If you can read this, either the style sheet didn't load or you have an older browser that doesn't support style sheets. Try clearing your browser cache and refreshing the page.

(Seattle Weekly)   Area white man announces he likes kimchi. "Opinions about kimchi fall along the same lines as opinions about Neil Young's music"   (seattleweekly.com) divider line 127
    More: Obvious, Neil Young, cured meat, David Chang, opinions  
•       •       •

3608 clicks; posted to Main » on 10 May 2013 at 3:40 PM (1 year ago)   |  Favorite    |   share:  Share on Twitter share via Email Share on Facebook   more»



127 Comments   (+0 »)
   
View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest

Archived thread

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all
 
2013-05-10 02:06:50 PM
I love kimchi.
 
2013-05-10 02:14:48 PM
I love kimchi.

I once flew Korean Air, though, and they serve kimchi with every meal. As tasty as that was, I have to question the logic of serving fermented pickled cabbage to 200+ people sealed in an aluminum tube at 35,000 feet.

/fart
 
2013-05-10 02:14:53 PM
If this is anything like a pho king thread yesterday, I'm gonna need a lot more popcorn.

/can't stand kimchi
 
2013-05-10 02:22:04 PM
Meh, kimchi. I'll eat it if it's there, but I won't actively seek it out.
 
2013-05-10 02:22:36 PM
Put me down as a kimchi lover.  Have been ever since I tried it in Hawai'i.

/Dong Yang Inn in Wahiawa.
 
2013-05-10 02:43:05 PM
I don't like pickled foods, but I will say that my sister lived in Seoul for 4 years. She lived on the 2nd floor facing the street and she would hear drunk businessmen barfing on the sidewalks at night. Then the kimchi vendors would cut up the cabbage on the exact same spot in the AM. And then she would have to smell farking kimchi all day long.
 
CDP [TotalFark]
2013-05-10 02:55:35 PM
Loves me some kimchi
 
2013-05-10 03:15:59 PM
Neil Young's music doesn't give smelly farts.
 
2013-05-10 03:25:13 PM
Oh to live on
kimchee mountain
with the cabbage and the fermented fish
you can't be hungry
on kimchee mountain
Though you're thinking that
its such a spicy dish.
 
2013-05-10 03:26:38 PM
Neil Young RULES.

(But I'm Canadian and am required to say that. At anytime. At length. And also to punch any idiot who has the temerity to diss his genius.)
 
2013-05-10 03:35:57 PM
Bring kimchi to work, put it in a microwave uncovered in a poorly ventilated area near a lot of coworkers.  Then sit back and watch the fireworks.

Bonus points for throwing the kimchi in a trash can instead of eating it.
 
2013-05-10 03:37:09 PM
so all kimchi, like Neil Young songs all sound, tastes the same?
 
2013-05-10 03:38:21 PM

Diogenes: Neil Young's music doesn't give smelly farts.


Only because you can't give what you are.
 
2013-05-10 03:41:05 PM
The recipe is simple. Salt the cabbage. Mix up garlic, ginger, fish sauce, salt shrimp, Korean chili powder, soy, and some sriracha type heat. Rinse cabbage, blend paste to veg, and let magic happen. If the weather is cool put the jars in the garage for three days to kick-start the fermentation. In warmer times it can go directly in the fridge; it ferments more slowly but works just as well. It's best between 3-6 weeks of age.

that is not simple.  Anything that involves a 3-6 week aging process is not simple.  What the fark is salt shrimp?  Do you have to go to a specialized asian supermarket to get that?
 
2013-05-10 03:43:50 PM
Everything fermented is awesome.
 
2013-05-10 03:44:26 PM
My wife loves Kimchi. I can't stand that stuff.

We both dislike Neil Young's music.
 
2013-05-10 03:45:30 PM
That's pretty funny, white man.

I've seen the kimchi and the damage done
A single bite of it gives me the runs
Owww owww, the damage done.


/Neil Young sucks.
 
2013-05-10 03:45:37 PM

vernonFL: I love kimchi.


oh and neil young sucks
 
2013-05-10 03:46:45 PM

SlothB77: The recipe is simple. Salt the cabbage. Mix up garlic, ginger, fish sauce, salt shrimp, Korean chili powder, soy, and some sriracha type heat. Rinse cabbage, blend paste to veg, and let magic happen. If the weather is cool put the jars in the garage for three days to kick-start the fermentation. In warmer times it can go directly in the fridge; it ferments more slowly but works just as well. It's best between 3-6 weeks of age.

that is not simple.  Anything that involves a 3-6 week aging process is not simple.  What the fark is salt shrimp?  Do you have to go to a specialized asian supermarket to get that?


The complexity of something does not inherently increase or decrease in proportion with the length of time it takes to complete.  Since it's basically "Mush stuff up, toss it in a jar and let it sit" then yes, it is actually quite simple.
 
2013-05-10 03:47:03 PM
Kimchi is nasty. I'll stick with the kraut and wurst platter, thank you very much.
 
2013-05-10 03:47:07 PM

busy chillin': My wife loves Kimchi. I can't stand that stuff.

We both dislike Neil Young's music.


I think he meant people usually have a strong opinion one way or the other on both things.
 
2013-05-10 03:48:43 PM
I like most Korean food I've tried and I like sauerkraut, but I've never been too much of a fan of kimchi.

As for Neil Young, I like Jimmy Fallon's impression of him better than I like him.
 
2013-05-10 03:49:11 PM

The Muthaship: busy chillin': My wife loves Kimchi. I can't stand that stuff.

We both dislike Neil Young's music.

I think he meant people usually have a strong opinion one way or the other on both things.


My wife loves kimchi. I hate it.

We both hate Neil Young's music and think he sucks.

Better?

I was just being nice cause "stop liking what I don't like" and all that.
 
2013-05-10 03:50:11 PM
I ate Kim Chi once...
 
2013-05-10 03:50:22 PM

SlothB77: Bring kimchi to work, put it in a microwave uncovered in a poorly ventilated area near a lot of coworkers.  Then sit back and watch the fireworks.

Bonus points for throwing the kimchi in a trash can instead of eating it.


Kimchi and smoked oysters are the 2 things my old supervisor explicitly banned me from ever bringing to work (again).

/got a batch fermenting at home right now.
 
2013-05-10 03:51:31 PM

busy chillin': I was just being nice cause "stop liking what I don't like" and all that.


Word.  I just thought you were saying that what white man was implying was that people who like Young also like kimchi, and people who don't like Young also don't like kimchi....and now I have confused myself....
 
2013-05-10 03:53:38 PM
Things Kimchi is good in:

1. Tacos
2. Cream cheese on toast
3. Your mouth
4. Fried Rice
5. Soup
6. Salad dressing
 
2013-05-10 03:54:08 PM
Pho king Neil Young.  Bah!
 
2013-05-10 03:54:36 PM

Bill_Wick's_Friend: I once flew Korean Air, though, and they serve kimchi with every meal. As tasty as that was, I have to question the logic of serving fermented pickled cabbage to 200+ people sealed in an aluminum tube at 35,000 feet.


So open a window. What's the problem?

/Romney
 
2013-05-10 03:55:47 PM

Diogenes: Neil Young's music doesn't give smelly farts.


Speak for yourself.
 
2013-05-10 03:57:33 PM
On Kimchi I've not had it a huge number of times probably 23 or 24.  On 3 of those I really liked it; twice it was pretty good, and the rest I have been ambivalent on, and once it was really nasty.  You don't need salt shrimp in it, most I have had hasn't had it, and I don't know that all had fish sauce, (most did, a few if it did there was a small enough quantity that it was pretty much undetectable to me.)
 
2013-05-10 04:00:53 PM
Since I went kimchi on the pho thread yesterday, on this thread I'm going:

MANGO PICKLE:

upload.wikimedia.org

1.bp.blogspot.com

i4.ytimg.com

Indian pickles are awesome - and they have 80 million different kinds!
 
2013-05-10 04:07:19 PM
Fond of neither kimchi nor Mr. Young.

Thanks for asking.
 
2013-05-10 04:07:27 PM
The neighborhood I grew up in is 1/3 Korean, so eating kimchi is 2nd nature to this Italian-American.
 
2013-05-10 04:08:23 PM

Sgygus: Diogenes: Neil Young's music doesn't give smelly farts.

Speak for yourself.


Migraine.  Different body part.
 
2013-05-10 04:09:39 PM
Kimchi equals Korea. Few foods are so tied into a nation's identity than this funky, fermented product.

I guess in the sense that a St. Louis Taco truck serving the cheesiest hard-taco pastries possible are tied to the national identity of Mexico.

Or, in other words, anyone that says this is almost unbelievably racist, even for the internet.  Did someone teach my maternal grandfather to use a computer while I wasn't looking?

SlothB77: What the fark is salt shrimp?  Do you have to go to a specialized asian supermarket to get that?


It's literally salted shrimp, generally the amount of salt is in the same range as if you just bought the stuff labeled simply "shrimp" (since most shrimp are saltwater species and stored in salt for shipping).  Labeling it specially is just empty marketing, like "Diet Soda", except in this case the target demographic is patronizing closet racists instead of people smart enough to want to lose weight but too dumb to know how a diet works.

//I imagine that in actual Asia there exists some other common category of shrimp that makes the distinction meaningful (perhaps crawdads and the like are called unsalted shrimp instead of having their own name as in the US?  that would make sense), or the translation is just bad.
 
2013-05-10 04:09:42 PM

Diogenes: Neil Young's music doesn't give smelly farts.


Nah, but some of the bass lines from Crazy Horse sounded like 'em.
 
2013-05-10 04:17:26 PM
Area white man announces he likes kimchi.

As a volumetric white man, I also like it.

/Let's not make fun of the dimensionally challenged.
 
2013-05-10 04:18:13 PM
"Opinions about kimchi fall along the same lines as opinions about Neil Young's music."

It stinks to high heaven?
 
2013-05-10 04:18:30 PM
Sometimes it's great, other times not so much?
 
2013-05-10 04:18:44 PM
Kimchi is awesome, but you have to get the real stuff- not the flavorless crap they sell at the grocery store.  I love making hot pots and ramen with it, along with kimchi pancakes.  Many americans have no imagination when it comes to how Kimchi is used- they think you can only eat it raw.  It's a great flavoring and condiment.
 
2013-05-10 04:21:04 PM

lockers: Everything fermented is awesome.


Your honor, I call "under the cover bed farts" to the stand.

The defense rests.
 
2013-05-10 04:22:35 PM
Neil is not only a great musician, but also a great person.  Take some time to learn about his desire to bring studio quality streaming music to the masses (PONO, formally know as PureTone), or his passion for electric cars, or the Bridge School, though that was motivated by the needs for his own sons. Yeah, I love NY, but my user name tells you that. And I am not Canadian.
 
2013-05-10 04:22:45 PM
i love korean food but never really cared for kimchi, don't much care for pickled things in general though so I guess it's not too surprising
 
2013-05-10 04:26:33 PM
Korean cuisine is good but only if they show restraint with the sesame oil.
 
2013-05-10 04:27:04 PM
ITT I learn that most of Fark hates Neil Young.
 
2013-05-10 04:30:02 PM
I like kimchi, but I have found one horrible preparation of it;  When eating Korean bbq (in Korea) I had one Korean acquaintance who would throw kimchi on the grill.  I still like the taste, but while cooking it smells like burning, rotted garbage.  It's so strong and so foul you can actually visualize twisting, squirming maggots as it sizzles and pops, and cartoon-style smell lines warning others of the stench.
 
2013-05-10 04:30:14 PM

ThrowYourHatredDown: Neil is not only a great musician, but also a great person.  Take some time to learn about his desire to bring studio quality streaming music to the masses (PONO, formally know as PureTone), or his passion for electric cars, or the Bridge School, though that was motivated by the needs for his own sons. Yeah, I love NY, but my user name tells you that. And I am not Canadian.


I'll bite.

Lots of musicians are great people with great intentions. Doesn't change the fact my ears personally don't like the sound of their voice and music.

Nickelback could cure the world of every ailment and I will still change the channel the second I hear part of their song.

/again, not saying stop liking what I don't like
 
2013-05-10 04:33:16 PM
I've eaten a lot of kimchi.
I don't hate it, but if I never eat it again, my life will still have meaning.
Any non-Korean that "raves" about kimchi is an idiot.
 
2013-05-10 04:41:29 PM
I wonder if he likes pho.
 
Displayed 50 of 127 comments

First | « | 1 | 2 | 3 | » | Last | Show all

View Voting Results: Smartest and Funniest


This thread is archived, and closed to new comments.

Continue Farking
Submit a Link »






Report