If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   Texas textbook review panelist: "'creation science' based on Biblical principles should be incorporated into every Biology book that is up for adoption"   (huffingtonpost.com) divider line 255
    More: Fail, Texas, Homi Bhabha Centre for Science Education, Texas Freedom Network, Texas A&M University, National Center for Science Education, Texas Education Agency, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Discovery Institute  
•       •       •

6804 clicks; posted to Main » on 11 Sep 2013 at 4:25 PM (50 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



255 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-09-11 04:38:23 PM
How about no. Does "no" work for you? Just no.
 
2013-09-11 04:39:05 PM
Gaaahh! WTF, Texas?

/never go full retard
 
2013-09-11 04:39:37 PM

gilgigamesh: We'd be better off letting australopithecus dictate our core curriculum.


But then the Texas Board of Education would stop them because australopithecus is another point of evidence of evolution.
 
GBB
2013-09-11 04:39:42 PM

boue67: I am a confused foreigner...Why does the US not kick out texas out of the union  again?


Because they want to secede.  And, for some reason, we can't have that.   Something about the ridiculously large belt buckle and hat industry or whatnot.
 
2013-09-11 04:40:15 PM
The taliban is alive and well and living in Texas.
 
2013-09-11 04:41:21 PM

GBB: boue67: I am a confused foreigner...Why does the US not kick out texas out of the union  again?

Because they want to secede.  And, for some reason, we can't have that.   Something about the ridiculously large belt buckle and hat industry or whatnot.


The real reason is oil. Tejas has it. 

If they seceded, we'd bomb the shiat out of them for freedom.
 
2013-09-11 04:41:33 PM
In Texas your choices for a decent education are to send your child to a private school or home school.  If you are lucky you can get a spot in a charter school but its a hellova waiting list.  The public school system is basically a child storage unit for when you go to work.  The southern states generally fight tooth and nail on who gets to be the worst at giving funding for public education.
 
2013-09-11 04:42:45 PM
She works at the Department of Nutrition and Food Science. Wow, she actually has a job in which she studies potato.
 
2013-09-11 04:43:42 PM
There are very, very few people I genuinely hate - but these reviewers and their perverse determination to warp the minds of other people's children are some of them.

I detest everything they stand for.
 
2013-09-11 04:47:58 PM
This is just a single person. So lets go ahead and assume this is how all Texans think.
 
2013-09-11 04:50:33 PM

cfroelic: Where do they keep all these books?  Are they in some central location, some sort of depository?


i.imgur.com
 
2013-09-11 04:52:30 PM
Of course, we should also teach homeopathy and chiropractic in med school, alchemy in chemistry, flat-Earth in geology, Holocaust denial in history...

Or, alternatively, fire these retarded farkwits. People who do not know what science is should be completely disqualified from deciding what to teach our children.
 
2013-09-11 04:53:48 PM
Creationism is not science, therefore it doesn't belong in a science book or class.  How hard is that to understand?  Titian's use of the color red in his painting is interesting to know, but that doesn't mean it belongs in a Biology class either.
 
2013-09-11 04:55:10 PM

LordJiro: alchemy in chemistry


images3.wikia.nocookie.net
 
2013-09-11 04:55:47 PM

LordJiro: Of course, we should also teach homeopathy and chiropractic in med school, alchemy in chemistry, flat-Earth in geology, Holocaust denial in history...

Or, alternatively, fire these retarded farkwits. People who do not know what science is should be completely disqualified from deciding what to teach our children.


I think they should just be barred from receiving any medical care based on techniques developed after 1859.
 
2013-09-11 04:56:01 PM

PsyLord: FTA: Panelist Karen Beathard, who works in the Department of Nutrition and Food Science at Texas A&M University

I wonder how many alumni of Texas A&M want a refund


Know how to get an aggy off of your porch?
Pay him for the pizza.
 
2013-09-11 04:56:33 PM
Fundies don't like evolution because, among other reasons, it does away with the Fall in the Garden of Eden, and therefore the need for redemption, thus making the sacrifice on the Cross completely unnecessary, and invalidating the entire Bible as worthless superstition. And it pretty much takes God out of the picture.

I readily concede this argument to them. In fact, that's where I say "I'm glad we agree on this crucial point. Cocktail?"
 
2013-09-11 04:56:52 PM

grumpfuff: specifically the Egyptian ones, masturbation and all.



Go on...
 
2013-09-11 04:57:24 PM
Check out The Revisionaries if you want to see the end goal, it's on netflix . A lot of textbooks are used nationwide and Texas has a lot of pull with the publishers because of their large population. A couple of creationists in Texas may result in creationism appearing in textbooks across the country.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_revisionaries_2012/
 
2013-09-11 04:57:30 PM
To anyone with netflix, go see 'the revisionaries'.  It plods a little but really shows how Texas is responsible for editing textbooks for the rest of the nation.  It also shows some of the troglodyte personalties involved in the process pushing this country towards a theocracy, or alternative, being supressed by non-christians.
 
2013-09-11 04:58:23 PM
"I understand the National Academy of Science's strong support of the theory of evolution. At the same time, [evolution] is a theory,"

You really ought to educate yourself on what the term theory means in a scientific context:

Scientific theories are the most reliable, rigorous, and comprehensive form of scientific knowledge. This is significantly different from the word "theory" in common usage, which implies that something is unsubstantiated or speculative.

"As an educator, parent, and grandparent, I feel very firmly that 'creation science' based on Biblical principles should be incorporated into every Biology book that is up for adoption."

I agree - Creation Science should absolutely be discussed in the textbooks to ensure that the students get all the facts.  Here's a good starting point:

Creation science or scientific creationism is a branch of creationism that attempts to provide scientific support for the Genesis creation narrative in the Book of Genesis and disprove generally accepted scientific facts, theories and scientific paradigms about the history of the Earth, cosmology and biological evolution. It began in the 1960s as a fundamentalist Christian effort in the United States to prove Biblical inerrancy and nullify the scientific evidence for evolution.  The overwhelming consensus of the scientific community is that creation science is a religious, not a scientific view, and that creation science does not qualify as science because it lacks empirical support, supplies no tentative hypotheses, and resolves to describe natural history in terms of scientifically untestable supernatural causes. Creation science has been characterized as a pseudo-scientific attempt to map the Bible into scientific facts.
 
2013-09-11 04:58:45 PM
i105.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-11 04:59:03 PM
I DEMAND THAT SCHOOLS TEACH MY THEORY OF THE BRONTOSAURUS!

24.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-09-11 04:59:30 PM
maramos,
You think like me. I like you.
 
2013-09-11 05:00:07 PM
Maybe that is why the books are reviewed by a panel and not one person.
 
2013-09-11 05:00:30 PM

Lamberts Ho Man: "As an educator, parent, and grandparent, I feel very firmly that 'creation science' based on Biblical principles should be incorporated into every Biology book that is up for adoption."

I agree - Creation Science should absolutely be discussed in the textbooks to ensure that the students get all the facts. Here's a good starting point:

Creation science or scientific creationism is a branch of creationism that attempts to provide scientific support for the Genesis creation narrative in the Book of Genesis and disprove generally accepted scientific facts, theories and scientific paradigms about the history of the Earth, cosmology and biological evolution. It began in the 1960s as a fundamentalist Christian effort in the United States to prove Biblical inerrancy and nullify the scientific evidence for evolution. The overwhelming consensus of the scientific community is that creation science is a religious, not a scientific view, and that creation science does not qualify as science because it lacks empirical support, supplies no tentative hypotheses, and resolves to describe natural history in terms of scientifically untestable supernatural causes. Creation science has been characterized as a pseudo-scientific attempt to map the Bible into scientific facts.


"Okay, today we're going to learn everything scientific about creationism and intelligent design. [BEAT] Okay, that's everything I have on that subject. Now let's go on to evolution."
 
2013-09-11 05:03:21 PM
How about NO!
 
2013-09-11 05:04:06 PM
My textbook had creationsim, but it was more of a "some people believe there was a supernatural being (God) that created earth, some think it was extraterrestrial (aliens implanted us here), and some believe it was evolution. Choose whatever you want to believe. Moving on." If it is like that I don't see what the big controversey is all about. Offering a multitude of choices and letting the students actually think for themselves! What a novel concept!
 
2013-09-11 05:04:20 PM
"Panelists do not necessarily have to have a background in science, despite the fact that they are tasked with reviewing biology textbooks."

Well isn't that nice.
 
2013-09-11 05:04:31 PM
Karen B. in TFA: "I understand the National Academy of Science's strong support of the theory of evolution. At the same time, [evolution] is a theory.

You have no idea what scientific theory is.

As an educator,

You teach food service mgmt. How does that qualify you to decide what is/isn't science?

parent,and grandparent,

Completely irrelevant. Why do so many parents think the mere fact of them spawning qualifies them to judge what should or shouldn't be taught in a science classroom? Am I missing something? I don't have children. When you manage to reproduce, is scientific knowledge instantly beamed into your brain? Why would you think that you know much about it? What makes you an expert? When you want some idea what the weather will be like in four days, do you check a forecast from a meteorologist or go outside and stare at the sky? If your child needs his appendix taken out, do you take him to the doctor or perform the operation yourself? If your husband has a nasty toothache, does he go to the dentist or hand you a drill and tell you to get to work?

I feel very firmly that 'creation science' based on Biblical principles should be incorporated into every Biology book that is up for adoption."

It's not science. Keep it out of science classrooms, you farking theocrat.

boue67: I am a confused foreigner...Why does the US not kick out texas out of the union  again?


Oil.
Though if we kicked them out, we could invade. hmmm....

/are you pondering what I'm pondering?
 
2013-09-11 05:04:31 PM

EvilEgg: Blues_X: Proponents should only be able to use creation science in their family medical treatments.

Yay! Penicillin for all!


The Bible doesn't say anything about using antibiotics. So no medicine for you.
 
2013-09-11 05:05:16 PM
Teach both; let the students decide.

/ and by teach both; I ment criticize the hell out of everyone who believes the world wasn't created by a higher power.

// not serious
 
2013-09-11 05:05:42 PM
Keep it up, assholes, and we're going to get our own tag.
 
2013-09-11 05:06:20 PM
I think we have found the only positive for school budget cuts. "Hey kids, we know you're using textbooks that are 15 years old because we can't afford new ones, but at least you don't have to learn about creationism in science class!"
 
2013-09-11 05:06:45 PM

ManateeGag: how are these children going to exist in the real world?


I believe in evolution, think the universe most likely began with a big bang almost 13.8 billion years ago, and that there is no higher power coordinating the universe.

And, honestly, I think the only tangible difference between my life and those people's is that I get to sleep in on Sunday.

Ignorance is bad, but this particular ignorance will have very little impact on their lives.
 
2013-09-11 05:06:56 PM

LordJiro: alchemy in chemistry


is this the teacher?
venturefans.org
 
2013-09-11 05:08:01 PM

big pig peaches: Maybe that is why the books are reviewed by a panel and not one person.


Because committees are where we expect good things to come from?

www.piccer.nl

/None of us are as stupid as all of us
//Also how the platypus came into being
 
2013-09-11 05:08:03 PM
Here I sit, buns a flexin', giving birth to another Texan.
 
2013-09-11 05:08:36 PM
I'll be real honest a moment.

This whole damn thing really depresses me, even though the law is very clearly on the side of science.

That we still have to debate this issue every freaking month it seems; when the evidence is so goddamn overwhelming regarding the fact that life evolved it may as well be the air you breath, the sun in the sky, and the ground beneath your feet.

I think I'll post funny pictures now

i457.photobucket.com

i457.photobucket.com
i457.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-11 05:08:40 PM

WI241TH: ManateeGag: how are these children going to exist in the real world?

Apparently they get jobs at Texas A&M

Panelist Karen Beathard, who works in the Department of Nutrition and Food Science at Texas A&M University, critiqued the lack of creationism reflected in the textbooks.


What is she, the lunch lady? How do these people get through grade school without knowing what a scientific theory is?
 
2013-09-11 05:09:12 PM

maramos: Check out The Revisionaries if you want to see the end goal, it's on netflix . A lot of textbooks are used nationwide and Texas has a lot of pull with the publishers because of their large population. A couple of creationists in Texas may result in creationism appearing in textbooks across the country.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_revisionaries_2012/


Fortunately, printing is a lot cheaper and easier than it used to be. Computers and advances in printing technology make it possible for a publishing company to make variations on a textbook without increasing the cost very much. This is already happening, though I don't have a link handy.
 
2013-09-11 05:10:01 PM
Dear Texas, you seem to be doing your damnedest in your attempt to aggressively not grasp what "Science" means.

Please take positive action on this front and remove all people in your state who advocate 'creation science' from all medical care.

Thank you... The rest of us.
 
2013-09-11 05:10:32 PM

Blues_X: Proponents should only be able to use creation science in their family medical treatments.



img201.imageshack.us
 
2013-09-11 05:12:49 PM
i43.tinypic.com

/oblig
 
2013-09-11 05:13:23 PM
Every school child in America has access to the internet and the best information available. You can put it in their text books but all you'll end up doing is instilling a great mistrust and skepticism in them for your institutions.

truth always wins eventually
 
2013-09-11 05:13:30 PM

Nhojwolfe: This is just a single person. So lets go ahead and assume this is how all Texans think.


This person got on a panel deciding policy for public schools. Ostensibly this means that there is some chain of responsibility going back to a popular vote or an elected official. This kind of story about Texas and textbooks is not new. It follows* that the majority populace of Texas is at least not sufficiently opposed to this kind of shiat to keep it from happening.

Yeah, generalizations suck, but in this case, there's at least some sound logical reasoning. I have the utmost respect for those in Texas who oppose this kind of thinking, but they don't seem to be gaining a whole lot of ground, at least as viewed through the lens of national media. I hope the voices of reason prevail and they gain more influence.

* I grant that I am being wildly idealistic about American democracy here...
 
2013-09-11 05:14:24 PM
'Only a theory'

As opposed to what?
 
2013-09-11 05:14:41 PM
If you believe that in virgins giving birth, then you have no business talking about what should or shouldn't be in a science textbook.
 
2013-09-11 05:14:57 PM
why haven't we switched to individualized computer-driven instruction yet? The technology has existed for 30!+ years.

Also open source textbooks are the future.
 
2013-09-11 05:15:13 PM

hailin: My textbook had creationsim, but it was more of a "some people believe there was a supernatural being (God) that created earth, some think it was extraterrestrial (aliens implanted us here), and some believe it was evolution. Choose whatever you want to believe. Moving on." If it is like that I don't see what the big controversey is all about. Offering a multitude of choices and letting the students actually think for themselves! What a novel concept!


Science is about teaching the facts.

If it said "At one time people believed a supernatural being created all life, but science has shown that life has evolved over billions of years to arrive where it is today", that's fine.  It's similar to what is taught about alchemy when going over the history of chemistry.  Adding in "You can choose to believe whatever you want" is clouding the issue, and doing a great disservice to the student.

Yes, they can indeed believe what they want, but the facts still stand.  Creationism is wrong, and creation science is not science.

There is a lot of interesting things to cover about the history of evolution, but there is no need to indulge fantasy.
 
Displayed 50 of 255 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report