If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Thrillbent)   A 'Man Of Steel' review from Mark Waid, a guy who knows a little bit about Superman   (thrillbent.com) divider line 373
    More: Interesting, Mark Waid, Man of Steel, Superman, Zod, Brandon Routh, Jor-El, Infinite Crisis, secret identity  
•       •       •

9937 clicks; posted to Geek » on 14 Jun 2013 at 8:56 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



373 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-06-14 02:21:08 PM

yves0010: Hebalo: Graboidz: Not trolling in any way, I was just confused as to why Kryptonians would just kind of stand around waiting for their planet to explode when there are obviously fleets of spaceships circling overhead, and they have the ability to travel to other worlds and terraform them in needed?

None of the ships at Krypton, apart from the "prison ship" were shown to be able to leave the atmosphere (that I recall,) and the outpost ships were abandoned long ago, as (likely) was the entire program.

I think the whole point was that Jor-El was trying to convince them to leave, but no one supported/believed him.

I thought the same thing. Seeing that in every Superman origin I have seen. It is Jor-El who is arguing to leave Krypton because its about to explode and everyone else does not believe him. Heck, Superman The Animated Adventure had this origin.


That's fine, and I don't want to get hung up on what is essentially a minor point that we could probably debate all afternoon. And I really hope Man of Steel brings in some big bank so that a Justice League movie will get the go-ahead. I just felt the whole film, from storyline to presentation, missed the mark.
 
2013-06-14 02:23:01 PM
I got back from seeing it 20 minutes ago. Excellent movie all around.
 
2013-06-14 02:27:16 PM
Movie made 21 million on late opening Thursday, let's see how it goes during the weekend.  Plus CinemaScore polled audiences who gave it a B+. So yeah, RT is just dumb.

http://www.deadline.com/2013/06/man-of-steel-beginning-worldwide-rel ea se-record-opening-day-in-the-philippines/
 
2013-06-14 02:31:04 PM

Dimensio: The reviewer is correct. In the comics, Superman does not kill.


Keep in mind that he did so only after Zod had committed a full genocide of Earth and there was no possible way for him to stop him from moving on to other dimensions/worlds and wiping out untold lives. All others in that dimension were dead and there was no way to contain them much less imprison them.

It also caused a psychological collapse for Superman and an alternate personality formed. IIRC, it was referenced in the years that followed as the toughest decision he ever made and one he regretted.
 
2013-06-14 02:34:37 PM

KiltedBastich: Dimensio: The reviewer is correct. In the comics, Superman does not kill.

RexTalionis: [static.comicvine.com image 400x379]

Remember when Superman literally executed Zod and his lieutenants in the comics?

Do keep in mind that this was an alternate-earth storyline where Zod and his cronies had killed off literally the  entire human race. IIRC, there were a few hundred survivors left at the start of the story, and they were all dead except Supergirl (who was badly hurt) by the end of the story. Superman was literally the last man standing, the only representative of law and order left (as he mentions). And he had no phantom zone tech in that universe. This was literally the only thing he could do, it was as thoroughly justified an execution as it's possible to imagine, and it was still the hardest thing he'd ever done. It was also done with deliberation, after considering the consequences and ramifications. It was not a hot blood instinctive response in the middle of a fight.

The fact that Superman can bend enough to face a horrible but necessary reality, but that only such a horrible but necessary reality is enough to make him bend, makes the character and his moral code stronger, not weaker. He's not holding to his code in unthinking ideological absolutist fashion. He's holding to it having considered the ramifications and limits of his code. He knows what the edge case is where he is willing to step beyond it. Considering that the edge case is literally the genocide of billions by an overwhelmingly powerful foe with no other recourse at all, I think it is consistent, and I think that Waid's criticism holds true.


Literally.

(just in case anyone thought you were thinking figuratively)
 
2013-06-14 02:34:43 PM

PsyLord: 58%?  Wow, that's not good.


This is the End is at 89% looks like I made the right choice on which one to go see this weekend
 
2013-06-14 02:35:55 PM

pat34us: This is the End is at 89% looks like I made the right choice on which one to go see this weekend


Both are good, This is the End is pretty freaking hilarious

It peters out a little near the end, but wraps up nicely
 
2013-06-14 02:35:58 PM
Best Superman Story Ever:


3.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-06-14 02:40:31 PM
Granted, Amy Adams doesn't look much like Margo Kidder, so I had some trouble buying her as Lois. On the other hand, she was a better reporter and detective, tracking down Clark at the Kent farm early in the movie.
 
2013-06-14 02:49:08 PM
Couple of thing:
1. Bay didn't do it, so +100,000,000 for that.
2. In our internet based society, no one will be happy with anything.
    2.a.  Wait until Episode VII comes out.  People will want to crucify JJ Abrams for not doing Start Wars justice.  The film may be really good, but because it didn't have enough lightsabers or because someone felt like they cast the wrong person for character X, people will hate it.
3. I personally think it was the Superman movie we should have gotten.  It had enough back story, it had enough humility, it worked.
4. Why is everyone complaining about Superman not saving everyone?  It is kind of hard to save people when you are getting thrown around a town/city.
   4.a. Superman - Hey Zod, come chase me out to the middle of nowhere.
          Zod - You get back here. (Zod starts towards Superman then proceeds to the base of a large skyscraper)
          (Cut to Superman in the middle of a field looking back at Metropolis and seeing another skyscraper fall down and hearing people scream for help.)
          (Superman looks at the camera) Isn't this what you people wanted?

Dark Knight (movie) = Man of Steel (movie)

Spoiler:
"I'm American as they come.  I grew up in Kansas."

/After the credits: Would have loved to see Superman fly to Gotham City, start up the bat signal and when Batman shows up ask him if he wants to start a crime fighting team.  A league, if you will.  (Fade to black)
 
2013-06-14 02:51:38 PM
And, here's my biggest biatch about Superman:

The man always has to be careful, oh so careful as to not crush everything he freaking breathes on. If he is NEVER able to flex or stress test his muscles, where is he getting muscle tone? Shouldn't he be Kate Moss skinny or WoW player flabby? He can never truly exercise or workout, so why all the muscle tone?
 
2013-06-14 02:53:16 PM

HST's Dead Carcass: And, here's my biggest biatch about Superman:

The man always has to be careful, oh so careful as to not crush everything he freaking breathes on. If he is NEVER able to flex or stress test his muscles, where is he getting muscle tone? Shouldn't he be Kate Moss skinny or WoW player flabby? He can never truly exercise or workout, so why all the muscle tone?


Bad post is bad.

1.- He's not human, so he won't function like one.
2.- His muscles are super dense. They won't go flabby.
3.- The sun/atmosphere nourishes
4.- Just because he's strong doesn't mean he doesn't exert. What kind of logic is this?
 
2013-06-14 02:57:31 PM

sid244: /After the credits: Would have loved to see Superman fly to Gotham City, start up the bat signal and when Batman shows up ask him if he wants to start a crime fighting team. A league, if you will. (Fade to black)


Supposedly, a satellite visible early in the film has the WayneCorp logo on it.
 
2013-06-14 02:58:00 PM
I did develop a crush on the bad Kryptonian girl who worked for Zod. Unlike most of the others, she moved like a trained fighter.
 
2013-06-14 03:01:53 PM

Alphax: I did develop a crush on the bad Kryptonian girl who worked for Zod. Unlike most of the others, she moved like a trained fighter.


Hell yes. She was goth hot, and she was kicking the shiat out of Superman for a bit, which I thought was just awesome.
 
2013-06-14 03:02:31 PM

RexTalionis: sid244: /After the credits: Would have loved to see Superman fly to Gotham City, start up the bat signal and when Batman shows up ask him if he wants to start a crime fighting team. A league, if you will. (Fade to black)

Supposedly, a satellite visible early in the film has the WayneCorp logo on it.


Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.
 
2013-06-14 03:03:06 PM

Hebalo: There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.


Whoa, wtf? I totally missed that.

Guess I better watch it again!
 
2013-06-14 03:04:08 PM
I just listened to Zack Snyder on NPR: "I have a reverence for that mythology and I really wanted to treat the experience of seeing Superman born [with care]. ... And that ancient technology ... I find fun to think about. ... Within that world, it was fun to see Jor-El putting his son into the basket and [metaphorically] sending him down the river."

Did you hear that Abrams? That's how you do a reboot.
 
2013-06-14 03:04:12 PM

RexTalionis: sid244: /After the credits: Would have loved to see Superman fly to Gotham City, start up the bat signal and when Batman shows up ask him if he wants to start a crime fighting team. A league, if you will. (Fade to black)

Supposedly, a satellite visible early in the film has the WayneCorp logo on it.


I couldn't tell if it was or not and I've seen the thing twice, there are TONS of Lexcorp stuff though and it does set the stage for Lex's rise to try and point out to humanity that we don't need a savior.
 
2013-06-14 03:05:31 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: RexTalionis: sid244: /After the credits: Would have loved to see Superman fly to Gotham City, start up the bat signal and when Batman shows up ask him if he wants to start a crime fighting team. A league, if you will. (Fade to black)

Supposedly, a satellite visible early in the film has the WayneCorp logo on it.

I couldn't tell if it was or not and I've seen the thing twice, there are TONS of Lexcorp stuff though and it does set the stage for Lex's rise to try and point out to humanity that we don't need a savior.


Especially if that savior is indirectly causing untold millions in property damage and casualties in the tens to hundreds of thousands.

I'm looking forward to it.
 
2013-06-14 03:05:45 PM

Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.


God you guys got better eyes than I do
 
2013-06-14 03:07:51 PM

NewbornRook: I think you discredited your own argument. Isn't the whole premise of this movie that Superman is learning, well, how to be Superman? How can he be concerned about not destroying everything but then make the decision to just say "Fark it if I'm gonna win I have to go all out"? Not to mention that yes he's known about these powers, but this is the first enemy he's had to fight with them, how is he any more capable of control than Zod? Especially since he kept them a secret for most of his life and has no clue what his true capabilities are? And let's say Supes does unleash and beat Zod to a pulp in your version of the movie, how the hell is he and/or humanity supposed to contain or control him? It seems a bit more ideal that Supes kills him rather than trying to write in somewhere that Jor El just happened to know that Kal would have to face off against other Kryptonians and surprise! I have this cool alien tech that will help you control the situation, kinda makes for an anticlimactic situation-see the other superman movies. I understand your sticking to your guns about Superman not killing and kudos. As a life long Superman fan I applaud you want him to be the hero he's known to be. But I think the kill does set up the foundation for him to become that hero in a movie version, as someone mentioned upthread. Comics are continuous so it's understandable that you can keep villains alive to come back later and do stuff. But movies are appealing to a wider audience and don't run in the lines comics do, which is why most movie series aren't exceeding long. However I do realize Hollywood is changing that trend.


The same way that a martial artist learns to pull punches in competition so as not to hurt his opponents, but can still strike with deadly force when needed.

According to this narrative, Superman has had his full powers since childhood. He's spent literally decades learning not to use his full strength, because to him the world might as well be made of cardboard and tissue paper. He can crumble walls and break bones just by stumbling and reflexively throwing out his hands to catch himself. He has to control that constantly. You live like that long enough, it's automatic and reactive, nearly instinctive. He would have to consciously choose to use his full strength without that restraint - something that Zod probably hasn't really even started learning to do in the first place.
 
2013-06-14 03:16:59 PM
Just got back from seeing this movie, I thought it was pretty good
 
2013-06-14 03:21:55 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do


Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.
 
2013-06-14 03:23:05 PM

imashark: Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.


The person, no but trust me there is enough ground work laid its pretty damn obvious he'll be in the next
 
2013-06-14 03:23:59 PM

imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.


Not this one. But there's Lexcorp signs around, so he'll likely be in the next one, plotting against this dangerous alien menace.
 
2013-06-14 03:24:25 PM

imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.


Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.
 
2013-06-14 03:29:01 PM

Dimensio: Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.


I want them to pick someone in their early thirties, younger fresher
 
2013-06-14 03:29:56 PM

Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.



No, he played Gene Hackman playing Lex Luthor.
 
2013-06-14 03:31:44 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Dimensio: Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

I want them to pick someone in their early thirties, younger fresher


Tom Hardy? He's done a bald villain before...
 
2013-06-14 03:31:44 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Dimensio: Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

I want them to pick someone in their early thirties, younger fresher


Michael C. Hall should be available.
 
2013-06-14 03:31:49 PM

Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.


I don't think Spacey could pull it off. He's too... jaunty. Luthor needs to be cold, calculating, with a slimy joy that oozes into ever scene. He revels in the power he's amassed as head of LexCorp, and disregards any rules that bar him from amassing more.

Superman is Lex's natural enemy because Superman is the one man with more power than him that you can't bribe, blackmail, or murder. Add Lex's xenophobia, and you have a perfect storm.

I just don't see Spacy pulling it off.

/Yes I realize I might be fan-fictioning, but my interpretation of the core of modern Luthor is correct.
 
2013-06-14 03:31:49 PM

IdBeCrazyIf: Dimensio: Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

I want them to pick someone in their early thirties, younger fresher


Michael Rosenbaum is 40, but he looks younger.
 
2013-06-14 03:33:32 PM

Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.


images2.wikia.nocookie.net

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.
 
2013-06-14 03:34:36 PM

RexTalionis: Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

[images2.wikia.nocookie.net image 299x400]

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.


He definitely has the voice for it.

/heh
 
2013-06-14 03:38:18 PM

imashark: RexTalionis: Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

[images2.wikia.nocookie.net image 299x400]

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.

He definitely has the voice for it.

/heh


He was the voice of Paralax in the Green Lantern movie.
 
2013-06-14 03:43:35 PM

imashark: He definitely has the voice for it.

/heh


iseewhatyoudidthere.jpg
 
2013-06-14 03:50:23 PM
Jon Hamm should be Lex Luthor. Between having worked with Snyder in Sucker Punch plus his funny or die sketch:  http://t.co/Dg2bESN3Fn  plus his Don Draper character, he has everything to make a great Lex, heck, even the alliteration.
 
2013-06-14 03:51:55 PM
LEX LUTHOR
 
2013-06-14 03:53:34 PM

Alphax: Granted, Amy Adams doesn't look much like Margo Kidder, so I had some trouble buying her as Lois. On the other hand, she was a better reporter and detective, tracking down Clark at the Kent farm early in the movie.


When I see it, I think I'll be more distracted that Zod isn't played by Terance Stamp than with a non Margo Kidder looking Amy Adams.
 
2013-06-14 03:53:43 PM
LEX LUTHOR


i.imgur.com
 
2013-06-14 03:56:28 PM
imashark:

He definitely has the voice for it.

/heh


I sort of like the idea of an older Lex outwitting the younger, stronger Clark.  However, in the past decade or so Lex was made out to be this subtle musclehead, pumped up by Kryptonite-enhanced steroids.  In the original comics Lex was just this bald guy who outwitted Superman.  Clancy could pull that off, and the ability to merge his voice with the actor from the animated series would be amazing.  If they could have cast Mark Hamill as the Joker in Dark Night, only a 25-year younger Hamill? Get out of town...
 
2013-06-14 04:00:53 PM

RexTalionis: Dimensio: imashark: IdBeCrazyIf: Hebalo: Yes, yes it does. There's also a Lexcorp truck visible.

God you guys got better eyes than I do

Is Lex in this movie? I need to know. Because someone needs to do Lex Luthor some freaking justice.

One of the greatest villains of all time (even more malevolent, I'd argue, than the Joker) who's best portrayal on film has been a used car salesman who is trying to get into real estate.

Lex Luthor is not in Man of Steel.

Kevin Spacey could potentially serve as a good Lex Luthor. Unfortunately, his casting in Superman Returns will likely eliminate him as an option in any Man of Steel sequel, even though he did not play Lex Luthor in Superman Returns.

[images2.wikia.nocookie.net image 299x400]

Take Clancy Brown, shave his head and beard. Voila.


Then you have the Kurgin, no Lex Luthor.
2.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-06-14 04:01:38 PM

Nana's Vibrator: Alphax: Granted, Amy Adams doesn't look much like Margo Kidder, so I had some trouble buying her as Lois. On the other hand, she was a better reporter and detective, tracking down Clark at the Kent farm early in the movie.

When I see it, I think I'll be more distracted that Zod isn't played by Terance Stamp than with a non Margo Kidder looking Amy Adams.


Eh, this Zod is a more complex, better written character. He's a patriot, the defender of the people of Krypton. But he's willing to exterminate humanity in order to bring back his people.
 
2013-06-14 04:04:59 PM
I like Mark Waid but he is wrong. Superman has killed before and i am sure he will again but he does not take it lightly.

The movie was damn good. Go see it
 
2013-06-14 04:07:42 PM

Alphax: Nana's Vibrator: Alphax: Granted, Amy Adams doesn't look much like Margo Kidder, so I had some trouble buying her as Lois. On the other hand, she was a better reporter and detective, tracking down Clark at the Kent farm early in the movie.

When I see it, I think I'll be more distracted that Zod isn't played by Terance Stamp than with a non Margo Kidder looking Amy Adams.

Eh, this Zod is a more complex, better written character. He's a patriot, the defender of the people of Krypton. But he's willing to exterminate humanity in order to bring back his people.


And more importantly, this Zod is played completely differently, no fear of trampling the legacy.
 
2013-06-14 04:09:26 PM
I heard Henry is a great Superman and Shannon is a damn good Zod...that's it.
 
2013-06-14 04:15:11 PM
****SPOILERS FROM REVIEW*****

Haven't seen it yet, but from what Waid says, the third act pretty much exactly what happens in Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

Having sat through that debacle already, I don't need to hurry to see it again in Superman form. I've never understood why comic book films almost always need to end with the good guy outright KILLING the bad guy. What really galls me about this is that superhero comics for decades understood that having the hero kill or otherwise irreparably defeat the bad guys resulted in pretty anticlimactic situations. All the hero has to do is get the bigger gun, or be the sneakier party, or have the shortest fuse, and then the villain's down for good.

Because of the comic code restrictions and industry policing, comic books spent decades being about situations where the heroes couldn't kill and HAD to cause (and contain!) collateral damage to defeat their foes who  were actually trying to kill them. That gave the stories much more tension and a greater sense of heroism -- after all, the heart of mythology is about overcoming death and all-consuming evil to achieve wisdom and mastery over the world around us.

I can't accept any argument that Superman had to kill once to have remorse or anything of the sort. That's not the character; that's not what he stands for or who he is. The point of Superman has always been that he's better than the rest of us, a model figure to look up to. It makes sense that Superman would toss Zod into the Phantom Zone like in Superman 2. It doesn't make any sense at all to have a giant battle with him at the exclusion of others and then to end it with a fatal neck snap.

That's just as dumb as Optimus Prime shooting someone begging for mercy in the head. It's not just a betrayal of the character; it's a dark reflection of how 21st century culture understands heroes to be the sort who will kill a bad guy rather than look for any more peaceful, humanizing alternative.
 
2013-06-14 04:15:29 PM
I vote Benedict Cumberbatch as the next Lex Luthor, but then again I'd like to see him play every villain in all movies from here on out.
 
2013-06-14 04:16:55 PM

secularsage: ****SPOILERS FROM REVIEW*****


mitEj: I like Mark Waid but he is wrong. Superman has killed before and i am sure he will again but he does not take it lightly.

The movie was damn good. Go see it

 
Displayed 50 of 373 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report