Do you have adblock enabled?
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(YouTube)   Right-handed batter steps up to take a pitch from the left-handed pitcher. No, wait, the pitcher switched the glove to his other hand and will now pitch right-handed. Hold on, the batter will now be batting left-handed ... OK, now I'm dizzy   (youtube.com) divider line 7
    More: Amusing, hitter, Brooklyn Cyclones, relief pitcher, Pat Venditte, gloves, Staten Island Yankees  
•       •       •

2588 clicks; posted to Sports » on 15 Jul 2013 at 6:27 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

2013-07-15 08:09:53 PM  
2 votes:
Bottom of the ninth, two out, you're up 7 to 2. Pitch the damn ball.
2013-07-16 11:39:32 AM  
1 votes:
In men's slo-pitch softball, the batter has to declare before the pitch (stepping into a ready position in the box is considered declaring).  He can then switch boxes (righty to lefty or vice versa) after every pitch until he gets 2 strikes on him, then he has to finish the at bat from whichever side he got the second strike.
2013-07-16 01:31:05 AM  
1 votes:

GreatGlavinsGhost: whistleridge: June 19, 2008

Hasn't this been linked about 4 times already?

/oldnewsissoexciting.jpg

Subby here, I didn't look carefully at the date (since I'd never seen such a thing before). My bad.


Don't feel bad Subby. This is awesome and deserves to be seen every now and then. I just hope he gets the call up one day. But at least he got a rule named after him.

Pincy: The pitcher has to engage the rubber and put the ball into play.  Once he's on the rubber he can't switch his glove without stepping off first.  The batter does not have to be in the box before the pitcher is ready.  So in essence, the pitcher must decide first and then the batter gets to decide.  If the pitcher keeps stepping off to switch then the umpire can award a ball to the batter for delay.  I'm not sure any specific rule had to be put in place for this.  This has been in the rulebooks for a long time.  Maybe they just clarified it.


No, in response to this event, they instituted a rule.
For each at-bat: The pitcher must indicate which hand he will throw with (taking the rubber with his glove on is considered sufficient). He must throw one pitch with that hand. Both the pitcher and the batter have the opportunity to switch once afterwards (but it must be clearly indicated, no tricks). And a bunch of miscellaneous rules for weird situations.
2013-07-15 07:30:49 PM  
1 votes:
WTF, baseball gloves don't work like tha...

1.bp.blogspot.com

Ooooohhhhhhhhhh. *backs away slowly*
2013-07-15 07:22:48 PM  
1 votes:
I kind of feel sorry for the batter.  As a switch hitter, he'd probably never seen the ball coming from that angle before.
2013-07-15 06:47:33 PM  
1 votes:
I'd have dropped my glove behind me and taken the windup position.
2013-07-15 05:55:11 PM  
1 votes:
According to the YouTube comments (FWIW):
The rule was amended after this incident. Prior to an at-bat, a switch-pitcher must announce to the Umpire whether he will face the hitter as a right- or left-handed pitcher. Once the at-bat has started, each player may switch once.
 
Displayed 7 of 7 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
Advertisement
On Twitter





In Other Media


  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report