Do you have adblock enabled?
 
If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Huffington Post)   Employee complaints on the worst things about working for Facebook? Too much freedom, too much free food, not enough meetings, too much trust. If my boss wasn't looking I'd play my tiny violin after this meeting, assuming I could slip away   (huffingtonpost.com ) divider line
    More: Silly, Facebook, Lloyds Banking Group, Glassdoor, Quora, Richard Doherty  
•       •       •

1204 clicks; posted to Business » on 19 Jun 2013 at 1:35 PM (3 years ago)   |   Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



19 Comments     (+0 »)
 
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest
 
2013-06-19 01:45:43 PM  
Basically a combination of all the things that business has stopped doing for the Rest of Us for a generation.
 
2013-06-19 01:53:39 PM  
FTFA Facebook is too popular. A wife of a former Facebook employee, Elaine C. Smith wrote: "One of the worst things for him about working there was being a recipient of any complaints anyone had about the site, often as soon as they learned that he worked there." Smith said that she was also asked a lot of questions about Facebook from acquaintances.

Oh good fark'n grief.  This is true of working for any company.  When I worked for [insert name of really big bank here] I was on the receiving end of all sorts of biatching from my family members about whatever new fee was piled on them last week.  Grow the fark up.

/now that I work for an entertainment company - they biatch about something in the same breath that they ask me for free stuff
 
2013-06-19 01:55:33 PM  

sethstorm: Basically a combination of all the things that business has stopped doing for the Rest of Us for a generation.


They never did those things.  Facebook and google can waste tons of money on these types of perks because their really isn't any real governance over the business and they have tons of cash coming in.  Once that cash flow starts going down (and it always does) - look for many of those perks to go away.
 
2013-06-19 02:33:46 PM  
That sounds like my wife complaining.  Oh you are too manly and handsome, you make too much money, you treat me way too good, and in bed whoooo.... god I hate hearing her complain about to her boyfriend.
 
2013-06-19 02:35:09 PM  
Anyone ever been to Fark's corporate hovel?
 
2013-06-19 02:39:57 PM  
I remember not too long ago of reading interviews of employees working for a company that always had the most up-to-date equipment.  They also "complained" of too much free time and tbought their jobs were too good to be true.

It didn't work out so well for them.

img.fark.net
 
2013-06-19 02:42:21 PM  

gingerjet: FTFA Facebook is too popular. A wife of a former Facebook employee, Elaine C. Smith wrote: "One of the worst things for him about working there was being a recipient of any complaints anyone had about the site, often as soon as they learned that he worked there." Smith said that she was also asked a lot of questions about Facebook from acquaintances.

Oh good fark'n grief.  This is true of working for any company.  When I worked for [insert name of really big bank here] I was on the receiving end of all sorts of biatching from my family members about whatever new fee was piled on them last week.  Grow the fark up.

/now that I work for an entertainment company - they biatch about something in the same breath that they ask me for free stuff


When I was in radio the amount of crap I caught from family and friends sucked too. "What was that song they played at 2?" "They never played my request" "I dont want tickets to that I want tickets to this" And I was almost murdered when one of the stations  worked for changed format and didnt give a heads up (I signed a form saying I wouldnt)
 
2013-06-19 03:07:41 PM  

gingerjet: sethstorm: Basically a combination of all the things that business has stopped doing for the Rest of Us for a generation.

They never did those things.


Sounds like you've not worked for a large company that got things reasonably right - or lived in the general area of another that significantly contributed to the prosperity of a city.

Not everyone cares for the unstable-as-Fukushima life with a small business or contractor.  In addition, not every large company doesn't make a point of farking over their own(including contractors in service of the company).
 
2013-06-19 03:23:09 PM  

gingerjet: FTFA Facebook is too popular. A wife of a former Facebook employee, Elaine C. Smith wrote: "One of the worst things for him about working there was being a recipient of any complaints anyone had about the site, often as soon as they learned that he worked there." Smith said that she was also asked a lot of questions about Facebook from acquaintances.

Oh good fark'n grief.  This is true of working for any company.  When I worked for [insert name of really big bank here] I was on the receiving end of all sorts of biatching from my family members about whatever new fee was piled on them last week.  Grow the fark up.

/now that I work for an entertainment company - they biatch about something in the same breath that they ask me for free stuff


You mean there's a reason behind that "call me at my office" line that I've heard about doctors at parties and dinners all these decades? Evidently the march of humanity really isn't much more than each successive generation learning the same lessons.
 
2013-06-19 03:27:12 PM  

sethstorm: gingerjet: sethstorm: Basically a combination of all the things that business has stopped doing for the Rest of Us for a generation.

They never did those things.

Sounds like you've not worked for a large company that got things reasonably right - or lived in the general area of another that significantly contributed to the prosperity of a city.

Not everyone cares for the unstable-as-Fukushima life with a small business or contractor.  In addition, not every large company doesn't make a point of farking over their own(including contractors in service of the company).


Exactly.  My former company was all about me working as many hours as possible for the least compensation they could get away with paying me.

So I left for a place where I'm not treated as a commodity.

My new company cares about its employees and it shows.  It's not at the Silicon Valley Startup level, with nap rooms and 20% time and such, but we do have things like a nice gym on site, health insurance incentives for preventative care, nursing rooms for new mothers and a 'flex Friday' program in the summer where I can take every other Friday off and make up the hours over the other nine days.

I make considerably more money here than at my previous job (because they compensate their people fairly), but even if my former employer offered 20% more than I'm getting here I'd stay put.  Treating me like a human being completely changes the way I feel about coming to work every day.
 
2013-06-19 03:27:44 PM  

groppet: gingerjet: FTFA Facebook is too popular. A wife of a former Facebook employee, Elaine C. Smith wrote: "One of the worst things for him about working there was being a recipient of any complaints anyone had about the site, often as soon as they learned that he worked there." Smith said that she was also asked a lot of questions about Facebook from acquaintances.

Oh good fark'n grief.  This is true of working for any company.  When I worked for [insert name of really big bank here] I was on the receiving end of all sorts of biatching from my family members about whatever new fee was piled on them last week.  Grow the fark up.

/now that I work for an entertainment company - they biatch about something in the same breath that they ask me for free stuff

When I was in radio the amount of crap I caught from family and friends sucked too. "What was that song they played at 2?" "They never played my request" "I dont want tickets to that I want tickets to this" And I was almost murdered when one of the stations  worked for changed format and didnt give a heads up (I signed a form saying I wouldnt)


I work for a Defense contractor. It's amazing how nobody complains when you've got the drones on your side.
 
2013-06-19 03:33:40 PM  
Solution:

Since nobody is watching take the free food to a food bank.  You might get reprimand in a meeting (liability concerns), and while at the food bank you may find some people don't care about facebook.

Do I have to do everything while doing nothing?  jeeeesh
 
2013-06-19 04:38:10 PM  
The too much free food thing can be a hassle when it's in the form of the ubiquitous baked goods ladies that are always dropping by to remind you that there are cupcakes in the break room.

But this isn't FBs problem.
 
2013-06-19 05:05:41 PM  
I'm tired and old, well, I'm tired at any rate.  I've decided that if the choice is ever "work for a petty dictator who monitors every breath" or "starve", I'm choosing starve.  Life is too short to be miserable or damn near suicidal because your job sucks THAT much about making money to pay for stuff that just makes you miserable because you don't have the time, energy, or mental health to enjoy it.  fark that.  Perhaps make less, but enjoy life more?  Yes, please.
 
2013-06-19 05:23:53 PM  
I'm surprised "crappy offices" don't make the list. They are horrible.

http://img.izismile.com/img/img3/20101223/640/inside_facebook_offices _ 640_01.jpg">http://img.izismile.com/img/img3/20101223/640/inside_face book_offices_ 640_01.jpg
 
2013-06-19 07:55:34 PM  

Rapmaster2000: The too much free food thing can be a hassle when it's in the form of the ubiquitous baked goods ladies that are always dropping by to remind you that there are cupcakes in the break room.

But this isn't FBs problem.


I get told about a free pair of cupcakes, but they're never in the break room. For some reason they want me to go to their homes to get them. Some even offer to let me frost them!

/sigh
//I can't leave work for cupcakes
 
2013-06-19 08:44:23 PM  

gingerjet: FTFA Facebook is too popular. A wife of a former Facebook employee, Elaine C. Smith wrote: "One of the worst things for him about working there was being a recipient of any complaints anyone had about the site, often as soon as they learned that he worked there." Smith said that she was also asked a lot of questions about Facebook from acquaintances.

Oh good fark'n grief.  This is true of working for any company.  When I worked for [insert name of really big bank here] I was on the receiving end of all sorts of biatching from my family members about whatever new fee was piled on them last week.  Grow the fark up.

/now that I work for an entertainment company - they biatch about something in the same breath that they ask me for free stuff


I used to work for a telecom. I left five years ago, yet people still complain to me about their cell phone reception/bills...even though I worked in the engineering department on the landline side.
 
2013-06-20 01:47:57 AM  

neilbradley: I'm surprised "crappy offices" don't make the list. They are horrible.

http://img.izismile.com/img/img3/20101223/640/inside_facebook_offices _ 640_01.jpg">http://img.izismile.com/img/img3/20101223/640/inside_face book_offices_ 640_01.jpg


Holy FARK!   Looks like the morning after a pre-schooler's birthday party!
 
2013-06-20 06:50:23 AM  
They probably get paid too much also.
I hate that
 
Displayed 19 of 19 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »
On Twitter






In Other Media
  1. Links are submitted by members of the Fark community.

  2. When community members submit a link, they also write a custom headline for the story.

  3. Other Farkers comment on the links. This is the number of comments. Click here to read them.

  4. Click here to submit a link.

Report