If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(LA Weekly)   Australian emigre reviews "Outback Steakhouse", angered over "Shrimp On The Barbie" cracks from the 80's, but then she boomerangs   (laweekly.com) divider line 135
    More: Amusing, Outback Steakhouse, Australian Outback, Australians, cheese fries, Crocodile Dundee, The Cure, shrimps, indigenous populations  
•       •       •

8797 clicks; posted to Main » on 26 Jun 2013 at 7:30 AM (42 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



135 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-06-26 12:33:51 AM
Too bad for her that Outback Steakhouse has invaded Australia. There are six locations in New South Wales, Sydney area.  http://www.outback.com/internationallocations/int_australia.aspx
 
2013-06-26 07:11:35 AM
1) Does anyone actually think Outback Steakhouse is Australian cuisine?

2) Is Australian cuisine substantially different than UK cuisine?
 
2013-06-26 07:35:45 AM
Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?
 
2013-06-26 07:36:25 AM
Unfortunately, Outback is about the only choice for a reasonably priced steak worth a damn here in Japan.
 
2013-06-26 07:37:52 AM
Go back to Hitler's homeland if you don't like Bloomin' Onions. Nobody invited you anyway.
 
2013-06-26 07:38:43 AM
Next you'll tell me that Planet Hollywood doesn't really serve authentic Hollywood food.
 
2013-06-26 07:39:37 AM
Outback Steakhouse Review: Please Don't Call This Food Australian

Um...yeah.  Way ahead of you.  I don't think anyone who looks at the menu for 5 seconds thinks it's anything but standard American fare.

Also, Outback Steakhouse is not to be confused with the Outback Steak and Oyster Bar in Branson, MO.  At least that place is semi-Aussie and you can get a big, Australian beer in a bucket.
 
2013-06-26 07:39:45 AM

Shostie: 1) Does anyone actually think Outback Steakhouse is Australian cuisine?

2) Is Australian cuisine substantially different than UK cuisine?


Kangaroo and Koala Bear are on the menu?

Besha Rodell, the critic, sounds gay judging by the high pitched sniveling in the article. Who in the heck goes to Outback and counts calories?
 
2013-06-26 07:40:20 AM

Toriko: Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?


I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.
 
2013-06-26 07:41:00 AM

elkboy: Next you'll tell me that Planet Hollywood doesn't really serve authentic Hollywood food.


What is authentic Hollywood food? Whiskey, cocaine and Quaaludes?
 
2013-06-26 07:41:16 AM

Shostie: 1) Does anyone actually think Outback Steakhouse is Australian cuisine?

2) Is Australian cuisine substantially different than UK cuisine?


We don't really have a cuisine... well, unless you count snags on a barbie. We've kind of just subsumed the cuisines of dozens of other cultures, European and Asian generally. It's certainly not whatever the hell that onion ring burger thing, that definitely says American cuisine to me (though that has been making entries into Australian cuisine as well).
 
2013-06-26 07:43:13 AM

steerforth: Toriko: Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?

I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.


You can't piggy-back off genius. (Unless you also submitted that one.)

Btw, these things are referred to as "dining concepts" for a reason.
 
2013-06-26 07:44:18 AM

steerforth: I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.


I submitted one about us changing our ruddy PM again. Race you to the Green.
 
2013-06-26 07:45:36 AM
Outback Steakhouse.... No rules.

img1.joyreactor.com
 
2013-06-26 07:45:57 AM

steerforth: I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.


I was thinking of a headline involving the GoT Red Wedding, but I couldn't craft it well enough.
 
2013-06-26 07:47:24 AM
Relax, it's just a marketing gimmick holdover from the mid to late 80's American obsession with Australia that gave us Crocodile Dundee, Yahoo Serious, a Grammy for Men At Work, and Jacko for Energizer before they got a bunny and before Jacko became a British tabloid term for Michael Jackson.

encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com

Be thankful that Americans don't think you play digeridoos while feasting on koala meat.  We already think you actually enjoy Foster's.
 
2013-06-26 07:47:44 AM

Seth'n'Spectrum: steerforth: Toriko: Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?

I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.

You can't piggy-back off genius. (Unless you also submitted that one.)

Btw, these things are referred to as "dining concepts" for a reason.


I've submitted two headlines in the past about hot red-heads doing something down under, none of which involved piggy-backing but both about Julia Gillard and both greenlit. Three times lucky? We'll see in about 10 hours.

Meanwhile, this food sounds appalling.
 
2013-06-26 07:48:41 AM
Oh, and very importantly while we're on this subject: Fosters is not an Australian Beer in any sense of the word. It's not made in Australia, it's not owned by Australians, it's not drunk by Australians, and it tastes like cat piss.

Just FYI.
 
2013-06-26 07:49:13 AM

Toriko: Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?


Nobody cares about Australian politics, not even Australians.
 
2013-06-26 07:49:21 AM
i855.photobucket.com
She doesn't even have a vagina. BTW Is this the fish thread?
 
2013-06-26 07:49:34 AM

Dingfod: Too bad for her that Outback Steakhouse has invaded Australia. There are six locations in New South Wales, Sydney area.  http://www.outback.com/internationallocations/int_australia.aspx


I ate at the Outback Steakhouse in Sydney simply out of curiosity since my Aussie friend (from Newcastle area) had been to the US before and we both wanted to compare the two.  I've long known the Outback was American because their burgers have neither beets nor eggs nor any true Aussie touches to the food on the menu (ex. complete lack of meat pies or calling chips fries and not having more authentic fish options).  But having tasted the steak over there, I'd have to say the meat was of a better quality in Australia.

I much preferred Hog's Breath Cafe when we couldn't find a more local, non-chain restaurant to eat at (given we drove all the way from Melbourne to Cairns over the period of a month).
 
2013-06-26 07:50:06 AM

maddermaxx: steerforth: I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.

I submitted one about us changing our ruddy PM again. Race you to the Green.


Saw that one. Not bad, but cunnilingus jokes have a good strike rate on Fark for some reason.
 
2013-06-26 07:50:17 AM

Rapmaster2000: Be thankful that Americans don't think you play digeridoos while feasting on koala meat. We already think you actually enjoy Foster's.


.... Dammit, I didn't post my last comment quickly enough :P
 
2013-06-26 07:50:29 AM
Authour needs a coont poont. "Taste the misery" in a steak?  Go back to being vegan, you pretentious twatwaffle.
 
2013-06-26 07:51:42 AM

hasty ambush: Besha Rodell, the critic, sounds gay judging by the high pitched sniveling in the article. Who in the heck goes to Outback and counts calories?


Besha Rodell sounds like a heterosexual female based on this profile of her on another site and that she specifically mentions sitting with her "American husband" in the article.
 
2013-06-26 07:52:34 AM

lumiere: Dingfod: Too bad for her that Outback Steakhouse has invaded Australia. There are six locations in New South Wales, Sydney area.  http://www.outback.com/internationallocations/int_australia.aspx

I ate at the Outback Steakhouse in Sydney simply out of curiosity since my Aussie friend (from Newcastle area) had been to the US before and we both wanted to compare the two.  I've long known the Outback was American because their burgers have neither beets nor eggs nor any true Aussie touches to the food on the menu (ex. complete lack of meat pies or calling chips fries and not having more authentic fish options).  But having tasted the steak over there, I'd have to say the meat was of a better quality in Australia.

I much preferred Hog's Breath Cafe when we couldn't find a more local, non-chain restaurant to eat at (given we drove all the way from Melbourne to Cairns over the period of a month).


Tinned pineapple rings also conspicuously absent?
 
2013-06-26 07:52:58 AM
mw2.google.com

How's the serenity? Tell 'em they're dreamin'.
 
2013-06-26 07:53:29 AM

maddermaxx: Oh, and very importantly while we're on this subject: Fosters is not an Australian Beer in any sense of the word. It's not made in Australia, it's not owned by Australians, it's not drunk by Australians, and it tastes like cat piss.

Just FYI.


A friend of mine calls in the cooking lager.
 
2013-06-26 07:53:51 AM

Toriko: Really? After what happened in Australian politics tonight, THIS is the headline involving Australia that I see?


That the chick might get fired-big deal, how does that affect me?  On the other hand I do go to The Outback on occasion.
 
2013-06-26 07:55:14 AM

steerforth: maddermaxx: steerforth: I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.

I submitted one about us changing our ruddy PM again. Race you to the Green.

Saw that one. Not bad, but cunnilingus jokes have a good strike rate on Fark for some reason.


Like the leadership change, it's not necessarily about winning or losing, but it's about how hard they go down.

/hoping for a soft landing.
 
2013-06-26 07:55:37 AM
So then I should seek Australian political asylum at the local Outback? Good to know.
 
2013-06-26 07:55:45 AM
As someone who spends many nights in business hotels on the edge of suburban tech parks, I don't mind Outback at all and I'm not a chain person.  They make steaks and potatoes.  You can't mess those up (to a point).  Sometimes you get off the plane and all you can think is "where is the hotel and where can we eat."  Outback is a welcome sight in that situation.

/not the best endorsement i realize
 
2013-06-26 07:59:31 AM
At the end of the article there is this.

OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE | One star | Multiple locations including

So you admit you liked the food, you just don't like the theme/idea. Yet, you still give it only 1 star?
 
2013-06-26 08:00:53 AM
I don't think I have ever heard of Australian food.
 
2013-06-26 08:01:51 AM

MindStalker: At the end of the article there is this.

OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE | One star | Multiple locations including

So you admit you liked the food, you just don't like the theme/idea. Yet, you still give it only 1 star?


That's pretty par for Food Criticism.  I would expect nothing more than 1.5 for Outback.  It's not like movie rating.  My favorite restaurants never get more than 3.

media.laweekly.com
 
2013-06-26 08:02:09 AM

maddermaxx: Oh, and very importantly while we're on this subject: Fosters is not an Australian Beer in any sense of the word. It's not made in Australia, it's not owned by Australians, it's not drunk by Australians, and it tastes like cat piss.

Just FYI.


Pffft, like VB is any better. My Australian buddy prefers Corona down under (and that's not saying much).

steerforth: lumiere: Dingfod: Too bad for her that Outback Steakhouse has invaded Australia. There are six locations in New South Wales, Sydney area.  http://www.outback.com/internationallocations/int_australia.aspx

I ate at the Outback Steakhouse in Sydney simply out of curiosity since my Aussie friend (from Newcastle area) had been to the US before and we both wanted to compare the two.  I've long known the Outback was American because their burgers have neither beets nor eggs nor any true Aussie touches to the food on the menu (ex. complete lack of meat pies or calling chips fries and not having more authentic fish options).  But having tasted the steak over there, I'd have to say the meat was of a better quality in Australia.

I much preferred Hog's Breath Cafe when we couldn't find a more local, non-chain restaurant to eat at (given we drove all the way from Melbourne to Cairns over the period of a month).

Tinned pineapple rings also conspicuously absent?


Can't say I tried the tinned pineapple rings.

On that note:

i.imgur.com
 
2013-06-26 08:02:35 AM
Don't be fooled by the "Aussie cheese fries" or the "walkabout soup" on the menu. Outback Steakhouse is 100 percent American.
images2.wikia.nocookie.net
 
2013-06-26 08:03:34 AM
Sweet, sweet, girl - American chain restaurants are not about finding authenticity, they're about finding a marketing hook. Do you think that the Olive Garden is authentic Italian food, or Bugaboo Creek is authentic Canadian food? (I don't even know what that means, btw), or that P.F. Chang's is authentic Chinese food? or Chevy's is authentic Mexican food? This is all just marketing spin, honey. If you think any differently, you're completely delusional.
 
2013-06-26 08:04:47 AM

maddermaxx: steerforth: maddermaxx: steerforth: I submitted a headline about a hot red-head going down, but there was no side of fries so this is what we're stuck with, I reckon.

I submitted one about us changing our ruddy PM again. Race you to the Green.

Saw that one. Not bad, but cunnilingus jokes have a good strike rate on Fark for some reason.

Like the leadership change, it's not necessarily about winning or losing, but it's about how hard they go down.

/hoping for a soft landing.


We've got KRudd vs. the Mad Monk. Suddenly my taste for oral pleasure has dissipated.

Think I'll go and drink my own piss.
 
2013-06-26 08:05:31 AM

Macular Degenerate: Sweet, sweet, girl - American chain restaurants are not about finding authenticity, they're about finding a marketing hook. Do you think that the Olive Garden is authentic Italian food, or Bugaboo Creek is authentic Canadian food? (I don't even know what that means, btw), or that P.F. Chang's is authentic Chinese food? or Chevy's is authentic Mexican food? This is all just marketing spin, honey. If you think any differently, you're completely delusional.


Are you trying to tell me that Long John Silver's isn't pirate food?
 
2013-06-26 08:06:11 AM

eldritch2k4: hasty ambush: Besha Rodell, the critic, sounds gay judging by the high pitched sniveling in the article. Who in the heck goes to Outback and counts calories?

Besha Rodell sounds like a heterosexual female based on this profile of her on another site and that she specifically mentions sitting with her "American husband" in the article.


Could be that the" husband" is merely the "man" in the lesbian relationship. Like Ellen is to Portia.  Or it could be a fake marriage helping her get her green card.
 
2013-06-26 08:06:42 AM
Do they play knifey-spoony?
 
2013-06-26 08:08:41 AM

Dahnkster: [mw2.google.com image 500x375]

How's the serenity? Tell 'em they're dreamin'.

[and other posts]

So much win.
 
2013-06-26 08:09:21 AM
FTFA:many Australians are quite cheerful about their status as the funny drunk uncle of the world

There are worse reputations to have....like here, where to most of the world we're known as the wife beating drunk father with a belt.

[itsgoofytime.jpg]
 
2013-06-26 08:12:51 AM

Shostie: 1) Does anyone actually think Outback Steakhouse is Australian cuisine?


Dominos pizza in NYC.

Your argument is invalid.
 
2013-06-26 08:13:23 AM
If there's one thing I can't stand, it's emigrants. Rats! Leaving the country - always the same places, isn't it? Former British colonies, New Zealand, Canada, Australia, United States of America. Rats! Emigrants, emigrating. Going over there, having sex with their women. Taking their money and skills. Emigrants.
 
2013-06-26 08:13:43 AM
25.media.tumblr.com
 
2013-06-26 08:15:45 AM
Australia is where everything terrible in this world finally ends up, kind of like a grease trap for the planet. It exists solely so that anyone with any interest in good taste or decorum can observe what is common there and avoid those factors in their life. Knowing that, quite why anyone would consume anything that originates there is beyond my comprehension, that is exactly the same as choosing to punch yourself in the testicles because it was explained that it will be detrimental to you.
 
2013-06-26 08:16:44 AM

lumiere: maddermaxx: Oh, and very importantly while we're on this subject: Fosters is not an Australian Beer in any sense of the word. It's not made in Australia, it's not owned by Australians, it's not drunk by Australians, and it tastes like cat piss.

Just FYI.

Pffft, like VB is any better. My Australian buddy prefers Corona down under (and that's not saying much).

steerforth: lumiere: Dingfod: Too bad for her that Outback Steakhouse has invaded Australia. There are six locations in New South Wales, Sydney area.  http://www.outback.com/internationallocations/int_australia.aspx

I ate at the Outback Steakhouse in Sydney simply out of curiosity since my Aussie friend (from Newcastle area) had been to the US before and we both wanted to compare the two.  I've long known the Outback was American because their burgers have neither beets nor eggs nor any true Aussie touches to the food on the menu (ex. complete lack of meat pies or calling chips fries and not having more authentic fish options).  But having tasted the steak over there, I'd have to say the meat was of a better quality in Australia.

I much preferred Hog's Breath Cafe when we couldn't find a more local, non-chain restaurant to eat at (given we drove all the way from Melbourne to Cairns over the period of a month).

Tinned pineapple rings also conspicuously absent?

Can't say I tried the tinned pineapple rings.

On that note:

[i.imgur.com image 696x695]


Aussie burgers have tinned beetroot, Aussie burgers-with-the-lot have have bacon and egg, but the one with the tinned pineapple ring is called a Hawaiian. I once had one on a school trip to the Big Pineapple in Nambour.

Ha ha. Queensland. Coonts.
 
2013-06-26 08:27:11 AM
Shostie:
2) Is Australian cuisine substantially different than UK cuisine?

Australian cuisine is normally delivered through a hose from an upside-down keg.

/a bouquet like an aborigine's armpit
 
Displayed 50 of 135 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report