If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Yahoo)   15 months have passed since the National Review fired a guy for saying that white people should fear black people. Let's check in on them post-Trayvon and see if they've changed   (news.yahoo.com) divider line 153
    More: Obvious, National Review, John Derbyshire, Victor Davis Hanson, Ta-Nehisi Coates, race war, George Zimmerman, Kathleen Parker, African-American neighborhood  
•       •       •

6976 clicks; posted to Main » on 24 Jul 2013 at 10:41 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



153 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-07-24 08:22:19 AM
yeah, boy, i bet nobody say this coming. 0_o
 
2013-07-24 08:39:04 AM
The right wingers just cannot help themselves.
 
2013-07-24 09:44:22 AM
"Do not act the Good Samaritan to blacks in apparent distress,"

How very Christian of him.
 
2013-07-24 10:09:45 AM
"...the conservative magazine has published Victor Davis Hanson's version of the same article..."

That really would have sufficed.
 
m00
2013-07-24 10:44:54 AM
Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?
 
2013-07-24 10:45:38 AM

m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?


**raises hand**
 
2013-07-24 10:45:40 AM

vernonFL: "Do not act the Good Samaritan to blacks in apparent distress,"

How very Christian of him.


Holy hell, he can't even think of them as black people.  They're just "blacks."  To him, skin color is an African American's identity.  The fact that he's advising a totally racist thing at the same time is pretty terrible, but just the phrasing there tells you way more.  It's really not that subtle.  It's like talking about "the Jews."  We know you're racist even before you say what you're going to say about them.
 
2013-07-24 10:45:58 AM

m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?


Do you have any proof of those totally invented white-fear statistics?
 
2013-07-24 10:46:25 AM
Why does anyone care what kind of garbage comes out of the media enough to hope someone gets fired for saying something "bad" ?? 90% of the crap they say isn't even accurate to begin with, so if it's prejudicial and inaccurate that's actually less bad than accurate and bigoted.

Don't watch the news, don't read the newspaper. Those structures are old and decaying. The people who work for those industries are talking heads that repeat what someone else wrote.

I hate twitter, but I would trust it more than CNN to give me the whole story.
 
2013-07-24 10:46:29 AM

Serious Black: m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?

**raises hand**


Second the motion
 
2013-07-24 10:46:49 AM
Statistically speaking, black people should be afraid of black people.
 
2013-07-24 10:47:09 AM

m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?


And we should remember that the remaining 45% are the "good ones" too?  Stop being so damn racist, you idiot.
 
2013-07-24 10:48:15 AM
This thread serves no purpose.
 
2013-07-24 10:48:30 AM
I have a blind friend who thinks we're all nuts.
 
2013-07-24 10:50:50 AM

monoski: Serious Black: m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?

**raises hand**

Second the motion


Thirded
 
2013-07-24 10:51:08 AM
Chris Rock had something to say on this matter.
 
2013-07-24 10:52:50 AM
that's a lot of words to say "jack shiat"
 
2013-07-24 10:52:56 AM
I am white. I lived in a mostly black neighborhood in Dayton, OH for nine months. During that period, my home was burglarized twice and I was assaulted (hit in the face with a pipe) by three black men one afternoon while standing at a bus stop (as the bus was approaching, no less). Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.

Profiling happens for a reason, folks.
 
2013-07-24 10:53:59 AM
 
2013-07-24 10:54:25 AM

markfara: I am white. I lived in a mostly black neighborhood in Dayton, OH for nine months. During that period, my home was burglarized twice and I was assaulted (hit in the face with a pipe) by three black men one afternoon while standing at a bus stop (as the bus was approaching, no less). Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.

Profiling happens for a reason, folks.


Yeah. It's called the base rate fallacy.
 
2013-07-24 10:54:34 AM

markfara: I am white. I lived in a mostly black neighborhood in Dayton, OH for nine months. During that period, my home was burglarized twice and I was assaulted (hit in the face with a pipe) by three black men one afternoon while standing at a bus stop (as the bus was approaching, no less). Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.

Profiling happens for a reason, folks.


So do beatings.
 
2013-07-24 10:56:07 AM
I try to avoid large groups of young males, regardless of race, and have since I was a teenager.
 
2013-07-24 10:57:31 AM
Fearofablackplanet.jpg
 
2013-07-24 10:58:52 AM

vernonFL: "Do not act the Good Samaritan to blacks in apparent distress,"

How very Christian of him.


Yes, don't treat strangers of a disliked minority group as trustworthy, for they are inherently far more prone to commit vile deeds against you whereas people of your own group are safe to interact with. The fact that he explicitly used the phrase Good Samaritan just makes it better.

I wonder if they realize violent crime has plummeted in this country in the last 20 years. You don't have to fear roving gangs of black youths who make it their mission to kill whitey: if such a thing ever existed outside a fever dream it certainly isn't happening now.
 
2013-07-24 10:59:53 AM

AverageAmericanGuy: Statistically speaking, black people should be afraid of black people.


Statistically speaking, you're a racist hate-monger spreading warped/incomplete statistics, but you knew that.
/plonks you up to Grey 2
 
2013-07-24 11:00:04 AM
Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/
 
2013-07-24 11:00:35 AM

markfara: I am white. I lived in a mostly black neighborhood in Dayton, OH for nine months. During that period, my home was burglarized twice and I was assaulted (hit in the face with a pipe) by three black men one afternoon while standing at a bus stop (as the bus was approaching, no less). Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.

Profiling happens for a reason, folks.


So you're saying that in a black neighborhood, crime is committed by black people? I'm shocked!
 
2013-07-24 11:01:28 AM

apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/


It's worth posting a stupid character assassination of a dead kid?
 
2013-07-24 11:02:50 AM

Grungehamster: vernonFL: "Do not act the Good Samaritan to blacks in apparent distress,"

How very Christian of him.

Yes, don't treat strangers of a disliked minority group as trustworthy, for they are inherently far more prone to commit vile deeds against you whereas people of your own group are safe to interact with. The fact that he explicitly used the phrase Good Samaritan just makes it better.

I wonder if they realize violent crime has plummeted in this country in the last 20 years. You don't have to fear roving gangs of black youths who make it their mission to kill whitey: if such a thing ever existed outside a fever dream it certainly isn't happening now.


Yeah, I can tell you from my over-extensive review of right-wing blog material, that they do literally believe that there are bands of "urban thugs" looking for white people to beat up.
 
2013-07-24 11:02:59 AM

notsosilentbob: I try to avoid large groups of young males, regardless of race, and have since I was a teenager.


Sounds like you have social anxiety.
 
2013-07-24 11:03:57 AM

markfara: Profiling happens for a reason, folks.


Because you're too stupid to incorporate situational awareness with an understanding of the factors of crime other than the melanin content of someone's skin?

Look. I know you're probably not trying to sound racist, but you're sounding incredibly racist.
 
2013-07-24 11:04:15 AM

m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.


I wonder what percentage of whites are "ferociously hostile to blacks" or think that "black people have it coming".
 
2013-07-24 11:04:55 AM

apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/


Holy shiat, I understand why the Jury found him not-guilty, but that page is race-bating as hell.
 
2013-07-24 11:05:26 AM

LasersHurt: apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/

It's worth posting a stupid character assassination of a dead kid?


I stopped reading when I got to Trayvon being suspended because of smoking marijuana. You know who else has smoked marijuana?

s3.amazonaws.com

www.biography.com

www.biography.com

www.biography.com
 
2013-07-24 11:05:28 AM

markfara: Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.

Profiling happens for a reason, folks.


So if you had been attacked by white guys, you'd start to profile white people, right?
 
2013-07-24 11:06:52 AM

Serious Black: LasersHurt: apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/

It's worth posting a stupid character assassination of a dead kid?

I stopped reading when I got to Trayvon being suspended because of smoking marijuana. You know who else has smoked marijuana?


If smoking weed and having a picture of a gun was enough to damn him as a thug, I was the illeest ni**a in Central PA when I was a kid.
 
2013-07-24 11:07:14 AM

markfara: I was assaulted (hit in the face with a pipe) by three black men one afternoon while standing at a bus stop (as the bus was approaching, no less). Had I followed my first instinct and walked off when I saw the trio approaching, instead of berating myself for a "racist reaction" and staying put, I would likely not have been assaulted.


A similar thing happened to me when I was young, I was walking to the mall with a friend and there was a short cut you could  take by walking down the tracks, we saw 3 dudes up a head and we all felt uneasy about them we hid our money on us but didn't bother turning around or taking another route and sure enough they robbed us of our decoy money a few bucks and smacked us around when we got up to them. They were white though, but it was the same thing where you just knew a bad thing was going to happen but went headlong right into it.
 
2013-07-24 11:07:22 AM

apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/


Wow. that was terrible. and one-sided. And intentionally misleading. But you knew that.
 
2013-07-24 11:07:45 AM

StrandedInAZ: monoski: Serious Black: m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?

**raises hand**

Second the motion

Thirded


Not only will I disagree, I'll add my own ass-derived stat that 10% of whites are ferociously hostile to blacks.
 
2013-07-24 11:09:42 AM
s3.amazonaws.com

Go ahead and be terrified of .009% of the black population if it makes you feel better.
 
2013-07-24 11:10:51 AM
i am far more concerned and worried about police officers than i am of black people.  whenever i see cops, i turn around and walk the other way.  black people, not so much.
 
2013-07-24 11:13:22 AM

m00: Derbyshire said about 5 percent of blacks were "ferociously hostile to whites," and another 50 percent or so of them would go along out of solidarity and because they think white people have it coming.

Does anyone really disagree with this?


Well, yes. People who are familiar with the difference between statistics and making sh*t up.
 
2013-07-24 11:14:10 AM
I'm not scared, I know the sights belong on top.
 
2013-07-24 11:16:46 AM

hardinparamedic: markfara: Profiling happens for a reason, folks.

Because you're too stupid to incorporate situational awareness with an understanding of the factors of crime other than the melanin content of someone's skin?

Look. I know you're probably not trying to sound racist, but you're sounding incredibly racist.


Just sharing a story. For the record, my job at the time was at an inner-city charter school. I was one of a handful of whites working there, and some of my co-workers were remarkable people. (I'm sure that pointing out that many blacks get educated and spend their careers helping black children get ahead is somehow racist, too. Right?)

I do not believe all blacks are violent; I know better. I do find it a little telling that the first reaction of so many posters wasn't "How badly were you hurt?" but rather accusations of racism.

Zimmerman, in my opinion, got away with murder. However, the whole notion that pointing out objectively that young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime is "racist" is pure bullsh*t, and part of the reason that we can't have a constructive conversation about race in this country.
 
2013-07-24 11:19:12 AM

markfara: young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime


While this may be true in relation to other populations, the actual amount of violent crime is pretty tiny overall.
 
2013-07-24 11:20:13 AM

markfara: I do find it a little telling that the first reaction of so many posters wasn't "How badly were you hurt?" but rather accusations of racism.


Is it possible that you expressed yourself poorly? Nah, the problem must be everyone else.

markfara: However, the whole notion that pointing out objectively that young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime is "racist" is pure bullsh*t


Bringing that up out of context as if it MEANT something is bullshiat. The fact that it's almost always used to justify profiling or racism is bullshiat. The fact that nobody wants to do the numbers to see what an ENORMOUSLY SMALL number of individuals are involved in such crimes before painting a race is bullshiat.

I don't think you're being intentionally racist - I just think you're not putting some obvious things together in your head and having that "oh wait duh" moment you need.
 
2013-07-24 11:20:25 AM

AverageAmericanGuy: markfara: young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime

While this may be true in relation to other populations, the actual amount of violent crime is pretty tiny overall.


Depends where you live, I think.
 
2013-07-24 11:21:17 AM

LasersHurt: apotheosis27: Bears re-posting this.  Please read.  Plenty of citations.

http://www.dlas.org/questions-zimmerman-verdict/

It's worth posting a stupid character assassination of a dead kid?


Pretty much. I actually agree that Zimmerman wasn't guilty of the changes he faced and court and people were too eager to cast it as a race issue in Zimmerman's case. That said, I do think he is guilty of wrongful death and think he made decisions (violating neighborhood watch guidelines, failing to identify himself or his purpose to Martin, etc.) that greatly influenced the events of the tragic night. The fact that he's being held up as a hero since the kid "deserved it" for events completely independent of that night that they cannot prove but they sure can imply is the case. "He did drugs within a month of the incident (you know, like 8.9% of teens including 9.1% of white teens)! This kid was no good and needed to be put down for society's sake!"

Also: Republicans concern trolling that what happened could have been an anti-gay hate crime by Martin will never not be hilarious
 
2013-07-24 11:21:47 AM

markfara: However, the whole notion that pointing out objectively that young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime is "racist" is pure bullsh*t, and part of the reason that we can't have a constructive conversation about race in this country.


You an tell yourself that to make yourself feel better, but the truth will set you free.

Truth is, each race is most likely to be killed by their own race. If you repeat the false-narrative, you are propagating a racist line that is only being used by people trying to link blackness to crime.
 
2013-07-24 11:21:51 AM

markfara: hardinparamedic: markfara: Profiling happens for a reason, folks.

Because you're too stupid to incorporate situational awareness with an understanding of the factors of crime other than the melanin content of someone's skin?

Look. I know you're probably not trying to sound racist, but you're sounding incredibly racist.

Just sharing a story. For the record, my job at the time was at an inner-city charter school. I was one of a handful of whites working there, and some of my co-workers were remarkable people. (I'm sure that pointing out that many blacks get educated and spend their careers helping black children get ahead is somehow racist, too. Right?)

I do not believe all blacks are violent; I know better. I do find it a little telling that the first reaction of so many posters wasn't "How badly were you hurt?" but rather accusations of racism.

Zimmerman, in my opinion, got away with murder. However, the whole notion that pointing out objectively that young, black males commit a hugely disproportionate amount of violent crime is "racist" is pure bullsh*t, and part of the reason that we can't have a constructive conversation about race in this country.


imgs.xkcd.com
 
Displayed 50 of 153 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report