If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(The Windsor Star)   Canadian Food Inspection Agency has now approved two non-native Chinese wasps to attack the non-native Chinese Emerald ash borer. No word on whether Chinese Needle Snakes, then snake-eating gorillas will be next   (windsorstar.com) divider line 52
    More: Obvious, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Chinese, emerald, ash borers, Chinese wasps, Blue Ash, Biological life cycle, Call of Duty 2  
•       •       •

1559 clicks; posted to Main » on 07 Jun 2013 at 9:54 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



52 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-06-07 08:50:43 AM
I read that as "Chinese Emerald Ash boner"
 
2013-06-07 08:55:51 AM
You missed a step; the mongoose.
 
ZAZ [TotalFark]
2013-06-07 08:56:31 AM
Not snakes, smaller wasps. When parasitoids go wild the only cure is hyperparasitoids.
 
2013-06-07 09:28:50 AM
Perhaps we'll die...
 
2013-06-07 09:29:36 AM
With the number of species that man transports around the planet, it is hard to believe the wasps haven't made it already.
 
2013-06-07 09:32:17 AM
Snake eating gorilla sounds like a Jersey Euphemism
 
2013-06-07 09:48:42 AM
I assume, then, the ash borers are Catholic?
 
2013-06-07 09:52:12 AM
This will end well. I predict no further consequences whatsoever.
 
2013-06-07 09:56:21 AM
Next month on Syfy:

Giant Mutant Chinese Borer Wasp Zombie Invasion Apocalypse!
 
2013-06-07 09:59:09 AM
Well at least they have strong winters to kill the gorillas.
 
2013-06-07 10:01:27 AM
As part of their reproductive cycle, the tiny wasps seek out Emerald ash borer grubs and lay eggs in them.

The eggs then hatch into wasp larvae that feast on the bodies of their hosts - killing them from the inside out.


What kind of God would come up would allow this? And don't get me started me on an Ace being One and Eleven.
 
2013-06-07 10:02:32 AM
As part of their reproductive cycle, the tiny wasps seek out Emerald ash borer grubs and lay eggs in them.

The eggs then hatch into wasp larvae that feast on the bodies of their hosts - killing them from the inside out.


What kind of God would come up would allow this? And don't get me started me on an Ace being One and Eleven.

/Man, the brain bubbles are getting worse.
 
2013-06-07 10:03:46 AM
more chinese taking our jorbs?

/great, just great
 
2013-06-07 10:04:22 AM
I still say that if all wasps disappeared completely overnight, the world would be a better place. The only remotely constructive thing they do is attack things. And, really, is that constructive? I swear there are more of them every year. It makes me mad. They're like the voluntarily employed, uneducated, quick-to-anger street thugs of the insect world.
 
2013-06-07 10:04:51 AM
But hope might be coming on insect wings. The two Asian wasp species now approved by the CFIA are Tetras-tichus planipennisi of the eulophid family and Spathius agrili of the braconid family.

I can already hear their mating song in my head.
 
2013-06-07 10:04:51 AM

Harry Freakstorm: As part of their reproductive cycle, the tiny wasps seek out Emerald ash borer grubs and lay eggs in them.

The eggs then hatch into wasp larvae that feast on the bodies of their hosts - killing them from the inside out.

What kind of God would come up would allow this? And don't get me started me on an Ace being One and Eleven.


fc07.deviantart.net
Behold: The Hive Queen
 
2013-06-07 10:05:04 AM
No such thing as a Chinese WASP.
 
2013-06-07 10:05:26 AM
Ha! Now I can call up my friend at CFIA and get some revenge now that both our agencies have made fark news.
 
2013-06-07 10:06:27 AM

gopher321: This will end well. I predict no further consequences whatsoever.


Exactly.  They did this with possums in NY.
http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/brooklyn/rat_bastards_f5onjzgcqxm 0f u3RFz3ySL
 
2013-06-07 10:07:47 AM
Pardon me, "opossums" I mean to say.
 
2013-06-07 10:09:10 AM

No Time To Explain: more chinese taking our jorbs?

/great, just great


Well, do you have relevant experience pertaining to the implantation of your genetic material in invertebrates?

It is a highly specialized field after all.
 
2013-06-07 10:09:33 AM

mrshowrules: No such thing as a Chinese WASP.



Said Archibald Henry Chang on his way into the golf-wear section of Sears.
1.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-06-07 10:09:38 AM
Well, at least insects respect national borders, so if something goes wrong it'll only be confined to Canada.
 
2013-06-07 10:10:27 AM

Harry Freakstorm: As part of their reproductive cycle, the tiny wasps seek out Emerald ash borer grubs and lay eggs in them.

The eggs then hatch into wasp larvae that feast on the bodies of their hosts - killing them from the inside out.

What kind of God would come up would allow this? And don't get me started me on an Ace being One and Eleven.


The really farked up thing is that there is a parasitic wasp out there that lays its eggs specifically in another parasitic wasp's larva that's parasitizing another grub.
 
2013-06-07 10:11:26 AM

Martian_Astronomer: Well, at least insects respect national borders, so if something goes wrong it'll only be confined to Canada.


We just caught our first Asian carp in the Grand River in Ontario. Expect a thank-you fruit basket soonishly, 'merikuh.
 
2013-06-07 10:15:54 AM
The thing that makes this less dangerous then some of our past attempts at biological control is that the wasps are parasites and have evolved to parasitize only one species. When that species' numbers go down so do the wasps'. It's true that there are a brazillion species of parasitic wasps and one could ask how there came to be so many if they never jumped ship to parasitize a new species. That's a legitimate criticism of this kind of biological control but in practice it has been very effective and not led to unintended population outbreaks of the parasite.
 
2013-06-07 10:16:06 AM
Chinese finger-trap. I'm sure the wasps will end up destroying our wheat fields or oil sands, or maybe our precious maple syrup reserve.
 
2013-06-07 10:16:18 AM
Forest Glade?
Gorillas live in the houses.

/Just sayin'
 
2013-06-07 10:17:11 AM
What could possibly go wrong?
db2.stb.s-msn.com
 
2013-06-07 10:18:38 AM

pantojar: Pardon me, "opossums" I mean to say.


static.wetpaint.me
 
2013-06-07 10:21:48 AM

verbal_jizm: facts


Yeah but what about releasing sterile genetically engineered wasps instead of the real thing? My random speculation tells me that would be possible and definitely maybe possibly prevent a breeding population.

/unless there's a Jurassic Park situation
//and I assume they thought of this
///and it isn't as easy as I think it is
 
2013-06-07 10:22:20 AM
Emerald Ass Borers? I thought that the article was about an invasion of gay Irishmen.

Got nothing.
 
2013-06-07 10:22:21 AM
The best part is, when winter rolls around, the gorillas simply freeze to death.
 
2013-06-07 10:26:10 AM
There are Chinese yuppies? Chuppies?
 
2013-06-07 10:28:59 AM
www.metal-archives.com

Chinese Ash Borer? I thought they were from California?
 
2013-06-07 10:29:32 AM
Yes! And breeding African bees with European bees will TOTALLY lead to non-aggressive bees that produce more honey... What could go wrong with introducing non-native species?
 
2013-06-07 10:30:27 AM
Lost every ash I had (about 15 ash trees) to the ash borer at least two years ago...a healthy adult ash tree is rare indeed in mid-Michigan these days. Watched the two biggest ash trees I've ever seen (had to be 100+ years old) die off on the property next to mine too.  It's a real shame.
 
2013-06-07 10:36:31 AM
BTW, my city, Ottawa, is ground-zero on the battle against the ash borer.
 
2013-06-07 10:38:12 AM

Jacob_Roberson: Yeah but what about releasing sterile genetically engineered wasps instead of the real thing?


The wasps kill the borers by depositing eggs in the target, which then hatch and consume the target from inside.

I'll leave it as an exercise to the reader to determine whether a sterile breed of the wasps would be effective.
 
2013-06-07 10:39:55 AM

Harry Freakstorm: As part of their reproductive cycle, the tiny wasps seek out Emerald ash borer grubs and lay eggs in them.

The eggs then hatch into wasp larvae that feast on the bodies of their hosts - killing them from the inside out.

What kind of God would come up would allow this? And don't get me started me on an Ace being One and Eleven.


Wasps parasitize tomato worms in the US just like this.   It's why you always leave 1 tomato worm in the garden, to host the next generation of wasps.   After a season or 2, you have almost no worms, and you don't need to use any poison on them.
 
2013-06-07 10:49:11 AM

verbal_jizm: The thing that makes this less dangerous then some of our past attempts at biological control is that the wasps are parasites and have evolved to parasitize only one species. When that species' numbers go down so do the wasps'. It's true that there are a brazillion species of parasitic wasps and one could ask how there came to be so many if they never jumped ship to parasitize a new species. That's a legitimate criticism of this kind of biological control but in practice it has been very effective and not led to unintended population outbreaks of the parasite.


The biggest danger is that the ash borer jumps tree species.  Then the Chinese wasp can follow it.  You have a big enough population of wasps, it could also jump species.  Maybe it is just better to preserve the emerald ash if a protected area.  Let the the borer kill off all the trees in nature and reintroduce the emerald ash and some point in the future.  By trying to preserve the tree they are just making it easier/more likely that the borer will jumb tree species.
 
2013-06-07 10:53:31 AM

skinink: There are Chinese yuppies? Chuppies?


You know what they call Chinese couples with no kids?
 
2013-06-07 11:07:32 AM
Furious about this whole thing. I have acres of dead and dying trees that can't even be sold as firewood outside of this county.
Some cheap Communist Chinese Bastard didn't bother to heat or otherwise fumigate his pallets and this is what I get for free.
"Most Favored Trade Partner Status" MYASS or as we say in CT -  MIANUS!

Yeah, I don't see anyone bothering to sterilize the wasps.  It would cost too much.  Moar better, just let the peasants cope.

I'll just stop here as I can go on for the rest of the day about this </rant>
 
2013-06-07 11:13:16 AM
I had no idea that the Canadian Food Inspection Agency had the authority to approve new species of parasites. I thought it was the Department of Finance or the PMO that did this.

Well, that's another funny thing I know about the Canadian Government.

Mark Twain once spent a couple of weeks in Montreal in order to get Canadian (and thus British) copyright for some of his work. At the time, copyright was handled by the Department of Agriculture because there was no other department better suited to the job.

That's another funny thing I know about the Canadian Government.

Mark Twain observed that you couldn't throw a rock in Montreal without breaking a church window. I remember that every time I pass through Montreal, because from the highway you can see a heck of a lot of church towers until you get to the tunnel.

It was important to get both American and British copyright in those days because both countries plagiarized each other mercilessly. All of the great Nineteenth Century writers were victims of this, and sometimes the buggers wrote new books and fobbed their own work off as the work of famous authors, which is definitely worse than stealing, as Voltaire could prove from the many nasty works published under his name in Holland or England. He was a radical thinker and an avowed atheist, but many of his imposters were a thousand times worse and wrote stuff that could easily have gotten him hung in any country of Europe.

Mark Twain also had trouble with imposters writing or lecturing under his good name. One of these really annoyed him because he was making more money than Twain was on the lecture circuit in the Western states.
 
2013-06-07 11:21:02 AM
1.  All the Ash trees in Ohio are already dead, so too little, too late.

2.  I have a dollar that says the chinese wasps will take out the last of the honeybees.
 
2013-06-07 11:22:07 AM

oldfarthenry: Martian_Astronomer: Well, at least insects respect national borders, so if something goes wrong it'll only be confined to Canada.

We just caught our first Asian carp in the Grand River in Ontario. Expect a thank-you fruit basket soonishly, 'merikuh.


Asian America.  FYI.
 
2013-06-07 12:12:41 PM

oldfarthenry: Martian_Astronomer: Well, at least insects respect national borders, so if something goes wrong it'll only be confined to Canada.

We just caught our first Asian carp in the Grand River in Ontario. Expect a thank-you fruit basket soonishly, 'merikuh.


I've seen them several times in and around lindsey/bobcaygoen
 
2013-06-07 12:51:26 PM

mrshowrules: verbal_jizm: The thing that makes this less dangerous then some of our past attempts at biological control is that the wasps are parasites and have evolved to parasitize only one species. When that species' numbers go down so do the wasps'. It's true that there are a brazillion species of parasitic wasps and one could ask how there came to be so many if they never jumped ship to parasitize a new species. That's a legitimate criticism of this kind of biological control but in practice it has been very effective and not led to unintended population outbreaks of the parasite.

The biggest danger is that the ash borer jumps tree species.  Then the Chinese wasp can follow it.  You have a big enough population of wasps, it could also jump species.  Maybe it is just better to preserve the emerald ash if a protected area.  Let the the borer kill off all the trees in nature and reintroduce the emerald ash and some point in the future.  By trying to preserve the tree they are just making it easier/more likely that the borer will jumb tree species.


I've noticed the borers aren't killing really young ash (probably not a thick enough sapwood layer). There are still lots of ash young enough to avoid the bug, but old enough to produce seed. It looks like a situation where there will always be ash around but they wont get beyond a certain age/size.

Just my observations over the past 5 years or so...
 
2013-06-07 12:59:49 PM
mrshowrules: ... The biggest danger is that the ash borer jumps tree species.  Then the Chinese wasp can follow it.  You have a big enough population of wasps, it could also jump species.  Maybe it is just better to preserve the emerald ash if a protected area.  Let the the borer kill off all the trees in nature and reintroduce the emerald ash and some point in the future.  By trying to preserve the tree they are just making it easier/more likely that the borer will jumb tree species.

The insect, not the tree, is emerald. Shiny metallic green. It attacks all types of ash tree.
 
2013-06-07 01:34:47 PM

brantgoose: I had no idea that the Canadian Food Inspection Agency had the authority to approve new species of parasites. I thought it was the Department of Finance or the PMO that did this.

Well, that's another funny thing I know about the Canadian Government.

Mark Twain once spent a couple of weeks in Montreal in order to get Canadian (and thus British) copyright for some of his work. At the time, copyright was handled by the Department of Agriculture because there was no other department better suited to the job.

That's another funny thing I know about the Canadian Government.

Mark Twain observed that you couldn't throw a rock in Montreal without breaking a church window. I remember that every time I pass through Montreal, because from the highway you can see a heck of a lot of church towers until you get to the tunnel.

It was important to get both American and British copyright in those days because both countries plagiarized each other mercilessly. All of the great Nineteenth Century writers were victims of this, and sometimes the buggers wrote new books and fobbed their own work off as the work of famous authors, which is definitely worse than stealing, as Voltaire could prove from the many nasty works published under his name in Holland or England. He was a radical thinker and an avowed atheist, but many of his imposters were a thousand times worse and wrote stuff that could easily have gotten him hung in any country of Europe.

Mark Twain also had trouble with imposters writing or lecturing under his good name. One of these really annoyed him because he was making more money than Twain was on the lecture circuit in the Western states.


I always wondered - I read 2 short stories about Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn years ago...the book said it was by Twain, but it could have been a different author. Do you know off-hand if Twain ever followed up those books?
 
Displayed 50 of 52 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report