If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Collider)   The 1990 Captain America film has been released on Blu-Ray. And someone has actually sat through it and wrote a review on the horrible attempt at turning Steve Rogers into a marketable franchise   (collider.com) divider line 47
    More: Amusing, Captain America, Blu-ray, police chiefs, plot holes, live-action film, Ned Beatty, Super Soldier, Red Skull  
•       •       •

5754 clicks; posted to Geek » on 22 May 2013 at 11:59 PM (47 weeks ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



47 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread
 
2013-05-22 09:38:50 PM
Um, they forget 1979's made for TV Captain America which I saw when I was 9 and thought it was awesome.

1.bp.blogspot.com
 
2013-05-22 09:41:56 PM
It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

content6.flixster.com
 
2013-05-22 10:16:38 PM

Because People in power are Stupid: Um, they forget 1979's made for TV Captain America which I saw when I was 9 and thought it was awesome.

[1.bp.blogspot.com image 576x722]


That's what I thought they were talking about. I knew 1990 didn't sound right.
 
2013-05-22 10:21:12 PM

fusillade762: Because People in power are Stupid: Um, they forget 1979's made for TV Captain America which I saw when I was 9 and thought it was awesome.

[1.bp.blogspot.com image 576x722]

That's what I thought they were talking about. I knew 1990 didn't sound right.


You mean the one starring the, ah, "hero" from Space Mutiny, Blast Hardcheese?
 
2013-05-22 10:29:45 PM
has sat and wrote?

Lemme guess. Beech Grove?
 
2013-05-22 11:42:09 PM
Ohhhh I can't wait to get that for my cousin for his birthday! He's just old enough to watch the Marvel movies and he loves Captain America. Can't wait to see his face!

/Don't worry, I'll get him the Marvel one too
 
2013-05-22 11:44:15 PM

Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]


I have a copy of that sucker. It even has a very young Mercedes McNab--Harmony from Buffy and Angel fame.

It is awful in such tremendously awesome ways...
 
2013-05-23 12:11:49 AM

Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]


As far as practical effects go that costume for the Thing isn't that bad considering it was a throw away movie.
 
2013-05-23 12:16:50 AM

The English Major: You mean the one starring the, ah, "hero" from Space Mutiny, Blast Hardcheese?


No, no, the other guy... Big McLargeHuge, wasn't it?
 
2013-05-23 12:18:23 AM

ds_4815: The English Major: You mean the one starring the, ah, "hero" from Space Mutiny, Blast Hardcheese?

No, no, the other guy... Big McLargeHuge, wasn't it?


No, no - it's Bob Johnson.....

\oh, wait.....
 
2013-05-23 12:23:55 AM

hubiestubert: It even has a very young Mercedes McNab--Harmony from Buffy and Angel fame


So does Addams Family and Addams Family Values.

Or for the grown up and topless version of Mercedes, check out Hatchet.
 
2013-05-23 12:27:18 AM
Damn you fark! I had totally wiped that from my memory and now it is back.

The horror!
 
2013-05-23 12:42:04 AM

Because People in power are Stupid: Um, they forget 1979's made for TV Captain America which I saw when I was 9 and thought it was awesome.

[1.bp.blogspot.com image 576x722]


i.cdn.turner.com
 
2013-05-23 12:47:42 AM

Dr. Whoof: hubiestubert: It even has a very young Mercedes McNab--Harmony from Buffy and Angel fame

So does Addams Family and Addams Family Values.

Or for the grown up and topless version of Mercedes, check out Hatchet.


I was more thinking that her acting really hadn't improved all that much from The Fantastic Four to Angel...
 
2013-05-23 12:49:30 AM
If you put Collector's Edition on the box, someone who lives in a basement will buy it.
 
2013-05-23 01:15:18 AM
Is there a commentary from Stan Lee on it?

That would be awesome.
 
2013-05-23 01:28:39 AM

bingo the psych-o: Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]

As far as practical effects go that costume for the Thing isn't that bad considering it was a throw away movie.


I hated The Thing in the big-budget "real" movie.  He looked more like some brownish scab, than orange rock.

mantiseye.com
 
2013-05-23 01:37:36 AM
To be fair, even the new Captain America was pretty lame.  It's just an incredibly boring story, and it took all kinds of crazy scifi superscience just to make him slightly better than the average professional athlete, with no weapons or powers other than a medieval-style shield.
 
2013-05-23 01:47:06 AM
I liked Red Skull from the 1990 version more than the recent one, at least nostalgically.
 
2013-05-23 01:47:29 AM
That face for the Red Skull is barely above a paper mache creation.
 
2013-05-23 02:04:38 AM

HotWingAgenda: To be fair, even the new Captain America was pretty lame.  It's just an incredibly boring story, and it took all kinds of crazy scifi superscience just to make him slightly better than the average professional athlete, with no weapons or powers other than a medieval-style shield.


Slightly better?  Chasing down an enemy agent in a cab while barefoot is slightly better?
 
2013-05-23 02:06:32 AM
Captain America was always on HBO back in '95 when I was in high school.  I probably watched it about 20 times back then.  I look back at it now fondly, but I'm not gonna shill out $20 for a Blu Ray version.

And that F4 movie by Roger Corman?  I found a bootleg copy of it- and the SW Holiday Special- in 2000 at a comic shop in Omaha.  It wasn't THAT bad... wait, yes it was.
 
2013-05-23 03:36:40 AM

turdfergusonn: the SW Holiday Special- in 2000 at a comic shop in Omaha.  It wasn't THAT bad... wait, yes it was.


It was. I've only ever seen the Rifftrax version of that, and even with the riffs to help reduce the worst of the pain it's barely watchable. And even then that's because the commercials are included and riffed, and you get to see the terrible cartoon which introduced the inexplicably popular Boba Fett.
 
2013-05-23 03:55:26 AM

Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]


Unfortunately, it's still happening

www.glamour.com
 
2013-05-23 03:57:48 AM
I'll be picking this up, if only for the nostalgia factor. Also the rubber ears. At least Salinger's cowl had actual wings.

I love me some Captain America. He's a far better man than Iron Man.  Aside from Chris Evans' very noticeable hairpiece. It wasn't so bad in CA:TFA, but in Avengers...it gets distracting.

I've got the Corman FF on my HD, plus a 20 year old VHS. The plot is near the same as the first big budget FF movie. The only thing that worked in the big budget was the Thing/Johnny relationship, otherwise the rest of the movie was shiat. Alba was a horrible Sue Storm, and Doctor Doom was a joke. I'm not expecting much more from the forthcoming reboot what with Fox being what Fox is, and the needless PC adopted Johnny.
 
2013-05-23 03:57:53 AM
I can't wait to not buy any Captain America blu-ray.
 
2013-05-23 04:59:20 AM

pjbreeze: If you put Collector's Edition on the box, someone who lives in a basement will buy it.


If you go on the internet and mention geek culture, someone will make a 25 year old joke.
 
2013-05-23 05:29:36 AM

Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]


I know I've seen that, but i've thankfully blocked the details from memory
 
2013-05-23 05:55:15 AM
bad movie.
 
2013-05-23 06:58:32 AM
Funny story I heard at a con from someone who worked on that movie:

The actor playing the Red Skull apparently was getting really ticked off at the filming delays and went of on a tantrum. He flailed his hands around and hit one on a trailer breaking his hand. He went to the hospital in full makeup where the staff completely freaked out.
 
2013-05-23 08:13:05 AM
I tend to watch "The Nostalgia Critic" for such old, bad movies.

Youtube link: Nostalgia Critic - Captain America

/His "Star Wars X-mas Specia"l review is pretty epic.
 
2013-05-23 08:13:41 AM

robohobo: I'll be picking this up, if only for the nostalgia factor. Also the rubber ears. At least Salinger's cowl had actual wings.


But it also had horrible rubber 'ears':

www.bigshinyrobot.com

I vividly remember that this movie was greenlit in the wake of the Tim Burton BATMAN, and was scheduled
for a summer 1990 wide US release.  There were even posters for it:  one of them hung in in the cinema
lobby of the Bridgewater Commons mall near my hometown in NJ for years (it may even still be there).

I remember really looking forward to finally seeing it on video, and the crushing depression that set in
after about 15 minutes realizing that it was an utter piece of trash.
 
2013-05-23 08:30:24 AM
This is going to be the bane of the entertainment industry and they go and try and remake all these previously tried franchises.  It will be second only to the knock-offs that get made to confuse the buyer.
 
2013-05-23 08:42:12 AM
Worth a mention that the star of the film Matt Salinger is J.D. Salinger's son.  Matt was a neighbor of mine during the filming.  Even still have an autographed copy of the script.  Never saw the film though, didn't play locally.
 
2013-05-23 09:05:51 AM

DjangoStonereaver: robohobo: I'll be picking this up, if only for the nostalgia factor. Also the rubber ears. At least Salinger's cowl had actual wings.

But it also had horrible rubber 'ears':

[www.bigshinyrobot.com image 620x410]

I vividly remember that this movie was greenlit in the wake of the Tim Burton BATMAN, and was scheduled
for a summer 1990 wide US release.  There were even posters for it:  one of them hung in in the cinema
lobby of the Bridgewater Commons mall near my hometown in NJ for years (it may even still be there).

I remember really looking forward to finally seeing it on video, and the crushing depression that set in
after about 15 minutes realizing that it was an utter piece of trash.


^^^THIS^^^
Also recall seeing the poster in the lobby at the old AMC back at Patrick Henry Mall (NN, VA) when the theater was there.  The movie never came out in any theater in the area.
 
2013-05-23 09:16:28 AM

FirstNationalBastard: Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]

Unfortunately, it's still happening

[www.glamour.com image 618x411]


oh jeesh that movie was fine. get over it, already.
 
2013-05-23 09:32:46 AM

Because People in power are Stupid: Um, they forget 1979's made for TV Captain America which I saw when I was 9 and thought it was awesome.

[1.bp.blogspot.com image 576x722]


I was four when that came out, and I remember being disappointed even at that young age.
Also, even that wasn't the first live action version of Cap.

i2.blogs.indiewire.com
 
2013-05-23 10:15:27 AM

Madbassist1: FirstNationalBastard: Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]

Unfortunately, it's still happening

[www.glamour.com image 618x411]

oh jeesh that movie was fine. get over it, already.


i just couldn't bring myself to watch it since the last string of spiderman movies was still fresh on my mind, and i think toby made a good goofy regular-kid peter parker. so the new one was just too soon. i may watch it in a few years though
 
2013-05-23 10:26:25 AM

UberNeuman: ds_4815: The English Major: You mean the one starring the, ah, "hero" from Space Mutiny, Blast Hardcheese?

No, no, the other guy... Big McLargeHuge, wasn't it?

No, no - it's Bob Johnson.....

\oh, wait.....


Crud Bonemeal!
 
2013-05-23 11:13:45 AM

Orgasmatron138: UberNeuman: ds_4815: The English Major: You mean the one starring the, ah, "hero" from Space Mutiny, Blast Hardcheese?

No, no, the other guy... Big McLargeHuge, wasn't it?

No, no - it's Bob Johnson.....

\oh, wait.....

Crud Bonemeal!


I'm still kind of bummed that Marvel didn't get Reb Brown to cameo in the Chris Evans CAPTAIN AMERICA.
 
2013-05-23 11:26:09 AM
I did some work for the cinematographer of this.  He was editing his demo reel and couldn't get any transfers of the movie.  He had a laserdisc of it, so I had to run home and get my LD player to transfer it.  That'll tell you how long ago that was.

Nice guy.  He also did Cyborg with Jean-Claude Van Damme. Half of the characters in that were named after guitars.

Didn't have the heart to ask him about the scene where an extra lost an eye on that shoot.
 
2013-05-23 02:19:08 PM

bungle_jr: Madbassist1: FirstNationalBastard: Adolf Oliver Nipples: It could be that the movie was made for the sole purpose of preserving rights to the franchise in the future. It has happened...

[content6.flixster.com image 326x350]

Unfortunately, it's still happening

[www.glamour.com image 618x411]

oh jeesh that movie was fine. get over it, already.

i just couldn't bring myself to watch it since the last string of spiderman movies was still fresh on my mind, and i think toby made a good goofy regular-kid peter parker. so the new one was just too soon. i may watch it in a few years though


Nothing is too soon after the abortion that was Spiderman 3
 
2013-05-23 04:46:15 PM
I still think Jensen Ackles would have been a much better Cap than Chris Evans.
 
2013-05-23 07:35:16 PM
The 90's was not bad.  Sorry, I don't feel like jumping on your stupid hipster bandwagon.

While were at it, Pulp Fiction was the biggest pile of steaming crap ever.  Kill Bill comes in a close second.
Crouching Tiger, Halo, and Skyrim, all absolute garbage.

\ Not trolling.
\\ I just have actual taste and opinions of my own.
 
2013-05-23 07:40:31 PM
ds615:
\ Not trolling.
\\ I just have actual taste and opinions of my own.


Stupid hipster bandwagon-like typing detected.
 
2013-05-23 07:53:04 PM

ds615: The 90's was not bad.


The 90s was terrible. You only like it because you were a teenager then. Everybody likes the decade in which they were a teenager, and they are all wrong. That decade was terrible.
 
2013-05-23 11:54:23 PM

DjangoStonereaver: robohobo: I'll be picking this up, if only for the nostalgia factor. Also the rubber ears. At least Salinger's cowl had actual wings.

But it also had horrible rubber 'ears':

[www.bigshinyrobot.com image 620x410]

I vividly remember that this movie was greenlit in the wake of the Tim Burton BATMAN, and was scheduled
for a summer 1990 wide US release.  There were even posters for it:  one of them hung in in the cinema
lobby of the Bridgewater Commons mall near my hometown in NJ for years (it may even still be there).

I remember really looking forward to finally seeing it on video, and the crushing depression that set in
after about 15 minutes realizing that it was an utter piece of trash.


I have one of the posters.
 
Displayed 47 of 47 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report