If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Daily Mail)   And now the tale of America's worst hotel: The stomach-churning reviews from guests who stayed at the legendary Detroit dump before it shut down   (dailymail.co.uk) divider line 70
    More: Interesting, Detroit, apartment block  
•       •       •

15628 clicks; posted to Main » on 01 Jul 2013 at 3:39 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



70 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-07-01 12:31:04 AM
DNRTFA, but even so I have to marvel at how bad it must have been to be considered a "legendary Detroit dump", given that everything in Detroit is a dump. What do you have to do to stand out in that cesspool?
 
2013-07-01 12:32:28 AM
mojoimage.com
 
2013-07-01 12:56:34 AM
It is in Detroit, does that say it all.
 
2013-07-01 12:57:51 AM
It's, "And now the story..."
 
2013-07-01 01:38:08 AM
We had reservation for a good hotel and they where overbooked. When got there they had moved us even tho we had reserved room with CC  and they moved us to a little crab shack inn.with a view of a dumpster, and railroad track 40 yards away.

And the Bed smelled liked Pussy--I think.
 
2013-07-01 02:15:59 AM
Optik - I've always liked you and thought you were a nice guy.  I thought I should warn you that someone who can't spell or punctuate and is a jerk has hijacked your account.
 
2013-07-01 02:23:04 AM

ElizaDoolittle: thought I should warn you that someone who can't spell or punctuate and is a jerk has hijacked your account.


I Fess up the spelling punctuating thing....but the core of that joke is very old Paul Lynde Joke.
"....and the room smelled like Pussy, I Think".
 
2013-07-01 02:48:50 AM
I'd never heard of Paul Lynde but (reading about him on Wiki) he sounds like a very cool man. Peace.
 
2013-07-01 03:41:41 AM
How could it possibly be worse than that hotel with a body in the water tank?  I don't care how run-down a place gets, dead girl in the water tops any infrastructural deficiencies.
 
2013-07-01 03:47:02 AM
Word to the wise: Don't sleep next to a piece of the ceiling, your head may be crushed.
 
2013-07-01 03:53:55 AM
I am fascinated by all the horror stories coming out of Detroit for the past decade or so. At some point, surely it'll have to turn around. I would think eventually it will get so bad, and therefore cheap, that someone with huge pockets will just start buying massive swaths and rebuilding it on a grand scale.
 
2013-07-01 03:54:27 AM

jtown: How could it possibly be worse than that hotel with a body in the water tank?  I don't care how run-down a place gets, dead girl in the water tops any infrastructural deficiencies.


i almost forgot about that. almost.
 
2013-07-01 03:54:28 AM
Sounds like it would make an awesome urban warfare zone for paintballers.
 
2013-07-01 03:57:09 AM
I could tell you guys some real horror stories about some of the Las Vegas properties I've worked at...
 
2013-07-01 04:04:24 AM
I live here good
 
2013-07-01 04:05:01 AM

ElizaDoolittle: It's, "And now the story..."


Of a lovely lady...
 
2013-07-01 04:06:51 AM

optikeye: We had reservation for a good hotel and they where overbooked. When got there they had moved us even tho we had reserved room with CC  and they moved us to a little crab shack inn.with a view of a dumpster, and railroad track 40 yards away.

And the Bed smelled liked Pussy--I think.


you think? you never smelt no pizzussy? you one of them hambone sectionals?
 
2013-07-01 04:08:52 AM
2.bp.blogspot.com

"Come play with us, subby. Forever...and ever...and EVER!"
 
2013-07-01 04:11:11 AM
Back at ya Daily Fail.  The worse hotel in the UK.
 
2013-07-01 04:14:37 AM

Coelacanth: I could tell you guys some real horror stories about some of the Las Vegas properties I've worked at...


Go on.
 
2013-07-01 04:19:24 AM

I lived in Detroit this was my house

i.imgur.com


I miss my neighbours, that was a really cool place to live, everyone was like family
 
2013-07-01 04:22:34 AM

jtown: How could it possibly be worse than that hotel with a body in the water tank?  I don't care how run-down a place gets, dead girl in the water tops any infrastructural deficiencies.


Dead girl in the water AND the Cecil Hotel played host to two serial killers (at different times): the late Night Stalker Richard Ramirez lived there in 1985, as did Austrian strangler turned journalist turned strangler Jack Unterweger in 1991.
 
2013-07-01 04:26:58 AM

Paris1127: jtown: How could it possibly be worse than that hotel with a body in the water tank?  I don't care how run-down a place gets, dead girl in the water tops any infrastructural deficiencies.

Dead girl in the water AND the Cecil Hotel played host to two serial killers (at different times): the late Night Stalker Richard Ramirez lived there in 1985, as did Austrian strangler turned journalist turned strangler Jack Unterweger in 1991.


Pretty much every hotel in America has at some point lodged one of the thousands of active serial killers who will never be identified.
 
2013-07-01 04:34:21 AM

NDP2: Coelacanth: I could tell you guys some real horror stories about some of the Las Vegas properties I've worked at...

Go on.


The mods have to promise not to delete my Weeners.
 
2013-07-01 04:39:34 AM
I work nights in a hotel. I love my job. But holy fark, people are disgusting and awful between the hours of midnight and 5:00 AM. And I work in an upscale, classy hotel for celebrities and rich people.
 
2013-07-01 04:47:08 AM
ransack.:
Pretty much every hotel in America has at some point lodged one of the thousands of active serial killers who will never be identified.

Prime time television has taught me that no serial killer will get away for long.
 
2013-07-01 04:47:15 AM
Soooo, above average for Detroit, then?
 
2013-07-01 04:47:43 AM
On the plus side, each room came with 2 free Faygos.
 
2013-07-01 04:57:23 AM

HotWingAgenda: I am fascinated by all the horror stories coming out of Detroit for the past decade or so. At some point, surely it'll have to turn around. I would think eventually it will get so bad, and therefore cheap, that someone with huge pockets will just start buying massive swaths and rebuilding it on a grand scale.


Well, as soon as the auto unions become more interested in the promotion of the company than their greedy selves, and as soon as Michigan becomes sub-tropical, and as soon as the politicians there abandon their "get whitey" strategy of urban renewal....

Yeah, it could turn around.

media.mlive.com
 
2013-07-01 04:59:08 AM

ransack.: I lived in Detroit this was my house

[i.imgur.com image 760x600]

I miss my neighbours, that was a really cool place to live, everyone was like family


like what you've done with the place.
 
2013-07-01 05:18:41 AM

ransack.: I lived in Detroit this was my house

[i.imgur.com image 760x600]

I miss my neighbours, that was a really cool place to live, everyone was like family


When I worked for Dish Network, I actually installed a satellite dish at a home directly across from that one.

It was a crack house, complete with snarling pitbulls, people coming in and out at random times, and the basement being used as a garbage dump.
 
2013-07-01 05:28:52 AM
sponsored link?

/just admit it, fark
 
2013-07-01 05:29:53 AM
Of  course it would be in Detroit.
 
2013-07-01 05:49:10 AM

SevenizGud: HotWingAgenda: I am fascinated by all the horror stories coming out of Detroit for the past decade or so. At some point, surely it'll have to turn around. I would think eventually it will get so bad, and therefore cheap, that someone with huge pockets will just start buying massive swaths and rebuilding it on a grand scale.

Well, as soon as the auto unions become more interested in the promotion of the company than their greedy selves, and as soon as Michigan becomes sub-tropical, and as soon as the politicians there abandon their "get whitey" strategy of urban renewal....

Yeah, it could turn around.

[media.mlive.com image 432x379]


Maybe if they fix this:

i.imgur.com
 
2013-07-01 05:49:11 AM

SevenizGud: Well, as soon as the auto unions become more interested in the promotion of the company than their greedy selves


Odds of that remain low until auto management leads by example.
 
2013-07-01 05:53:29 AM
Why go all the way to Detroit when you can stay at the Metro Motel in Woodside NYC? Just ask TripAdvisor:  http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g48914-d226008-Reviews-Metro_ M otel-Woodside_New_York.html
 
2013-07-01 06:11:11 AM

Pointy Tail of Satan: Sounds like it would make an awesome urban warfare zone for paintballers.


Why not just use real guns, like everyone else?
 
Skr
2013-07-01 06:24:06 AM
And it had bedbugs too. I'm sure it still does even after being 'converted' into apartments.

Always check the registry and know the signs.
 
2013-07-01 06:40:31 AM

sendtodave: Pointy Tail of Satan: Sounds like it would make an awesome urban warfare zone for paintballers.

Why not just use real guns, like everyone else?


When the police walk around with body armor in addition to their vests, and carry shotguns in their hands, you know it's bad.
Yet the father in law still remains in Allen park.
 
2013-07-01 06:56:31 AM

optikeye: ElizaDoolittle: thought I should warn you that someone who can't spell or punctuate and is a jerk has hijacked your account.

I Fess up the spelling punctuating thing....but the core of that joke is very old Paul Lynde Joke.
"....and the room smelled like Pussy, I Think".


I first heard it when George Takei did it at Shatner's roast...
 
2013-07-01 07:36:51 AM
Well, duh.  Check out places before you make reservations.  It's real easy to do nowadays.
 
2013-07-01 07:41:00 AM
That's nothing, compared to a similar hotel in here in Los Angeles that recently found a dead guest in the hotels rooftop water tank. She had been reported missing for several days.
Asian flavored coffee in the morning?
 
2013-07-01 08:07:20 AM
I once got pulled over driving past it on Cass for being white. No shiat, the cops pulled me over and when I asked why, they said that the only white people that came down Cass were those looking for hookers or drugs. This was about 20 years ago.
 
2013-07-01 08:32:43 AM

HotWingAgenda: I am fascinated by all the horror stories coming out of Detroit for the past decade or so. At some point, surely it'll have to turn around. I would think eventually it will get so bad, and therefore cheap, that someone with huge pockets will just start buying massive swaths and rebuilding it on a grand scale.


Wasn't that the exact plot of Robocop?
 
2013-07-01 08:34:09 AM
A goth club with a hotel upstairs?  Would have been all over that when I was 20 something years old.  Yeah, I was young and stupid.  Also, bedbugs weren't a thing back then either.
 
2013-07-01 08:35:29 AM

Somebody Else: Why go all the way to Detroit when you can stay at the Metro Motel in Woodside NYC? Just ask TripAdvisor:  http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g48914-d226008-Reviews-Metro_ M otel-Woodside_New_York.html


I enjoyed the "Clouds Behind Manhattan" photo someone posted there. Kind of sums it up.
 
2013-07-01 08:37:32 AM
Come on Atlanta Farkers... stand up for your favorite:

cdn.straightfromthea.com
 
2013-07-01 08:48:42 AM
Hotel Yorba unavailable for comment...
 
2013-07-01 08:56:27 AM

IwasKloot: Somebody Else: Why go all the way to Detroit when you can stay at the Metro Motel in Woodside NYC? Just ask TripAdvisor:  http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g48914-d226008-Reviews-Metro_ M otel-Woodside_New_York.html

I enjoyed the "Clouds Behind Manhattan" photo someone posted there. Kind of sums it up.


lol, I love that there are a long series of horrific reviews then there's one guy who's like, "It has a good location next to La Guardia Airport, the lady and the guy in the lobby were very nice to us..." - three stars
 
2013-07-01 09:01:50 AM
I like to stay at those older hotels.  I feel like I have gone through a time warp.  Walking along the halls of the Congress Hotel in Chicago knowing those Capone soldiers who committed the St Valentine's Day massacre stayed there and Capone himself even wandered those halls. Modern hotels, while comfortable enough and all, do nothing for my imagination.  They are all pretty much designed the same way.
 
2013-07-01 09:12:00 AM
IIRC, that was the hotel they put us up in when I joined the Marines in 1986... they served us breakfast at a diner that ringed the first floor, and there was a very loud punk night club that got louder from 2am to 3am as people poured out into the streets.

My room had no electricity, which was probably just as well, because that way I wouldn't see the roaches scurrying around in the dark.

Was up until 3am anyway, then had to get up at 4:30am. Didn't get to sleep until 9pm Pacific the NEXT day at MCRD San Diego, since we spent all night processing after I flew in.
 
2013-07-01 09:38:05 AM
Detroit isn't that bad, thanks to Dan Gilbert. Downtown residential properties are pretty much at capacity, and they ain't cheap.
 
2013-07-01 09:48:12 AM

geekbikerskum: A goth club with a hotel upstairs?  Would have been all over that when I was 20 something years old.  Yeah, I was young and stupid.  Also, bedbugs weren't a thing back then either.


Yep, Leland City Club was my goto club in my early 20s.  I loved that place.  And it's not a hell-hole, it's just a run-down dump, nowhere near the "America's worst hotel".
 
2013-07-01 09:49:27 AM

LesserEvil: IIRC, that was the hotel they put us up in when I joined the Marines in 1986... they served us breakfast at a diner that ringed the first floor, and there was a very loud punk night club that got louder from 2am to 3am as people poured out into the streets.

My room had no electricity, which was probably just as well, because that way I wouldn't see the roaches scurrying around in the dark.

Was up until 3am anyway, then had to get up at 4:30am. Didn't get to sleep until 9pm Pacific the NEXT day at MCRD San Diego, since we spent all night processing after I flew in.


Yeah, that's the same club.  I've had many a drunken coffee at that diner after leaving that club.
 
2013-07-01 10:35:37 AM
LUXURY! When I visited friends in the Netherlands, we drove to Magdeburg Germany (the place where Hitler's body was disposed of http://www.vosizneias.com/44476/2009/12/07/magdeburg-germany-%E2%80%8 B -hitler%E2%80%99s-remains-were-destroyed-on-kgb-orders/  ) shortly after the wall came down, to visit my host's friends. We stayed at a hotel in town that was almost surreal in its shoddiness, inhospitality and discomfort.

My third-floor room strongly smelled of chemicals, the sheets were dirty with a holey bedspread, the bathroom facilities down the hall were filthy, and the in-room shower (a stand-alone model, right in the room) was a Russian model that required the guest to start the water heater, with instructions written in Cyrillic that I could never figure out, so I had to take a cold shower.

However, that was minor compared to when I went to the window and discovered that I could push on the baseboard with my foot, and move the entire wall out and look directly down through the hole created, upon the cobblestone street. The next room was occupied by a guy and two girls who spent all night laughing, shooting up and farking. Loudly. I could hear everything through the paper-thin walls. At 3am, the unmuffled dump-truck parade down the cobblestone street started and kept up until check-out.

One thing I did like was that instead of a Bible in the dresser, there was an assortment of German porno magazines.

/five stars
 
2013-07-01 11:58:22 AM
When I was applying to vet schools, I stayed in a hotel in Columbus, Ohio that has remained a family legend.  We drove for 10 hours to get there and arrived at 2am and the place looked like it had been made for a horror movie (blinking neon sign, no other lights in the parking lot, dilapidated building on a lonely road).  When we went to the front desk we were greeted from behind bars by a cheerful woman with a broken leg.  When we got to the room, the lights didn't work.  The door creaked open to a pitch black room, we tried the lights once or twice and then got the hell out of there to ask for another room. The next room was better until we lay down on the beds, which of course had some interesting stains.  I looked up at the ceiling and noticed two bullet holes and that the wallpaper appeared to have been hastily applied.

"I think someone died in here", I said.  My mom agreed.

At 5am, we realized that we weren't getting to sleep, checked out and went to get breakfast.
It was the last time I ever booked a room at a hotel that didn't have pictures and several reviews to read.
 
2013-07-01 11:58:32 AM
Of course there is also the Hans Brinker hotel in Amsterdam.

As featured in Fark of course.
 
2013-07-01 12:19:13 PM
I think the worst hotel I stayed at was in Florida in the late 90s. I want to say it was at Cocoa Beach. The room looked nothing like the pictures. Instead of ebing bright and friendly it was brown, everything was brown and reaked of mildew. There was mold everywhere. And my friend who we thought was weird about hotels, checked the mattresses and sheets. He found a syringe, spoon with burn marks, and a few little baggies. Now I check hotel rooms too.
 
2013-07-01 01:43:12 PM

LesserEvil: IIRC, that was the hotel they put us up in when I joined the Marines in 1986... they served us breakfast at a diner that ringed the first floor, and there was a very loud punk night club that got louder from 2am to 3am as people poured out into the streets.

My room had no electricity, which was probably just as well, because that way I wouldn't see the roaches scurrying around in the dark.

Was up until 3am anyway, then had to get up at 4:30am. Didn't get to sleep until 9pm Pacific the NEXT day at MCRD San Diego, since we spent all night processing after I flew in.


same here when I joined the Army back in 1988 before heading to Ft. Jackson.  The only difference being my room was high enough where I couldn't hear the music.
I bet the Navy and Air Force folks got to stay in a much better hotel.
 
2013-07-01 02:52:03 PM
Came looking for the 'Fawlty Towers' reference, leaving disappointed.

/But kudos to gopher321 for the 'Dr. Klahn' reference.   "Send him to Detroit!"
 
2013-07-01 03:21:26 PM
I bet the Navy and Air Force folks got to stay in a much better hotel.

Nope, Air Force stayed there also. I had two visits, the first was to get my physical when I signed up for the Delayed Entry Program and again the next year when I actually shipped out. Same year as well (1988). They told us we couldn't leave after 10pm and locked the front doors. We slipped out through the diner.
 
2013-07-01 03:46:01 PM
Was it a 4-points Sheraton (Che Raton)?

Damn - there are actually places worse than that?

You know you're staying in a shiatty hotel when you call the front desk and threaten to call the cops only to have them disconnect your phone to outside calls.  Good thing I had a cell phone.
 
2013-07-01 04:12:51 PM

Coelacanth: I could tell you guys some real horror stories about some of the Las Vegas properties I've worked at...


Go for it. We obviously have nothing better to do.
 
2013-07-01 04:24:39 PM

Cretony38: That's nothing, compared to a similar hotel in here in Los Angeles that recently found a dead guest in the hotels rooftop water tank. She had been reported missing for several days.
Asian flavored coffee in the morning?


And the LAPD ruled that finding her body in the Hotel's water tank, which was behind two locked doors and a narrow ladder, was "Not out of the ordinary" and that her death was "accidental" ...

That's some mighty fine police work there...
 
2013-07-01 04:39:19 PM

ng2810: Cretony38: That's nothing, compared to a similar hotel in here in Los Angeles that recently found a dead guest in the hotels rooftop water tank. She had been reported missing for several days.
Asian flavored coffee in the morning?

And the LAPD ruled that finding her body in the Hotel's water tank, which was behind two locked doors and a narrow ladder, was "Not out of the ordinary" and that her death was "accidental" ...

That's some mighty fine police work there...


Never underestimate a methhead.
 
2013-07-01 05:47:41 PM
I see that there was another City Clubber posting here.  Best club in Detroit.  Industrial music and moods for an industrial city.  Hell, I've even take my wife there when we visited.  Still draws a unique crowd.  Back when I was in my 20's, there were plenty of angry intellectuals there.  Still would go back even now.

As for the 'hotel'... Leland really wasn't a hotel.  It was more a flop house for the clubbers.  My ex girlfriend Miranda lived there for years.  Up until her apartment caught fire....
 
2013-07-01 07:35:16 PM

AngryDragon: SevenizGud: HotWingAgenda: I am fascinated by all the horror stories coming out of Detroit for the past decade or so. At some point, surely it'll have to turn around. I would think eventually it will get so bad, and therefore cheap, that someone with huge pockets will just start buying massive swaths and rebuilding it on a grand scale.

Well, as soon as the auto unions become more interested in the promotion of the company than their greedy selves, and as soon as Michigan becomes sub-tropical, and as soon as the politicians there abandon their "get whitey" strategy of urban renewal....

Yeah, it could turn around.

[media.mlive.com image 432x379]

Maybe if they fix this:

[i.imgur.com image 850x478]


Does google have a "crime" layer now? Is it available in all cities, or just ones like Detroit?
 
2013-07-01 08:09:10 PM
"The guest, registered on the travel site as Mwoike, writes: '...the staff was (is) extremely unhelpful, and when we finally got up to our room (the elevators are as horrific as everyone has described) and begun to unpack, another couple unlocks our room door and walks in. The hotel double booked our room! '

'One of the years we stayed there... Someone had been stabbed right in front of the doors to the hotel and there was a huge puddle of blood on the ground.


'Another time, in the very early morning, we were verbally assaulted by someone who apparently worked in the hotel.'"

Wow this person hates it so much they kept going back for more.
 
2013-07-01 08:52:01 PM
FTA: It's hard to see what attracted visitors to the downtown Detroit landmark

 
Words... how to they work?
 
2013-07-02 02:14:19 AM
dont even get me started on workign at the Labrynth. God bless City Club though.
 
Displayed 70 of 70 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report