If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Baltimore Sun)   Baltimore teachers forgot to review this study guide: books, desks and pencils are good purchases with tax money. Cruises, fancy dinners and catered lunches are not   (baltimoresun.com) divider line 32
    More: Asinine, Title I, Baltimore, funds, U.S. Department of Education, Baltimore's Inner Harbor, school reform, cruises, Office of the Inspector General  
•       •       •

2492 clicks; posted to Main » on 23 May 2013 at 10:25 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



32 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-05-23 09:00:20 AM
Nothing of consequence shall occur.

Why report on it?
 
2013-05-23 09:19:38 AM
To enable martyrdom for those who are seeking to find it, I assume.
 
2013-05-23 09:20:56 AM
It's a lesson of some kind.
 
2013-05-23 09:45:39 AM
the money spent on fried chicken, potato salad, coleslaw, biscuits, cookies and soda

I'm guessing it was grape soda.

encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com

/former Baltimore city public school teacher
 
2013-05-23 09:49:12 AM
Jesus, guys, we're like six posts in. Why hasn't someone posted UNIONS yet?

/evil Teachers Unions...
 
2013-05-23 10:29:07 AM
It's all going to hell might as well as eat, drink, and be merry.
 
2013-05-23 10:29:57 AM
Man, Carcetti's going to be pissed when he hears about this.
 
2013-05-23 10:29:57 AM
99$ per person for fried chicken?
 
2013-05-23 10:31:35 AM

unlikely: Jesus, guys, we're like six posts in. Why hasn't someone posted UNIONS yet?

/evil Teachers Unions...


Bad as teachers unions are, it doesn't look like they had much to do with this.  Neither did teachers, contrary to subby's headline.  It looks like this needs to be laid right on the administration.  They do, after all, control all spending in the district.

/unions don't need to spend tax dollars.  They get enough from union dues, insurance kickbacks, and other schemes.
 
2013-05-23 10:32:16 AM
This isn't surprising.  The unions are nothing more then tools of the Marxists to subvert the USA.  Where I work we have a policy never to hire union members as they do shiatty work, never finish the job, and steal.
 
2013-05-23 10:33:45 AM
We all need a scapegoat and it might as well be the people who are entrusted to educate and take of our children on a daily basis for low pay, right?
 
2013-05-23 10:37:09 AM
When questioned about the misspending Clay Davis responds, "They gonna try to get us on misspent funds?  Sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeit"

i406.photobucket.com
 
2013-05-23 10:37:33 AM

unlikely: Jesus, guys, we're like six posts in. Why hasn't someone posted UNIONS yet?

/evil Teachers Unions...


Nah, doesn't sound like the unions this time.  It sounds like they spent most of the money on parent/volunteer appreciation events.  Spending the money on the 2% of parents in an inner-city system that give a damn seems reasonable. These are the parents who have children who might actually amount to something and achieve.  I'm actually glad they spent the money on people who actually gave a shiat, rather than wasting it on the rest of the students.
 
2013-05-23 10:37:57 AM

Think 4D: We all need a scapegoat and it might as well be the people who are entrusted to educate and take of our children on a daily basis for low pay, right?


Baltimore City school teachers and admins make quite a bit of money. They aren't "low pay" at all.
 
2013-05-23 10:38:16 AM
This is exactly the reason why so many teachers have sex with their students. If more districts would provide paid vacations (preferably to places with cheap liquor, exotic strip clubs and where prostitution is legal), it would solve many of our problems here at home.
 
2013-05-23 10:40:02 AM

Mr. Right: They get enough from union dues, insurance kickbacks, and other schemes.


That's what I'm saying. Unions unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions  unions
 
d23 [TotalFark]
2013-05-23 10:40:20 AM
...unless you have the title "Superintendent."

Then it's AOK!
 
2013-05-23 10:42:31 AM
Chicken dinners for PTA meetings and cruises for parents? OUTRAGE!!!1!!1 All of this seems to amount to the schools bribing parents with events to get them volunteer and get involved in school events.

/Went to Baltimore City Public Schools. Also, went on cruise with school. Also, ate chicken there. Scandalous, right?
 
2013-05-23 10:45:17 AM
Less than $10k out of 15 million in funding seems like a pretty low level of misuse actually
 
2013-05-23 10:56:41 AM
Sounds like they're trying hard to be Detroit 2: Electric Boogaloo.
 
2013-05-23 10:58:48 AM
OK, see... when they say "cruises", are we talking about a cruise to the Bahamas? I think not. This sort of thing is usually a "cruise" around the bay, such as can be found in any port city, and those are a pretty cheap way to have your meeting/get-together somewhere more interesting than in a conference room.  "Fancy dinners" - how fancy are we talking here, exactly?  To some people "fancy" means a step above fast food.  And as for "catered lunches"... as someone who's worked in the private sector all his life, excuse me whilst I yawn mightily.

stopmebeforeivoteagain.org

There, much better.  See, a catered lunch is pretty much de rigeur anytime you ask anyone to go out of their way around noonish.
 
2013-05-23 11:02:50 AM

lordaction: The unions are nothing more then tools of the Marxists to subvert the USA.


i418.photobucket.com

/would like a word with you
 
2013-05-23 11:04:30 AM

ModernLuddite: 99$ per person for fried chicken?


Yeah.  Either someone puffed up the bill and pocketed the rest, or they overpaid to put money in a friend's pocket.  (It could be that they paid for far more food than the number of people who showed up, but given the list of other abuses in the article, that wouldn't be my first guess.)

maudibjr: Less than $10k out of 15 million in funding seems like a pretty low level of misuse actually


FTFA:  "The audit reviewed $15 million of $112 million spent by the city from April 1, 2009, through May 31, 2010, the district said."

That is a lot of misuse; I'm not sure why the list at the end of the article is so small.

/This town is a piece of work
 
2013-05-23 11:12:06 AM
They don't care and why should they?  It's unlikely anyone will lose their job, it's certain that nobody wil be brought up on charges, and if the city has to raise taxes to pay back the funds, it doesn't affect them because most of the administrators live in a different county.
 
2013-05-23 11:35:56 AM

Mithiwithi: OK, see... when they say "cruises", are we talking about a cruise to the Bahamas? I think not. This sort of thing is usually a "cruise" around the bay, such as can be found in any port city, and those are a pretty cheap way to have your meeting/get-together somewhere more interesting than in a conference room.  "Fancy dinners" - how fancy are we talking here, exactly?  To some people "fancy" means a step above fast food.  And as for "catered lunches"... as someone who's worked in the private sector all his life, excuse me whilst I yawn mightily.

[stopmebeforeivoteagain.org image 501x650]

There, much better.  See, a catered lunch is pretty much de rigeur anytime you ask anyone to go out of their way around noonish.


So how much tax money does your company receive and spend on catered meals? And no renting a chartered cruise is not cheap. Not like a Caribbean cruise, but you  can't just hold a bake sale then go on one

This stuff is one of the reasons why so many hard working teachers across the country can't have nice things
 
2013-05-23 12:17:53 PM

Elroydb: So how much tax money does your company receive and spend on catered meals?


We don't spend tax money on catered meals, we spend  shareholder money. As the Fark Free-Market Fundamentalists assure us, spending  those frivolously has  real consequences.  And please stop trying to make me give any farks about catered meals.  I give so few farks about that, I'm going to have to take some farks  away from this issue so that I can give them to something that actually matters.

And no renting a chartered cruise is not cheap. Not like a Caribbean cruise, but you  can't just hold a bake sale then go on one

Well, sure, if they're having one once a month, that's a problem.  Once a year?  Pshaw.

This stuff is one of the reasons why so many hard working teachers across the country can't have nice things

No, the reason why hard-working teachers can't have nice things is that people like you don't think they deserve any.
 
2013-05-23 02:04:34 PM
New season of the Wire right here.
 
Ehh
2013-05-23 02:41:23 PM
If this solves Dexter's truancy problem, it's money well spent.
 
2013-05-23 04:19:42 PM

hstein3: FTFA: "The audit reviewed $15 million of $112 million spent by the city from April 1, 2009, through May 31, 2010, the district said."

That is a lot of misuse; I'm not sure why the list at the end of the article is so small.


I reviewed 15 pages of a 112 page book. I found 2 spelling errors on the 15 pages I reviewed.
 
2013-05-23 04:28:34 PM

vernonFL: the money spent on fried chicken, potato salad, coleslaw, biscuits, cookies and soda

I'm guessing it was pruple DRANK.

[encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com image 225x225]

/former Baltimore city public school teacher

 
2013-05-23 04:31:52 PM

Mr. Right: unlikely: Jesus, guys, we're like six posts in. Why hasn't someone posted UNIONS yet?

/evil Teachers Unions...

Bad as teachers unions are, it doesn't look like they had much to do with this.  Neither did teachers, contrary to subby's headline.  It looks like this needs to be laid right on the administration.  They do, after all, control all spending in the district.


Rank and file teachers have very little control over spending.

Last year, investigations by The Baltimore Sun found that the district's credit card expenditures included a $7,300 office retreat at a downtown hotel and a $1,000 dinner at an exclusive members-only club, just months after the head of the IT department spent $250,000 to renovate his executive suite.

Sounds like admin.

Now here's one that is portayed as a horrible waste but may be very defensible.

"The report also found that the district inappropriately paid $500 for a catered "makeover day" for mothers and daughters at a local elementary school.

"A makeover day does not fit the requirement of a parental involvement activity, which is to improve student academic achievement," auditors concluded."


- Parents have poor experiences and attitudes towards school
- Parents do not participate in schooling in any way (helping in school or helping with homework)
- Students pick up this vibe and start down school sucks path
- Students get little support or encouragement from home regarding school

to try to reverse the trend

- host an extra-curricular event
- get parents into the school in a disarming way (save your puns)
- create positive experiences and relationships with the school and it`s teachers
- use these relationships to create positive attitudes about schools and teachers
- leverage positive attitudes for parental support with homework and discipline
- profit

Trying to address root problems with creative solutions  - not so crazy.
 
2013-05-23 04:58:45 PM

northgrave: Trying to address root problems with creative solutions - not so crazy.


You may have a point there.  To a journalist who spends more time and money on makeup in a week than many of these mothers and students are likely to see in a month, the notion of a makeover funded by stimulus dollars seems absolutely crazy.  A possibility you didn't mention was the notion that these makeovers may have been done to demonstrate how to present oneself in the best light for a job interview or even a college interview.

But the head of IT remodeling his executive suite foa a quarter million seems pretty extravagant.  And it had nothing to do with teachers, nothing to do with the union, benefited students not even a tiny little bit, and is totally the responsibility of the administration.  I hope he needs to pay it back out of his own pocket.  Maybe they could spend it on more makeovers to teach students how to dress for interviews.
 
Displayed 32 of 32 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report