If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Beer Advocate)   With nearly 350 reviews, Stone Farking Wheaton W00t Stout scores a 90 on BeerAdvocate, which translates to an 'Outstanding' rating. "Deep and complex, this stout is unrelenting and simply outstanding"   (beeradvocate.com) divider line 86
    More: Wheaton, Stone Brewing, BeerAdvocate, DFH Signature, TNG  
•       •       •

3060 clicks; posted to Main » on 03 Aug 2013 at 4:00 PM (37 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



86 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-08-03 10:06:46 AM
Meant to use img1.fark.net.  Maybe the mods will help with that.
 
2013-08-03 10:49:06 AM
Ship it NORTH!!
 
2013-08-03 11:30:40 AM
Yeah i called the local Stone distributor. Judging from her voicemail greeting, she seemed less than enthusiastic about her job.

I left a message, maybe she'll return it.

If not, will pay to get it shipped!
 
2013-08-03 01:26:04 PM
I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?
 
2013-08-03 01:34:53 PM
I've got six bottles of the stuff. We drank one already, it's really, really farking good.
 
2013-08-03 01:39:16 PM

doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?


I got a bomber from Lost Dog Cafe (Arlington).  They had a one bottle per customer limit and I think they only had 24.
 
2013-08-03 01:48:46 PM

SlothB77: doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?

I got a bomber from Lost Dog Cafe (Arlington).  They had a one bottle per customer limit and I think they only had 24.


Probably gone by now, huh?
 
2013-08-03 01:53:56 PM
I'll have to see if the local place has it.  Stone makes my favorite super-dark beer already (their Smoked Porter) so I'm interested in trying this.
 
2013-08-03 04:03:18 PM
Just be warned, consume too many and your Heisenberg compensators will burn out your tertiary valve couplings.
 
2013-08-03 04:04:34 PM
I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.
 
2013-08-03 04:06:35 PM
I never had a stout again like when I was 12. Christ, does anyone?
 
2013-08-03 04:07:59 PM

ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.


stoplikingwhatidontlike.jpg
 
2013-08-03 04:08:31 PM
I like all three of these gentlemen very much, but eh, it was a bit too alcoholy for me (13% abv). I like my beers to taste like beer. I like depth and complexity, which this beer has, but it's just too much alcohol.

YMMV.
 
2013-08-03 04:11:02 PM

ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.


I used to be the same way. Frankly, it is definitely an acquired taste.
 
2013-08-03 04:12:23 PM

ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.


0/10.  Bzzzzzz.  Sorry, you lose.  Thanks for playing "Troll This Thread".

I like imperial stouts and WOOtshout looked like a certain future buy until I saw it was brewed with pecans.  Damn nut allergy.
 
2013-08-03 04:16:08 PM
It's a nice roasty stout but a bit too boozy at 13%.
 
2013-08-03 04:17:22 PM

Dangl1ng: I like all three of these gentlemen very much, but eh, it was a bit too alcoholy for me (13% abv). I like my beers to taste like beer. I like depth and complexity, which this beer has, but it's just too much alcohol.

YMMV.


Would love to try this stuff because from the reviews, it's got all the flavors I like to find in a nice stout. But yeah, 13% alcohol sounds a little too "in yo face" for me -- to the point where it overpowers the other ingredients.

/I am glad to hear it's not yet another "OMG so many hops ultra-mega bitter for real men only!" beer.
 
2013-08-03 04:23:09 PM

WordyGrrl: Dangl1ng: I like all three of these gentlemen very much, but eh, it was a bit too alcoholy for me (13% abv). I like my beers to taste like beer. I like depth and complexity, which this beer has, but it's just too much alcohol.

YMMV.

Would love to try this stuff because from the reviews, it's got all the flavors I like to find in a nice stout. But yeah, 13% alcohol sounds a little too "in yo face" for me -- to the point where it overpowers the other ingredients.

/I am glad to hear it's not yet another "OMG so many hops ultra-mega bitter for real men only!" beer.


I recently learned that people often add extra hops because it can cover up flaws in the brewing process.
 
2013-08-03 04:26:19 PM
So, completely unlike any character he's played.
 
2013-08-03 04:26:53 PM
It tastes too alcoholly. If I were to homebrew it I'd made it less strong so the other flavors would pop more than the booze.
 
2013-08-03 04:43:24 PM
Be nice if I could find it, really don't feel like traveling north of ATL.
 
2013-08-03 04:48:42 PM
I'll reserve my opinion of that beer until I try it, I find the reviewers at beer advocate are a bunch of douchebag hopheads which is the worst combination of beer snobs you can get.

That said, I would still try it, I'll never say "no" to a beer unless it brags about how much chili they put into it.

/Just had a beer today that tasted like smoked ham
//More hops and alcohol ≠ better
 
2013-08-03 04:50:22 PM
This is a beer that Travels well.
 
2013-08-03 04:52:35 PM
Had it in Phoenix at a friends restaurant. Tasted great. I love stouts. A little too high in alcohol content for my liking though. Unfortunately for my lack of eating or being hydrated that day, I got to taste it four more times that day. Wasn't a good day.
 
2013-08-03 04:53:01 PM
I've lurked on here since the days of Cranberryzero, but never joined. Then I tasted this beer and was inspired to finally join. Thanks to Drew, Wil, and Greg for creating a tasty stout! It's even better on tap.
 
2013-08-03 04:54:40 PM
That ABV content makes me wonder if they removed the bourbon from the barrels before aging the beer in them

/just checked and it's available locally
//going to try it next week
 
2013-08-03 04:58:06 PM
...and if the reviews were bad would he pack up his hops and say "That's it!  I'm not making any more beer for you!!"
 
2013-08-03 05:00:26 PM

pedobearapproved: It tastes too alcoholly. If I were to homebrew it I'd made it less strong so the other flavors would pop more than the booze.


I haven't tried it, but would probably agree.

Are people's stomachs too large to enjoy a couple more beers that taste better?

Hell you could cut abv in half if it meant more taste. I chug water when I drink so as not to dehydrate anyways (especially. while boating)
 
2013-08-03 05:06:32 PM
Too sweet and alcoholic with out enough hops.

Maybe targeted at those who for breakfast like to substitute beer for sweetened breakfast cereal.
 
2013-08-03 05:13:08 PM

Reverend J: I'll reserve my opinion of that beer until I try it, I find the reviewers at beer advocate are a bunch of douchebag hopheads which is the worst combination of beer snobs you can get.

That said, I would still try it, I'll never say "no" to a beer unless it brags about how much chili they put into it.

/Just had a beer today that tasted like smoked ham
//More hops and alcohol ≠ better


Yay, so you had a rouchbier... good for you.  Germans have only been doing that for like 600 years.
But yes, I get your point that hoppy beers do not necessarily translate to better beers.  In fact, the current trend in microbrews is going away from the "west coast style" IPA (aka hop bomb) toward the sour beers.  Similarly, the complex flavors of a good beer are masked by some of the more dominant flavors in these styles but any good beer geek can taste the difference between a half-assed IPA or shiatty sour and something great.  Balance, clarity, and attention to technical blend along with hitting on desired results.

There are world renowned brewers of each style.  If you get to know them and what makes their beers great, you might actually start to develop a real beer palate.  (Not talking about <i>you</i>, Reverend, the general audience that seems to not know good beer if it hit them in the face.)

My point?  Good beer is a very complex thing and there are very bad breweries that try to pass off good beer all the time. Many are trendy but most cannot make a good beer to save their lives.

As for the w00t stout, I have a bottle.  Will drink once it is COLD AS shiat outside because - although I love you Stone - you brew beer I cannot even think about drinking during the summer months.  shiat guys, calm shiat down and brew a good balanced sessionable beer for once, would ya?
 
2013-08-03 05:15:44 PM

ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.


I wouldn't even say trolling.  I was a hard liquor person and would have agreed a while back.  I think part if it helps as you age and your palate changes.  You notice things you might not  have when you were young.  Part of it also has to do with what you drink.  Most things you would order from your normal bar are what appeal to the biggest crowed which are usually something lighter and watered down.  I switched from harder stuff to only beer a few months back and the range of flavor can be amazing.  Go to a local mega beer store or somewhere that carries a major selection of beer along with large singles.  Get a Double IPA beer, a bottle of Guinness, and a smoked porter beer.  That can give a better idea of types of beer flavor.

That all said I would love to try this beer.  If anyone knows if its anywhere in Dallas, Tx area I am willing to make a drive.  Interested in how it above normal ABV tastes.
 
2013-08-03 05:16:38 PM
nice
 
2013-08-03 05:17:28 PM

doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?


I know of a place...
 
2013-08-03 05:17:54 PM
Beer?  WhaR BEER?  nEeed bEER!!!
 
2013-08-03 05:20:53 PM

davin: doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?

I know of a place...


Oh you do, do you?
 
2013-08-03 05:27:13 PM
Should be on draft, no less...
 
2013-08-03 05:38:13 PM

ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.


I'm with you. I wish I could get in to it, I just don't like it. There's been a few that I'll drink, but nothing that grabs me. I quit drinking anyway, it just doesn't do it for me anymore. It sucks only because I hate people thinking I'm that guy, or some huge bore. I just started hating the feeling of alcohol in my system.
 
2013-08-03 05:42:20 PM
I suspect that WIll and Drew paid a bunch of people to write those reviews?
 
2013-08-03 05:47:38 PM

BigTexas: ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.

I wouldn't even say trolling.  I was a hard liquor person and would have agreed a while back.  I think part if it helps as you age and your palate changes.  You notice things you might not  have when you were young.  Part of it also has to do with what you drink.  Most things you would order from your normal bar are what appeal to the biggest crowed which are usually something lighter and watered down.  I switched from harder stuff to only beer a few months back and the range of flavor can be amazing.  Go to a local mega beer store or somewhere that carries a major selection of beer along with large singles.  Get a Double IPA beer, a bottle of Guinness, and a smoked porter beer.  That can give a better idea of types of beer flavor.

That all said I would love to try this beer.  If anyone knows if its anywhere in Dallas, Tx area I am willing to make a drive.  Interested in how it above normal ABV tastes.


Disliking all beer? Fine.
Claiming he cannot tell the difference? A whopping lying ignorant troll.
 
2013-08-03 06:00:15 PM

doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?


Total Wine and More in VA
 
2013-08-03 06:02:43 PM
Totally surprising: A bunch of comic con freeks + rate wil's attention whoring.

Get back to us when a double blind taste test says it's better than piss.
 
2013-08-03 06:04:41 PM
I've seen plenty of this stuff around NoVA, but I'm not going to try it. I hate when Stone puts stupid ingredients in their beer, like pecans. They've also made some derpy brews from coffee, chili peppers, and green tea, I've even heard of a coconut IPA coming soon. No thanks.

The only exception I've found was the 16 anniversary IPA last summer. It was good as fark.

On a side note, I found three more RuinTens at Wegmans, so fark w00t derp whatever.
 
2013-08-03 06:05:30 PM

BigTexas: ZeroCorpse: I don't know how people taste a difference in beers. To me they all taste like sour urine. I mean, congratulations and all, but I just don't get it. Spoiled wheat water tastes all the same to me.

I wouldn't even say trolling.  I was a hard liquor person and would have agreed a while back.  I think part if it helps as you age and your palate changes.  You notice things you might not  have when you were young.  Part of it also has to do with what you drink.  Most things you would order from your normal bar are what appeal to the biggest crowed which are usually something lighter and watered down.  I switched from harder stuff to only beer a few months back and the range of flavor can be amazing.  Go to a local mega beer store or somewhere that carries a major selection of beer along with large singles.  Get a Double IPA beer, a bottle of Guinness, and a smoked porter beer.  That can give a better idea of types of beer flavor.

That all said I would love to try this beer.  If anyone knows if its anywhere in Dallas, Tx area I am willing to make a drive.  Interested in how it above normal ABV tastes.


German dunkelweizens are lovely. Smooth with good flavor.
 
2013-08-03 06:06:38 PM
was at Stone last night, had two glasses of w00t, was good.

The store was out as of a couple weeks ago, but has another batch they're releasing this thursday, on the 9th...my birthday...we should do a fark party ;)
 
2013-08-03 06:11:40 PM

Aristocles: doyner: I can't find it in the SW DC Metro area.  WHAR w00t? WHAR?

Total Wine and More in VA


Sold out, yo.
 
2013-08-03 06:13:24 PM
Dammit.    Is it 206 miles each direction good?
 
2013-08-03 06:13:48 PM
I just came in to say...


farm3.static.flickr.com

Whhhill Whhheaton Whhhooot!   Whhhill Whhheaton Whhhooot!  Whhhill Whhheaton Whhhooot!
 
2013-08-03 06:25:37 PM
This sounds like an interesting beer.  I'm not a huge beer enthusiast, but I can appreciate quality work.  Can I get it shipped?  And would it be a good idea to have it shipped to me, since I live in 105-110 F temperature climate, or would that spoil it in transit?
 
2013-08-03 06:30:03 PM

i_dig_chicks: too boozy at 13%.


Unpossible.
 
2013-08-03 06:30:58 PM
I just heard about this unspeakable devil's brew on DC news radio.
 
Displayed 50 of 86 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report