If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Making Star Wars)   This spoiler-filled review of an early screening of the upcoming RoboCop remake suggests that it's...pretty good?   (makingstarwars.net) divider line 50
    More: Interesting, RoboCop, Jackie Earle Haley, Crime in the United States, Abbie Cornish, Ray Kurzweil, NDA, Film criticism, Michael Keaton  
•       •       •

2474 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 11 Sep 2013 at 2:29 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



50 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-09-11 02:32:11 PM  
So it's a humorless, serious approach to the same material as the original? Sounds an awful lot like we're talking about the Shadow Warrior remake.
 
2013-09-11 02:32:53 PM  
I saw the trailer before Riddick. I groaned out loud when I realized it was RoboCop, but it ended up looking pretty good.

I might even purchase it for an entire dollar.
 
2013-09-11 02:33:49 PM  
I'm not going to read a spoiler-filled review but the trailer I saw looked quite good. I would not be surprised if it was better than the original.
 
2013-09-11 02:35:33 PM  
How are they screening features that don't come out for months?

I take it they plan on modifying it...
 
2013-09-11 02:37:55 PM  

MrEricSir: So it's a humorless, serious approach to the same material as the original? Sounds an awful lot like we're talking about the Shadow Warrior remake.


With zero of the cultural and social commentary of the original. Basically just "LOOK AT COOL CYBORG" "LOOK AT THE GODDAMNED CYBORG!"
 
2013-09-11 02:38:42 PM  
your blog sucks
 
2013-09-11 02:41:12 PM  

buntz: your blog sucks


this.  terribly written drek.
 
2013-09-11 02:42:09 PM  
I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.
 
2013-09-11 02:42:55 PM  

justtray: How are they screening features that don't come out for months?

I take it they plan on modifying it...


They finished principal filming last winter.  There was talk about refilming the finale but I don't know if that ever happened.  They have had it for editing and effects for months now.
 
2013-09-11 02:46:27 PM  
Key words: "early screening".

= "haven't yet thoroughly watered down the director's "original" vision into whatever unwatchable abomination ultimately ends up stinking up the megaloplexes of the world for two weeks and the 3-dollar-DVD bins of  Wal-Mart and Value-City for eternity."
 
2013-09-11 02:49:35 PM  

JasonOfOrillia: justtray: How are they screening features that don't come out for months?

I take it they plan on modifying it...

They finished principal filming last winter.  There was talk about refilming the finale but I don't know if that ever happened.  They have had it for editing and effects for months now.


Word round camp fire was it was going to a possible reshoot this month and they were in works to secure several shooting locations for it.


.....as far as the opinion of the early screening. I like it, they went with the Deus Ex story route which fits better for a cyborg movie. There was no way they could ever top the satire of the original.
 
2013-09-11 02:52:17 PM  

IdBeCrazyIf: .....as far as the opinion of the early screening. I like it, they went with the Deus Ex story route which fits better for a cyborg movie. There was no way they could ever top the satire of the original.


and really, the satire was a product of its time and place. it needs something new if it wants to appeal to a current audience
 
2013-09-11 02:53:35 PM  
GF and I watched the trailer last night and mostly just laughed, I thought it looked pretty terrible.

The new Dredd movie owned, just make another one of those. Similar enough.
 
2013-09-11 02:56:45 PM  

LeroyBourne: I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.


Yeah....I noticed in the trailer that Murphy does not suffer the same gruesome "death" he does in the original. That scene alone would put it way past PG.
 
2013-09-11 02:57:18 PM  

tlchwi02: and really, the satire was a product of its time and place. it needs something new if it wants to appeal to a current audience


Agreed, the satire and content just hit that perfect bell weather moment. Some movies are just products of their time and can never be replicated, like The Crow for instance.
 
2013-09-11 02:57:52 PM  
Not amused.

2.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-09-11 03:03:43 PM  

LeroyBourne: I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.


i hoped that for World War Z.

I was dissapoint.
 
2013-09-11 03:05:57 PM  
I'd buy that for a dollar!

/you people are slipping
 
2013-09-11 03:11:59 PM  

Losac: Not amused.


biatches leave.
 
2013-09-11 03:12:01 PM  

talkertopc: I'm not going to read a spoiler-filled review but the trailer I saw looked quite good. I would not be surprised if it was better than the original.


No to worry, the spoiler synopsis didn't bring up anything you couldn't already infer from watching the trailer anyway.
 
2013-09-11 03:12:54 PM  

Losac: Not amused.

[2.bp.blogspot.com image 400x267]


biatches leave.
 
2013-09-11 03:14:34 PM  
Just saw the trailer yesterday.  Doesn't look nearly as fun as the original, but it does look like it should be a decent action flick.
 
2013-09-11 03:15:12 PM  
The film ultimately wins for not trying to be the original.

Actually, I found it very original. So original that I mostly called it in the other Robocop thread a few days ago.
 
2013-09-11 03:15:18 PM  
Am I the only one who thought, "Oh now they can actually shoot the movie in the dystopian wasteland that is actual Detroit rather than south Dallas?"
 
2013-09-11 04:08:32 PM  

Big Beef Burrito: I saw the trailer before Riddick. I groaned out loud when I realized it was RoboCop, but it ended up looking pretty good.

I might even purchase it for an entire dollar.


img.photobucket.com
 
2013-09-11 04:08:46 PM  
I liked to think that it's (RoboCop) a prequel to "That 70's Show" where Red is actually under a federal witness protection program. (somehow he survived). Made for more amusing viewing.
 
2013-09-11 04:10:01 PM  

LukeR: Am I the only one who thought, "Oh now they can actually shoot the movie in the dystopian wasteland that is actual Detroit rather than south Dallas?"


South Dallas is its own wasteland, just different landmarks.
 
2013-09-11 04:10:45 PM  

talkertopc: I'm not going to read a spoiler-filled review but the trailer I saw looked quite good. I would not be surprised if it was better than the original.


i.imgur.com
 
2013-09-11 04:11:02 PM  

Skunkwolf: I liked to think that it's (RoboCop) a prequel to "That 70's Show" where Red is actually under a federal witness protection program. (somehow he survived). Made for more amusing viewing.


Then that'd explain why Jack Bauer didn't outright torture him during the Senate hearing on 24.
 
2013-09-11 04:15:19 PM  
No it goddamn well does NOT.  It totally missed the point of the last one and instead turned into such n action movie cliche that they actually give Robocop Black armor at one point tomake him look mor e"tactitcal"  they actually SAY that in the trailer....

Robocop, like Starship Troopers was a dark comedy, NOT an action movie
 
2013-09-11 04:45:18 PM  
I was on the fence on this one so I had to read the spoilers just to see what its joie de vivre  level was.
It definitely feels more like Dredd (Which I saw on Netflix) than Total Recall (Which based on a similar breakdown I really felt no desire to see) So I dunno that I would see it in the theater but I may give it a look on video.
 
2013-09-11 04:51:01 PM  

frepnog: LeroyBourne: I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.

i hoped that for World War Z.

I was dissapoint.


Oh, I know.  Me too.  Maybe someday HBO will get their hands on it and do a worthy mini-series true to the book.  I read some article (maybe here) where Max Brooks said he didn't really care how the movie was made.  So if he's not pissed I'm not.  It's just an avg zombie flick with a really dumb twist.  Nothing more, nothing less.
 
2013-09-11 04:58:56 PM  
I'm actually more okay with the whole "we need to convince Americans to allow a robot police force because $$$$$" aspect than the original's "we need to destroy Detroit so we can rebuild it for some reason" thing. OCP's motivations in the original just don't seem to make a whole lot of sense. For the amount of time and effort they put into destroying Detroit, they could just build a new city elsewhere.

Or better yet, just take over Windsor, Canada. Not like they'd get a whole lot of resistance.
 
2013-09-11 05:28:46 PM  

Magorn: No it goddamn well does NOT.  It totally missed the point of the last one and instead turned into such n action movie cliche that they actually give Robocop Black armor at one point tomake him look mor e"tactitcal"  they actually SAY that in the trailer....

Robocop, like Starship Troopers was a dark comedy, NOT an action movie


Yes, but Starship Troopers the film abused the hell out of the book it was based on, so why are you so upset that new Robocop abuses old Robocop?
 
2013-09-11 06:08:35 PM  

Wolf_Blitzer: Magorn: No it goddamn well does NOT.  It totally missed the point of the last one and instead turned into such n action movie cliche that they actually give Robocop Black armor at one point tomake him look mor e"tactitcal"  they actually SAY that in the trailer....

Robocop, like Starship Troopers was a dark comedy, NOT an action movie

Yes, but Starship Troopers the film abused the hell out of the book it was based on, so why are you so upset that new Robocop abuses old Robocop?


Tell me where ED-209 touched you.
 
2013-09-11 06:31:48 PM  

Wolf_Blitzer: Yes, but Starship Troopers the film abused the hell out of the book it was based on


And it was better for it.
 
2013-09-11 06:51:50 PM  

PanicMan: Wolf_Blitzer: Yes, but Starship Troopers the film abused the hell out of the book it was based on

And it was better for it.


Alright, so if it's acceptable to completely change the tone of a story when making a new version, then new-Robocop should stand on its own merits rather than be condemned for straying from the old one. Glad we're in agreement.
 
2013-09-11 06:54:53 PM  
WhatTheFarkAmIReading.jpg

Dude took four paragraphs to make one point: It's not like the original.

(Saw the trailer. Didn't look too bad...)
 
2013-09-11 07:39:01 PM  
it didn't really look bad for what it was. Probably like the Total recall remake, it will be decent on its own if you can divorce it from the original.


but I don't think anyone will really care about the new  movie 25 years later like the original.
 
2013-09-11 08:29:12 PM  

bluorangefyre: Skunkwolf: I liked to think that it's (RoboCop) a prequel to "That 70's Show" where Red is actually under a federal witness protection program. (somehow he survived). Made for more amusing viewing.

Then that'd explain why Jack Bauer didn't outright torture him during the Senate hearing on 24.


This could go on, and on. Man must be a workaholic.
 
2013-09-11 08:44:08 PM  
You guys are going to fall for movie marketing again, aren't you.
 
2013-09-11 11:18:23 PM  

frepnog: buntz: your blog sucks

this.  terribly written drek.


Not sure about others, but I got a "send voicemail" ad that obscured some of the text.

I also tl;dr'd the thing, because even with the unstoppable spam ad, I could tell it was overlong.

Hope that spammy voicemail company pays you for my click, suck-blog writer. It's my last.
 
2013-09-12 05:52:28 AM  
I very much do not like the remake. I expect an action over the top movie. The original had plenty of action and gore but at heart it was a satirical comedy that criticized modern America.

This remake will probably throw all that to the wayside.
 
2013-09-12 06:45:23 AM  

Wolf_Blitzer: PanicMan: Wolf_Blitzer: Yes, but Starship Troopers the film abused the hell out of the book it was based on

And it was better for it.

Alright, so if it's acceptable to completely change the tone of a story when making a new version, then new-Robocop should stand on its own merits rather than be condemned for straying from the old one. Glad we're in agreement.



Problem is, we've already scene what happens when they change the tone of this series and do it as a straight action flick. It was called Robocop 2, and it sucked.
 
2013-09-12 07:49:25 AM  

frepnog: LeroyBourne: I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.

i hoped that for World War Z.

I was dissapoint.


So the unrated BR for World War Z doesn't have more violence and stuff in it? Crap, I was gonna watch that when it came out.

/still waiting for unrated Evil Dead (2013) BR.
 
2013-09-12 10:03:45 AM  

Mulchpuppy: frepnog: LeroyBourne: I can't get over the fact it's pg13.  I'll redbox it.  Hopefully this will just be the watered down one and by the time it hits dvd they'll add the gore it rightfully deserves.

i hoped that for World War Z.

I was dissapoint.

So the unrated BR for World War Z doesn't have more violence and stuff in it? Crap, I was gonna watch that when it came out.

/still waiting for unrated Evil Dead (2013) BR.


I saw the theatrical version and I have seen the unrated version.  I didn't spot any real differences and certainly no additional gore.  well.... there may have been one arterial spray that I didn't recall from theatrical, but overall meh.

And yes, agreed on Evil Dead.  Still dissapoint that scenes in the trailers were not in the film.  I still LOVE the film (Jane Levy.  I luv u) but I want the uncut.

"we're gonna get you"
 
2013-09-12 11:00:32 AM  

LukeR: Am I the only one who thought, "Oh now they can actually shoot the movie in the dystopian wasteland that is actual Detroit rather than south Dallas?"


Toronto.

/I'm in it.
 
2013-09-12 11:04:19 AM  

Shostie: I'm actually more okay with the whole "we need to convince Americans to allow a robot police force because $$$$$" aspect than the original's "we need to destroy Detroit so we can rebuild it for some reason" thing. OCP's motivations in the original just don't seem to make a whole lot of sense. For the amount of time and effort they put into destroying Detroit, they could just build a new city elsewhere.

Or better yet, just take over Windsor, Canada. Not like they'd get a whole lot of resistance.


Ar har har har.
 
2013-09-12 12:02:38 PM  

stoli n coke: Problem is, we've already scene what happens when they change the tone of this series and do it as a straight action flick. It was called Robocop 2, and it sucked.


I wouldn't consider Robocop 2 a straight action flick. It had satire -- the commercials, the new Robocop experiments, the 250+ prime directives -- but it didn't seem to have the same biting wit that the original had. It's like someone desperately tried to mimic the themes of Robocop 1 but without a full understanding of what it was trying to say, like a white country musician trying to do black delta blues. He might have the theory and the chords and the technique down, but he still doesn't get it.
 
2013-09-12 02:50:21 PM  

Ishkur: stoli n coke: Problem is, we've already scene what happens when they change the tone of this series and do it as a straight action flick. It was called Robocop 2, and it sucked.

I wouldn't consider Robocop 2 a straight action flick. It had satire -- the commercials, the new Robocop experiments, the 250+ prime directives -- but it didn't seem to have the same biting wit that the original had. It's like someone desperately tried to mimic the themes of Robocop 1 but without a full understanding of what it was trying to say, like a white country musician trying to do black delta blues. He might have the theory and the chords and the technique down, but he still doesn't get it.


it was what happens when hollywood butchers a script.  there is a comic adaptation of Miller's actual script that was pretty damned great.
 
Displayed 50 of 50 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report