If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Deadspin)   This penalty kick for the state championship ... SAVE ... oh, wait   (deadspin.com) divider line 9
    More: Strange  
•       •       •

4332 clicks; posted to Sports » on 22 May 2013 at 1:19 AM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



Voting Results (Smartest)
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


Archived thread
2013-05-22 12:42:54 AM  
3 votes:
Dumb to celebrate early, but even if he had been paying attention, I doubt he would have had time to recover and save it anyway.
2013-05-22 10:48:36 AM  
1 votes:

Snapper Carr: Mr_H: Snapper Carr:

Crazy double save at a U20 international match.

Major bonus points for the kid not giving up when he had been beat originally.

BTW: Is there a rule on how long a PK 'takes'?  IE, after you kick it do you have 5 seconds to let it roll, or is it when the ball stops moving?

If I'm not mistaken the ball is considered live as long as it's moving or until the keeper gathers it


On penalties, it's if it stops moving, is gathered by the keeper, goes into touch, or touches a player other than the keeper.

A penalty taken in regular match time is a live ball as soon as it's struck, so only "dead" if it goes into touch.
2013-05-22 07:29:44 AM  
1 votes:

Satan's Chocolate Starfish: His celebration is irrelevant. He would not have been able to recover to save the ball a second time.


They're separate things.  When deflecting a shot you always, ALWAYS track the ball.  If you lose it, find it -- it's the one time it's OK to panic.  I don't relax until the ball is A) in my hands, B) out of bounds or C) in a teammate's control, and to be honest I really don't even relax with C because sometimes the defender can botch the possession.  It pays to be paranoid.  PKs are different, yes, but tracking the ball should be second nature you can't just switch off.  Hell, what reason is there to learn to switch it off just because it's a PK?  This sort of thing is pretty damn common.  Of course, I can say all this shiat because I made the exact same sort of mistakes when I was a kid.

HOWEVA, you're right -- the ball and the GK were heading in opposite directions.  It would've been physically impossible for him to turn his body around and get a second stab at the ball before it curled in.  So it was going to be a goal anyway, and losing the game wasn't his fault.  PKs heavily favor the shooter; getting a hand on it at all was about all anyone could ask for.

So, the premature celebration was stupid -- it shows a lack of mental focus, but this is a high schooler in a tournament FFS.  It's a "I'm still a dumb kid" moment.  The celebration itself didn't do any damage beyond making the defeat more embarrassing.  We'll find out what his Fark username is in a couple years, where he'll get to rant about how he'd never make that sort of mistake on the next thread.
2013-05-22 02:48:20 AM  
1 votes:
His celebration is irrelevant. He would not have been able to recover to save the ball a second time.
2013-05-22 02:10:24 AM  
1 votes:

NakedReporta: If there was a mistake, it was in not punching it to the right away from the goal. Hell, there are professional keepers at the highest level who make that mistake (I'm looking at you, David de Gea). But he guessed right and got a hand or hands on it, and at that point, you're just wanting to stop the damn thing from going in the goal. That was some wicked spin on that ball. And no, I don't think he had time to get it before it crossed the line, celebration or not.


I've seen NHL goalies who definitely would have the reflexes and presence of mind to make a second attempt (granted there's a huge difference in the level of training and mental acuity between professional athletes and varsity jocks).

Crazy double save at a U20 international match.
2013-05-22 01:52:59 AM  
1 votes:
2013-05-22 01:48:21 AM  
1 votes:

HaywoodJablonski: http://youtu.be/jucahiH-hbE

Similar, but since the keeper acts like a royal douche, I think it's better


This one was pretty funny too.
2013-05-22 01:36:34 AM  
1 votes:
http://youtu.be/jucahiH-hbE

Similar, but since the keeper acts like a royal douche, I think it's better
2013-05-22 12:25:49 AM  
1 votes:
A South Carolina HS ref tipped me to this and I found the video. Posted it on my Deadspin Kinja, then tipped Deadspin to it. Greg Howard picked it up. Now I just linked Howard's post here and got green-lit. If Parton ends up on ESPN or Today, he can blame me. Haven't had a hand in anything like this since Jose Lima's wife's boobs.

For the record, that was an excellent save. Just dumb luck. Not the first time it's happened in soccer and won't be the last. Don't know if he has collegiate soccer plans, but if so, good luck to him. Irmo is a state powerhouse and he helped hold them for 110 minutes. Props.
 
Displayed 9 of 9 comments

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report