If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Thrillbent)   A 'Man Of Steel' review from Mark Waid, a guy who knows a little bit about Superman   (thrillbent.com) divider line 373
    More: Interesting, Mark Waid, Man of Steel, Superman, Zod, Brandon Routh, Jor-El, Infinite Crisis, secret identity  
•       •       •

9937 clicks; posted to Geek » on 14 Jun 2013 at 8:56 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



373 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-06-14 04:17:44 PM  
 

secularsage: Haven't seen it yet, but from what Waid says, the third act pretty much exactly what happens in Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

It makes sense that Superman would toss Zod into the Phantom Zone like in Superman 2. It doesn't make any sense at all to have a giant battle with him at the exclusion of others and then to end it with a fatal neck snap.

That's just as dumb as Optimus Prime shooting someone begging for mercy in the head. It's not just a betrayal of the character; it's a dark reflection of how 21st century culture understands heroes to be the sort who will kill a bad guy rather than look for any more peaceful, humanizing alternative.


See that bolded part? It means you're talking out of your ass. Thus, your opinion of something you don't understand is meaningless.
 
2013-06-14 04:19:41 PM  
I feel like we don't need another long drawn-out origins story in every reboot. One of the things the '89 Batman movie did right was jump right into the action and relegate Batman's backstory to a quick flashback. Yeah, they farked up the detail about having Joker kill his parents instead of Joe Chill, but they had the right idea in keeping the backstory to a minimum.
 
2013-06-14 04:21:56 PM  

velvet_fog: I feel like we don't need another long drawn-out origins story in every reboot. One of the things the '89 Batman movie did right was jump right into the action and relegate Batman's backstory to a quick flashback. Yeah, they farked up the detail about having Joker kill his parents instead of Joe Chill, but they had the right idea in keeping the backstory to a minimum.


To be fair, we have only seen Superman's origin story once before in the last 50 years. This movie gives us brief flashbacks, but doesn't dwell solely in it, and it also adds nuances of character that make up the theme of hte film.
 
2013-06-14 04:23:14 PM  

velvet_fog: I feel like we don't need another long drawn-out origins story in every reboot.


I agree, and apparently so does Zach Snyder, since Superman's origin takes only about 20-30% of MoS.
 
2013-06-14 04:24:43 PM  

Hebalo: velvet_fog: I feel like we don't need another long drawn-out origins story in every reboot. One of the things the '89 Batman movie did right was jump right into the action and relegate Batman's backstory to a quick flashback. Yeah, they farked up the detail about having Joker kill his parents instead of Joe Chill, but they had the right idea in keeping the backstory to a minimum.

To be fair, we have only seen Superman's origin story in a theatrical movie once before in the last 50 years. This movie gives us brief flashbacks, but doesn't dwell solely in it, and it also adds nuances of character that make up the theme of hte film.


I have corrected your oversight.

/Smallville was a ten year origin story.
 
2013-06-14 04:40:41 PM  

RexTalionis: Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

[images2.wikia.nocookie.net image 299x400]

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.


Interesting. He has the presence to play Luthor. Especially the more recent "tough" businessman version.
 
2013-06-14 04:41:05 PM  

Hebalo: secularsage: Haven't seen it yet, but from what Waid says, the third act pretty much exactly what happens in Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

It makes sense that Superman would toss Zod into the Phantom Zone like in Superman 2. It doesn't make any sense at all to have a giant battle with him at the exclusion of others and then to end it with a fatal neck snap.

That's just as dumb as Optimus Prime shooting someone begging for mercy in the head. It's not just a betrayal of the character; it's a dark reflection of how 21st century culture understands heroes to be the sort who will kill a bad guy rather than look for any more peaceful, humanizing alternative.

See that bolded part? It means you're talking out of your ass. Thus, your opinion of something you don't understand is meaningless.


Oh, because I can't read a synopsis of an experience and make a connection? I have to experience everything firsthand to have a valid opinion on a matter, or to have the intellect to understand it?

Based on the reviews I've seen, btw, most of the people who've enjoyed this movie ARE talking out of their ass. Those of us sitting on the fence about shelling out $10-15 to see it are doing so with good reason. It looks like a Zack Snyder film with a Superman-like character. It doesn't really look like Superman.
 
2013-06-14 04:41:29 PM  

Mrbogey: He has the presence to play Luthor.


He already plays Luthor. He's this version:

images3.wikia.nocookie.net
 
2013-06-14 04:42:41 PM  

secularsage: Oh, because I can't read a synopsis of an experience and make a connection?


No, not when the synopsis is clearly biased and factually incorrect.
 
2013-06-14 04:48:40 PM  

th0th: imashark:

He definitely has the voice for it.

/heh

I sort of like the idea of an older Lex outwitting the younger, stronger Clark.  However, in the past decade or so Lex was made out to be this subtle musclehead, pumped up by Kryptonite-enhanced steroids.  In the original comics Lex was just this bald guy who outwitted Superman.  Clancy could pull that off, and the ability to merge his voice with the actor from the animated series would be amazing.  If they could have cast Mark Hamill as the Joker in Dark Night, only a 25-year younger Hamill? Get out of town...


Luthor has been made into a "subtle musclehead" (even though recently, he hasn't been that subtle) because writers are lazy and have a hard time shoehorning him into conflicts with superheroes and supervillains if he isn't trying to bash someone's head in.

Hence why he has that stupid green suit in some comics.
 
2013-06-14 04:52:57 PM  
New rule: You don't get to participate in a discussion of a film's merits and flaws if your thoughtful opinion post begins with, or contains within, the words, "I haven't seen it, but...".

It's for your protection, not ours. Because when you do that, it's inevitable that someone who actually has seen the film will take your ignorance and ram it straight up your ass.

/Loved the film
//Getting a kick....
 
2013-06-14 04:53:12 PM  

HST's Dead Carcass: Superman kills. Really now? Because there was no other way? It occurs to me Superman always found an alternative way than killing, otherwise he'd just super punch every villain and exlaim: "Sorry, no other way to do it, he woulda kept going if we tried to lock him up." Lex Luthor would be a greasy stain across 3 states if this were the case.

That just seems sl wrong that Batman wouldn't kill, but Superman would. Like I said, they gotta make him edgy and flawed.

But, the flip side of this is would they had made a Superman movie true to himself, I'd be sitting here biatching about how they've done nothing to advance the character or give us anything that hasn't been done before.

I may be an asshole, but I know myself too well.



Yep. People are complaining that Man of Steel gives them exactly what they complained was missing from the last Superman movie. There was literally no way the filmmakers could win.

Just saw the movie and enjoyed it, although they could have trimmed about 10 minutes, especially during the Metropolis battle, that seemed to drag.

As for the killing scene, this was Superman's first conflict in this story. Maybe his experience finally knowing what it is like to take a life after decades of knowing he could kill anyone informs on his later stories, thus the no killing rule in later stories.

People can't whine that they want to see something new about the character and then complain that it isn't slavishly faithful to the comics.
 
2013-06-14 04:57:31 PM  

secularsage: Oh, because I can't read a synopsis of an experience and make a connection? I have to experience everything firsthand to have a valid opinion on a matter, or to have the intellect to understand it?


Nope, but you did more that that, you took a synopsis, based on that decided it was exactly like the end of another film (not really knowing whether it was), and decided that the end scenario (which you haven't experienced, have no context surrounding, no appreciation for the themes and concepts the movie is concerned with), and judged it stupid.

You've clearly made your mind up, and your opinion, based on sweet fark all, must clearly mean more than a sucker like me, who, I don't know, actually SAW THE farkING MOVIE.

So I said you're talking out of your ass. Because you are.

That's all I'm saying.
 
2013-06-14 04:59:20 PM  

stoli n coke: People can't whine that they want to see something new about the character and then complain that it isn't slavishly faithful to the comics.


Welcome to Fark.jpg
 
2013-06-14 05:08:01 PM  
Spoilers -

Things I loved:

Lois tracking Clark down and no big "secret identity" crap. "Hi, I'm Lois, you're Clark. You're an alien and I'm cool with that."

Lois not being a worthless twat. Character had balls and wasn't damsel in distress at all (and falling through atmosphere burning up warrants screams btw).

Ma and pa kent. Costner was great.

SuperMAN. He's 33, he's a man.
 
2013-06-14 05:09:17 PM  

HST's Dead Carcass: And, here's my biggest biatch about Superman:

The man always has to be careful, oh so careful as to not crush everything he freaking breathes on. If he is NEVER able to flex or stress test his muscles, where is he getting muscle tone? Shouldn't he be Kate Moss skinny or WoW player flabby? He can never truly exercise or workout, so why all the muscle tone?


And I direct you to his monologue at the end of "JLU" when he's fighting Darkseid.
 
2013-06-14 05:09:32 PM  

imashark: Luthor has been made into a "subtle musclehead" (even though recently, he hasn't been that subtle) because writers are lazy and have a hard time shoehorning him into conflicts with superheroes and supervillains if he isn't trying to bash someone's head in.

Hence why he has that stupid green suit in some comics.


You're an idiot. Lex has been a musclehead before recent comics. In fact, he becoming one again is a throwback to that era:


www.weirdspace.dk

Sure, he's also been depicted as a flabby old guy but that doesn't mean the muscled version is "lazy and made by recent writers".
 
2013-06-14 05:10:28 PM  

imgod2u: I just listened to Zack Snyder on NPR: "I have a reverence for that mythology and I really wanted to treat the experience of seeing Superman born [with care]. ... And that ancient technology ... I find fun to think about. ... Within that world, it was fun to see Jor-El putting his son into the basket and [metaphorically] sending him down the river."

Did you hear that Abrams? That's how you do a reboot.


Really?  Coming from a long time Trekkie that initially wanted nothing to do with the reboot, Abrams handled it well.
 
2013-06-14 05:13:13 PM  

Mrbogey: RexTalionis: Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

[images2.wikia.nocookie.net image 299x400]

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.

Interesting. He has the presence to play Luthor. Especially the more recent "tough" businessman version.


Uh, I picture him with a bald head and he looks more like Obadiah Stane.
 
2013-06-14 05:26:35 PM  

Rwa2play: And I direct you to his monologue at the end of "JLU" when he's fighting Darkseid.


Oh hell yeah! I had a geekgasm watching him pound Darkseid around town. As he said, it was a rare occasion, so when does he get to go pump iron to have the perfect physique?
 
2013-06-14 05:31:14 PM  

FirstNationalBastard: PsyLord: World War Z is rated at 80% and Superman: MOS at 58%.  Did I wake up in Bizarro Earth again?

I wonder... is anal sex "normal" sex on Bizarro World?


I'll glove up buttercup
 
2013-06-14 05:35:28 PM  

mariner314: Lois tracking Clark down and no big "secret identity" crap. "Hi, I'm Lois, you're Clark. You're an alien and I'm cool with that."


The only drawback to such a portrayal is that it prevents a reprise of the best Superman villain speech ever.
 
2013-06-14 05:58:01 PM  

Dimensio: mariner314: Lois tracking Clark down and no big "secret identity" crap. "Hi, I'm Lois, you're Clark. You're an alien and I'm cool with that."

The only drawback to such a portrayal is that it prevents a reprise of the best Superman villain speech ever.


archive.4plebs.org
 
2013-06-14 06:02:37 PM  
*SPOILERS*

Thematically, I had no problem with Superman killing Zod at the end or the "disaster porn" because of just how much world-building is done through that.  The Kryptonians just about laid waste to Metropolis and Superman has shown that he is not above killing (to the casual observer).  This gives reason for the military and Lexcorp to seek to find methods to take Superman down in future movies because, as it is even said, Supes led the Kyrptonians there.  This also gives Superman cause to not wish to kill ever again.  He has now felt what it is like, it is not existential anymore and it is in the back of his head for all future battles and something that Lex can take full advantage of.  I thought it was a good move when you consider continuity that they want to be set up.

Also, am I the only one who thinks Lex is going to make his big battlesuit out of the Kryptonian armor?  It seemed way too similar in look.
 
2013-06-14 06:04:48 PM  

HST's Dead Carcass: Rwa2play: And I direct you to his monologue at the end of "JLU" when he's fighting Darkseid.

Oh hell yeah! I had a geekgasm watching him pound Darkseid around town. As he said, it was a rare occasion, so when does he get to go pump iron to have the perfect physique?



You're talking about a guy that can fly and use his eyes like blowtorches with his thoughts. Speeding up his metabolism so the Krispy Kremes don't get him doesn't seem like that much of a stretch.
 
2013-06-14 06:05:33 PM  

Rwa2play: imgod2u: I just listened to Zack Snyder on NPR: "I have a reverence for that mythology and I really wanted to treat the experience of seeing Superman born [with care]. ... And that ancient technology ... I find fun to think about. ... Within that world, it was fun to see Jor-El putting his son into the basket and [metaphorically] sending him down the river."

Did you hear that Abrams? That's how you do a reboot.

Really?  Coming from a long time Trekkie that initially wanted nothing to do with the reboot, Abrams handled it well.


"well" is relative. It was a decent enough movie; but ultimately forgettable. Was it an improvement over most of the prior ST movies? Sure (save ST2, 6, possibly 9). Was it a *good* movie in the grand landscape of movies? Not really.

I will choke a baby panda if Man of Steel turns out to be bad....
 
2013-06-14 06:07:06 PM  

Daquin: *SPOILERS*

Thematically, I had no problem with Superman killing Zod at the end or the "disaster porn" because of just how much world-building is done through that.  The Kryptonians just about laid waste to Metropolis and Superman has shown that he is not above killing (to the casual observer).  This gives reason for the military and Lexcorp to seek to find methods to take Superman down in future movies because, as it is even said, Supes led the Kyrptonians there.  This also gives Superman cause to not wish to kill ever again.  He has now felt what it is like, it is not existential anymore and it is in the back of his head for all future battles and something that Lex can take full advantage of.  I thought it was a good move when you consider continuity that they want to be set up.

Also, am I the only one who thinks Lex is going to make his big battlesuit out of the Kryptonian armor?  It seemed way too similar in look.


Someone who gets it... Thanks.
 
2013-06-14 06:20:59 PM  
This is the only thing Man of Steel really lacked.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJENrNU7wC8
 
2013-06-14 06:25:44 PM  
When Zod said, "You have no idea how long we've been looking for you, Kal-El.", am I the only one who thought, "About 33 years."?
 
2013-06-14 06:34:14 PM  
And I just got back from it. It's pretty good, not quite as good as Batman Begins, but pretty good. Clark doesn't have any personality. This is a movie about Kal-El, and how he decides to be a human. But I usually liked it when Clark Kent had to figure out how to be Kal-El, and what sacrifices each "persona" had to make. Kill Bill was completely wrong/backwards; Superman/Kal-El is the mask, a fake person used by Clark Kent to fight for justice, etc. Batman was the weird backwards one. Bruce Wayne is fake, a mask worn by Batman to help achieve his objectives (hell, they literally tell you as much at the end of Batman Begins). But in this movie, they go 100% religious allegory, about Jesus learning who he is, and what he has to do to save humanity. It never really goes into what kind of human Clark is. He's an alien grappling w/ his humanity, not a human grappling w/ his alien nature. It's definitely a lot harder trying it this way, but it falls flat. The last scene kind of sums up what went wrong w/ a lot of his characterization. Same goes for the actor. Great job as Superman/Kal-El, but his Clark Kent is non-existent.

Zod is pretty damn good. They did a much, much better job giving him a reason for being a total jerk/villain. It makes a lot of sense, in a perverted, twisted sort of logic, for him to do the terrible things he does. Still, it also means he's not the same egotistical, charming asshole he was in Superman 2. Terrence Stamp was better than everyone else, and it was so obvious, he was genuinely puzzled when people didn't submit to him immediately. This Zod has a real reason to be a jerk, but it also just makes him a run of the mill zealot, which isn't quite as memorable. And nobody kneels before him, so he's totally not really Zod.

The special effects are passable, and the villain chick gets some of the best shots in. A lot of the time, I felt like I was watching Injustice tournament videos. Metropolis must be freaking huge, like, bigger than Manhattan, b/c they seem to destroy every thing multiple times, and there's still tons of buildings to fight through. One annoying thing (not unique to Snyder) is zooming in/out when you don't need to. Either follow alien fighter craft for the whole shot, or keep the camera zoomed out to show scale/speed. Don't zoom in and out mid shot. Look at the final space battle in Return of the Jedi, and how they shoot the dog fighters. You don't move the camera around just to move the camera around. It's like God's cameraman in the sky is a shiatty amateur or local newscast. Set up your shot, and keep it there. Jerking it around, zooming in/out, that shiat's for live CNN feeds of disasters, not movie shots. JJ Abrams is the worst offender, by far.

Definite B+. Even the silly scene w/ the priest at the church. "Hey, here's Superman, sitting in front of a stain-glass window of Jesus. Look how clever we are. See, Superman is kind of like Jesus. You follow? See, he is sent here by his Father to save humanity. How nuanced! How literary!" While I almost laughed during that scene, it didn't derail the movie.
 
2013-06-14 06:36:26 PM  

stoli n coke: HST's Dead Carcass: Rwa2play: And I direct you to his monologue at the end of "JLU" when he's fighting Darkseid.

Oh hell yeah! I had a geekgasm watching him pound Darkseid around town. As he said, it was a rare occasion, so when does he get to go pump iron to have the perfect physique?


You're talking about a guy that can fly and use his eyes like blowtorches with his thoughts. Speeding up his metabolism so the Krispy Kremes don't get him doesn't seem like that much of a stretch.


The only thing that bugged me, how the hell does he shave? How does he even grow a beard??? Come on, man, the last time he grew a mullet, he was literally dead.
 
2013-06-14 06:40:00 PM  

Trocadero: The only thing that bugged me, how the hell does he shave? How does he even grow a beard??? Come on, man, the last time he grew a mullet, he was literally dead.


static.comicvine.com
 
2013-06-14 06:51:17 PM  

RexTalionis: Trocadero: The only thing that bugged me, how the hell does he shave? How does he even grow a beard??? Come on, man, the last time he grew a mullet, he was literally dead.

[static.comicvine.com image 747x556]


So, if Lois tried to run her fingers through his hair, she'd sheer them off because the hair is Superman strong?
 
2013-06-14 06:52:10 PM  
I just left the theater and, well, I thought it sucked. It felt like a bunch of scenes haphazardly thrown together, with characters magically appearing where the threadbare plot needed them to be. There was no character development to speak of, mainly because the characters barely spend any time with each other. Even the supposed saving grace, the action, was a blurry CGI-laden mess. It truly was the Transformers of comic book movies.
 
2013-06-14 06:56:50 PM  
I really enjoyed it. I didn't even take my usual mid-movie weed break. I did think the last half of the movie felt like one endless fight though. And when Superman is busy smooching Lois in the rubble of what used to be Metropolis I kind of was wondering shouldn't he maybe go helping some of the thousands of survivors that are surely stuck in that rubble? Maybe save the smooching for later?

Eh, but I still enjoyed it.
 
2013-06-14 07:00:05 PM  

Trocadero: Even the silly scene w/ the priest at the church. "Hey, here's Superman, sitting in front of a stain-glass window of Jesus. Look how clever we are. See, Superman is kind of like Jesus. You follow? See, he is sent here by his Father to save humanity. How nuanced! How literary!" While I almost laughed during that scene, it didn't derail the movie.


Yeah that scene was just a little over-the-top, I was giggling.
 
2013-06-14 08:34:32 PM  

Confabulat: Trocadero: Even the silly scene w/ the priest at the church. "Hey, here's Superman, sitting in front of a stain-glass window of Jesus. Look how clever we are. See, Superman is kind of like Jesus. You follow? See, he is sent here by his Father to save humanity. How nuanced! How literary!" While I almost laughed during that scene, it didn't derail the movie.

Yeah that scene was just a little over-the-top, I was giggling.


And yet, the advice the priest gives him contains no references to the bible, or anything directly religious. He tells him to listen to his gut.
 
2013-06-14 08:36:29 PM  

Sweet Chin Music: There was no character development to speak of,


Weird, you must have seen a different cut, one that didn't contain Kevin Costner's scenes with Clark, or Jor-el and his scenes with Kal. And it probably didn't have any of the Diane Lane closet scene either.

/seriously, wtf is he on about?
 
2013-06-14 08:37:41 PM  

RexTalionis: [static.comicvine.com image 400x379]

Remember when Superman literally executed Zod and his lieutenants in the comics?


yes. He did it after Zod and cronies killed the ENITIRE POPULATION OF A PLANET.
Even the big blue gay ass boys out has his limits. Not that it matters considering the number of DCU retcons between first Crisis and now.
 
2013-06-14 08:43:51 PM  

Stratohead: yes. He did it after Zod and cronies killed the ENITIRE POPULATION OF A PLANET.


And here he did it before the same guy could do it but when he had already threatened too and Superman didn't have any way to permanently stop him.

Stratohead: Even the big blue gay ass boys out has his limits. Not that it matters considering the number of DCU retcons between first Crisis and now.


LOL, go fark yourself.
 
2013-06-14 08:48:49 PM  

HST's Dead Carcass: RexTalionis: Trocadero: The only thing that bugged me, how the hell does he shave? How does he even grow a beard??? Come on, man, the last time he grew a mullet, he was literally dead.

[static.comicvine.com image 747x556]

So, if Lois tried to run her fingers through his hair, she'd sheer them off because the hair is Superman strong?


No it would be like running your hands through normal hair, except if you try to cut them off with a scissor, the scissors would break on contact.
 
2013-06-14 09:00:19 PM  

Dimensio: The reviewer is correct. In the comics, Superman does not kill.


Didn't superman kill Brainaic in the last animated movie?

Or at least, didn't stop Brainiac from self-destructing?

Maybe Kryptonians can heal from having their neck snapped. Maybe it's equivalent to the "smashing a vase over the head to sleep" in Krypton.
 
2013-06-14 09:11:57 PM  

Hebalo: Sweet Chin Music: There was no character development to speak of,

Weird, you must have seen a different cut, one that didn't contain Kevin Costner's scenes with Clark, or Jor-el and his scenes with Kal. And it probably didn't have any of the Diane Lane closet scene either.

/seriously, wtf is he on about?


All Pa Kent did was tell his son that it might be okay to let a bunch of kids die, then he died a very stupid, easily avoidable way to reinforce that horrible lesson. He's no Uncle Ben, that's for damn sure. The only thing Clark took away from the closet scene was that he should share that very helpful advise with the man who, only minutes earlier, was threatening his mother. What a hero.
 
2013-06-14 09:24:12 PM  

Boojum2k: This is the only thing Man of Steel really lacked.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJENrNU7wC8


If that is the only element missing from Man of Steel, then you are saying that it includes this?

/Would see a Superman movie with that at least three times.
 
2013-06-14 09:25:34 PM  
I saw it this afternoon, and here's my take, spoilers and all (not that there aren't plenty already in this thread).

I liked it, it's at least better  than all but the best of the recent hero movies to me, with TDK, Spiderman 2, Iron Man, and Captain america being the only ones better than it IMHO.  The final fight against Zod was probably the best aerial super-battle I've watched, and one of the best uses of 3D I've seen movies.  And with the 2 fathers piece, I loved the struggle between Costner and Crowe's messages, the hiding your power vs. being the hero figure.  Almost every scene with Costner tugged at the heart strings hard.

Most of the rage that I'm seeing coming from fanboys and critics I'll offer my take on:

1. Superman didn't try hard enough to protect everyone.
In the fights with Zod's forces, it was clear the Superman was matched in 1-on-1 combat if not outclassed.  He was fighting not knowing the full extent of his own powers against trained warriors who knew theirs and how to utilize it.  I bought off on the fact that he wasn't as good as they were and was doing it purely on strength of will, and was not saving people because he couldn't..

2. It turned into a disaster-porn move.
See number 1.  What do you expect when you have the strongest fictional character to ever exist fighting against a force of individuals who are his physical equals?  Last movie everyone complained he didn't do enough super stuff.  Now they did too much?  There's no pleasing you people.

3. He killed Zod/My 2 dads/moral code
I'll defer to Dogma on this one, where the Metatron is talking about when he told Jesus what he must do.  He's being asked by his father figures to do 2 different things, and choose how he will live and protect.  I honestly didn't think there seemed to be any other way to stop Zod than to kill him.  At the same token, the scream afterward, I couldn't decide if it was only from having to kill, or the realization that he had just wiped out his entire race with the exception of himself.  I thought it was perfectly conflicted and well done

My only complaint was that any romantic tension between Lois and Clark was absent, thus the kiss seemed to come out of nowhere.

I liked it enough to see it again.  In fact, I have to, since I saw it without the wife while she was at work, and she wanted to see it too.  Now I just have to keep quiet about seeing it until I can drag her to the theater.
 
2013-06-14 09:35:27 PM  

Trocadero: Definite B+


Your review was spot on.  I enjoyed the heck out of it.  It had some noticeable warts, but definitely was the best Superman theatrical release since Superman (Superman 2  Donnor cut was better though).  Still pales when compared to DC Animated stuff, but they all do.  (All-star Superman for the win, Superman vs. the Elite for honorable mention).
 
2013-06-14 09:51:26 PM  
I stopped taking this whiny piece of shiat "review" seriously the moment he bemoaned the lack of outer-underwear.

Man of Steel was AWESOME. Every farking thing about it.

But, hey, the relentless shiatstorm of basement dwelling bottom feeders using the Internet to grandstand their mighty Superman knowledge and crap all over a very, VERY good movie has been a popular pastime today.
 
2013-06-14 10:37:41 PM  

Lernaeus: I stopped taking this whiny piece of shiat "review" seriously the moment he bemoaned the lack of outer-underwear.

Man of Steel was AWESOME. Every farking thing about it.

But, hey, the relentless shiatstorm of basement dwelling bottom feeders using the Internet to grandstand their mighty Superman knowledge and crap all over a very, VERY good movie has been a popular pastime today.


I just got back from the show as well and I have to agree it was an awesome movie. Without giving away more than was given away from the incessantly irritating Waid let me say it left a lot of room for sequels, in spite of the fact it turned a couple of things around. And yep, it was darker and more violent than I anticipated even reading the reviews.  I went in to the movie half expecting him to show the trademark constant compassion.
My take is he's developing and learning to care for the puny humans and he has a way to go and he's very rough around the edges, i.e. he hasn't fully learned to harness his powers properly. The groundwork has been laid down in this release.

There were a few humorous moments delivered mostly by dialog but I just don't get the hatred by so many especially Waid. He just seems so bitter and so angry. Wake up chump, it's 2013 and technology allows for more exciting action and crap exploding.

The only minor criticism is it jumped around between current day SM and younger SM a bit more than I cared for but it wasn't very difficult to follow.

Well done.
 
2013-06-14 10:45:15 PM  
I saw it today and totally geeked out. The best part, the thing that Singer's film needed, was (SPOILER ALERT) the fact that Lois figured out who Clark was early on. She's a reporter, she figures it out, and it makes her a great character. THat and when she teams up with Jor-El. Lois was pure awesome, and I loved it.
 
2013-06-14 11:33:39 PM  
Just got back from seeing. Honestly, it was meh at best. It had so many flaws, that I don't even know where to begin. And holy shiat was it poorly edited. It was all over the place. I saw it in IMAX 3D in a theatre where the crowd on opening night is filled with giddy fanboys. The climactic scene drew the applause of about 4 people. It was painful.
 
Displayed 50 of 373 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report