror?
 
2013-09-14 02:43:54 AM  
I loved this Cracked article about it
i.crackedcdn.com
/Swear, I'm not a paid shill
//though I have no problem with that, if anyone at Cracked is reading this...
 
2013-09-14 02:44:48 AM  

Mugato: No it wasn't. And these shrieking hens who are crying about this were probably kids themselves when Madonna was doing the same thing on the same channel.


...and their mothers, or they if sufficiently aged, probably lined up around the block to see Annette Funicello -- the original Disney girl gone wild -- shake her bikini-clad, navel-showing, ass on the movie screen. Same shiat, different generation.

Of course, the difference between Madonna and Annette Funicello, and Miley Cyrus, is the former two were actually good performers.
 
2013-09-14 04:10:02 AM  

RobertBruce: Ridiculous pearl clutching either way, then and now.


24.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-09-14 04:13:07 AM  
A spanking! A spanking! There is going to be a spanking tonight!
img7.imageshack.us
 
2013-09-14 04:22:09 AM  
The VMAs are rated TV-14

This program contains some material that many parents would find unsuitable for children under 14 years of age.
Programs rated TV-14 may contain some material that parental guardians may find unsuitable for children under the age of 14. The FCC warns that "Parents are cautioned to exercise some care in monitoring this program and are cautioned against letting children under the age of 14 watch unattended.


I noticed there were some complaints from parents with children under the age of 14 complaining that their children were traumatized. I'd like to ask them this...WHY IN THE HELL WERE YOU LETTING THEM WATCH THE SHOW IN THE FIRST PLACE?

MTV's VMA show is not suitable for 10-year olds, yet you let your daughter, niece, etc. watch it and were shocked and upset by the children's reaction. That's some quality parenting right there. No wonder so many children have no sense of personal responsibility. How can they when their parents don't?
 
2013-09-14 04:56:24 AM  
All I needed to know about taking do learned to medic take a entry for app minutes n.
 
2013-09-14 07:00:14 AM  
I am a poor man. I am an obscure man. I will most likely live and die a poor and obscure man.
But I will never be the object of a sentence that ends with the words "upon whom Cyrus grinded".

And anyway - shouldn't it be "ground"?
 
2013-09-14 07:36:10 AM  
I could see her dirty pillows.
 
2013-09-14 07:51:12 AM  

LawyerBuzz: Incontinent_dog_and_monkey_rodeo: Several viewers were reported to have gotten the vapors.

You, sir, are obviously not from the south.

The vapors are real and they are quite serious.


I don't know about serious -- "Turning Japanese" was just lighthearted fun.

Kirsten Dunst's cover was pretty hawt, though.
 
2013-09-14 08:12:23 AM  

Snarcoleptic_Hoosier: I'm more offended that VMAs still exist.


No shiat. MTV giving out awards for music videos is like a Rabbi handing out awards for best pork sausage.
 
2013-09-14 08:16:08 AM  

Strix occidentalis: As someone who has yet to experience either, should I expect to be more terrified of Miley's performance or the Red Wedding?

/Strix is late to all the parties
//or possibly just procrastinating


You're not the only one. I wait until HBO releases the entire season on Blu-ray and then I go on a weekend binge.

/Binge of Game of Thrones, not Miley Cyrus.
//But you knew that.
///Hopefully.
 
2013-09-14 08:32:23 AM  

Errk: I don't get all the fuss. Wasn't Madonna doing that kind of crap years ago?


Why are Madonna and Britney performing with an orange?
 
2013-09-14 08:54:13 AM  

Jizz Master Zero: People shouldn't be offended by the sexual nature of the performance. They should be offended by the fact that Miley Cyrus thought any of what she was doing was sexy.


She doesn't know any better. Just showing what her daddy taught her.
 
2013-09-14 08:59:45 AM  

Farkenhostile: Farkenhostile: Yet these people decided to tune into MTV and all its wonderful wholesome family programming then are shocked when something a little controversial happens.

I do wonder why MTV bothers with those awards anymore though since they aren't about music anymore, shouldn't they be doing the garbage reality tv rewards instead?

Awards*


No, I think you had it right the first time.
 
2013-09-14 09:04:14 AM  

Bathia_Mapes: The VMAs are rated TV-14

This program contains some material that many parents would find unsuitable for children under 14 years of age.
Programs rated TV-14 may contain some material that parental guardians may find unsuitable for children under the age of 14. The FCC warns that "Parents are cautioned to exercise some care in monitoring this program and are cautioned against letting children under the age of 14 watch unattended.


I noticed there were some complaints from parents with children under the age of 14 complaining that their children were traumatized. I'd like to ask them this...WHY IN THE HELL WERE YOU LETTING THEM WATCH THE SHOW IN THE FIRST PLACE?

MTV's VMA show is not suitable for 10-year olds, yet you let your daughter, niece, etc. watch it and were shocked and upset by the children's reaction. That's some quality parenting right there. No wonder so many children have no sense of personal responsibility. How can they when their parents don't?


HAY!

You watch yourself with all that common sensical talk!

I don't want to get logic in my Cheerios.
 
2013-09-14 09:41:32 AM  
there are a couple buttons on a tv remote:

One, ususally red, controls power.  Press once, the TV turns on, press again the TV turns off.

There are other buttons that will change the program you are watching.
 
2013-09-14 09:56:50 AM  
Jesus Christ, if she wasn't set for life she is now.

Genius. People won't be able to forget her if they tried.
 
2013-09-14 10:32:02 AM  
All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.
 
2013-09-14 10:52:31 AM  

ladyfortuna: "* Cyrus was acting like a devil flicking that tongue as deamons do." "

I spent a good half hour trying to come up with a Linux joke for this, but alas I failed.

Please, Fark, do me proud.


Maybe if that child process of Billy Ray had closed her stdout like she was supposed to, we wouldn't have to see her tongue all the time.
 
2013-09-14 11:19:43 AM  
Hey, it got me to laugh.
i43.tinypic.com
i41.tinypic.com
 
2013-09-14 11:20:31 AM  

kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.


Slutty, boobs, vagina.  What's not to find attractive?
 
2013-09-14 11:24:59 AM  

Too Pretty For Prison: kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.

Slutty, boobs, vagina.  What's not to find attractive?


Too scary
 
2013-09-14 11:26:44 AM  

megarian: Bathia_Mapes: The VMAs are rated TV-14

This program contains some material that many parents would find unsuitable for children under 14 years of age.
Programs rated TV-14 may contain some material that parental guardians may find unsuitable for children under the age of 14. The FCC warns that "Parents are cautioned to exercise some care in monitoring this program and are cautioned against letting children under the age of 14 watch unattended.


I noticed there were some complaints from parents with children under the age of 14 complaining that their children were traumatized. I'd like to ask them this...WHY IN THE HELL WERE YOU LETTING THEM WATCH THE SHOW IN THE FIRST PLACE?

MTV's VMA show is not suitable for 10-year olds, yet you let your daughter, niece, etc. watch it and were shocked and upset by the children's reaction. That's some quality parenting right there. No wonder so many children have no sense of personal responsibility. How can they when their parents don't?

HAY!

You watch yourself with all that common sensical talk!

I don't want to get logic in my Cheerios.


sorry
 
2013-09-14 11:51:09 AM  
Look at all these people too stupid to change the channel.
 
2013-09-14 11:55:25 AM  

Pichu0102: All I needed to know about taking do learned to medic take a entry for app minutes n.


i.imgur.com
 
2013-09-14 12:00:40 PM  

Pichu0102: All I needed to know about taking do learned to medic take a entry for app minutes n.


Again, in English this time...
 
2013-09-14 12:26:40 PM  
The person who did her hair should be locked up for 5 yrs, and never aloud to touch hair again.

But really how many of those people actually saw the show.
 
2013-09-14 01:27:39 PM  

kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.


In the twerking vid, I agree...aggressively unattractive.  But she's not bad-looking in that wrecking-ball video, imho.
 
2013-09-14 02:17:21 PM  

kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.


The media tells us she's attractive, that's how. And despite her age she still has that jailbait thing going. Even though one can swing a dead cat at the local mall and hit girls who are hotter.
 
2013-09-14 02:21:42 PM  

Mugato: kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.

The media tells us she's attractive, that's how. And despite her age she still has that jailbait thing going. Even though one can swing a dead cat at the local mall and hit girls who are hotter.


o_O

Interesting hobby.
 
2013-09-14 02:23:07 PM  

ongbok: "Cyrus's grinding caused Thicke to have a slight erection which can be easily noticed through his pants."

Oh my.


He must have one of the new super hi-def tvs I've been hearing about. Good to know.
 
2013-09-14 02:24:27 PM  

megarian: Mugato: kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.

The media tells us she's attractive, that's how. And despite her age she still has that jailbait thing going. Even though one can swing a dead cat at the local mall and hit girls who are hotter.

o_O

Interesting hobby.


It's a common idiom. The point is no, she's not all that hot. Don't give me any Studman shiat, I'm just saying.
 
2013-09-14 02:41:14 PM  

Mugato: megarian: Mugato: kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.

The media tells us she's attractive, that's how. And despite her age she still has that jailbait thing going. Even though one can swing a dead cat at the local mall and hit girls who are hotter.

o_O

Interesting hobby.

It's a common idiom. The point is no, she's not all that hot. Don't give me any Studman shiat, I'm just saying.


I was kidding. ;)

I just really REALLY want to see someone actually take a dead cat, swing said dead cat (twist it 'round yo head spin it like a helicopter) and fark whomever it smacks.
 
2013-09-14 02:47:45 PM  

megarian: I just really REALLY want to see someone actually take a dead cat, swing said dead cat (twist it 'round yo head spin it like a helicopter) and fark whomever it smacks.


Well you have to be quick. When rigor sets in it's trying to swing a wooden board.

/joke, has nothing against cats, lived with them all through childhood
 
2013-09-14 02:54:26 PM  

megarian: I just really REALLY want to see someone actually take a dead cat, swing said dead cat (twist it 'round yo head spin it like a helicopter) and fark whomever it smacks.


Well I have to work tonight and the wife goes to church tomorrow morning but my afternoon is freed up

/assuming this farking exchange server works tonight
 
2013-09-14 02:56:44 PM  

Mugato: megarian: I just really REALLY want to see someone actually take a dead cat, swing said dead cat (twist it 'round yo head spin it like a helicopter) and fark whomever it smacks.

Well you have to be quick. When rigor sets in it's trying to swing a wooden board.

/joke, has nothing against cats, lived with them all through childhood


I love cats and have a very spoiled orange kitty named Creepy.

But weirdest Caturday boner...
 
2013-09-14 02:57:31 PM  

IdBeCrazyIf: megarian: I just really REALLY want to see someone actually take a dead cat, swing said dead cat (twist it 'round yo head spin it like a helicopter) and fark whomever it smacks.

Well I have to work tonight and the wife goes to church tomorrow morning but my afternoon is freed up

/assuming this farking exchange server works tonight


omg omg this is better than Christmas.
 
2013-09-14 03:16:36 PM  

megarian: omg omg this is better than Christmas.


Just make sure to start a kickstarter for bail and we'll make this happen
 
2013-09-14 04:02:39 PM  

Walker: Morons. The FCC has no control over cable channels.


This

The best control is your remote.
Or going OTA.
 
2013-09-14 04:22:03 PM  
The outage reads like a typical Fark thread.

One part outrage, one part painfully obvious attempts at snark, one part delusions of grandeur.
 
2013-09-14 04:27:43 PM  
150 complaints? Oh, come on, that could easily represent the standard percentage of old people that will literally complain about anything on TV. Why let an irritatingly vocal demographic that we disregard on every other subject shape what we watch on television, performance aside?
 
2013-09-14 09:40:35 PM  

Mugato: kukukupo: All I can say is that is one ugly biatch.  I don't understand how anyone can think she is attractive.

The media tells us she's attractive, that's how. And despite her age she still has that jailbait thing going. Even though one can swing a dead cat at the local mall and hit girls who are hotter.


...But nowhere near as naked.
 
2013-09-14 10:22:55 PM  

shtychkn: MrHappyRotter: obligatory

[i.imgur.com image 599x345]

The best part is how disgusted the kid looks.


I think the best part is Wil trying to get a better look
 
2013-09-15 01:05:46 AM  
I'd like to complain about the endless coverage of it.
 
Displayed 168 of 168 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking

On Twitter





Top Commented
Javascript is required to view headlines in widget.
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report