If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(ESPN)   MLB, pending owner approval, will institute a replay challenge system beginning in 2014 - 2 challenges in the first 6 innings, 1 challenge from the 7th inning on, all challenges to be reviewed by an umpire at MLB offices   (espn.go.com) divider line 212
    More: Interesting, Major League Baseball, John Schuerholz, umpire, Joe Torre, systems  
•       •       •

643 clicks; posted to Sports » on 15 Aug 2013 at 2:24 PM (35 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



212 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-08-16 10:25:39 AM
This will be a mess... and the rules governing challenges will take up dozens of pages.

Football starts and stops in 3-10 second intervals. Play stops... don't like the call... throw the red flag.

Baseball doesn't work that way. An entire half inning can be completed without play ever stopping (the ball being dead).

It's gonna be a mess.
 
2013-08-16 10:53:04 AM

DeWayne Mann: MLB is being incredibly vague, as usual, but it sounds like the only things you can't challenge involve the batter at the plate: ball/strike, hit by pitch, did he swing, etc. Additionally, you can't challenge HRs, but that's because the umpires will handle those.


Which is extra-stupid, because this is one of the areas where they could implement technology that would vastly outperform human umps, and do it completely invisibly (home plate umpire earpiece tied to PitchFx) with zero delay to the game.  PitchFx is already in every stadium broadcasting in real time to the Internet, so a couple of IT guys could rig this up tomorrow after a trip to Radio Shack.
 
2013-08-16 10:54:07 AM

DeWayne Mann: So the new rumor is that the umpires want to be able to challenge plays on their own if a manager is out of challenges. In which case....why are there challenges?


http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/mlb/2013/08/15/mlb-instant-repl ay -manager-challenges-on-hold/2659555/

According to this, "If a manager exhausts his three challenges, and umpire crew can make a review of its own only to determine home-run calls, a rule that will be grandfathered in with the new regulations."
 
2013-08-16 10:57:15 AM

idesofmarch: DeWayne Mann: So the new rumor is that the umpires want to be able to challenge plays on their own if a manager is out of challenges. In which case....why are there challenges?

http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/mlb/2013/08/15/mlb-instant-repl ay -manager-challenges-on-hold/2659555/

According to this, "If a manager exhausts his three challenges, and umpire crew can make a review of its own only to determine home-run calls, a rule that will be grandfathered in with the new regulations."


http://sports.yahoo.com/news/instant-replay-proposal-is-small-step-i n- right-direction-for-mlb-041246465.html

And one source at the World Umpires Association said they plan to ask for - and expect to be granted - what amounts to a doomsday trigger: If a manager is out of challenges and an imperative call is close, they can request a replay themselves.

Remember, the umps haven't voted on this plan yet.
 
2013-08-16 11:03:40 AM

DeWayne Mann: Additionally, you can't challenge HRs, but that's because the umpires will handle those.


I'm waiting for a situation where a manager challenges a HR call, and the umpires take it away from him because he didn't have the right to challenge it, like what happened to the Detroit Lions last season. Yes I'm kidding, but MLB's implementation of replay is going to be a fiasco. I just want them to get the calls right. The powers that be are using a baseball bat to knock a fly off the baby's nose.
 
2013-08-16 11:06:28 AM

UNAUTHORIZED FINGER: I just want them to get the calls right.


But where's the strategy in that? Isn't that what's really important?
 
2013-08-16 11:22:18 AM

DeWayne Mann: UNAUTHORIZED FINGER: I just want them to get the calls right.

But where's the strategy in that? Isn't that what's really important?


Oh, I don't mind if my team steals a call now and again, but I demand the rest of the calls be fair. But then again, I'm an AL fan. What would I know about strategy?
 
2013-08-16 11:25:29 AM
UNAUTHORIZED FINGER:  Yes I'm kidding, but MLB's implementation of replay is going to be a fiasco.

I'm looking forward to seeing pitchers run for the mound to be able to get a foot on the rubber after there's a close play called in their favor... kinda like they do in football
 
2013-08-16 11:35:44 AM

Pray 4 Mojo: UNAUTHORIZED FINGER:  Yes I'm kidding, but MLB's implementation of replay is going to be a fiasco.

I'm looking forward to seeing pitchers run for the mound to be able to get a foot on the rubber after there's a close play called in their favor... kinda like they do in football


Baseball's hurry-up defense!
 
2013-08-16 09:44:46 PM
I just had a new thought: I wonder if MLB instituted instant replay for next year in anticipation of shiatty officiating in the playoffs this year, just like every year.  This way when calls are blown MLB can say, "Look, we know, OK?  Next year will be better."
 
2013-08-17 01:16:43 AM

DeWayne Mann: thecpt: That's assuming it could be done quickly and accurately though. From the nfl, I know sometimes someone has too look at a gray area play for 3 minutes to get it straight. Baseball is normally a simpler sport so that will be far less common, but pausing play often for something iffy could be detrimental. If they prove they can do it that quickly then I'm on your side (not going to argue "added strategy" bs). I just don't think they will be able to in practice.

I don't understand the objection. Isn't that going to be a problem in any system?

thecpt: Maybe I just have less faith in umps than I should, and more in the owners' ability to amend the rules. Yes, I know what you're going to say to this.

I think most umps want to get things right. Not all, but most.

I think ALL owners want to make the game as profitable as possible. Since I see no difference in profit between the two systems (and, depending on how it's implemented, I can see how the 5th umpire would cost them money), I don't understand why they would bother.

steamingpile: Then its a moot point since the biggest blown call involved an umpire that had no clue what the rule means.

For the 800th time, you are the one who doesn't know what the infield fly rule means.


No I do, that's how I know he was 100% wrong, not only was it not on the infield, the player was not camped under the ball and the out was not assured. All 3 must be in play to make that call, 2 of 3 were not even close and you could barely see the infield from where the ball dropped so I can see where he could make that mistake

The reason why you are wrong is that everyone else in baseball disagrees with you thats not in St Louis, hell it wasn't even his call, the ump who should have made the call, if it needed to be called stood there waiting for the play to be made. In other words you're wrong, fark off.
 
2013-08-17 01:21:44 AM
Oh god, there is no need to argue baseball with you, anyone that thinks war is a top stat knows nothing about baseball. Sabermetrics is crap to build a team around, its a starting point but it will only get you so far like the A's did, they won't win the WS.
 
Displayed 12 of 212 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report