If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Uproxx)   Mythbusters is preparing a 'Breaking Bad'-themed episode, and here's a little preview of what to expect   (uproxx.com) divider line 65
    More: Spiffy, Breaking Bad, Mythbusters, Jamie Hyneman, Adam Savage, Heisenberg, Bryan Cranston, previews, Comic-Con  
•       •       •

4297 clicks; posted to Entertainment » on 23 Jul 2013 at 4:20 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



65 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-07-23 12:11:51 AM
What? No giant magnet??
 
2013-07-23 02:11:02 AM
Oh, you bet your ass there's going to be a giant farking magnet.
 
2013-07-23 02:37:35 AM

Lando Lincoln: Oh, you bet your ass there's going to be a giant farking magnet.


Yeah, I think the controversy over that episode was the reason myth busters ever took an interest.
 
2013-07-23 04:32:38 AM
Not a bad subject matter to test myths on...  The show has got ridiculous but there is a lot of science in Breaking Bad to work with so...

I'm ok with this..
 
2013-07-23 04:43:20 AM
Wonder who'd cook the better meth, Adam and Jaime or the Triplets?

Oh and they so need to do a survivability test of the "brilliant plan" scene
 
2013-07-23 05:04:10 AM
Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?
 
2013-07-23 05:14:26 AM

Fallout Boy: Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?


Oh it has. Hasn't really been worth watching in years since they resorted to recreating shiatty movie stunts and debunking shiat that aren't even really myths just as an excuse to crash and make shiat explode.
 
2013-07-23 06:38:27 AM
Yes, but what about the myth that Junior survives on cereal alone?

/magnets, biatch
 
2013-07-23 06:44:05 AM
Ding. Ding. Ding, ding, ding, ding -- well, that didn't work, I guess Hector wouldn't have - BOOM!
 
2013-07-23 06:53:35 AM
That's odd then, as this episode aired in Australia a week ago.

Don't ask me any questions though as I've never watched Breaking Bad.
 
2013-07-23 08:01:24 AM
They're going to dissolve a corpse in a bathtub?
 
2013-07-23 08:18:27 AM

Lith: Wonder who'd cook the better meth, Adam and Jaime or the Triplets?



Given Jamie's career history, I wouldn't be surprised to find out that he had made meth a few times before.
 
2013-07-23 08:29:26 AM
Magnets biatches!!!
 
2013-07-23 08:32:27 AM

violentsalvation: Lando Lincoln: Oh, you bet your ass there's going to be a giant farking magnet.

Yeah, I think the controversy over that episode was the reason myth busters ever took an interest.


That, and if I remember correctly, Vince Gilligan actually challenged MythBusters to prove that the magnet thing couldn't happen.
 
2013-07-23 09:04:52 AM
"Can you REALLY bite a donut into the shape of a perfect 'C'?"
 
2013-07-23 09:50:27 AM
weknowmemes.com
 
2013-07-23 09:52:57 AM
>>here's a little preview of what to expect

I'm expecting bad science, invented "myths", and something blowing up.
 
2013-07-23 10:11:26 AM

AnotherBluesStringer: violentsalvation: Lando Lincoln: Oh, you bet your ass there's going to be a giant farking magnet.

Yeah, I think the controversy over that episode was the reason myth busters ever took an interest.

That, and if I remember correctly, Vince Gilligan actually challenged MythBusters to prove that the magnet thing couldn't happen.


Yeah, they don't write this stuff without doing a little research first. Season 5's blu-ray had a feature on the writer's room, and you find out that the staff is made up of a former lawyer, an ex-tenured film professor, a novelist, and others that aren't just the usual film-school hacks. They do their research, and Gilligan has said that every piece of clothing, framing, background detail, and bits of symbolism are thought out ahead of time.
 
2013-07-23 10:25:34 AM
That's funny, I thought Hearst and Discovery only stole from each other. I didn't think they were allowed to be collaborative.
 
2013-07-23 10:40:38 AM
Will they make a battery using pennies and scrap metal?
 
2013-07-23 10:50:44 AM
Lets see Mythbusters try and figure out what Jesse smokes a ton of Meth, yet still has perfect teeth....
 
2013-07-23 10:51:06 AM

Whatthefark: Will they make a battery using pennies and scrap metal?


The only unbelievable part for that was there was no way they could generate the 800+ cold crank amps required to turn over an RV engine, but other than that I've made lots of batteries using loose change.
 
2013-07-23 11:14:29 AM

Larry Mahnken: They're going to dissolve a corpse in a bathtub?


It will probably be a pig they love using pigs for things like that.
 
2013-07-23 11:22:19 AM
I'd like to know if their cooking process would actually make blue meth.
 
2013-07-23 11:35:14 AM
I want to know the recipe for Schraderbraü.
 
2013-07-23 11:35:35 AM

Bashar and Asma's Infinite Playlist: I'd like to know if their cooking process would actually make blue meth.


No, pure crystal would be colorless and was made as a plot device to make a distinction between Walt's meth and street stuff
 
2013-07-23 11:55:39 AM

IdBeCrazyIf: The only unbelievable part for that was there was no way they could generate the 800+ cold crank amps required to turn over an RV engine,


The main battery was still connected, so they just needed to recharge it enough to start the engine once. You can buy portable jump starters which work on the same principle. Those still need a bigger battery than you can make from loose change and bits of scrap metal, but it wasn't pure [B5] [S16] like the magnet thing.
 
2013-07-23 11:56:09 AM
Can you REALLY throw a pizza on top of a roof like that?
 
2013-07-23 12:03:17 PM

groppet: Larry Mahnken: They're going to dissolve a corpse in a bathtub?

It will probably be a pig they love using pigs for things like that.


ya, it did indeed look like a pig carcass in the video
 
2013-07-23 12:13:48 PM
Fallout Boy

Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?

^This

It's been about selling movie tickets and dumbass candidates for several years now.

fark'em both. Next time stand in front of the cannon you pieces of sh*t.
 
2013-07-23 12:18:40 PM

Ivo Shandor: IdBeCrazyIf: The only unbelievable part for that was there was no way they could generate the 800+ cold crank amps required to turn over an RV engine,

The main battery was still connected, so they just needed to recharge it enough to start the engine once. You can buy portable jump starters which work on the same principle. Those still need a bigger battery than you can make from loose change and bits of scrap metal, but it wasn't pure [B5] [S16] like the magnet thing.


Good point.

The magnet thing wasn't complete total BS, it is possible to disrupt information magnetically on a hard drive from a distance but even cursory data forensics would be able to recover much of it unless the field was so big as to wipe it clean. But they weren't even remotely close enough to do that.
 
2013-07-23 12:19:09 PM

Cagey B: Can you REALLY throw a pizza on top of a roof like that?


There a running joke in the show about how there was a pizza place in Albuquerque that sells pizzas unsliced (so they are cheaper). It was mentioned a couple of times. Throwing the pizza on the roof and having it stay together was supposed to be a callback to that.
 
2013-07-23 12:19:17 PM

Cagey B: Can you REALLY throw a pizza on top of a roof like that?


Yes, and it was done on the first try.  See:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkTDilC-860
 
2013-07-23 12:20:03 PM

Lando Lincoln: I want to know the recipe for Schraderbraü.


5 Gallon Batch:
8.5 lbs Munich malt
0.5 lbs Crystal 15L

Mash at 154.4 F for 47 minutes

Sparge with 167 F water sufficient to reach 6 gallons boil

60 Minute boil

Tettnanger 1.0145 oz @ +55 (5 min after start of boil)
Saaz 0.5834 oz @ +10
Saaz 0.50219 oz @ +1

Ferment with German Lager yeast (your choice) @ 56 F 19.23 days (Important!)

Dry hop as desired after racking to secondary

/YMMV, just pulled from my ass
//let me know how it turns out, doesn't sound bad to me :)
 
2013-07-23 01:04:11 PM
blog.zap2it.com
 
2013-07-23 01:19:13 PM

styckx: Fallout Boy: Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?

Oh it has. Hasn't really been worth watching in years since they resorted to recreating shiatty movie stunts and debunking shiat that aren't even really myths just as an excuse to crash and make shiat explode.


THiS!! THIS!!! THISITY-THIS-THIS!!!!!

Not only has it gone from being about urban myths, but they also decide which ones that they want to pass/fail now. I've seen experiments where they fell over backwards to make one plausible, and others where they ignored plausible completely to make it "busted". The real sign things were going bad was actually early on, when they decided to test the Lava Lamp myth while pointing out the newspaper article that stated that the "myth" had actually occurred...

Their techniques have gotten better with a bigger budget though. Early on, when they tested the tailgate up or down myth, it was ridiculously unscientific, but when they tested the 'drafting a semi truck' myth, they did a phenomenal job, and had real, quantifiable data to use. It's why I personally follow semi trucks at 4 feet following distance everywhere I go... ;-)
 
2013-07-23 01:19:23 PM

styckx: Fallout Boy: Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?

Oh it has. Hasn't really been worth watching in years since they resorted to recreating shiatty movie stunts and debunking shiat that aren't even really myths just as an excuse to crash and make shiat explode.


The recent episode cross-promoting the guy wire-walking across the Grand Canyon was the series low point, in my opinion.  It was a terrible idea all around.  The wire-walking guy was supposed to be Adam's "spirit-guide" which mean he contributed even less to the show than other guest stars.  And the fake myth was about as manufactured as they come.  OF COURSE I've totally wondered if two guys in tuxedos lost in the desert near the Grand Canyon with a trunk full of duck tape and bubble wrap could make it back to civilization.  Hasn't everyone? Sigh.

But Mythbusters still builds some neat test rigs and makes some pretty explosions.  And the show is still more focused on building things and doing things then faux drama between the cast, which sets it apart from most other reality shows.
 
2013-07-23 01:21:18 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Ivo Shandor: IdBeCrazyIf: The only unbelievable part for that was there was no way they could generate the 800+ cold crank amps required to turn over an RV engine,

The main battery was still connected, so they just needed to recharge it enough to start the engine once. You can buy portable jump starters which work on the same principle. Those still need a bigger battery than you can make from loose change and bits of scrap metal, but it wasn't pure [B5] [S16] like the magnet thing.

Good point.

The magnet thing wasn't complete total BS, it is possible to disrupt information magnetically on a hard drive from a distance but even cursory data forensics would be able to recover much of it unless the field was so big as to wipe it clean. But they weren't even remotely close enough to do that.


OK, I missed out on BB from the beginning, so I haven't ever tried to catch up. What's this whole "magnet thing", anyway?
 
2013-07-23 01:24:42 PM
I'll likely watch the episode as I used to watch Mythbusters and I still watch Breaking Bad. However, the true measure of how quickly Mythbusters has fallen out of favor is that we're this far into the thread without even one Kari pic.
 
2013-07-23 01:25:23 PM

quizzical: The recent episode cross-promoting the guy wire-walking across the Grand Canyon was the series low point, in my opinion.  It was a terrible idea all around.  The wire-walking guy was supposed to be Adam's "spirit-guide" which mean he contributed even less to the show than other guest stars.  And the fake myth was about as manufactured as they come.  OF COURSE I've totally wondered if two guys in tuxedos lost in the desert near the Grand Canyon with a trunk full of duck tape and bubble wrap could make it back to civilization.  Hasn't everyone? Sigh.


A: He didn't cross the Grand Canyon at all.
B: What was this happy horseshiat about? I definitely missed the episode, what did they tie into, just the Canyon and survival myths, or wire walking itself? Or nothing even related to the event?
C: It's a high desert on the South Rim(7000 ft elevation), and a Ponderosa Pine forest at the North Rim(8000 feet). it's far hotter at the bottom of the Canyon, so these guys would be fine without duct tape OR bubble wrap, since that would just be extra shiat to carry, although you can use the bubble wrap to recover some water at least...
 
2013-07-23 01:37:51 PM

Mikey1969: OK, I missed out on BB from the beginning, so I haven't ever tried to catch up. What's this whole "magnet thing", anyway?


You owe it to yourself to try and catch up, amazing show.. Anyway spoiler warning

They rig a junk yard lift magnet with lots of car batteries and put it all into a rental truck with the purpose of parking near a wall of an evidence room to try and get rid of video on a hard drive that their former employer has of them cooking meth. Like I said, plausible but not at all as how it was shown. I don't even know if a junk yard lift would even have enough coils to produce that large of a field.
 
2013-07-23 02:06:45 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Mikey1969: OK, I missed out on BB from the beginning, so I haven't ever tried to catch up. What's this whole "magnet thing", anyway?

You owe it to yourself to try and catch up, amazing show.. Anyway spoiler warning

They rig a junk yard lift magnet with lots of car batteries and put it all into a rental truck with the purpose of parking near a wall of an evidence room to try and get rid of video on a hard drive that their former employer has of them cooking meth. Like I said, plausible but not at all as how it was shown. I don't even know if a junk yard lift would even have enough coils to produce that large of a field.


Yeah, I don't think so either.

When I worked for a TV station, we had a tape bulker that was about 4" across and roughly 4" high that we had to hold directly on top of the video tape to wipe. Obviously wouldn't have worked through a wall, across a distance, through a computer case, and through the hard drive's own case. Thing was awesome though, you could hold it up to a filing cabinet or something, turn it on and hang from it. I bet what would really happen is everything in that evidence room made out of metal would be up against the wall...

And yeah, I have a lot of friends that say it's worth getting into the show, even though it's the last season, and with the first few seasons on Netflix, I just have to start watching it.
 
2013-07-23 02:19:02 PM

Mikey1969: When I worked for a TV station, we had a tape bulker that was about 4" across and roughly 4" high that we had to hold directly on top of the video tape to wipe


The inverse square law is a biatch. I saw some article that tried to gauge the strength of the magnet from the deflection of the hanging lamps, and they got some ridiculous field strength that would have required a dedicated power plant. Worse, a steady magnetic field like they showed would not have done jack to the HDD. You need a time-varying field (a spinning HDD is vulnerable since even a steady field becomes time-varying relative to the disk).
 
2013-07-23 02:27:28 PM

t3knomanser: Mikey1969: When I worked for a TV station, we had a tape bulker that was about 4" across and roughly 4" high that we had to hold directly on top of the video tape to wipe

The inverse square law is a biatch. I saw some article that tried to gauge the strength of the magnet from the deflection of the hanging lamps, and they got some ridiculous field strength that would have required a dedicated power plant. Worse, a steady magnetic field like they showed would not have done jack to the HDD. You need a time-varying field (a spinning HDD is vulnerable since even a steady field becomes time-varying relative to the disk).


Are you a wizard? Seriously though, you seem to have your shiat together on this subject enough that you may be able to solve the mystery for ICP. You should give those morons a call.... ;-)
 
2013-07-23 02:45:34 PM

Luminiferous Aether: Lando Lincoln: I want to know the recipe for Schraderbraü.

5 Gallon Batch:
8.5 lbs Munich malt
0.5 lbs Crystal 15L

Mash at 154.4 F for 47 minutes

Sparge with 167 F water sufficient to reach 6 gallons boil

60 Minute boil

Tettnanger 1.0145 oz @ +55 (5 min after start of boil)
Saaz 0.5834 oz @ +10
Saaz 0.50219 oz @ +1

Ferment with German Lager yeast (your choice) @ 56 F 19.23 days (Important!)

Dry hop as desired after racking to secondary

/YMMV, just pulled from my ass
//let me know how it turns out, doesn't sound bad to me :)


Brewhouse efficiency of 70%, I'm assuming?
 
2013-07-23 02:53:43 PM
mythbusters this:

why would a bunch of ultra-violent drug kingpins deal with some dude that caused all this trouble.  so what if he makes good meth?  why not just kill him.  to be the best you don't have to be perfect.  you can just kill your competition.

(for example, watch a big business kill a small business.  walmart doesn't beat the mom and pop store with better products or service.  it doesn't hire the mom and pop store to sell its product in walmart.  it puts it out of business by dumping prices longer than the little store can take, taking advantage of economies of scale, and also pressures government for subsidies, tax credits, and other unfair competitive advantages... then it salts the earth to make sure no one else will be a threat.)
 
2013-07-23 02:57:39 PM

t3knomanser: Worse, a steady magnetic field like they showed would not have done jack to the HDD. You need a time-varying field (a spinning HDD is vulnerable since even a steady field becomes time-varying relative to the disk).


Strong enough, a steady field could alter the phase storage especially on something like a solid state drive, but as you correctly pointed out to create a field that high would require immense power. Not to mention newer drives have high flux densities and that would require an even stronger field than say an older drive.

Course you know what the biggest unbeleivable thing was though?

That laptop was a Sony Vaio right? How can a huge criminal mastermind have his entire business run on such a POS for a laptop. If I were Gus that shiat would have been on a encrypted virtualized PC on some cloud that I used a Dell Latitude with 24/7-2 gold response.

I mean seriously...criminal mastermind and his entire life is sitting on a laptop known to have shiatty parts?

Totally Unbelievable
 
2013-07-23 03:00:46 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: That laptop was a Sony Vaio right? How can a huge criminal mastermind have his entire business run on such a POS for a laptop.


Why, it's almost as if Sony owns Breaking Bad or something.
 
2013-07-23 03:01:54 PM

pute kisses like a man: why would a bunch of ultra-violent drug kingpins deal with some dude that caused all this trouble.  so what if he makes good meth?  why not just kill him.  to be the best you don't have to be perfect.  you can just kill your competition.


Do you really want to live in a world without Classic Coke?
 
2013-07-23 03:06:57 PM

styckx: Fallout Boy: Hasn't this show just about jumped the shark?

Oh it has. Hasn't really been worth watching in years since they resorted to recreating shiatty movie stunts and debunking shiat that aren't even really myths just as an excuse to crash and make shiat explode.


Uh... have you ever watched the show? That's all they've ever done.
 
Displayed 50 of 65 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report