Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Telegraph)   Facebook employees complain about long hours, no privacy, a lack of focus. Coincidentally, those are the same complaints from the family and friends of Facebook users   (telegraph.co.uk) divider line 17
    More: Fail, Facebook users, Sheryl Sandberg, Quora, Mark Zuckerberg, software developers  
•       •       •

901 clicks; posted to Business » on 05 Sep 2013 at 8:28 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



17 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-09-05 07:57:36 AM  
It sucks to have to justify a market cap that's 100x earnings.
 
2013-09-05 08:40:42 AM  
Long hours in an IT position?

I'm shocked!
 
2013-09-05 09:17:56 AM  
lack of privacy? you work for a CEO who claimed that privacy no longer exists.

lack of focus? welcome to corporate life.
 
2013-09-05 09:25:38 AM  
Another former employee said that they were put on a strenuous performance improvement plan: "I was working 12-14 hour days, on my phone constantly and being hyper aware of my performance."

Does this guy not get that "performance improvement plan" is step 1 in the plan to fire you?  They're onerous by design.  Maybe he shouldn't have sucked at his job.
 
2013-09-05 09:38:21 AM  
And that, kids, is why the first question of fight clubtech interview is "is there on-call support required for this position?".
 
2013-09-05 09:53:07 AM  
I don't know what to say about much of this, so I will say these few things.

The long hours and being on call 24/7, if you know that this will be expected of you and have been informed of it coming into a job, then you have no room to complain. If it is something they sprung on you suddenly after you were hired and wasn't a part of the original job description, then yeah you have something to complain about.

As far as the privacy goes, you should expect not to have any privacy at work. Unless you are comfortable with everybody knowing it, don't handle any personal stuff at work. I used to work for a bank, whenever we felt the need to talk shiat about a manager or something going on at work during the work day we would send each other a Sametime with an arrow pointing to the right and we would go across the street and talk shiat. We never did it in email, Sametime or on the bank property.

The lack of focus is something that happens at all young companies that are growing and break neck rates. It is something that is unfortunate and leads to a lot of wasted time and talent.

No job is as exciting as it seems. It's a job, it may seem exciting to you as a person on the outside looking in, but as soon as you are the one doing it it looses its excitement.
 
2013-09-05 10:08:09 AM  
'A got a job and it's just like work! I hate it!'

That's why they call it work, not fun.
 
2013-09-05 11:36:18 AM  
Yeah so I was very interested to hear about the real issues of working at a place like that.

Instead I got a laundry list of gripes from low performers who couldn't hack it.

Oh my god, you were expected to be on-call during your on-call week!? They're history's greatest monsters!

/speaking of laundry, that one about separating the dirty laundry for his boss does sound like bullshiat.
 
2013-09-05 11:40:08 AM  

serial_crusher: Another former employee said that they were put on a strenuous performance improvement plan: "I was working 12-14 hour days, on my phone constantly and being hyper aware of my performance."

Does this guy not get that "performance improvement plan" is step 1 in the plan to fire you?  They're onerous by design.  Maybe he shouldn't have sucked at his job.


Seriously. If you find yourself on a PIP you've gone horribly wrong somewhere.

Very likely the "I was working 12-14 hour days" piece is indicative of his issues in the first place: it's probably taking him 1.5-3.0x longer to do your tasks than it takes other people.
 
2013-09-05 11:41:47 AM  

dumbobruni: lack of privacy? you work for a CEO who claimed that privacy no longer exists.

lack of focus? welcome to corporate life.

Exactly what I thought...just like any other corp job. Get used to it.
 
2013-09-05 01:21:22 PM  
Earlier this year it was revealed that Facebook's interns are earning up to £47,000 ($74,000) with at least ten roles commanding six figure salaries.

Does "intern" mean the same thing in the UK as it does in the US? If so, FML.
 
2013-09-05 01:57:24 PM  

WayToBlue: /speaking of laundry, that one about separating the dirty laundry for his boss does sound like bullshiat.


I don't know. I have heard some stories about bosses that would make people do anything that they could get away with making them do. It is really a power trip for some people. But the bottom line is if you aren't a maid and it isn't in your job description, and you are separating your bosses laundry, it is your fault. If they ask you to do something like that say no, stand up for yourself.
 
2013-09-05 02:49:33 PM  

WayToBlue: serial_crusher: Another former employee said that they were put on a strenuous performance improvement plan: "I was working 12-14 hour days, on my phone constantly and being hyper aware of my performance."

Does this guy not get that "performance improvement plan" is step 1 in the plan to fire you?  They're onerous by design.  Maybe he shouldn't have sucked at his job.

Seriously. If you find yourself on a PIP you've gone horribly wrong somewhere.

Very likely the "I was working 12-14 hour days" piece is indicative of his issues in the first place: it's probably taking him 1.5-3.0x longer to do your tasks than it takes other people.


On the whole, you'd be right. But sometimes, you get the PIP because you did the right thing. My PIP motivated me to find another job where my talents were appreciated.

I completely realize that when I got a PIP, it was my fault. I could've avoided it, but not while keeping my integrity.
 
2013-09-05 05:23:17 PM  
Do you think Facebook has a problem with their employees wasting time on Facebook all day?
 
2013-09-06 12:36:38 AM  
ongbok

WayToBlue: /speaking of laundry, that one about separating the dirty laundry for his boss does sound like bullshiat.

I don't know. I have heard some stories about bosses that would make people do anything that they could get away with making them do. It is really a power trip for some people. But the bottom line is if you aren't a maid and it isn't in your job description, and you are separating your bosses laundry, it is your fault. If they ask you to do something like that say no, stand up for yourself.


Sorry I didn't phrase that well. I meant it sounds like that person has a legitimate grievance because that is messed up.
 
2013-09-06 12:47:36 AM  
Did that ops guy just complain about being on call some of the time? What a pussy...
 
2013-09-06 09:42:47 AM  

tjsands1118: Do you think Facebook has a problem with their employees wasting time on Facebook all day?


img.photobucket.com
 
Displayed 17 of 17 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter






In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report